案例研究

招商银行

一家顶级商业银行利用Stratus® ftServer®系统实现了连续应用可用性。

招商银行1987年在深圳成立,是中国第一家股份制商业银行,也是推动中国银行业改革的先行者。24年来,招行从一家净资本1亿元、1家分行、30名员工的小银行发展成为净资本1400亿元、总资产2.6万亿元、800多家分行、5万多名员工的全国性商业银行。目前,中行已跻身世界百强银行行列,凭借不断的金融创新、优质的客户服务、稳健的管理和强劲的经营业绩,赢得了中国最具影响力的商业银行品牌地位。

挑战

工商银行为广大客户提供广泛的个人和企业金融服务,包括网上银行、手机银行、贷款、多功能借记卡、双币信用卡和财富管理等。随着公司的不断发展和壮大,工商银行在努力提供卓越的客户服务的同时,也严格管理经营成本,以提高盈利能力。

由于客户要求通过多种交付渠道全天候地访问安全、实时的金融交易,即使是最短暂的非计划性系统故障,也会对成千上万的客户造成负面影响,损害CMB的声誉,并导致潜在的收入损失。CMB决定采用最先进的容错服务器建立其服务器基础设施,以实现其虚拟化核心银行应用的持续可用性。

 "招商银行以不折不扣地为客户提供安全、可靠的银行交易而建立了良好的声誉。Stratus ftServer 系统是唯一能够以较低的总拥有成本为大批量交易和多渠道金融服务交付提供成熟的最大可用性的平台。"
林立先生
招商银行总行IT部

解决方案

经过深入的评估过程,CMB选择了Stratus ftServer 系统,而不是IBM或HP服务器,以创建一个开放的系统架构,从而实现更大的易用性、更低的维护成本和持续的可用性。该银行购买了Stratus ftServer 6400系统--所有这些系统都运行RedHat® Enterprise Linux®、Oracle RAC和VMware vSphere®虚拟化软件。部分ftServer 系统安装在CMB位于上海的主数据中心,其他系统则位于深圳的灾难恢复站点,以支持该行的业务连续性计划,该计划。

ftServer 6400系统可以防止交易密集型应用的停机和数据丢失,同时消除部署和管理其他高可用性解决方案所涉及的成本和复杂性。容错ftServer 架构消除了单点故障--这在虚拟化环境中尤为重要,并解决了可能中断系统运行并导致关键数据丢失或损坏的硬件、软件和服务性问题。

先进的锁步技术、自动监控和主动管理与服务相结合,提供了一个始终在线的解决方案,提供了无与伦比的可用性和低TCO。ftServer 系统的双工硬件组件在同一时间处理相同的指令。如果一个组件出现故障,其合作伙伴只需继续正常运行,而不会出现停机或数据丢失。Automated Uptime Software Layer™监控500多个系统组件和传感器,以在故障影响系统运行之前识别、处理和报告故障。如果某个组件出现故障,ftServer 系统的可热插拔客户可替换单元会自动订购并轻松安装,同时应用程序会继续不间断地运行。

"自从在ftServer 系统上部署我们的虚拟化银行应用以来,CMB经历了零停机时间。持续的系统可用性使我们能够满足客户对服务、质量和可靠性的期望,同时保护收入不受损失。"
林立先生
招商银行总行IT部

成果

自2014年5月安装其ftServer 系统以来,CMB的核心银行应用经历了零停机,通过其多种交付渠道成功处理客户金融交易,24/7/365。ftServer 系统在一个具有成本效益、易于维护的平台上提供持续的可用性,使该银行能够:

  • 利用始终在线的操作环境保护金融交易处理应用。
  • 检测潜在问题,在出现停机之前主动采取措施
  • 避免因银行和交易系统中断造成的收入损失。
  • 维护其良好的声誉,保持高水平的客户满意度。
  • 符合中国银监会系统可用性标准。

此外,完全可扩展的ftServer 平台将轻松适应 CMB 预期的网络和交易增长,为未来提供高性能和持续可用性。

关于 Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云计算的始终在线的基础设施,而无需对您的应用程序进行任何更改。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与Stratus 人员相结合,使客户能够在故障发生之前预防故障,使重要的业务运营能够不间断地24/7/365运行。

要了解更多信息,请访问 www.stratus.com.

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

China Merchants Bank

A top-ranking commercial bank achieves CONTINUOUS APPLICATION AVAILABILITY with Stratus® ftServer® systems

Established in 1987 in Shenzhen, China Merchants Bank (CMB) is China’s first joint-stock commercial bank and a pioneer in promoting Chinese banking industry reform. Over the past 24 years, CMB has grown from a small bank with a net capital of 100 million yuan, one branch, and 30 employees to a nationwide commercial bank with a net capital of 140 billion yuan, total assets of 2.6 trillion yuan, over 800 branches, and more than 50,000 employees. Now ranked among the world’s top 100 banks, CMB has earned its position as the most influential commercial bank brand in China through continuous financial innovation, quality customer service, prudent management and strong business performance.

The Challenge

CMB offers a wide range of personal and corporate financial services, including Internet and mobile banking, loans, multi-function debit cards, dual-currency credit cards, and wealth management, to a diverse customer base. As it continues to grow and expand, CMB strives to deliver exceptional customer service while rigorously managing its operating costs to drive profitability.

With customers demanding around-the-clock access to secure, real-time financial transactions across multiple delivery channels, even the briefest period of unplanned system downtime could negatively affect thousands of customers, damage CMB’s reputation and result in potential revenue losses. CMB decided to establish its server infrastructure with state-of-the-art, fault-tolerant servers in order to achieve continuous availability of its virtualized core banking applications.

 “CMB has built its reputation on providing secure, reliable banking transactions to customers without compromise. Stratus ftServer systems were the only platform that could provide proven maximum availability for high-volume transactions and multi-channel financial services delivery at a low total cost of ownership.”
Mr. Linli
IT Department of head office China Merchants Bank

The Solution

After an in-depth evaluation process, CMB selected Stratus ftServer systems instead of IBM or HP servers to create an open systems architecture that enables greater ease of use, lower maintenance costs, and continuous availability. The bank purchased Stratus ftServer 6400 systems—all of which run RedHat® Enterprise Linux®, Oracle RAC, and VMware vSphere® virtualization software. Some of the ftServer systems are installed in CMB’s primary data center in Shanghai and the others are located at a disaster recovery site in Shenzhen to support the bank’s business continuity plan that.

The ftServer 6400 systems prevent downtime and data loss for transaction-intensive applications while eliminating the costs and complexity involved in deploying and managing alternative high-availability solutions. The fault-tolerant ftServer architecture eliminates single points of failure—which is especially important in virtualized environments—and addresses the hardware, software and serviceability issues that can interrupt system operations and lead to critical data loss or corruption.

Advanced lockstep technology, automated monitoring and proactive management and service combine to provide an always-on solution that delivers unmatched availability and low TCO. The ftServer system’s duplex hardware components process the same instructions at precisely the same time. If a component fails, its partner simply continues normal operations—without downtime or data loss. The Automated Uptime Software Layer™ monitors more than 500 system components and sensors to identify, handle and report faults before they impact system operations. In the event that a component fails, the ftServer system’s hot-swappable customer replaceable units are automatically ordered and easily installed while applications continue to run without interruption.

“Since deploying our virtualized banking applications on ftServer systems, CMB has experienced zero downtime. Continuous system availability enables us to meet customer expectations for service, quality, and reliability while protecting against revenue losses.”
Mr. Linli
IT Department of head office China Merchants Bank

The Results

Since installing its ftServer systems in May 2014, CMB has experienced zero downtime of its core banking applications, successfully processing customer financial transactions through its multiple delivery channels 24/7/365. Delivering continuous availability in a cost-effective, easy-to-maintain platform, ftServer systems have enabled the bank to:

  • Protect financial transaction processing applications with an always-on operating environment
  • Detect potential problems and proactively take action before downtime becomes an issue
  • Avoid revenue losses due to banking and trading system interruptions
  • Uphold its strong reputation and maintain high levels of customer satisfaction
  • Meet China Banking Regulatory Commission (CRBC) standards for system availability

In addition, the fully scalable ftServer platform will easily accommodate CMB’s anticipated network and transaction growth to provide high performance and continuous availability into the future.

About Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, enabling uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

To learn more, visit www.stratus.com.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top