案例研究

贵族科技

Stratus 为全球游戏解决方案提供始终如一的彩金供应。

贵族是一家博彩硬件制造商,同时也是全球领先的以软件为基础的复杂博彩产品的开发者,供世界各地的赌场使用。贵族于1953年以游戏硬件供应商的身份开始企业生活,并已发展成为一个高度重视软件和内容的游戏技术集团。贵族总部位于澳大利亚悉尼,在美国、新西兰、英国、南非、日本、南美和东南亚等地设有办事处,员工专注于满足当地的客户需求。全球化的管理架构推动了所有业务领域的创新。

简要概述

 简介

  • 50多年来,全球领先的游戏解决方案提供商。

环境问题

  • Stratus® everRun® FT软件

Windows应用程序

  • QL Server 2000多站点渐进式(MSP)系统

问题

贵族公司已经开始使用一种新的博彩应用系统,称为多站点累积(MSP)系统,美国各地赌场的老虎机玩家在该系统中进行连接,允许他们进行组合奖池的游戏。州监管机构内华达州博彩管制局要求这些系统必须有冗余,以尽量减少头奖环节的停机时间。

办法

贵族使用在Windows服务器上运行的SQL Server 2000数据库来监控和提高MSP内每台老虎机的奖池水平。如果数据库应用程序发生故障,则无法继续管理奖池,必须关闭游戏。

后端数据库必须继续运作,才能使其外部游戏机在MSP中正常运行。如果数据库因任何原因关闭,游戏就会自动锁定,玩家无法使用。最终,贵族将有数百个站点,可能有数千款游戏连接到MSP系统。如果创收的游戏设备被切换到离线状态,数据库层面的任何停机时间都会产生重大的财务影响。

解决方案

为了防止这样的事件发生,贵族公司需要的不仅仅是一个高可用的系统,他们需要的是持续的可用性。贵族评估的服务器冗余选择是微软集群和Stratus everRun 软件。Aristocrat选择Stratus® everRun® FT软件,因为它提供了一个永远在线的解决方案,消除了集群的故障切换过程。

"......系统上可能连接着数千场比赛;数据库层面的宕机可能会产生重大的财务影响......"
Todd Voight
用户支持负责人 西北大学设施管理IT部门

成果

"关键工程师在部署过程中发挥了重要作用,他们与我们的内部工程师携手合作,成功部署了该软件。"Aristocrat信息技术总监Adam Goldstein说。"由于该解决方案还很新,我们还没有达到投资回报率点。我们希望在未来5年内扩大新MSP产品的部署,并预计在12个月内达到投资回报率。"

"关键工程师在部署过程中发挥了重要作用,并与我们的内部工程师携手合作,成功部署了该软件。"
Adam Goldstein
信息技术总监 Aristocrat技术公司。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Aristocrat Technologies

Stratus delivers always-on jackpot availability for global gaming solution

Aristocrat is a manufac¬turer of gaming hardware and a global leader in the development of software-based sophisticated gaming products for use by casinos around the world. Aristocrat began corporate life in 1953 as a gaming hardware supplier, and has evolved into a gaming technology group that places high value on software and content. Headquartered in Sydney, Australia, Aristocrat has offices in the United States, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, South Africa, Japan, South America and Southeast Asia, where staff are focused on meeting customer needs at a local level. A global management structure drives innovation in all business areas.

Quick Facts

 Profile

  • Leading global provider of gaming solutions for over 50 years

Environment

  • Stratus® everRun® FT Software

Windows Application

  • QL Server 2000 Multi-Site Progressive (MSP) System

The Problem

Aristocrat had begun to use a new gaming application called Multi-Site Progressive (MSP) System, where slot machine players at casinos around the U.S. are connected, permitting them to play for combined jackpots. The Nevada Gaming Control, the state regulatory agency, requires redundancy in these systems to minimize downtime on the jackpot links.

The Approach

Aristocrat uses an SQL Server 2000 database running on a Windows server to monitor and increase jackpot levels for each slot machine within the MSP. If the database application goes down, the jackpots cannot continue to be managed and the games must be shut off.

The back-end database must continue to function for their external gaming machines to operate properly within the MSP. If the database shuts down for any reason, the games lock themselves and are not available to the players. Eventually Aristocrat will have hundreds of sites with potentially thousands of games connected to the MSP System. Any amount of downtime at the database level could have a significant financial impact if revenue-generating gaming equipment were switched offline.

The Solution

To protect against such an event, Aristocrat needed more than a highly available system; they needed continuous availability. The choices that Aristocrat evaluated for server redundancy were Microsoft Clustering and Stratus everRun software. Aristocrat selected Stratus® everRun® FT software because it offered an always-on solution that eliminated the failover process of clustering.

“… with potentially thousands of games connected to the system; downtime at the database level could have a significant financial impact … ”
Todd Voight
User Support Lead Northwestern’s Facilities Management IT department

The Results

“Key engineers played a significant role in the deployment and worked hand-in-hand with our in-house engineers to deploy the software successfully,” says Adam Goldstein, Director of Information Technology at Aristocrat. “Since the solution is still very new, we have not reached an ROI point yet. We are looking to expand our deployment of our new MSP product over the next five years and anticipate an ROI within 12 months.”

“Key engineers played a significant role in the deployment and worked hand-in-hand with our in-house engineers to deploy the software successfully.”
Adam Goldstein
Director of Information Technology Aristocrat Technologies

Related Assets

Scroll to Top