案例研究

AREU 紧急服务

AREU依靠Stratus ,以确保伦巴第的EMS PSAPs始终在线。

AREU(Azienda Regionale Emergenza Urgenza)可追溯到2008年4月,是负责意大利伦巴第地区医院外紧急医疗服务的治理和业务管理的机构。这包括管理紧急医疗服务请求,以及协调组织和器官运输服务。

为了统一和协调整个区域的所有急救活动,AREU的主要目标是促进不断提高其工作人员的技能、业务流程、组织、技术和知识。2009年,AREU还负责在意大利启动了112个欧洲紧急号码服务,在意大利境内战略性地部署了3个一级公共安全援助小组。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • 4个紧急医疗服务小组为9 300平方英里的地区和大约1 350万人提供服务;每天派出2 190个单位,管理580个单位,每班有50至90名调度员。
  • 按照下一代数据中心模式设计的集中式共享数据中心,具有容错和容灾的保证。
  • 最佳的计算机辅助设计系统,包括呼叫接收、调度、网络访问(400个管理的远程站)、地理信息系统、无线电集成和第一反应人员的移动数据计算机访问。
  • 提供CAD系统持续可用性的容错服务器平台

产品

  • 测试版80 emma/iO CAD套件
  • Stratus ftServer® 6400系统
  • VMware® vSphere™ 虚拟化软件

服务

  • Beta 80 24/7/365支持服务
  • Stratus 24/7/365 全面保障支持服务

伦巴第大区占地24,000平方公里(9,300平方英里),是意大利人口最多的地区,有1,000万居民。如果将平均通勤和旅游统计数字也考虑在内,则服务人口数字上升到1,350万。

EMS的数字反映了他们24/7/365小时的做法。

  • 每年的通话次数。1,150,000
  • 管理的公共安全援助人员(调度员和公共安全援助人员、专业急救人员、志愿者等)的数量。38,000
  • 管理单位的数量。580
  • 单位派遣的平均时间(从第一声电话铃声到单位实际参与):140秒

挑战

伦巴第政府指定AREU对当地的急救系统进行重组和控制室的合并,以便将社区急救中心的数量从12个减少到4个----科莫、贝加莫、米兰和帕维亚。每个新的PSAP(又称SOREU----Sala Operativa Regionale dell'Emergenza Urgenza)都不能被设计成一个独立的通信中心,而是具有作为其他三个地点的后备中心的固有能力。

利用在整个区域广泛采用的先进、灵活和最先进的计算机辅助调度系统,需要调整和完善环卫系统的构件业务规则和程序,以适应新的组织结构的要求。必须制定全新的PSAP之间的互助协议,以及单位分配和地点归属规则的整体新设计。必须加强CAD地理信息系统的组成部分,必须提供与私人和公共护理院之间的实时数据通信,以保证与区域保健系统完全一体化的服务。

项目范围还扩展到控制室。需要一个集中的下一代数据中心,以便为EMS提供基于私有云解决方案的容错、灾难恢复能力的底层基础设施,以确保呼叫员、调度员、响应者和市民的24/7/365可用性。

"在AREU受命完成Lombardy的PSAP整合时,首先要考虑的是统一当时12个独立运行的控制室所带来的高度分散的EMS业务流程环境。Beta 80的emma/iO灵活性和定制能力为实现这样一个具有挑战性的目标铺平了道路。"

商业解决方案

AREU选择了Beta 80的emma/iO CAD平台,运行在容错的ftServer 系统上,来自Stratus 。

最佳的CAD软件
Beta 80公共安全CAD平台(emma/iO)为一级和二级PSAP提供了响应紧急服务电话所需的全套功能。Beta 80的emma/iO平台因其无与伦比的定制水平、直观性、与外部系统的轻松集成和高端客户支持服务而广受好评。

贝塔80的emma/iO作为一个完整的解决方案,包括。

  • 呼叫接听和调度:呼叫接听员和调度员依靠emma/iO丰富的功能,通过现代、用户友好的图形界面进行访问。Emma/iO的灵活性提供了根据特定机构业务规则定制CAD解决方案的能力。
  • 综合地理信息系统: 调度员和主管可随时使用公开和定制的地图和制图层,以简化事件和危机管理。
  • 移动数据通信。移 动CAD、AVL支持、无线电调度单元状态和尖端功能,如智能手机和平板电脑的紧急应用程序和自动车辆碰撞系统支持。
  • 商业智能:支持主管和公共安全利益攸关方坚持不懈地监测和改进机构的SLA和业务规则。

AREU 选择 emma/iO 作为其参考 CAD 系统,并利用这一平台在欧洲 EMS 社区中发挥了先锋作用。

一个始终在线的平台
AREU 选择Stratus ftServer 平台,是因为它能够为其最关键的 CAD 解决方案提供最高级别的可用性(99.999+)。

ftServer'的容错架构消除了单点故障,解决了可能导致停机或数据丢失的硬件、软件和服务性问题。双工硬件组件正好在同一时间处理相同的指令。如果一个组件发生故障,其伙伴只需继续正常操作即可。由于复制的组件在同一时间执行相同的指令,因此即使组件发生故障,也不会出现处理中断、性能损失和数据完整性损失。

ftServer 还具有自动正常运行时间(Automated Uptime™)层,可持续监控 500 多个系统组件和传感器,主动识别、处理和报告故障。在系统中断之前,"呼救"功能就会提醒Stratus 有待解决的问题。

成果

紧急救援系统的合并使伦巴第的公共安全援助项目之间形成了一个统一的组织模式,使其能够采用共同的程序,在整个地区进行有效的合作,并使公共安全援助项目能够在公共安全援助项目不堪重负或受灾害影响的情况下无缝地作为后备。所有这些成就都是在保持公共安全固有的严格质量和服务水平的同时取得的,因为在公共安全领域,哪怕是一秒钟的延误都可能对病人至关重要。

新的全区域急救系统还使人们能够引进下一代服务,使急救人员能够执行远程医疗的高级任务,如心电图、紧急超声检查、实时图像和临床数据传输到公共服务援助方案和目标医院。公共安全援助方案对情况的了解已经超出了单一的控制室管理区域,在发生重大事件时,可以更有效地共享外地资源,加强合作程序。

最后,伦巴第大区巩固的EMS基础设施使其成为意大利最好的成本/效益比,也是欧洲最好的之一。

公共安全所固有的质量和服务水平要求最高程度的可用性。事实证明,AREU的Beta 80/Stratus 解决方案在可靠性、责任心和响应能力方面超出了最初的预期,使AREU能够专注于其核心业务,并继续改进服务,以确保伦巴第公民的安全。

"我们需要一个永不失效的系统,这就是为什么我们选择Stratus ftServer 作为我们的整个支持基础设施。我们经历了巨大的成果和效率,并为意大利和国际上的其他PSAP树立了标准。还要感谢我们的技术合作伙伴Stratus 和Beta 80,我们最近被欧洲紧急号码协会评为杰出的紧急呼叫中心。"
Piero Maria Brambilla
AREU首席信息官

关于Beta 80

Beta 80集团是一家意大利公司,成立于1986年;自成立以来,该集团一直致力于设计和开发支持公共安全应答点(PSAP)活动的信息系统。Beta 80集团总部位于米兰,拥有400名员工,在意大利有5个分支机构,在国外有3个分支机构。超过60个公共安全应答点选择Beta 80集团作为他们的卓越合作伙伴,每年为2700万市民提供服务,管理1700万个电话。Beta 80集团是EENA(欧洲紧急号码协会)和NENA(国家紧急号码协会)的成员。

要了解更多信息,请访问beta80group.it/en或www.io-cad.com/。

关于 Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

要了解更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

AREU Emergency Services

AREU relies on Stratus to ensure Lombardy’s EMS PSAPs are ALWAYS ON

AREU (Azienda Regionale Emergenza Urgenza) dates back to April 2008 as the agency in charge of governance and operational management of extra hospital Emergency Medical Services (EMS) for the Lombardy region of Italy. This includes the management of EMS calls for service, as well as the coordination of tissue and organ transportation services.

In order to achieve the unification and coordination of all EMS activities throughout the region, AREU’s main objective is to foster constant improvements in the skillsets of its staff, in business processes, organization, technology and knowledge. In 2009 AREU was also responsible for launching 112 European Emergency Number services in Italy by strategically deploying three 1st level PSAPs within the territory.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Four EMS PSAPs serving an area of 9,300 square miles and approximately 13.5 million people; 2,190 unit dispatches per day, 580 units managed, 50 to 90 dispatchers per shift
  • Centralized shared Data Center designed according to the next generation data center paradigm with fault tolerance and disaster recovery assurance
  • Best in class CAD system encompassing call taking, dispatching, web access (400 managed remote stations), GIS, radio integration and mobile data computer access for first responders
  • Fault-tolerant server platform providing continuous availability to the CAD system

Products

  • Beta 80 emma/iO CAD suite
  • Stratus ftServer® 6400 systems
  • VMware® vSphere™ virtualization software

Services

  • Beta 80 24/7/365 support services
  • Stratus 24/7/365 Total Assurance support services

The Lombardy region stretches 24,000 km² (9,300 square miles) and is the most populated region in Italy with 10 million residents. The served population figure rises to 13.5 million if average commuter and tourist statistics are considered as well.

EMS figures reflect their 24/7/365 hour approach:

  • Number of calls per year: 1,150,000
  • Number of managed PSAP personnel (dispatchers and PSAP employees, professional first responders, volunteers, etc.): 38,000
  • Number of managed units: 580
  • Average time for unit dispatch (from the first phone ring to the actual unit engagement): 140 seconds

The Challenge

The Government of Lombardy appointed AREU to carry out a local EMS reorganization and control room consolidation to reduce the number of PSAPs from twelve to four—Como, Bergamo, Milan and Pavia. Each new PSAP (a.k.a. SOREU – Sala Operativa Regionale dell’Emergenza Urgenza) would have to be designed not as a stand-alone communication center, but with the inherent capability to act as a backup for any of the other three sites.

Leveraging an advanced, flexible and state-of-the-art Computer Aided Dispatch (CAD) system widely adopted throughout the region, EMS building-block business rules and processes needed to be adjusted and refined to respond to the requirements of the new organizational structure. Completely new inter-PSAP mutual aid agreements had to be put in place, together with an overall new design for unit assignment and location attribution rules. The CAD GIS component had to be enhanced and real-time data communications to and from private and public care homes had to be made available in order to guarantee a service fully integrated with the regional healthcare system.

The scope of the project was also extended to the control rooms. A centralized next generation data center was required in order to provide EMS with a fault-tolerant, disaster recovery capable underlying infrastructure based on a private cloud solution designed to ensure 24/7/365 availability to call takers, dispatchers, responders and citizens.

“At the time AREU was appointed to accomplish Lombardy’s PSAP consolidation, the very first concern was to unify the highly fragmented EMS business processes landscape ensuing from the then-operating twelve stand-alone control rooms. Beta 80’s emma/iO flexibility and customization capabilities paved the way to hit such a challenging target.”

The Business Solution

AREU selected Beta 80’s emma/iO CAD platform running on fault-tolerant ftServer systems from Stratus.

Best-in-Class CAD Software
The Beta 80 Public Safety CAD platform (emma/iO) provides first and second level PSAPs with the entire set of features required to respond to emergency calls for service. Beta 80’s emma/iO platform is widely appreciated for its unparalleled level of customization, intuitiveness, easy integration with external systems and high-end customer support services.

Beta 80’s emma/iO comes as a complete solution including:

  • Call Taking and Dispatching: call takers and dispatchers rely on emma/iO’s richness in features accessible by a modern, user-friendly graphical interface. emma/iO’s flexibility provides the ability to tailor the CAD solution according to specific Agency business rules
  • Integrated GIS: both publicly available and customized maps and cartography layers are at hand to dispatchers and supervisors to streamline incidents and crisis management
  • Mobile Data Communications: Mobile CAD, AVL support, radio dispatched unit status and cutting edge features such as emergency applications for smartphones and tablets and automatic vehicle collision system support
  • Business Intelligence: supports supervisors and public safety stakeholders to relentlessly monitor and improve Agency SLAs and business rules

AREU chose emma/iO as its reference CAD system and has been leveraging this platform to play a spearheading role in the European EMS community.

An Always-On Platform
AREU chose the Stratus ftServer platform based on its ability to deliver the highest levels of availability (99.999+) for its most critical CAD solution.

The ftServer’s fault-tolerant architecture eliminates single points of failure and addresses the hardware, software, and serviceability issues that can lead to downtime or data loss. Duplex hardware components process the same instructions at precisely the same time. If a component fails, its partner simply continues normal operations. Because replicated components perform the same instructions at the same time, there is no interruption in processing, no loss of performance, and no loss of data integrity—even if a component fails.

The ftServer also features an Automated Uptime™ layer that constantly monitors more than 500 system components and sensors to proactively identify, handle and report faults. A “call-home” feature alerts Stratus of a pending problem before system interruptions can occur.

The Results

The EMS consolidation has led to a homogenous organizational model among Lombardy’s PSAPs, enabling adoption of common procedures, effective collaboration across the region and the possibility for a PSAP to seamlessly step in as a back-up in instances where a PSAP is overstretched or disaster-affected. All these accomplishments have been achieved while maintaining the stringent quality and service levels inherent in Public Safety where even a second’s delay may be critical for the patient.

The new region-wide EMS system is also enabling the introduction of next generation services that allow first responders to perform telemedicine advanced tasks, e.g. EKG, emergency echography, real-time images and clinical data transfer to the PSAP and to target hospitals. PSAP situational awareness has been extended beyond the single control room managed area, providing a more effective sharing of field resources and enhanced cooperation procedures in the case of major incidents.

Finally, Lombardy Region’s consolidated EMS infrastructure has led to the best cost/effectiveness ratio in Italy and to one of the best in Europe.

The quality and service levels inherent in Public Safety require the highest degree of availability. The Beta 80/Stratus solution for AREU has proven to exceed initial expectations in terms of dependability, accountability and responsiveness, making it possible for AREU to focus on their core business and continuing to make service improvements to ensure the safety of Lombardy’s citizens.

“We needed a system that never fails and that’s why we chose Stratus ftServer for our entire support infrastructure. We have experienced great results and efficiencies and are setting the standard for other PSAPs in Italy and internationally. Thanks also to our technology partners, Stratus and Beta 80, we were recently named Outstanding Emergency Call Center by the European Emergency Number Association.”
Piero Maria Brambilla
Chief Information Officer, AREU

About Beta 80

Beta 80 Group is an Italian Company founded in 1986; since its inception, the Group has been working on the design and development of information systems supporting the activity of Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs). Headquartered in Milan, Beta 80 Group has 400 employees, 5 branches in Italy and 3 abroad. More than 60 PSAPs have chosen Beta 80 group as their partner of excellence for an overall of 27 Million citizens served and 17 Million managed calls per year. Beta 80 Group is member of EENA (European Emergency Number Association) and NENA (National Emergency Number Association).

To learn more, visit beta80group.it/en or www.io-cad.com/.

About Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

To learn more, visit www.stratus.com.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top