案例研究

Albian Sands Energy Inc.

Stratus 和罗克韦尔公司确保资产管理系统始终处于可用状态。

Albian Sands Energy Inc.在位于加拿大阿尔伯塔省Fort McMurray以北75公里的Muskeg River矿区经营油砂开采业务。在油砂开采过程中,使用铲子和卡车从地表以下清除石油和沙子的混合物。这种材料与温水混合,以分离石油和沙子。

油砂作业

在满负荷生产的情况下,Muskeg River矿每天为Athabasca油砂项目生产155,000桶沥青,这是一种主要由碳氢化合物组成的天然稠油。

Muskeg River矿和Scotford Upgrader共同组成了阿萨巴斯卡油砂项目,该项目是壳牌加拿大有限公司、雪佛龙加拿大有限公司(雪佛龙-德士古公司的全资子公司)和西部油砂公司的合资企业。阿萨巴斯卡油砂项目所生产的石油和石油相关产品的数量可以装满阿尔伯塔省每三辆汽车中的一辆。它将供应加拿大10%的石油需求。Muskeg河矿站在壳牌加拿大有限公司的13号租约上。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • 日产15.5万桶的油砂作业,供应加拿大10%的石油需求。
  • 集中管理维护和控制远程采矿资产的关键解决方案。
  • 罗克韦尔软件维护自动化控制中心(RSMACC)的始终在线可用性。
  • 应用程序通过单一的虚拟服务器进行安装、运行、管理和访问,从而消除了在集群和故障切换情况下所需的许可、安装和管理多个副本的需要。

产品

  • Stratus® everRun®软件

可编程逻辑控制器(PLC)的管理问题

Albian Sands需要一种可靠而有效的方法来维护其加工设施的自动化系统。停工时间的成本很高,而且在保持加工设施运行的过程中涉及到许多人员和自动化组件。我们需要一个复杂的资产管理解决方案,以保持对PLC的及时访问,以便进行维护,并及时访问这些PLC上运行的软件。同样重要的是维护软件的安全性和版本控制,包括适当的审计跟踪功能。

Albian Sands求助于罗克韦尔的RSMACC解决方案来提供必要的功能。罗克韦尔软件维护自动化控制中心(RSMACC)提供了一种集成化、模块化的方法,使Albian Sands能够保护和集中管理其自动化生产环境。

通过提供一个单一的访问点来收集、分析和管理整个企业的控制系统信息,RSMACC为Albian Sands提供了他们做出更好的维护和运营决策所需的知识。

持续运营的必要性

由于该系统的关键性,可能需要立即进入RSMACC系统,因此需要一个非常可靠的系统来提供RSMACC服务。RSMACC的停机会导致代价高昂的维修延误。

解决方案

罗克韦尔公司和Albian Sands公司向Stratus Technologies公司寻求 everRun®软件,为Albian Sands公司的RSMACC系统提供最高级别的可用性。该系统在很短的时间内完成了设置,并立即通过了所需的测试。

Stratus everRun 软件同步两个标准的Microsoft® Windows®服务器,创建一个虚拟应用环境,在两个服务器上同时运行一个RSMACC许可证。如果一个设备甚至整个服务器发生故障,RSMACC继续不间断运行。所有的冗余和故障对应用程序和用户完全透明。

应用程序通过单一的虚拟服务器进行安装、运行、管理和访问,消除了在集群和故障切换情况下所需的许可、安装和管理多个副本的需要。

"RSMACC的Stratus 解决方案为我们提供了油砂作业关键资产管理系统所需的高可用性,Stratus 系统对我们来说效果非常好,而且非常容易管理。"
Steven Korum先生
控制系统专家Albian Sands运营公司

成果

"RSMACC的Stratus 解决方案为我们提供了油砂作业的关键资产管理系统所需的高可用性。"Albian Sands Operations的控制系统专家Steven Korum说。"Stratus 系统对我们来说效果非常好,而且非常容易管理。"

Rockwell Automation, Inc.
1201 South Second Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204-2496USA
Web:www.rockwellautomation.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Albian Sands Energy Inc.

Stratus and Rockwell ensure always-on availability of asset management system

Albian Sands Energy Inc. runs the oil sands mining operation at the Muskeg River Mine located 75 kilometers north of Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada. In oil sands mining, a mix of oil and sand is removed from just below the surface using shovels and trucks. This material is mixed with warm water to separate the oil from the sand.

The Oil Sand Operations

At full production, the Muskeg River Mine produces 155,000 barrels per day (bpd) of bitumen, a naturally occurring thick oil comprised mainly of hydrocarbons, for the Athabasca Oil Sands Project.

The Muskeg River Mine and the Scotford Upgrader together comprise the Athabasca Oil Sands Project, a joint venture of Shell Canada Limited, Chevron Canada Limited (a wholly owned subsidiary of ChevronTexaco Corp.) and Western Oil Sands Inc. The amount of oil and oil-related products produced by the Athabasca Oil Sand Project could fill one in three cars in Alberta. It will supply 10 percent of Canada’s oil needs. The Muskeg River Mine stands on Shell Canada Limited’s Lease 13.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Oil sands operation that produces 155,000 barrels per day, supplying 10 percent of Canada’s oil needs
  • Critical solution for centrally managing maintenance and control of remote mining assets
  • Always-on availability of Rockwell Software Maintenance Automation Control Center (RSMACC)
  • Applications are installed, run, managed and accessed through a single virtual server, eliminating the need to license, install and manage multiple copies as required in clustering and failover situations

Products

  • Stratus® everRun® software

The Problems Managing Programmable Logic Controllers (PLCs)

Albian Sands needed a reliable and efficient way to maintain its automation system at the processing facilities. Downtime is expensive and there are many people and automation components involved in keeping the processing facilities running. A sophisticated asset management solution was required to maintain prompt access to PLCs for maintenance purposes and prompt access to the software running on these PLCs. It was also important to maintain security and version control for this software, including the proper audit trail functions.

Albian Sands turned to Rockwell’s RSMACC solution to provide the necessary capabilities. Rockwell Software Maintenance Automation Control Center (RSMACC) offers an integrated, modular approach that lets Albian Sands protectively and centrally manage their automated production environment.

By providing a single point of access for gathering, analyzing, and managing control system information across the enterprise, RSMACC provides Albian Sands with the knowledge they need to make better maintenance and operational decisions.

The Need for Continuous Operation

Because of the critical nature of this system, where access to the RSMACC system may be required without delay, a very highly reliable system to provide the RSMACC services was required. Downtime of RSMACC can lead to costly delays in maintenance.

The Solution

Rockwell and Albian Sands turned to Stratus Technologies for its everRun® software to provide Albian Sands the highest levels of availability for their RSMACC system. The system was set up in a very short time and passed the required tests immediately.

Stratus everRun software synchronizes two standard Microsoft® Windows® servers to create a virtual application environment that runs a single license of RSMACC on both servers simultaneously. If a device or even an entire server fails, RSMACC continues to operate uninterrupted. All redundancies and failures are completely transparent to the applications and users.

Applications are installed, run, managed and accessed through the single virtual server, eliminating the need to license, install and manage multiple copies as required in clustering and failover situations.

“The Stratus solution for RSMACC offers us the high level of availability we need for our critical asset management system at the oil sands operations, the Stratus system has worked extremely well for us and has been very easy to manage.”
Mr. Steven Korum
Control Systems Specialist Albian Sands Operations

The Results

“The Stratus solution for RSMACC offers us the high level of availability we need for our critical asset management system at the oil sands operations,” says Steven Korum, Control Systems Specialist at Albian Sands Operations. “The Stratus system has worked extremely well for us and has been very easy to manage.”

Rockwell Automation, Inc.
1201 South Second Street
Milwaukee, WI 53204-2496USA
Web: www.rockwellautomation.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top