案例研究

友江乳业加工

Stratus® ftServer®为日本最大的乳制品加工厂的EDI系统提供了稳定的环境。

富江乳品加工自成立以来,在严格的卫生管理下,将安全放心的牛奶和乳制品送到学校、家庭和工作场所。富江乳业生产和销售的冰鲜产品必须要有新鲜感,为了让高品质的原奶呈现出原汁原味的美味,公司启动了各种程序。90%的产品在收到订单的当天就能发货。支持极短的交货期和稳定的供应线的友荣ICT系统的基础设施是Stratus ftServer 。

总公司位于茨城县古贺市的富江乳品加工株式会社在当地可谓家喻户晓,为中小学的午餐提供牛奶制品和饮料。友惠的历史始于1956年,前社长中田敏夫接手关东筑山工业株式会社,该公司除了加工销售牛奶外,还加工销售肉类和火腿,当时该公司陷入了财务困境,中田敏夫将其作为奶牛场重新启动。古贺市位于茨城县西部边缘,从该地区在县内开展业务很困难。然而,中田俊之社长兼CEO强调,富江公司的发展是将这一地理位置变成了他们的优势。"当我们把业务范围扩大到关东地区时,甲贺就在中间。在当时,向其他县(一些国家,特别是中国或日本的行政区域)销售是很困难的。但通过建立以'生产、加工、销售'三位一体为基础的关系,我们获得了人们的信任,我们的业务区域也向四周扩展。"

这些"生产、加工、销售"的创业理念也体现在富江的标志中。1962年,公司更名为现在的"富江乳品加工株式会社"。公司经营理念的支柱之一"通过安全放心的牛奶和乳制品为社会做贡献"是由生产者、加工者和销售者三方关系形成的,在标志的"mitsudomoe"(圆圈中的三个逗号形数字)设计中得到体现。为了满足日益增长的需求,1994年,富江在现在的位置上建立了配备最先进设备的新工厂。但建成后,该公司很快就发现其规模已经太小,于是制定了建设第二工厂的计划。

然而,这些计划最终还是回到了起点。"我们从2005年就开始规划第二工厂,"中田说,"但当2011年东日本大地震发生时,我们再次感受到'稳定的供应'是多么重要,所以我们从一开始就重新审视了计划。"这座2013年建成的第二工厂显然拥有不间断的电源,并加入了多种措施来确保稳定的供应,包括厂房内的变电站和即使在地震中也不会倒塌的坚固仓库系统。

现在,富江乳品加工公司是拥有日本最大规模的牛奶加工工厂的厂家。但是,光靠强化生产设备是无法实现稳定供应的。

信息和通信技术系统管理着收到的订单和生产之间的关系。迫切需要对信息和通信技术系统进行审查,以便稳定供应安全和有保障的牛奶和乳制品。

"因为我们很幸运,我们公司的ICT系统没有发生重大问题,所以可用性措施的实施被放在了后面。"销售部系统经理Kazuto Hiroki说。"而且,我们的在线订单管理系统是我们业务中最重要的东西,它是在一台服务器上运行的。我们一直生活在这样的风险之中:如果服务器出现故障,当天的业务--从生产到发货的一切都会停止。"由于牛奶和乳制品是对新鲜度至关重要的冷藏产品,因此交货期极短。"在收到订单的当天就发货的情况并不少见。如果在我们中午到下午3点的出货高峰期,系统哪怕是停了一个小时,都会造成很大的损失,这对我们的业务来说可能是致命的。所以当我们要更换硬件的时候,我们开始考虑建立一个高可靠性的基础平台,即使系统出现故障也不会停止。"

弘毅列举了网上订单管理系统服务器的两个要求。第一,即使硬件出现故障,业务也不会停止。第二,发生故障时,系统不需要人为干预就能保持运行,恢复也很简单,不需要后续工作。"我们的工厂一年365天都在运作,但我们没有一个专职的信息系统部门。"广木说。"我们认为,在这样的设置下,当系统发生故障时,人们必须进行切换,即使有冗余,我们也无法保证稳定的供应。"Tomoe想要的是一款实现"无人值守操作"的服务器,这样即使在Hiroki不在时发生故障,操作也不会停止。

Hiroki所选择的是Stratus Technologies的Always-on解决方案,即ftServer ,该方案是由Daiko Denshi Tsushin, Ltd.推荐的,该公司已经为Tomoe的ICT系统提供了20多年的支持。

Hiroki解释了Tomoe选择ftServer.的原因。"我们当时使用的是主动待机系统作为自动化仓库系统的基础设施。然而,过去当发生故障时,需要手动切换,我们发现恢复操作非常困难。我们考虑过使用群集系统,但我们缺乏技术诀窍。而且价格也很昂贵。而ftServer ,其稳定运行率极高,本身就可以防止停机的发生。在进行维护时不需要停止运行,恢复操作也很简单。最重要的是,我们可以避免影响我们的业务。ftServer 是唯一符合我们要求的。"ftServer'的硬件组件是完全冗余的,两个CPU总是同步的,同时进行相同的处理。因此,如果一个组件发生故障,镜像它的组件就会继续处理。在这种情况下,不会出现系统"切换",因此不会对操作系统和正在运行的应用程序造成影响。从检测到硬件异常或故障到通过更换组件重新启动全双工操作,操作仍在继续,系统不受影响。由于不仅熟悉富江的EDI系统,而且熟悉包括管理结构在内的整个系统所面临的挑战,因此,Daiko Denshi Tsushin建议将ftServer ,作为支持富江所需的稳定供应的系统基础设施。

"网上订购系统对于我们公司的业务来说是必不可少的。"广木向包括社长在内的管理层解释道。"以我们的交易量,如果交易停止,不仅业务停止,而且'生产、加工、销售'之间的信任关系也会受到影响。我怎么强调都不为过,保证系统的稳定运行对产品的稳定供应是多么重要。最重要的地方要从系统基础设施开始。"于是决定引进ftServer 。

在富江,第一个ftServer ,最初是安装在Intercom的EDI解决方案"Biware"平台上。"我们真的可以放心了。"广木笑着说。其实在安装后半年左右就出现了故障。"故障发生在我离开办公室之后,但我们能够顺利地继续运营,第二天就进行了维护支持。"

"我们觉得,即使没有人在,也真的可以。"Hiroki重复道。再次显示出对ftServer'持续运行的信心,以及不需要后续的事实,Tomoe决定使用两台ftServers作为公司文件服务器的平台。"Tomoe的生产管理数据都存储在我们公司的文件服务器上。每天根据这些生产管理数据进行生产。在生产高峰期,每小时都要输入生产指令的调整,所以我们把文件服务器也看作是一个关键任务系统。这就是为什么在更换文件服务器的时候,我们决定使用ftServer 。虽然在IT方面还有需要投资的地方,但我们觉得在实现我们所宣称的稳定供应方面已经取得了相当大的进步",Hiroki满意地说道。

庆祝了60周年,富江乳业加工公司正在为下一个十年进行宏伟的设计,着眼于为200年打下基础。"2015年,我们的年销售额达到345亿日元。在向关西地区扩大销售时,我们要达到500亿日元,我们要把市场扩大到缅甸、越南等亚洲地区。"中田热情地说。除了扩张之外,富江还致力于开发健康增值产品,打造健康品牌,并对牛奶进行研究,提高其附加值。

自1994年起在公司内设立的"牛奶博物馆",收藏了5,000多件与奶牛养殖和乳品行业有关的独特物品,是日本唯一一家可以近距离体验乳品历史和发展的博物馆,受到众多游客的欢迎。该博物馆是日本唯一一家可以近距离体验乳制品的历史和发展的博物馆,受到众多游客的欢迎。富江的经营理念之一是"产业中有文化",通过传承乳业文化信息,积极努力保护和发展当地文化。

"牛奶中含有维持健康所必需的营养成分的平衡",身为医生的中田充满激情地说道。"就像我们的经营理念中的'ishoku dogen(营养和医学对健康同样重要)'这句话一样,作为一名医生,我相信,今后,我有责任为大家提供健康的源泉。"

富江乳品加工公司从关东乳品制造商起步,将业务范围扩大到日本全国乃至亚洲,为提高牛奶的价值而不断努力。在迈向200年事业的道路上,他们不会停下脚步。

关于朋江

富江乳业加工株式会社成立于1941年(昭和16年),位于茨城县古贺市下平1955号。截至2016年5月,富江公司共有员工280人(包括兼职员工)。

欲了解更多信息,请访问www.tomoemilk.jp

关于 Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

要了解更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Tomoe Dairy Processing

Stratus® ftServer® provides a stable environment in the EDI system for the largest dairy processing factory in Japan

Since its foundation, Tomoe Dairy Processing has been delivering safe and secure milk and dairy products to schools, homes and workplaces under strict hygiene control. Freshness is essential to the chilled products Tomoe manufactures and sells, and the company has initiated a variety of procedures in order to provide the original delicious taste of high-quality raw milk. 90% of products are shipped on the day the order is received. The infrastructure of Tomoe’s ICT system, which supports an extremely short lead time and a stable supply line, is the Stratus ftServer.

With its head office located in Koga City, Ibaraki, Tomoe Dairy Processing Co., LTD. is a familiar name in the city, providing milk products and beverages for elementary and junior high school lunches. Tomoe’s history begins in 1956, when former President Toshio Nakata took over at Kanto Chikusan Kogyo K.K. That company, which processed and sold milk as well as meat and ham, was in financial difficulties, and Nakata restarted it as a dairy farm. The city of Koga is located at the western edge of Ibaraki, and it was difficult to do business within the prefecture from that area. However, Toshiyuki Nakata, President & CEO emphasizes that Tomoe developed by turning this location to their advantage. “When we expanded our business area to the Kanto region, Koga was right in the middle. In those days it was difficult to sell to other prefectures (an administrative district of some countries, especially China or Japan). But by building relationships based on the trinity of ‘production, processing and sales’ we gained people’s trust and our business area expanded in all directions.”

These founding principles of “production, processing and sales” are also displayed in Tomoe’s logo. In 1962 the company changed its name to the present “Tomoe Dairy Processing Co., Ltd.” One of the pillars of the company’s management philosophy, “contributing to society through safe and secure milk and dairy products”, was formed out of the three-way relationship between producers, processors and salespeople, and is represented in the mitsudomoe design (three comma-shaped figures in a circle) of the logo. In response to increasing demand, Tomoe built a new factory equipped with state-of-the-art facilities in the current location in 1994. But after it was completed, the company soon found that it was already too small and plans to build a second factory were drawn up.

However, those plans ended up going back to square one. “We had been planning the second factory since 2005,” says Nakata, “but when the Great East Japan Earthquake happened in 2011 we again felt how important a ‘stable supply’ is, so we reviewed our plans from the beginning.” This second factory, completed in 2013, obviously has an uninterruptible power supply and incorporates a variety of measures to ensure a stable supply, including a substation on the premises and a solid warehouse system that will not collapse even in an earthquake.

Tomoe Dairy Processing is now the manufacturer that boasts the largest-scale processing factory for milk in Japan. However, a stable supply is not established just by strengthening the manufacturing facilities.

The ICT system manages the relationship between received orders and production. A review of the ICT system was urgently needed for a stable supply of safe and secure milk and dairy products.

“Because we were fortunate in that no major problems occurred in our company’s ICT system, the implementation of availability measures had been put on the back burner,” says Kazuto Hiroki, the System Manager of the Sales Department. “Also, our online order management system, which is the most important thing in our business, was operating on a single server. We were living with the risk that, if the server had malfunctioned, that day’s operations—everything from production to shipping—would have been stopped.” Because milk and dairy products are chilled products for which freshness is essential, the lead time is extremely short. “It’s not unusual for an order to be shipped on the same day it’s received. If the system stopped even for an hour during our peak shipping period between noon and 3:00pm, we would incur large losses and it could be fatal to our business. So when it was time to replace the hardware, we started to consider building a highly reliable infrastructure platform that wouldn’t stop even if there were a system malfunction.”

Hiroki listed two requirements for an online order management system server. First, business does not stop even if there is a hardware malfunction. Second, the system keeps operating without human intervention when a malfunction occurs, and recovery is simple and requires no follow-up. “Our factory operates 365 days a year, but we don’t have a full-time information systems department,” says Hiroki. “We thought that, in a setup where people would have to do switch-overs when a system malfunction occurred, we would not be able to ensure a stable supply even with redundancy.” What Tomoe wanted was a server that achieved “unattended operation” so that operations would not stop even if a malfunction occurred when Hiroki was away.

What Hiroki selected was Stratus Technologies’ always-on solution, the ftServer, which was suggested by Daiko Denshi Tsushin, Ltd., the company that had been providing support for Tomoe’s ICT system for over 20 years.

Hiroki explains the reasons for Tomoe’s selection of the ftServer. “We were using an active-standby system as the infrastructure for our automated warehouse system. However, in the past, manual switching was required when a malfunction occurred, and we found that recovery operations were very hard. We considered a cluster system, but we lacked the know-how. It was also very expensive. The ftServer has an exceedingly high stable operation rate and the occurrence of downtime itself can be prevented. It doesn’t need to stop running when maintenance is being performed and recovery operations are easy. Most of all, we can avoid impacting our business. The ftServer was the only one that matched our requirements.” The ftServer’s hardware components are fully redundant and the two CPUs are always synchronized, performing the same processing simultaneously. Thus, if one component malfunctions, the component mirroring it continues processing. In this situation, there is no system “switching” and therefore no impact on the OS or the applications running operations. From the time a hardware abnormality or malfunction is detected until full-duplex operations are restarted by component replacement, the operations continue with the system remaining unaffected. Being familiar not only with Tomoe’s EDI system but also with the challenges of the entire system, including management structure, Daiko Denshi Tsushin suggested the ftServer as a system infrastructure that would support the stable supply required by Tomoe.

“The online ordering system is essential for our company’s business,” Hiroki explained to management, including the president. “With our volume of transactions, when they stop, not only does business stop but the trust relationship between ‘production, processing and sales’ is affected too. I can’t emphasize enough how important it is to ensure stable system operations for a stable supply of products. The most important place to start is the system infrastructure.” And the decision to introduce the ftServer was made.

At Tomoe, the first ftServer was initially installed on Intercom’s EDI solution “Biware” platform. “We can really feel safe,” smiles Hiroki. There was actually a malfunction about six months after installation. “The malfunction occurred after I had left the office, but we were able to continue operations without incident, and the following day maintenance support was carried out.”

“We felt that it would really be OK even if nobody was there,” Hiroki repeats. Once again showing faith in the ftServer’s continuous operation and the fact that it requires no follow-up, Tomoe decided to use two ftServers as the platform for the company’s file servers. “Tomoe’s production management data is stored on our company’s file servers. Daily production is performed according to this production management data. At peak production time, adjustments to production instructions are entered hourly, so we see our file server as a mission-critical system as well. That’s why, when it was time to replace our file servers, we decided to use the ftServer. There are still areas where we need to invest in IT, but we feel that we’ve made considerable progress towards reaching the stable supply we profess,” says Hiroki with satisfaction.

Having celebrated their 60th anniversary, Tomoe Dairy Processing is setting up their grand design for the next ten years, with an eye to laying the foundation for 200 years. ”In 2015 we reached 34.5 billion JPY in annual sales. We want to reach 50 billion JPY in expanding sales into the Kansai region, we are going to expand our market into Asia, such as Myanmar and Vietnam,” says Nakata enthusiastically. Besides expansion, Tomoe is also working on developing health-value-added products, building healthy brands, and conducting research into milk to improve its added value.

The “Milk Museum”, located on the company’s premises since 1994, contains over 5,000 unique items related to dairy farming and the dairy industry. It is the only museum of its kind in Japan, offering a close-up experience of the history and development of dairy products, and is popular with many visitors. Part of Tomoe’s management philosophy is “there is culture in industry,” and it is by handing down information about dairy culture that the company is actively striving to preserve and develop the local culture.

“Milk includes a good balance of nutrients that are essential for maintaining good health,” Nakata, who is also a medical doctor, says passionately. “Like the expression ‘ishoku dogen (nutrition and medicine are equally important for health),’ which is part of our management philosophy, as a doctor I believe that, going forward, it is my duty to provide everyone with sources of health.”

From their beginnings as a Kanto dairy manufacturer and expanding their business area throughout Japan and into Asia, Tomoe Dairy Processing has pushed forward to improve the value of milk. They will not stop on their path towards a 200-year business.

About Tomoe

Tomoe Dairy Processing Co., Ltd. was established in 1941 (Showa 16), and is located at 1955 Shimohemi, Koga City, Ibaraki. As of May 2016, Tomoe employed 280 people (including part-time employees).

For more information, visit www.tomoemilk.jp

About Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

To learn more, visit www.stratus.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top