案例研究

Samuel Simmonds纪念医院

Stratus® ftServer®系统帮助偏远的阿拉斯加医院实现关键系统和数据的持续可用性。

位于阿拉斯加巴罗的塞缪尔-西蒙兹纪念医院(SSMH)是北坡地区的主要医疗设施,其服务人口超过了华盛顿州的面积。由北极坡原住民协会(ASNA)运营,并获得联合委员会的认证,这所拥有14张床位的综合医疗设施在服务质量和患者安全标准方面跻身全国顶级医院之列。SSMH全年无休,有225名员工,为新生儿到老年患者提供门诊、住院和急诊服务,以及广泛的妇产科、牙科、验光、药房、实验室、听力、物理治疗、呼吸治疗、放射科和其他专科诊所服务。

支持偏远北极坡地区的自给自足。

SSMH 位于美国最北端的城市,面临一系列独特的运营挑战。它所服务的区域被连续的永久冻土所覆盖,夏季平均温度为 45 华氏度,冬季为零下 30 华氏度。

由于地处北极圈内的偏远位置,医院必须比一般的医疗设施更加自给自足。标准程序,如及时订购,根本不适用;根据天气情况,隔夜交货可能需要一周时间,附近没有大型零售商店,可以在短时间内购买设备、部件和用品。因此,医院必须将冗余、简单和高效纳入其运营的各个方面,包括其信息系统,以确保业务连续性和始终如一的高质量病人护理。

简要概述

问题

  • 偏远的阿拉斯加医院需要为其RPMS应用程序和EHR数据库提供持续可用性解决方案。

解决方案

  • Stratus ftServer 2600系统的容错架构和内置的虚拟化可以保护医院的关键系统,防止计划外停机和数据丢失。

结果

  • 通过ftServer 系统运行其虚拟化的临床和管理应用程序,SSMH已经能够。
  • 使其RPMS应用程序和电子健康记录数据库始终保持正常运行。
  • 获得联合委员会的认证,并获得CMS的奖励资金,以实现有意义的使用。
  • 帮助医院员工通过持续访问系统和数据提供优质护理服务

开拓改进的机会

2013 年,SSMH 迁入新建的现代化设施,规模是原来医院的四倍,以便更好地服务于北坡的居民。在准备搬迁的过程中,SSMH 的信息服务团队决定更新医院的计算基础架构,更换现有的戴尔服务器,并对其关键任务的临床和管理应用程序进行虚拟化,包括印第安人健康服务 (IHS) 的资源和患者管理系统 (RPMS) 以及在 Intersystems Ensemble 平台上运行的电子健康记录 (EHR) 数据库。考虑到医院对自给自足和始终在线计算的需求,持续可用性是新服务器选择过程中的一个关键标准。

"如果我们的临床应用和EHR数据库出现故障,我们的医务人员就不得不重新回到纸笔上,这就很难进行必要的标准检查和审计,以确保高质量的患者护理。" SSMH的信息服务总监Adam Smith解释道。"我们还必须考虑停机的经济成本,每小时加起来约为15000美元。鉴于潜在的后果,计划外的停机时间对我们来说根本不是一个选择。"

"如果我们的临床应用和EHR数据库出现故障,我们的医务人员就不得不重新回到纸笔上,这就很难进行必要的标准检查和审计,以确保病人护理质量。"
Adam Smith
信息服务主任
Samuel Simmonds纪念医院

选择最适合的高可用性选项

在研究了各种高可用性方案后,SSMH决定实施Stratus® ftServer® 2600系统。容错ftServer 2600采用四核英特尔®Xeon®处理器和英特尔QuickPath®架构,运行Microsoft®Windows Server®,并提供内置的虚拟化功能,是保护SSMH的关键应用免受停机和数据丢失的理想解决方案。

全冗余服务器技术通过承受和解决通常导致故障转移、数据丢失、虚拟机和应用程序重新启动的问题,预测和防止停机。24/7/365主动式可用性管理服务与ftServer的软件和硬件协同工作,进一步确保行业领先的可用性水平。同时,ftServer 系统消除了集群或备用系统所固有的高成本和操作复杂性,使医院无需修改应用程序或执行故障转移脚本和重复测试,就能实现持续的可用性,从而使应用程序集群化。

"我不想依靠影子和集群等方法来实现高可用性,"Smith补充道。"根据我的经验,那些解决方案设置复杂,难以维护。Stratus ftServer 系统不需要大量的维护和保养,它只是做了它应该做的事情:提供持续的可用性。"

让关键应用程序始终保持正常运行状态。

自从安装ftServer 2600系统以来,SSMH没有经历过任何计划外的停机时间;医院员工可以持续访问临床和管理应用程序,以提供高质量的病人护理,并保持管理功能顺利运行。ftServer 系统的专用容错硬件、Automated Uptime Layer™软件和主动式 24/7/365 主动式可用性管理服务相结合,提供了传统服务器或低端集群无法比拟的高度可靠的始终在线解决方案。

"一旦我们安装了ftServer 系统,并将我们的应用程序转移过来,我们还真的不用对它做任何事情,"Smith评论道。从微软的角度来看,除了做重启和更新之外,它真的是隐形的。ftServer 是'沉默的商业伙伴',让我们的系统在后端保持运行。"

"Stratus ftServer 系统不需要大量的维护和保养,它只是做它应该做的事情:提供持续的可用性。"
Adam Smith
信息服务总监
Samuel Simmonds纪念医院

满足监管和有意义的使用要求

在受到严格监管的医疗保健行业,高可用性是合规的关键。为了保持联合委员会的评审和认证,SSMH 必须对其 RPMS 和 EHR 系统以及关键政策和程序进行严格审核,包括与 IT 系统可用性、备份和数据保留相关的政策和程序。ftServer 系统使 SSMH 能够达到满足这些标准和保持合规性所需的高水平的系统可用性。

此外,医疗保险和医疗补助服务中心(CMS)向符合条件的关键访问医院提供奖励金,这些医院通过满足特定标准(包括最低可用性标准)来证明EHR的有意义使用。"向前看,医院必须满足Meanful Use 2.0目标,才能继续获得CMS的奖励资金,"Smith补充道。"有了ftServer 系统,将帮助我们达到甚至超越这些目标。"

"老实说,ftServer 系统能做到Stratus 所说的一切,不需要任何调整或修改。它只是在工作。"
Adam Smith
信息服务主任
Samuel Simmonds纪念医院

超越预期的高可用性和操作简单性

基于SSMH对目前Stratus 解决方案的满意程度,Smith会考虑用ftServer 系统来运行医院未来可能实施的其他具有高可用性要求的关键应用。

"外面很多供应商往往承诺过高,而交付不足,"Smith总结道。"老实说,ftServer 系统能做到Stratus 所说的一切,而且不需要任何调整或修改。它只是在工作。"

关于 Stratus Technologies

在当今始终在线的世界里,应用程序对运行环境要求越来越高。随着这些需求的不断升级,为了将应用停机时间降至最低,企业面临的压力也越来越大。企业正在通过寻找符合或增强其现有IT基础设施的技术来应对永续解决方案需求。

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital

Stratus® ftServer® system helps remote Alaska hospital achieve continuous availability of critical systems and data

Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital (SSMH) in Barrow, Alaska, the primary healthcare facility for the North Slope region, serves a population spanning an area larger than Washington State. Operated by the Arctic Slope Native Association (ASNA) and accredited by The Joint Commission, this 14-bed general medical facility ranks among the top hospitals nationwide for quality of service and patient safety standards. A 24/7/365 facility with 225 employees, SSMH provides outpatient, inpatient and emergency care for newborn through elderly patients, as well as a broad range of ob/gyn, dental, optometry, pharmacy, laboratory, audiology, physical therapy, respiratory therapy, radiology and other specialty clinic services.

Supporting Self-Sufficiency In Remote Arctic Slope Location

Located in the northernmost city in the U.S., SSMH faces a unique set of operating challenges. The region it serves is underlain by continuous permafrost and the average temperature is 45° F in the summer and –30° F in the winter.

Due to its remote location within the Arctic Circle the hospital must be far more self-sufficient than the typical medical facility. Standard procedures like just-in-time ordering simply do not apply; depending on weather conditions, overnight deliveries can take as long as a week and there are no major retail stores nearby from which to buy equipment, parts, and supplies at a moment’s notice. As a result, the hospital must build redundancy, simplicity and efficiency into all aspects of its operations, including its information systems, in order to ensure business continuity and consistently high-quality patient care.

Quick Facts

Problem

  • Remote Alaska hospital needed a continuous availability solution for its RPMS applications and EHR database

Solution

  • The Stratus ftServer 2600 system’s fault-tolerant architecture and built-in virtualization protect the hospital’s critical systems against unplanned downtime and data loss

Results

  • With the ftServer system running its virtualized clinical and administrative applications, SSMH has been able to:
  • Keep its RPMS applications and EHR database up and running—all the time
  • Earn Joint Commission accreditation and receive CMS incentive funding for meaningful use
  • Help hospital staff deliver quality care with continuous access to systems and data

Opening Up Opportunities for Improvement

In 2013, SSMH moved into a newly constructed, modern facility—four times the size of the original hospital—in order to better serve the people of the North Slope. In preparation for the move, SSMH’s Information Services team decided to refresh the hospital’s computing infrastructure by replacing its exist­ing Dell servers and virtualizing its mission-critical clinical and administrative applications, including the Indian Health Service’s (IHS) Resource and Patient Management System (RPMS) and the Electronic Health Record (EHR) database, which runs on an Intersystems Ensemble platform. Given the hospital’s need for self-sufficiency and always-on computing, continuous availability was a key criterion in the new server selection process.

“If our clinical applications and EHR database go down, our medical staff has to revert back to paper and pencil, which makes it difficult to do the standard checks and audits necessary to ensure quality patient care.” explains Adam Smith, Information Services Director at SSMH. “We also have to consider the financial cost of downtime, which adds up to about $15,000 per hour. Given the potential consequences, unplanned downtime is simply not an option for us.”

“If our clinical applications and EHR database go down, our medical staff has to revert back to paper and pencil, which makes it difficult to do the standard checks and audits necessary to ensure quality patient care.”
Adam Smith
Information Services Director
Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital

Selecting the Best-Fit High Availability Option

After researching various high availability options, SSMH decided to implement the Stratus® ftServer® 2600 system. Powered by the quad-core Intel® Xeon® processor and Intel QuickPath® Architecture, the fault-tolerant ftServer 2600 runs Microsoft® Windows Server® and provides built-in virtualization, making it an ideal solution for protecting SSMH’s critical applications against downtime and data loss.

Fully redundant server technology predicts and prevents downtime by withstanding and resolving issues that typically result in failover, data loss, and virtual-machine and application restarts. 24/7/365 proactive availability management services work in concert with ftServer’s software and hardware to further ensure industry-leading availability levels. At the same time, the ftServer system eliminates the high costs and operational complexity inherent in clusters or standby systems, enabling the hospital to achieve continuous availability without having to modify applications or perform the failover scripting and repeated testing required to make applications cluster aware.

“I didn’t want to rely on approaches like shadowing and clustering to achieve high availability,” adds Smith. “In my experience, those solutions are complex to set up and difficult to maintain. The Stratus ftServer system doesn’t require a lot of maintenance and upkeep; it just does what it’s supposed to do: deliver continuous availability.”

Keeping Critical Applications Up and Running— All the Time

Since installing the ftServer 2600 system, SSMH has experienced no unplanned downtime; the hospital staff has enjoyed continuous access to the clinical and administrative applications it needs to deliver quality patient care and keep administrative functions running smoothly. The ftServer system’s purpose-built fault-tolerant hardware, Automated Uptime Layer™ software, and proactive 24/7/365 proactive availability management services combine to provide a highly reliable always-on solution unmatched by conventional servers or low-end clusters.

“Once we installed the ftServer system and moved our applications over, we haven’t really had to do anything with it,” comments Smith. Outside of doing reboots and updates from a Microsoft standpoint, it really has been invisible. ftServer is the ‘silent business partner’ that keeps our systems up and running on the back end.”

“The Stratus ftServer system doesn’t require a lot of maintenance and upkeep; it just does what it’s supposed to do: deliver continuous availability.”
Adam Smith
Information Services Director
Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital

Meeting Regulatory and Meaningful Use Requirements

In the heavily regulated healthcare industry, high availability is key to compliance. To maintain Joint Commission accredita­tion and certification SSMH is subject to rigorous audits of its RPMS and EHR systems as well as key policies and procedures, including those related to IT system availability, backup and data retention. The ftServer system is enabling SSMH to achieve the high levels of system availability needed to meet these standards and stay compliant.

In addition, the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) offers incentive payments to eligible critical access hospitals that demonstrate meaningful use of EHR by meeting specific criteria, including a minimum availability standard. “Moving forward, the hospital must meet Meaningful Use 2.0 objectives to continue receiving incentive funding from CMS,” adds Smith. “Having the ftServer system in place will help us hit, if not beat, those objectives.”

“Quite honestly, the ftServer system does everything Stratus said it would do and there isn’t any tweaking or modifying required. It just works.”
Adam Smith
Information Services Director
Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital

Exceeding Expectations for High Availability and Operational Simplicity

Based on SSMH’s satisfaction with the Stratus solution to date, Smith would consider the ftServer system for running other critical applications with high availability requirements that the hospital may implement in the future.

“A lot of vendors out there tend to over-promise and under-deliver,” concludes Smith. “Quite honestly, the ftServer system does everything Stratus said it would do and there isn’t any tweaking or modifying required. It just works.”

About Stratus Technologies

In today’s always-on world, applications run under increasingly demanding circumstances. With these escalating demands comes greater pressure to prevent even the smallest amount of application downtime. Companies are responding to this need for always-on solutions by searching for technologies that either conform to or enhance their current IT infrastructures.

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top