案例研究

Rexam BCNA

完美的工厂依靠SAP软件和STRATUS SERVERS来解决计划内和计划外的停机问题。

当消费者打开清凉饮料的盖子时,这个罐子很有可能是由Rexam生产的--全球最大的饮料罐制造商和第四大消费包装公司。这家全球公司最大的业务是位于芝加哥的瑞萨姆饮料罐北美公司(BCNA)。

经营情况

这家SAP® Business Suite应用程序的长期用户希望将其制造业IT战略提升到一个新的水平。在SAP R/3®软件中已经定制的功能得到了增强,并被转移到软件的企业实例之外的工厂。

这使得即使在广域网瘫痪,或由于数据中心的软件补丁或系统升级而无法访问中央SAP应用程序时,也能收集和报告制造数据。由于其17家制造工厂接近满负荷运行,停机时间显然是不可接受的。

虽然数据和交易屏幕的持续可用性至关重要,但Rexam BCNA还需要在不需要在制造现场部署IT人员的情况下实现其目标。经过仔细评估,Rexam BCNA选择Stratus® ftServer®系统作为部署SAP® xApp™制造集成和智能(SAP xMII)复合应用的硬件平台,用于将制造交易与SAP ERP应用集成。ftServer 系统还驱动Acumence工厂分析服务器,用于实时监控运营和解决制造异常。

简要概述

 解决方案简介

  • "精益MES"将关键事务分配到工厂。
  • 以本地生存能力解决计划内和计划外的停机问题。
  • 与SAP R/3软件无缝集成
  • 支持世界级的质量和效率

产品

  • 17个站点部署的平台(每个站点)。
  • (1) 用于SAP xMII的Stratus® ftServer®系统。
  • (1)植物分析ftServer 系统
  • (1) 用于植物分析的ftScalable™ 存储器。
  • 安装、培训、远程监控和维护服务
  • SAP xMII综合应用
  • Oracle®10i数据库
  • Acumence工厂分析服务器
  • Microsoft® Windows Server®操作系统

服务

    • 塔塔咨询服务

业务目标

Rexam制定了一套积极的项目目标。

  • 通过本地生存能力解决计划内和计划外的系统停机问题。
  • 建立一个"精益市场执行服务"框架,使用SAP解决方案进行中央规划和执行。
  • 与SAP R/3软件无缝集成
  • 加强多个系统之间的信息共享
  • 通过将功能转移到工厂的SAP xMII综合应用程序,减少SAP R/3中的定制化。

"事实证明,这是一个非常经济实惠的解决方案,为企业带来了关键的效益。"
Paul Martin
Rexam PLC的CIO

可用性解决方案

Rexam BCNA评估了几个备选方案,以提高其工厂SAP交易屏幕的可用性。在企业级增加第二个SAP R/3基础架构实例,以适应系统升级和维护,只能帮助解决计划中的停机时间。复杂度和成本也排除了在每个工厂使用第三方制造执行系统(MES)的可能性,该系统有自己的数据库,通过企业应用(EAI)工具与SAP R/3软件连接。

在探索SAP最新产品(包括SAP xMII复合应用程序)的功能时,正确的解决方案成为焦点。将这些功能与本地数据库相结合,项目集成商Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)创建了一个系统,该系统在车间提供用户友好的屏幕,在正常情况下,同步更新数据中心运行的SAP R/3软件。

如果SAP R/3应用中断或广域网不可用,工厂人员仍可访问其交易屏幕。交易将被存储,并在SAP企业资源规划系统恢复在线后转发。

Rexam BCNA在选择Stratus 容错服务器之前,曾考虑过构建集群,但集群会带来持续的管理挑战,他们希望避免。"我们正在寻找'五个九'的可用性,"Rexam BCNA的SAP应用开发经理Ganesh Iyer说。"对我们来说,同样非常关键的是,Stratus 服务器不需要工厂的IT人员进行干预,无论是解决问题还是管理应用。"

Stratus ftServer 系统是基于英特尔®处理器的超可靠服务器硬件系列,适用于 Microsoft Windows Server、Red Hat® Enterprise Linux® 和 VMware® 操作系统。

持续处理®功能--包括锁定步进冗余硬件、故障保护系统软件和ActiveService™功能--都内置于服务器中,以保护可用性和数据。应用程序不需要以任何方式进行修改,就能从卓越的可用性保护中获益。

ftServer 系列在全球Stratus 客户网站上实现了超过 99.999% 的可用性。"我们采取这一步骤是为了确保交易始终可用,"Rexam BCNA副总裁兼CIO John Niemzyk说。我们决定,ftServer 系统是维护企业实例和我们工厂之间这一关键联系的正确平台。"

"我们决定,ftServer 系统是维护企业实例和我们工厂之间这种关键联系的正确平台。"
John Niemzyk
副总裁兼CIO
Rexam BCNA

业务影响

Rexam的MES解决方案使用SAP xMII复合应用建立,运行在Stratus ftServer 系统上,极大地减少了计划内和计划外的停机时间。将定制化从SAP R/3软件转移到工厂,通过更频繁地更新SAP R/3应用程序,实现了企业的灵活性。更重要的是,将SAP解决方案用于制造执行和中央规划,将促进信息共享、协作和最佳实践的传播。

交易保留了熟悉的外观和感觉,因此无需对车间操作员进行再培训。该解决方案还提供了一个易于使用的工具包,用于创建和优化交易屏幕--这对于向操作员提供信息非常重要,同时还能减少屏幕和按键的数量。

"事实证明,这是一个非常实惠的解决方案,它为企业带来了关键的效益,"母公司Rexam PLC的CIO Paul Martin说。"成功的关键在于适当的规划和找对合作伙伴。"

"对我们来说,Stratus 服务器不需要工厂IT人员的干预,无论是解决问题还是管理应用,都是非常关键的。"
Ganesh Iyer
SAP应用开发经理
Rexam BCNA

关于 Stratus Technologies

在当今始终在线的世界里,应用程序对运行环境要求越来越高。随着这些需求的不断升级,为了将应用停机时间降至最低,企业面临的压力也越来越大。企业正在通过寻找符合或增强其现有IT基础设施的技术来应对永续解决方案需求。

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Rexam BCNA

Perfect plants depend on SAP SOFTWARE AND STRATUS SERVERS to address planned and unplanned downtime

When a consumer pops the top on a refreshing beverage, there’s a good chance the can was manufactured by Rexam—the world’s biggest maker of beverage cans and the fourth largest consumer packaging company. The global company’s largest business is Rexam Beverage Can North America (BCNA), based in Chicago.

Business Situation

This long-time user of SAP® Business Suite applications wanted to take its manufacturing IT strategy to the next level. Functionality already customized in SAP R/3® software was enhanced and moved to the plant outside the corporate instance of the software.

This allowed manufacturing data to be collected and reported on even when the central SAP application was inaccessible because the wide area network was down, or due to a software patch or system upgrade in the data center. With its 17 manufacturing plants running close to full capacity, downtime was plainly not acceptable.

While continuous availability of the data and transaction screens is vital, Rexam BCNA also needed to achieve its goals without the expense of deploying IT people at its manufacturing sites. Careful evaluation led Rexam BCNA to choose Stratus® ftServer® systems as the hardware platform for deploying the SAP® xApp™ Manufacturing Integration and Intelligence (SAP xMII) composite application, used to integrate manufacturing transactions with the SAP ERP application. The ftServer systems also drive the Acumence Plant Analytics Server, used to monitor operations and resolve manufacturing exceptions in real time.

Quick Facts

 Solution Profile

  • “Lean MES” distributes key transactions to plants
  • Addresses planned and unplanned downtime with local survivability
  • Integrates seamlessly with SAP R/3 software
  • Supports world-class quality and efficiency

Products

  • Platform for 17-site deployment (per site):
  • (1) Stratus® ftServer® system for SAP xMII
  • (1) ftServer system for Plant Analytics
  • (1) ftScalable™ storage for Plant Analytics
  • Installation, training, remote monitoring and maintenance services
  • SAP xMII composite application
  • Oracle® 10i database
  • Acumence Plant Analytics Server
  • Microsoft® Windows Server® OS

Services

    • Tata Consultancy Services

Business Objectives

Rexam established an aggressive set of project goals:

  • Address planned and unplanned systems downtime with local survivability
  • Create a “lean MES” framework that uses SAP solutions for both central planning and execution
  • Integrate seamlessly with SAP R/3 software
  • Enhance information sharing across multiple systems
  • Reduce customization in SAP R/3 by moving functionality to the SAP xMII composite application at the plants

“This is proving to be a very affordable solution which delivers key benefits to the business.”
Paul Martin
CIO, Rexam PLC

The Availability Solution

Rexam BCNA evaluated several alternatives for enhancing the availability of SAP transaction screens at its plants. Adding a second instance of SAP R/3 infrastructure at the enterprise level to accommodate system upgrades and maintenance would only help address planned downtime. Complexity and cost also ruled out a third-party manufacturing execution system (MES) with its own database at each plant connected to SAP R/3 software via an enterprise application (EAI) tool.

The right solution came into focus when exploring the capabilities of SAP’s newest offerings including the SAP xMII composite application. Combining these with a local database, project integrator Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) created a system that provided user-friendly screens at the shop floor, which under normal circumstances, synchronously updated SAP R/3 software running in the data center.

In the event the SAP R/3 application was down or the WAN was not available, plant personnel could still access their transaction screens. Transactions would be stored and later forwarded when the SAP ERP system was back online.

Rexam BCNA considered building clusters, before selecting Stratus fault-tolerant servers, but clusters would pose ongoing management challenges they wanted to avoid. “We were looking for ‘five nines’ of availability,” said Ganesh Iyer, manager, SAP Application Development at Rexam BCNA. “It was also very critical to us that Stratus servers did not require intervention from an IT person at the plant, either for problem resolution or to manage the application.”

Stratus ftServer systems are a family of ultra-reliable Intel® processor-based server hardware for Microsoft Windows Server, Red Hat® Enterprise Linux®, and VMware® operating systems.

Continuous Processing® features—including lockstep redundant hardware, failsafe system software and ActiveService™ capabilities—are built into the servers to safeguard availability and data. Applications need not be modified in any way to benefit from superior availability protection.

The ftServer family has delivered over 99.999% availability at Stratus customer sites worldwide. “We are taking this step to make sure that transactions are always available,” said John Niemzyk, vice president and CIO, Rexam BCNA. We decided the ftServer system is the right platform for maintaining this critical link between the corporate instance and our plants.”

“We decided the ftServer system is the right platform for maintaining this critical link between the corporate instance and our plants.”
John Niemzyk
Vice President and CIO
Rexam BCNA

Business Impact

Rexam’s MES solution, built using the SAP xMII composite application running on Stratus ftServer systems, dramatically reduces both planned and unplanned downtime. Moving customizations from the SAP R/3 software to the plant enables corporate agility by allowing more frequent updates of the SAP R/3 application. What’s more, using SAP solutions for both manufacturing execution and central planning will facilitate information sharing, collaboration, and dissemination of best practices.

Transactions retain a familiar look and feel so shop-floor operators don’t have to be retrained. The solution also provides an easy-to-use toolkit for creating and optimizing transaction screens—important for supplying information to operators, while trimming the number of screens and keystrokes.

“This is proving to be a very affordable solution which delivers key benefits to the business,” said Paul Martin, CIO of parent company Rexam PLC. “Success has been about proper planning and getting the right partners in place.”

“It was also very critical to us that Stratus servers did not require intervention from an IT person at the plant, either for problem resolution or to manage the application.”
Ganesh Iyer
Manager, SAP Application Development
Rexam BCNA

About Stratus Technologies

In today’s always-on world, applications run under increasingly demanding circumstances. With these escalating demands comes greater pressure to prevent even the smallest amount of application downtime. Companies are responding to this need for always-on solutions by searching for technologies that either conform to or enhance their current IT infrastructures.

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top