案例研究

托马斯集团

全球金属部件制造商利用Stratus® everRun® Enterprise保持关键业务应用的正常运行。

托马斯集团是一家国际性的集团公司,在欧洲、北美、南美和亚洲有八个分公司。多年来,托马斯集团已经建立了一个全球性的生产基地,为其不断增长的客户群提供气雾剂、化妆品、香水和制药行业的产品。托马斯集团在全球拥有400多名员工,年收入达1亿欧元,已成为世界公认的金属部件制造领域的领导者。

挑战

托马斯集团开发了一个模块化的制造系统,在其全球生产网络中使用标准化的冲压工具和压力机,使公司能够在世界任何地方快速灵活地响应客户的要求。冲压和工艺技术在公司内部设计和制造,并将持续改进计划整合到所有运营领域。从功能设计到产品工程,托马斯集团利用最新的计算机辅助设计(CAD)、计算机辅助制造(CAM)和协同设计软件,将客户的想法和概念快速转化为现实世界的产品。

自2002年以来,托马斯集团在其德国Langenselbold总部的一个镜像数据中心运行基于Citrix®服务器的计算环境。这种服务器架构使该公司能够快速、便捷地将网络应用(包括企业资源规划(ERP)、供应链管理、CAD/CAM、Groupware和Microsoft® Office系统)交付给其八个国际分支机构,而且只需很少的管理工作量。同时,从集中式服务器上运行这些关键业务应用程序意味着,系统中断可能会影响全球各地的生产力,可能导致订单延迟、客户不满甚至收入损失。

解决方案

2008年,托马斯集团在IBM®和Dell® x86服务器上实施了Stratus® everRun® Enterprise软件,以保持其虚拟化Windows®和Linux®应用程序的持续运行。通过everRun ,一个应用程序在两个虚拟机上运行。如果一台机器发生故障,应用程序将继续在另一台机器上运行,不会出现中断或数据丢失。如果一个组件发生故障,它将被第二个系统中的健康组件替换,I/O将自动镜像到冗余服务器上。内存检查点确保所有飞行中的事务以及内存和缓存中的数据得到保存--无需重新启动机器。

Stratus everRun 企业软件安装简单,价格实惠,不需要修改应用程序,也不需要专业的IT技能。Stratus'支持中心持续监控应用环境的所有组件,并在出现问题时通过SNMP自动发送主动故障警报,这样公司员工就可以立即采取行动,避免系统停机。

2012年,托马斯集团在其主数据中心和冗余数据中心位置实施了everRun SplitSite®跨园区停机预防。SplitSite利用同步复制为两个数据中心站点提供应用容错,以增加保护,防止因洪水和停电等局部灾害造成的重大宕机。

"everRun SplitSite跨园区停机预防功能可在我们Langenselbold总部的主数据中心和辅助数据中心之间进行同步复制。这种额外的保护可以保障我们的应用和数据免受本地化灾难的影响,帮助确保业务连续性和全球范围内的始终在线生产。"
Arno Fronert
托马斯集团IT负责人

成果

自从部署everRun Enterprise以来,Thomas Group的关键应用程序一直保持着持续的可用性,以支持其全球各地24/7/365的无缝运营。everRun 停机预防软件通过保持关键的办公、设计、制造和供应链管理应用程序的启动和运行,帮助该公司实现业务连续性,保持数据的完整性,并满足合规性要求---------------------------------------------------------------轻松而经济。

关于 Stratus

Stratus Technologies是基于基础架构的解决方案的领先供应商,这些解决方案可使应用程序在当今这个永远在线的世界中持续运行。Stratus 可快速部署永远在线的基础架构(从企业服务器到云),而无需对应用程序进行任何更改。Stratus灵活的解决方案--软件、平台和服务--可防患于未然,并确保重要业务运营的不间断性能。要了解更多信息,请访问stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Thomas Group

Global metal components manufacturer keeps business-critical applications up and running—all the time—with Stratus® everRun® Enterprise

Thomas Group is an international group of companies with eight locations spanning Europe, North America, South America and Asia. Over the years, Thomas Group has established a global manufacturing presence to serve its growing customer base with products for the Aerosol, Cosmetic, Perfume and Pharmaceutical industries. With more than 400 employees across the globe and annual revenue of 100 million euros, Thomas Group has become a recognized world leader in the manufacturing of metal components.

The Challenge

Thomas Group has developed a modular manufacturing system with standardized stamping tools and presses throughout its global production network, enabling the company to respond quickly and flexibly to customer requirements anywhere in the world. Stamping and process technologies are designed and built in house and continuous improvement programs are integrated into all operational areas. From functional design to product engineering, Thomas Group works with the latest Computer-Aided Design (CAD), Computer-Aided Manufacturing (CAM) and cooperative design software to quickly transform customers’ ideas and concepts into real-world products.

Since 2002, Thomas Group has run a Citrix® server-based computing environment from a mirrored datacenter located at its Langenselbold, Germany headquarters. This server architecture enables the company to deliver web-applications, including Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP), Supply Chain Management, CAD/CAM, Groupware and Microsoft® Office systems, to its eight international locations quickly, easily and with little administrative effort. At the same time, running these business-critical applications from centralized servers means that a system outage could affect productivity at locations worldwide, potentially resulting in delayed orders, customer dissatisfaction and even revenue loss.

The Solution

In 2008, Thomas Group implemented Stratus® everRun® Enterprise software on IBM® and Dell® x86 servers to keep its virtualized Windows® and Linux® applications up and running continuously. With everRun, one application lives on two virtual machines. If one machine fails, the application continues to run on the other machine with no interruptions or data loss. If a component fails, it’s replaced with the healthy component from the second system and the I/O is automatically mirrored to the redundant server. Memory check-pointing ensures all in-flight transactions as well as data in memory and cache is preserved —without machine restarts.

Stratus everRun Enterprise software was easy and affordable to install without modifications to applications or the need for specialized IT skills. Stratus’ support center constantly monitors all components of the application environment and automatically sends proactive failure alerts via SNMP when a problem arises so company staff can take immediate action to head off system downtime.

In 2012, Thomas Group implemented everRun SplitSite® cross-campus downtime prevention at its primary and redundant datacenter locations. SplitSite provides application fault tolerance across the two datacenter sites using synchronous replication for added protection against major downtime due to localized disasters such as flooding and power outages.

“everRun SplitSite cross-campus downtime prevention provides synchronous replication between the primary and secondary datacenters at our Langenselbold headquarters. This added protection safeguards our applications and data against localized disasters to help ensure business continuity and always-on production worldwide.”
Arno Fronert
Head of IT, Thomas Group

The Results

Since deploying everRun Enterprise, Thomas Group has enjoyed continuous availability of its critical applications to support seamless 24/7/365 operations across its global locations. everRun downtime prevention software is helping the company achieve business continuity, maintain data integrity and meet compliance requirements by keeping critical office, design, manufacturing, and supply chain management applications up and running—all the time— easily and affordably.

About Stratus

Stratus Technologies is the leading provider of infrastructure-based solutions that keep applications running continuously in today’s always-on world. Stratus enables rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures—from enterprise servers to clouds—without any changes to applications. Stratus’ flexible solutions—software, platform and services—prevent downtime before it occurs and ensure uninterrupted performance of essential business operations. To learn more, visit stratus.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top