案例研究

西北大学

Stratus ,确保楼宇管理系统始终处于可用状态。

西北大学是一所著名的高等学府,其教育课程和开拓性研究在国内和国际上都得到了认可。大学每年招收约8000名全日制本科生、8000名全日制毕业生和3000名兼职学生。西北大学在美国的两个校区位于伊利诺伊州的密歇根湖畔:一个位于芝加哥市中心的25英亩校园,一个位于郊区埃文斯顿的240英亩校园。除了教学楼、餐厅、师生宿舍外,校园内还有最先进的研究设施、表演艺术中心,甚至还有艺术博物馆--这些都需要高度成熟可靠的设施管理。

领先的研究机构对持续运营的需求

作为全国首屈一指的研究机构之一,西北大学需要确保所有建筑控制系统持续运行,以保持高度稳定的环境。在申请私人或公共研究基金时,大学必须提供深入的历史信息,以证明其拥有成熟、可靠的基础设施,以保持建筑环境符合要求的规格。即使是温度、湿度、空气流动和空气质量等条件的微小变化,也会歪曲科学发现,使正在进行的研究工作失去作用。

"如果我们的楼宇控制系统发生故障,研究人员可能会失去多年的工作,"西北大学设施管理IT部门的用户支持负责人Todd Voigt专家说。"这不仅会损害大学的声誉,而且可能会导致研究版税收入的损失--在重大发现的情况下,可能会有数百万美元的收入,后来被授权用于商业用途。"

"如果我们的楼宇控制系统发生故障,研究人员可能会失去多年的工作,"西北大学设施管理IT部门的用户支持负责人Todd Voigt专家说。"这不仅会损害大学的声誉,而且可能会导致研究版税收入的损失--在重大发现的情况下,可能会有数百万美元的收入,后来被授权用于商业用途。"

西北大学对始终在线的楼宇控制自动化的需求不仅限于其研究设施。位于大学埃文斯顿校区的Mary and Leigh Block博物馆拥有近5000件艺术品的永久收藏,并通过临时展览将世界知名的艺术带到校园。为了保护现有的藏品并获得艺术品借展的资格,博物馆必须确保稳定的气候条件。

简要概述

问题

  • 楼宇控制系统,用于监测、指挥和控制楼宇环境中的条件。
  • 顶层建筑控制功能的统一界面和框架
  • 高可用性软件解决方案,以确保连续运行

解决方案

  • 江森自控Metasys®楼宇控制系统
  • 带有Insight®工作站的西门子APOGEE®楼宇控制系统。
  • 锐銨NiagaraAX框架®
  • Stratus everRun MX高可用性软件

结果

  • 江森自控客户支持
  • 西门子客户支持
  • 锐智客户支持
  • Stratus 24/7/365支持服务

Stratus®everRun MX®。首选的高可用性解决方案

西北大学一直在使用传统的故障切换配置,即在主服务器发生故障时,使用第二台服务器作为备用,以重新启动 Tridium NiagaraAX Framework、Johnson Controls Metasys 和 Siemens APOGEE 楼宇控制系统。该大学使用了一种流行的故障转移和恢复软件解决方案,但发现它缺乏保持这些关键任务系统始终运行所需的稳定性和可靠性水平。

西北大学的设施管理IT部门决定评估其他高可用性解决方案,以确保其楼宇管理系统的连续运行。由于Tridium、Johnson Controls和Siemens都在全球客户站点的Stratus everRun 冗余服务器系统上运行着大型系统安装,IT部门决定仔细研究everRun MX软件解决方案。然而,由于西北大学所有基于服务器的软件应用程序都是在虚拟化的VMware®环境中运行的,因此IT团队需要确保everRun 能够在这个现有的基础设施中运行。

"在与everRun 团队讨论了我们的要求后,我们了解到,在 Windows® 和应用程序层面,系统并不关心它是运行在物理服务器上,还是运行在 VMware 虚拟机(VM)中,或者运行在everRun-保护的虚拟机(PVM)中,"Voigt 解释说。"网络上的客户机也无法区分,所以事实证明,everRun 可以在我们的虚拟化服务器环境中无缝运行,而不会增加很多复杂性。"

经过尽职调查,西北大学的设施管理IT部门决定,everRun MX软件提供了大学所需的卓越的容错保护、高应用可用性和易用性。

异常流畅的实施体验

西北公司购买并实施了Stratus everRun MX,以支持其NiagaraAX、APOGEE和Metasys楼宇控制系统的高可用性。每个应用程序都运行在自己的受保护虚拟机(PVM)中,拥有自己的Windows操作系统。NiagaraAX运行在3级(容错)PVM中,而APOGEE和Metasys则运行在基于停机容错阈值的2级(高可用性)PVM中。"我认为我从未有更好的软件解决方案实施经验,"Voigt补充道。"而且everRun ,几乎是自己运行,接管同步、监控、纠正和修复应用环境中的问题,以防止停机。"

"如果我们的楼宇控制系统出现故障,一个研究人员可能会失去多年的工作。"
Todd Voight
用户支持负责人
西北大学的设施管理IT部门

为楼宇控制系统提供高可用性

自实施everRun MX软件解决方案以来,西北大学的楼宇控制应用一直保持着持续的可用性,确保了一个领先研究机构所需的无缝设施管理水平。

"当涉及到保持我们的楼宇管理系统正常运行时,everRun 只是工作,我们几乎不需要真正考虑它,"Voigt说。"我在凌晨2点或周末接到电话说有一个与服务器或高可用性解决方案有关的问题的日子已经一去不复返了。everRun 只是工作,而且工作。"

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Northwestern University

Stratus ensures always-on availability for building management systems

Northwestern University, a renowned institution of higher learning, is recognized both nationally and internationally for its educational programs and pioneering research. The University enrolls about 8,000 full-time undergraduates, 8,000 full-time graduates and 3,000 part-time students a year. Northwestern’s two U.S. campuses are located in Illinois on Lake Michigan: a 25-acre campus in downtown Chicago, and a 240-acre campus in suburban Evanston. In addition to academic buildings, dining halls, and student and faculty housing, the campuses are home to state-of-the-art research facilities, performing arts centers, and even an art museum—all of which require highly sophisticated and reliable facilities management.

A Leading Research Institution’s Need for Continuous Operation

As one of the nation’s premier research institutions, Northwestern needs to ensure that all building control systems are continuously operational in order to maintain highly stable environments. When applying for private or public research grant funding, the University has to provide in-depth historical information to demonstrate that it has a proven, reliable infra­structure in place to keep building environments within required specifications. Even the slightest variability in conditions like temperature, humidity, air flow, and air quality can skew scientific findings and render ongoing research work useless.

“If our building control systems go down, a researcher could lose years’ worth of work,” said Specialist Todd Voigt, User Support Lead in Northwestern’s Facilities Management IT department. “This would not only hurt the University’s reputation, but it could result in the loss of research royalty in­come—potentially millions of dollars in the case of a significant discovery that is later licensed for commercial use.”

“If our building control systems go down, a researcher could lose years’ worth of work,” said Specialist Todd Voigt, User Support Lead in Northwestern’s Facilities Management IT department. “This would not only hurt the University’s reputation, but it could result in the loss of research royalty in­come—potentially millions of dollars in the case of a significant discovery that is later licensed for commercial use.”

Northwestern’s need for always-on building control automation extends beyond its research facilities alone. The Mary and Leigh Block Museum on the University’s Evanston campus boasts a permanent collection of nearly 5,000 artworks and brings world-renowned art to campus through temporary exhibitions. To protect existing collections and qualify for artwork loans, the museum must ensure stable climatic conditions.

Quick Facts

Problem

  • Building control systems for monitoring, command, and control of conditions within building environments
  • Unified interface and framework for top level building control functions
  • High availability software solution to ensure continuous operations

Solutions

  • Johnson Controls Metasys® building control system
  • Siemens APOGEE® building control system with Insight® workstations
  • Tridium NiagaraAX Framework®
  • Stratus everRun MX high availability software

Results

  • Johnson Controls Customer Support
  • Siemens Customer Support
  • Tridium Customer Support
  • Stratus 24/7/365 support services

Stratus® everRun MX®: The High Availability Solution of Choice

Northwestern had been using a traditional fail-over configuration where a second server was used as a standby for restarting its Tridium NiagaraAX Framework, Johnson Controls Metasys, and Siemens APOGEE building control systems in the event that the primary server failed. The University used a popular failover and recovery software solution, but found that it lacked the level of stability and reliability needed to keep these mission-critical systems up and running all the time.

Northwestern’s Facilities Management IT department decided to evaluate alternative high availability solutions in order to ensure continuous operation of its building management systems. Because Tridium, Johnson Controls and Siemens all have large system installations running on Stratus everRun redundant server systems at customer sites worldwide, IT decided to take a closer look at the everRun MX software solution. However, because all of Northwestern’s server-based software applications run in a virtualized VMware® environment, the IT team needed to make sure that everRun could operate within this existing infrastructure.

“After discussing our requirements with the everRun team, we understood that at the Windows® and application level, the system doesn’t care whether it’s running on a physical server, in a VMware Virtual machine (VM), or in an everRun-protected Virtual Machine (PVM),” explained Voigt. “Clients on the network can’t tell the difference either, so it turned out that everRun could operate seamlessly in our virtualized server environment without adding a lot of complexity.”

After conducting due diligence, Northwestern’s Facilities Management IT department decided that everRun MX software provided the exceptional fault-tolerant protection, high application availability, and ease of use that the University required.

A Remarkably Smooth Implementation Experience

Northwestern purchased and implemented Stratus everRun MX to support high availability of its NiagaraAX, APOGEE and Metasys building control systems. Each application runs in its own Protected Virtual Machine (PVM) with its own Windows operating system. NiagaraAX runs in a Level 3 (fault-tolerant) PVM while APOGEE and Metasys run in a Level 2 (high-availability) PVM based on downtime tolerance thresholds. “I don’t think I’ve ever had a better experience implementing a software solution,” added Voigt. “And everRun pretty much runs itself, taking over synchronizing, monitoring, correcting and repairing problems in the application environment to prevent downtime.”

“If our building control systems go down, a researcher could lose years’ worth of work.”
Todd Voight
User Support Lead
Northwestern’s Facilities Management IT department

Delivering High Availability for Building Control Systems

Since implementing the everRun MX software solution Northwestern has enjoyed continuous availability of its building control applications ensuring the level of seamless facilities management needed at a leading research institution.

“When it comes to keeping our building management systems up and running, everRun just works; we almost don’t really have to think about it,” said Voigt. “Gone are the days when I’m getting calls at 2:00 a.m. or on the weekend saying there’s a problem related to the servers or the high availability solutions. everRun just works and works.”

Related Assets

Scroll to Top