案例研究

麦卡伦国际机场

一个快速发展的拉斯维加斯机场依靠Stratus® everRun®软件来防止安检和行李处理系统停机。

麦卡伦国际机场位于内华达州的天堂,是服务于拉斯维加斯谷的主要商业机场。麦卡伦机场致力于提供卓越的客户服务、机场设施和安全保障,是世界上第25个最繁忙的机场,也是北美第9个最繁忙的机场,每年为超过4290万乘客提供服务。麦卡伦机场和克拉克县机场系统中的4个通用航空设施由内华达州克拉克县拥有,对当地经济有重大影响,每年提供280亿美元的经济产出、80亿美元的劳动收入和超过201000个工作岗位。

经营情况

麦卡伦国际机场维持着广泛的自动化基础设施,以帮助在安全和有保障的环境中提供卓越的客户体验。然而,十年前,机场的两个关键系统出现了过于频繁的计划外停机:Pegasys 2000物理安全系统,用于安全区域内的徽章跟踪和门禁、监控和警报;Vanderlande行李处理系统(BHS),用于安全检查、存储、分类和运输到达、离开和转移的行李。这些故障需要代价高昂的人工干预,以维持客户服务水平,最大限度地降低安全风险,并确保遵守联邦运输安全管理局(TSA)的要求。

当Pegasys 2000系统发生故障时,McCarran被迫部署人员监测机场安全区内的每一扇门,并向机场控制中心通报任何潜在的安全问题。除了因补充人员而产生的人力成本外,系统故障可能导致运输安全管理局的罚款和惩罚,可能包括关闭麦卡伦的业务,以及机场及其服务的航空公司的相关收入损失。

BHS的全面或部分停运大大增加了乘客行李不能及时有效地到达正确位置的风险,无论是正确的飞机还是行李转盘。BHS停机时间不仅玷污了客户的体验,而且航空公司产生的任何相关费用,如将错误的行李运送到旅客的目的地,都将由克拉克县机场系统承担。根据停机时间的长短,这些费用会迅速增加。

因为即使是短暂的故障也会对安全、客户满意度和底线造成巨大损失,McCarran决定实施停机预防解决方案,以帮助其物理安全系统和BHS始终保持正常运行。

"我们实施的everRun 软件提供了一个非常稳定的系统。当其他解决方案会失效时,它使关键系统保持了充分的功能。"
Rick Pearson
部门系统管理员
McCarran国际机场

解决方案

在着手选择停机预防解决方案时,McCarran向其物理安全系统供应商Johnson Controls寻求值得信赖的建议。江森自控建议机场的IT人员实施Stratus everRun 软件,这是一个容错解决方案,旨在确保在标准x86服务器上基于Windows®的应用程序的持续可用性。

与需要重新启动的基于恢复的解决方案不同,everRun 创建了一个完全弹性的应用环境,即使在系统或组件发生故障的情况下,也能保持机场的安全系统和BHS正常运行。利用专利技术,everRun 将两台惠普 DL 380 机架式服务器的物理资源整合到一个单一的操作环境中,所有底层硬件和数据完全冗余。应用程序的运行无需修改或复杂的脚本,从而降低了系统管理成本。此外,具有主动故障警报功能的可用性监控,可在需要关注某些问题时提供通知,以避免业务中断。

McCarran的实施需要在多个物理服务器上部署软件,这些服务器在地理位置上相隔约一英里。通过使用Stratus everRun® SplitSite®(一种跨校区停机预防解决方案),机场IT人员将应用服务器硬件分割到两个独立的数据中心。同步数据镜像可以在发生洪水或停电等局部灾难时实现即时故障切换。

"一旦服务器配置和测试完毕,everRun 提供了一个不需要维护的系统,几乎不需要维护。当出现问题时,我们得到的只是来自Stratus 技术人员的一致支持,他们不遗余力地解决问题和验证功能。根据我的经验,没有其他产品能与everRun 的稳定性相媲美。"
Patrick Benoit
二级系统程序员
McCarran国际机场

成果

自1999年部署everRun 以来,McCarran国际机场的Pegasys和BHS品牌系统从未出现过计划外停机,这使得克拉克县机场系统避免了与补充劳动力、行李丢失和错发相关的成本,以及潜在的TSA罚款。即使在2012年机场启用3号航站楼时,将其潜在的年客运量增加到约5500万人次,everRun ,IT人员也能无缝扩展物理安全和行李处理系统,以满足扩大的需求,同时确保持续的可用性。

2015年初,机场的一个数据中心发生重大漏水事故,导致该处的所有服务器瘫痪,这时,everRun 的好处就显得尤为明显。然而,多亏了SplitSite的实施,基于everRun-的物理安全系统和BHS在第二个数据中心继续处理,没有中断。

有了everRun ,关键的机场系统可以保持持续运行,以实现始终在线的保护、合规性和效率。这种强大、可靠的停机保护使McCarran能够改善客户体验,同时帮助确保其机场设施的持续安全和安保。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

McCarran International Airport

A rapidly growing Las Vegas airport relies on Stratus® everRun® software to prevent security and baggage handling system downtime

Located in Paradise, Nevada, McCarran International Airport is the primary commercial airport serving the Las Vegas Valley. Dedicated to providing excellence in customer service, airport facilities, and security, McCarran is the 25th busiest airport in the world and the 9th busiest in North America, serving more than 42.9 million passengers each year. McCarran and the four general aviation facilities in the Clark County Airport System are owned by Clark County, Nevada and have a significant impact on the local economy, providing $28 billion in economic output, $8 billion in labor income and more than 201,000 jobs annually.

Business Situation

McCarran International Airport maintains an extensive automated infrastructure to help provide an exceptional customer experience in a safe and secure environment. A decade ago, however, the airport was experiencing too-frequent unplanned downtime of two key systems: the Pegasys 2000 physical security system for badge tracking and door access, monitoring and alerting within secure areas; and the Vanderlande Baggage Handling System (BHS) for security screening, storage, sorting and transportation of arrival, departure and transfer baggage. These outages required costly human intervention to maintain customer service levels, minimize safety risks, and ensure compliance with Federal Transportation Security Administration (TSA) requirements.

When Pegasys 2000 system outages occurred, McCarran was forced to deploy personnel to monitor every door within the airport’s secure areas and alert the Airport Control Center of any potential security issues. In addition to labor costs incurred for supplemental personnel, a system failure could result in TSA fines and penalties, potentially including the shutdown of McCarran operations and associated revenue losses for the airport and the airlines it serves.

A full or partial outage of the BHS dramatically increased the risk that passenger luggage would fail to arrive at the proper location—whether that be the correct plane or baggage carousel—in a timely and efficient manner. BHS downtime not only sullied the customer experience, but any related costs incurred by airlines, such as delivery of misrouted bags to travelers’ destinations, would be charged back to the Clark County Airport System. Depending on the length and timing of the outage, these costs could add up quickly.

Because even brief outages can take a substantial toll on safety, customer satisfaction and the bottom line, McCarran decided to implement a downtime prevention solution to help keep its physical security system and BHS up and running all the time.

“Our implementation of everRun software has provided a very stable system. It has kept critical systems fully functional when other solutions would have failed.”
Rick Pearson
Departmental Systems Administrator
McCarran International Airport

The Solution

When setting out to select a downtime prevention solution, McCarran turned to Johnson Controls, its physical security system vendor, for a trusted recommendation. Johnson Controls suggested that the airport’s IT staff implement Stratus everRun software, a fault-tolerant solution designed to ensure continuous availability of Windows®-based applications on standard x86 servers.

Unlike recovery-based solutions that need to be restarted, everRun creates a completely resilient application environment to keep the airport’s security system and BHS up and running even in the event of a system or component failure. Using patented technology, everRun combines the physical resources of two HP DL 380 rack-mounted servers into a single operating environment with full redundancy of all underlying hardware and data. The applications run without modifications or complex scripting, thereby reducing system administration costs. In addition, availability monitoring with proactive failure alerts provides notification when something needs attention to avoid business interruptions.

McCarran’s implementation required deployment of the software across multiple physical servers geographically separated by about one mile. Using Stratus everRun® SplitSite®, a crosscampus downtime prevention solution, the airport IT staff split the application server hardware between two separate data centers on premises. Synchronous data mirroring enables instant failover in the event of localized disasters such as flooding or power outages.

“Once the servers are configured and tested, everRun provides a hands-off system that requires little to no maintenance. When an issue does occur, we’ve received nothing but consistent support from the Stratus technicians who go above and beyond their duties to solve problems and verify functionality. In my experience, there is no other product that can match the stability of everRun.”
Patrick Benoit
Systems Programmer II
McCarran International Airport

The Results

Since deploying everRun in 1999, McCarran International Airport has experienced zero unplanned downtime of its Pegasys and BHS brand systems, enabling the Clark County Airport System to avoid costs associated with supplemental labor, lost and misrouted bags, and potential TSA fines. Even when the airport opened Terminal 3 in 2012—increasing its potential annual capacity to approximately 55 million passengers—everRun allowed the IT staff to seamlessly scale the physical security and baggage handling systems to meet the expanded requirements while ensuring continuous availability.

The benefits of everRun became especially evident when, in early 2015, a major water leak flooded one of the airport’s datacenters, causing all of the servers in that location to go down. Thanks to the SplitSite implementation, however, the everRun-based physical security system and BHS continued processing at the second datacenter without interruption.

With everRun, critical airport systems stay up and running continuously for always-on protection, compliance, and efficiency. This powerful, reliable downtime protection has enabled McCarran to improve the customer experience while helping to ensure the ongoing safety and security of its airport facilities.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top