案例研究

佛罗里达州马里昂县

始终为公共安全提供服务 通信911服务

位于佛罗里达州中北部的马里昂县面积超过33万平方英里,比罗德岛州的面积还大,居住着33.25万人口。马里昂县公共安全通信中心是县内两个公共安全接听点之一,为马里昂县消防救援队、马里昂县治安官办公室、邓内隆警察局、邓内隆消防局和贝尔维尤警察局提供紧急911服务。该中心每天处理大约170个紧急911电话,其年电话量以每年5%的速度增长。

商业挑战

作为保持可持续运营和改善服务提供的持续努力的一部分,马里昂县公共安全局决定将其多个警察、消防和急救机构合并到一个单一的全县通信系统上。该县需要一个先进的、最先进的计算机辅助调度(CAD)系统,以帮助其公共安全通信中心的人员管理大量的信息--单位位置、单位状态、待处理的事件、正在发生的事件和其他关键数据--同时冷静地协助和安抚911呼叫者。同时,它还需要一个系统来实现调度员、执法人员、消防员和辅助医务人员之间在大面积地理区域内的无缝通信。

最后,马里昂县要求该系统24/7/365全天候运行,以支持调度员和第一反应人在时间紧迫的紧急情况下分秒必争。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • 为服务于330,000多平方英里的县城的繁忙调度中心提供通信系统。
  • 将多个镇的执法、消防和急救机构合并到一个全县的通信系统上。
  • 最先进的计算机辅助调度系统,具有综合制图和移动数据通信功能。
  • 容错服务器平台为其最关键的CAD系统提供持续的可用性。

产品

  • TriTech Inform CAD软件
  • Stratus ftServer 4500系统

服务

  • 特力科技客户支持
  • Stratus 24/7/365支持服务

商业解决方案

在评估了现有的解决方案后,马里昂县选择了运行在容错Stratus® ftServer® 4500系统上的TriTech Inform软件作为其新的全县公共安全通信系统。

"事实证明,高性能、持续可用的TriTech/Stratus 解决方案在提供马里昂县公民所期望和应得的关键任务服务方面发挥了重要作用。它每天都超出我的预期。"
Bill McConnell
马里昂县公共安全部经理
通信中心

高性能的CAD软件

Marion 县自 1996 年以来一直是 TriTech 的满意客户,它决定扩大其 Inform CAD 覆盖范围,以支持跨管辖范围的多个机构之间协调、高效的应急响应。Marion County 的 TriTech Inform 解决方案包括完全集成的 CAD 和移动数据通信以及集成的地图功能,所有这些功能都使用一个通用的工作流程,优化了通信中心管理、处理和向执法、消防和 EMS 机构传递信息的方式。该解决方案的主要功能包括

  • 呼叫接听和调度: 通过对信息和建议进行优先排序和显示,简化呼叫接听和调度,从而使通信中心的工作人员能够做出更好的决定并采取更快的行动。
  • 移动数据通信。使 调度员能够将重要信息--实时事件细节、附近单位的位置、历史数据等传递给现场单位人员,以实现更快、更安全、更有效的应急响应。
  • 具有实时路由的集成映射。帮 助调度员以图形方式查看事件、单位和路线信息。移动设备使用集成的自动车辆定位(AVL)服务,使调度员能够跟踪他们在哪里以及他们从哪里出发--而不仅仅是他们最后已知的位置--从而提高应急响应时间和现场设备的安全性。

"我们很早就意识到,TriTech的Inform CAD是最能让我们为马里昂县公民提供卓越的公共安全服务的CAD系统,"马里昂县公共安全通信中心经理Bill McConnell说。"它提供了对多机构整合和相互通信的支持,包括调度员和现场单位之间最先进的移动连接。"它为多机构整合和相互通信提供了支持,包括调度员和现场单位之间最先进的移动连接,这对提高响应时间和保证我们县的安全是必要的。"

零宕机服务器平台

Marion县选择Stratus ftServer 4500系统作为服务器平台,是因为它能够为其最关键的CAD解决方案提供99.999%以上的可用性。ftserver的容错架构消除了单点故障,解决了可能导致停机或数据丢失的硬件、软件和服务性问题。双工硬件组件在同一时间处理相同的指令。如果一个组件发生故障,其伙伴只需继续正常操作即可。由于复制的组件在同一时间执行相同的指令,因此即使组件发生故障,也不会出现处理中断、性能损失和数据完整性损失。

ftServer 4500还具有自动正常运行时间™层,可持续监控500多个系统组件和传感器,主动识别、处理和报告故障。在系统中断发生之前,"呼救"功能就会向Stratus 发出悬而未决的问题警报,以帮助确保始终如一的高性能,消除计划外的停机时间。

"我们与之交谈过的很多供应商都承诺他们的服务器会在大部分时间内保持正常,但只有Stratus ,提供了我们在关键任务中所需要的经过验证的持续可用性。

公共安全环境,"McConnell评论道。"多亏了ftServer 及其保证的正常运行时间,我可以回家和

晚上睡得很香。这是一个高度可靠的服务器平台"。

"在我们时间敏感的工作中,我们从供应商那里得到的服务是至关重要的。Stratus 和TriTech都一直很可靠,提供24/7/365快速周转的技术服务和支持。"
Bill McConnell
马里昂县公共安全部经理
通信中心

可靠的服务和快速的周转

供应商服务是马里昂县公共安全局选择综合通信系统技术时的另一个重要考虑因素。

"在我们的时间敏感型工作中,我们从供应商那里获得的服务至关重要,"McConnell补充道。"Stratus 和TriTech一直都很可靠,提供24/7/365快速周转的技术服务和支持。"

成果

由于多个机构现在都在一个CAD系统上,马里昂县公共安全通信中心的调度员可以一次性处理执法、消防和急救电话,在紧急情况下,每个电话可以节省30到40秒的宝贵时间。一旦事件被分配给响应单位,系统就会自动将关键信息传输到辅助医疗和副车的移动单位。这样一来,当接听电话者继续与911报警者互动时,重要信息就会实时提供给所有相关的公共安全人员,包括调度员、警察、消防和急救人员,以实现更快、更高效的应急反应。

自实施全县综合通信系统以来,通信中心没有经历过任何计划外停机。由于采用了TriTech/Stratus 解决方案,该县的公共安全人员相信,他们将始终能够获得所需的工具和信息,为公民提供优质的应急服务。

"我怎么强调系统性能和可靠性在通信中心的重要性都不为过,"McConnell说。"TriTech/Stratus 解决方案使我们的调度员能够无缝地将关键信息传达给多个公共安全机构--分分秒秒,日复一日--拯救生命,保护财产,保障公民安全。"

马里昂县公共安全局是全球仅有的几个双认证卓越中心之一。通信中心对下一代911的承诺,其思维敏捷的调度员,以及先进的全县通信系统,都为获得该认证发挥了作用。因此,其他机构纷纷向马里昂县公共安全局寻求关于如何改进其调度中心的意见和建议。

"事实证明,高性能、持续可用的TriTech/Stratus 解决方案在提供马里昂县公民所期望和应得的关键任务服务方面发挥了重要作用,"McConnell总结道。"它每天都超出我的期望。"它每天都超出我的预期。"

"关于Stratus/TriTech解决方案,我想到的三个词是'可靠性'、'服务'和'责任心'。"
Bill McConnell
Marion县公共安全部经理
通信中心

Stratus 技术

在当今始终在线的世界里,应用程序对运行环境要求越来越高。随着这些需求的不断升级,为了将应用停机时间降至最低,企业面临的压力也越来越大。企业正在通过寻找符合或增强其现有IT基础设施的技术来应对永续解决方案需求。

Stratus Technologies的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云的始终在线的基础架构,而无需对您的应用程序进行任何更改。Stratus 产品。

软件和服务器)结合Stratus 人,使客户能够防患于未然,确保

不间断地24/7/365执行基本业务操作。

更多信息,请访问stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Marion County, Florida

ALWAYS-ON AVAILABILITY FOR PUBLIC SAFETY Communications 911 Services

Marion County in north central Florida encompasses more than 330,000 square miles—an area larger than the state of Rhode island—and is home to more than 332,500 people. The Marion County Public Safety Communications Center, one of two public safety answering points within the county, dispatches emergency 911 services for Marion County Fire Rescue, Marion County Sheriff’s Office, Dunnellon Police Department, Dunnellon Fire Department, and Belleview Police Department. The Center handles approximately 170 emergency 911 calls each day and its annual call volume is increasing at a rate of five percent per year.

Business Challenge

As part of its ongoing effort to maintain sustainable operations and improve delivery of services, Marion County Public Safety decided to consolidate its multiple police, fire, and EMS agencies on a single county-wide communications system. The County needed an advanced, state-of-the-art Computer-Aided Dispatch (CAD) system that would help its Public Safety Communications Center personnel manage a large amount of information—unit locations, unit statuses, incidents pending, active incidents, and other critical data— while calmly assisting and reassuring 911 callers. At the same time, it needed a system that would enable seamless communication among dispatchers, law enforcement, firefighters, and paramedics across a large geographic area.

Finally, Marion County required that the system be up and running 24/7/365 to support dispatchers and first responders in time-critical emergency situations where every second counts.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Communication system for busy dispatch center that serves a county spanning more than 330,000 square miles
  • Consolidation of law enforcement, fire, and EMS agencies from multiple towns on one county-wide communication system
  • State-of-the-art Computer-Aided Dispatch (CAD) system with integrated mapping and mobile data communications
  • Fault-tolerant server platform providing continuous availability of their most critical CAD system

Products

  • TriTech Inform CAD software
  • Stratus ftServer 4500 system

Services

  • TriTech Customer Support
  • Stratus 24/7/365 Support Services

The Business Solution

After evaluating available solutions, Marion County selected TriTech Inform software running on a fault-tolerant Stratus® ftServer® 4500 system for its new county-wide public safety communications system.

“The high-performance, continuously available TriTech/Stratus solution has proven instrumental in providing the mission-critical services Marion County citizens expect and deserve. It exceeds my expectations every day.”
Bill McConnell
Manager, Marion County Public Safety
Communications Center

High-Performance CAD Software

A satisfied TriTech client since 1996, Marion County decided to expand its Inform CAD footprint to support coordinated, efficient emergency response among multiple agencies across jurisdictional boundaries. Marion County’s TriTech Inform solution includes fully integrated CAD and mobile data communications with integrated mapping capabilities— all of which use a common workflow that optimizes the way the Communications Center manages, processes, and communicates information to law enforcement, fire and EMS agencies. The solution’s key features include:

  • Call Taking and Dispatching: Streamlines call taking and dispatching by prioritizing and displaying information and recommendations, thereby empowering Communication Center staff to make better decisions and take quicker action.
  • Mobile Data Communications: Enables dispatchers to pass along vital information—real-time incident details, location of nearby units, historical data, and more—to field unit personnel for faster, safer, and more effective emergency response.
  • Integrated Mapping with Live Routing: Helps dispatchers to graphically view incident, unit, and routing information. The mobile units use an integrated Automatic Vehicle Location (AVL) service that allows dispatchers to keep track of where they are and where they are travelling from—not just their last known location—for improved emergency response times and field unit safety.

“We realized pretty early on that TriTech’s Inform CAD was the CAD system that would best enable us to deliver exceptional public safety services to Marion County citizens,” said Bill McConnell, manager of Marion County’s Public Safety Communications Center. “It offered the support for multi-agency consolidation and intercommunications, including state-of the-art mobile connectivity between dispatchers and field units, needed to improve response times and keep our county safe.”

A Zero-Downtime Server Platform

Marion County selected the Stratus ftServer 4500 system as the server platform based on its ability to deliver 99.999+% availability of its most critical CAD solution. The ftserver’s fault-tolerant architecture eliminates single points of failure and ad­dresses the hardware, software, and serviceability issues that can lead to downtime or data loss. Duplex hardware components process the same instructions at precisely the same time. If a component fails, its partner simply continues normal operations. Because replicated components perform the same instructions at the same time, there is no interruption in processing, no loss of performance, and no loss of data integ­rity—even if a component fails.

The ftServer 4500 also features an Automated Uptime™ Layer that constantly monitors more than 500 system components and sensors to proactively identify, handle, and report faults. A “call-home” feature alerts Stratus of a pending problem before system interruptions occur to help ensure consistently high performance and eliminate unscheduled downtime.

“A lot of vendors we talked to promised that their servers would be up most of the time, but only Stratus provided the proven continuous availability we needed in a mission-critical

public safety environment,” commented McConnell. “Thanks to ftServer and its guaranteed uptime, I can go home and

sleep soundly at night. It’s a highly reliable server platform.”

“In our time-sensitive line of work, the service we receive from vendors is critical. Both Stratus and TriTech have been consistently dependable, delivering technical service and support with fast turnaround 24/7/365.”
Bill McConnell
Manager, Marion County Public Safety
Communications Center

Dependable Service with Rapid Turnaround

Vendor service was another important consideration for Marion County Public Safety when selecting its consolidated communications system technology.

“In our time-sensitive line of work, the service we receive from vendors is critical,” added McConnell. “Both Stratus and TriTech have been consistently dependable, delivering technical service and support with fast turnaround 24/7/365.”

The Results

With multiple agencies now on one CAD system, Marion County Public Safety Communications Center dispatchers can handle law enforcement, fire, and EMS calls at once, saving precious time—30 to 40 seconds per call—in emergency situations. Once the incident is assigned to the responding units, the system automatically transfers critical information to the mobile units in paramedic and deputy vehicles. That way, as the call taker continues to interact with the 911 caller, vital information is made available to all relevant public safety personnel, including dispatchers, police, fire, and EMS, in real time for faster, more efficient emergency response.

Since implementing its consolidated county-wide communica­tions system, the Communications Center has not experienced any unscheduled downtime. Thanks to the TriTech/Stratus solution, the County’s public safety personnel are confident that they will always have access to the tools and information they need to deliver superior emergency response services to citizens.

“I cannot overstate the importance of system performance and reliability in the Communications Center,” said McConnell. “The TriTech/Stratus solution allows our dispatchers to seamlessly communicate critical information to multiple public safety agen­cies—minute after minute, day after day—to save lives, protect property, and keep our citizens safe.”

Marion County Public Safety is one of only a handful of dual accredited centers of excellence across the globe. The Com­munications Center’s commitment to Next Generation 911, its quick-thinking dispatchers, and its state-of the-art county-wide communication system, all played a role in achieving that accreditation. As a result, other agencies turn to Marion County Public Safety for advice and recommendations on how to improve their dispatch centers.

“The high-performance, continuously available TriTech/Stratus solution has proven instrumental in providing the mission-critical services Marion County citizens expect and deserve,” concludes McConnell. ”It exceeds my expectations every day.”

“Three words that come to mind with regard to the Stratus/TriTech solution are ‘dependability,’ ‘service,’ and ‘accountability.’”
Bill McConnell
Manager, Marion County Public Safety
Communications Center

Stratus Technologies

In today’s always-on world, applications run under increasingly demanding circumstances. With these escalating demands comes greater pressure to prevent even the smallest amount of application downtime. Companies are responding to this need for always-on solutions by searching for technologies that either conform to or enhance their current IT infrastructures.

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products

(software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring

uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

To learn more, visit stratus.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top