案例研究

MAN Nutzfahrzeuge

Stratus ,实现了汽车生产的始终在线

MAN Nutzfahrzeuge是欧洲领先的汽车制造商之一。该公司提供一系列创新和可靠的卡车和客车,旨在为所有细分市场设定标准。该公司还以其专业知识和对行业的承诺为后盾,提供一系列服务,使客户能够以最大的经济性和效率进行运营。

为了确保曼集团商用车部门的平稳运行,其所有设施都与曼集团的中央IT系统相连。从业务绩效的角度来看,其服务器必须持续可用,因为任何计划外的停机都可能导致数据、应用程序的丢失,甚至导致生产和服务的完全中断。

这就是为什么曼恩IT服务使用Stratus ,保护慕尼黑商用车工厂以及德国和欧洲200多个地点的关键任务应用的容错可用性解决方案。

MAN IT Services最初是由德国合作伙伴iTaurus介绍该技术的。经过几个月的成功使用,MAN IT Services现在在全公司范围内使用Stratus 解决方案来保护关键任务应用程序和数据。

简要概述

 解决方案简介

  • 欧洲领先的汽车制造商之一,在全球拥有34000名员工,年收入达87亿欧元。
  • 支持关键任务的过程控制和生产控制软件。
  • 最先进的解决方案,使用Stratus® everRun® FT和Stratus® SplitSite®,允许两台服务器同时运行,100%锁步。
  • everRun FT环境中的两台物理服务器在地理上是分开的,以消除与网站完全中断相关的停机风险。

产品

  • Stratus® everRun® FT
  • Stratus® everRun® HA
  • Stratus® SplitSite®
  • HP DL 380
  • DELL 2650/2850
  • EMC、HDS、IBM SAN
  • Microsoft® Windows® 2000/2003
  • Citrix服务器群

状况。不间断地在线服务客户需求

20世纪90年代末,MAN公司的商用车部门决定在慕尼黑的工厂实施一套新的IT系统来管理叉车作业。该系统最初安装在Novell服务器上,但MAN在2000年决定更新整个系统,采用Endurance 4000系统,以帮助保护叉车管理系统不受停机影响。

MAN IT Services的IT专家Asmir Hrustanbegovic和他的18人团队一起负责MAN集团的服务器,他评论说:"Endurance 4000做到了我们想要的一切,所以在大约三年后,我们决定升级到Stratus everRun FT,以进一步保护我们的文件和应用,并确保服务器的持续可用性。"

在实施之后,还开展了其他信息技术项目,以提高商用车股其他业务部门的效率和可靠性。全国各地设施的工作人员一直在使用个人笔记本电脑,但无法直接访问公司的数据或应用程序,一些网点一直在使用过时的软件。2002年,曼恩信息技术服务部实施了一系列微软终端服务器/Citrix Farms,集中处理所有更新,提高了该部门在德国各地的运营效率。这有效地建立了一个集中式网络,使所有员工无论身处何地,都能访问所有关键的应用程序,并定期接收系统更新。

MAN IT Services管理着240个地点的大约220个微软终端服务器/Citrix农场。"能够从慕尼黑集中管理我们所有的应用程序有很多优势。最大的优点是可以让我们一次性为所有网点安装任何新软件,这为我们节省了很多时间。"Hrustanbegovic说。

然而,正因为如此,所有服务器在任何时候都是可用的,这一点绝对是至关重要的,因为慕尼黑总部的任何计划外停机都会导致升级期间的严重延误。

"数据和应用提供的中断会影响到每一个员工,在更糟糕的情况下,会完全停止运营。但有了everRun FT,我们再也不用担心停机了。"
Hrustanbegovic先生
IT专家
MAN IT服务公司

解决方案。使用Stratus everRun FT软件,确保24/7/365的运行。

现在,支持商用车单位的服务器受到Stratus everRun FT软件的保护,以确保无论在什么情况下,都能24/7/365地访问应用程序。

"数据和应用提供的中断会影响到每一个员工,在最坏的情况下,会完全停止运营。但有了everRun FT,我们再也不用担心停机了。"Hrustanbegovic解释说。

最先进的解决方案,使用everRun FT和Stratus SplitSite,允许两台服务器以100%的锁步方式同时运行。这意味着两台拥有相同软件、应用程序和数据的Windows服务器创建了一个对用户透明的单一虚拟环境。如果其中一台服务器发生故障,数据也不会丢失,因为everRun 环境将在其余服务器上零中断地继续运行。这就创造了一个业务连续性解决方案,并消除了昂贵而复杂的故障转移过程、专门的应用程序或专有服务器硬件的需要。

Stratus SplitSite软件提供了一个额外的保护层,防止更大规模的故障和灾难。everRun FT环境中的两台物理服务器在地理上是分开的,以消除与网站完全中断相关的停机风险。

"只有当两台物理服务器都出现故障时,我们才会有麻烦。"赫鲁坦贝戈维奇说。"然而,这实际上是不可能的,即使在理论上也是极不可能的。我们有信心,我们的应用在这种技术下可以持续可用。"

根据应用的重要程度,MAN IT Services使用单一服务器、Windows集群或Stratus 系统,最重要的应用始终运行在everRun FT。

Hrustanbegovic表示:"我们从不将关键任务应用放在普通服务器上。我们使用everRun FT是为了能够保证用户持续访问关键任务数据和应用。"

"如果我们需要保护更多的关键任务数据和应用程序免受停机,我们一定会选择everRun 。"
Hrustanbegovic先生
IT专家
MAN IT服务

结果。消除系统故障,提高竞争优势

任何非计划性停工的后果不仅会危及慕尼黑工厂的生产,也会危及该单位240个网点的生产。

"在实践中,如果一个员工因为服务器瘫痪而无法连接到中央网络,所有关于客户和产品的数据都将变得不可用。这将意味着我们的许多员工将无法开展工作,我们将有许多不满意的客户需要处理。"Hrustanbegovic解释道。

在整个曼集团,Hrustanbegovic和他的团队负责约1800台服务器和约3万台联网计算机。在使用了多年的Stratus 产品后,如果有必要,该集团将在未来实施更多的everRun 系统。

"如果我们需要保护更多的关键任务数据和应用程序免受停机,我们肯定会选择everRun ,"Hrustanbegovic总结道。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

MAN Nutzfahrzeuge

Stratus enables always-on vehicle production

MAN Nutzfahrzeuge is one of Europe’s leading vehicle manufacturers. The company offers a range of innovative and reliable trucks and buses, which aim to set the standard in all of their market segments. The company also backs up its expertise and commitment to the industry with a range of services that allow customers to operate with maximum economy and efficiency.

To ensure a smooth operation of the MAN Group’s commercial vehicles unit, all of its facilities are connected to MAN’s central IT system. From a business performance perspective, it is vital that its servers are continuously available, as any unscheduled downtime could lead to a loss of data, applications, or even to a complete disruption of production and services.

That is why MAN IT Services use a fault-tolerant availability solution from Stratus that protects the mission-critical applications of the commercial vehicles factory in Munich, and more than 200 locations in Germany and Europe.

MAN IT Services was originally introduced to the technology by German partner, iTaurus. Following months of successful use, MAN IT Services now uses Stratus solutions across the company to protect mission-critical applications and data.

Quick Facts

 Solution Profile

  • One of Europe’s leading vehicle manufacturers with 34,000 employees worldwide and annual revenues of €8.7 billion
  • Supports mission-critical process control and production control software
  • State-of-the-art solution, using Stratus® everRun® FT and Stratus® SplitSite®, allows two servers to operate simultaneously in 100% lock-step
  • Two physical servers within the everRun FT environment are geographically separated to eliminate the risk of downtime associated with complete site outages

Products

  • Stratus® everRun® FT
  • Stratus® everRun® HA
  • Stratus® SplitSite®
  • HP DL 380
  • DELL 2650/2850
  • EMC, HDS, IBM SAN
  • Microsoft® Windows® 2000/2003
  • Citrix server farm

The Situation: Serve Customer Needs Online Without Interruption

In the late 1990s, MAN’s commercial vehicles unit decided to implement a new IT system to manage forklift truck operations at its factory in Munich. The system was originally installed on a Novell server, but MAN decided in 2000 to update the entire system by adopting an Endurance 4000 system to help protect the forklift management system against downtime.

Asmir Hrustanbegovic, IT specialist at MAN IT Services, who is in charge of MAN Group’s servers together with his 18-strong team, comments, “Endurance 4000 did all we wanted, so after about three years we decided to upgrade to Stratus everRun FT to further protect our files and applications, and ensure continuous availability of our servers.”

Following the implementation, other IT projects were undertaken to increase efficiency and reliability in other parts of the operation of the commercial vehicles unit. Staff at facilities around the country had been using individual laptops without direct access to company data or applications, and some outlets had been using outdated software. In 2002 MAN IT Services implemented a series of Microsoft Terminal Server/Citrix Farms to handle all updates centrally and improve the efficiency of the unit’s operations across Germany. This effectively established a centralized network that allowed all staff, regardless of their location, to access all key applications and receive regular system updates.

MAN IT Services manages around 220 Microsoft Terminal Server/Citrix Farms in 240 locations. “Being able to manage all our applications centrally from Munich has many advantages. The greatest is that it allows us to install any new software for all outlets at one go, which saves us a lot of time,” Hrustanbegovic says.

However, because of this, it is absolutely crucial that all servers are available at all times, as any unscheduled downtime at the head office in Munich would lead to severe delays during upgrades.

“A disruption to the provision of data and applications would affect every employee, and in the worse case scenario, halt operations altogether. But with everRun FT, we no longer have to worry about downtime.”
Mr. Hrustanbegovic
IT specialist
MAN IT Services

The Solution: Ensure 24/7/365 Operations with Stratus everRun FT software

The servers supporting the commercial vehicles unit are now protected with Stratus everRun FT software to ensure that applications are accessible 24/7/365—no matter what.

“A disruption to the provision of data and applications would affect every employee, and in the worst case scenario, halt operations altogether. But with everRun FT, we no longer have to worry about downtime,” Hrustanbegovic explains.

The state-of-the-art solution, using everRun FT and Stratus SplitSite, allows two servers to operate simultaneously in 100 percent lock-step. This means that two Windows servers with the same software, applications, and data create a single virtual environment, transparent to the user. If one of the servers fails, no data is lost since the everRun environment will keep running with zero interruption on the remaining server. This creates a business continuity solution and eliminates the need for costly and complex failover processes, specialized applications, or proprietary server hardware.

Stratus SplitSite software provides an additional layer of protection against larger-scale failures and disasters. The two physical servers within the everRun FT environment are geographically separated to eliminate the risk of downtime associated with complete site outages.

“Only if both physical servers failed, we would we be in trouble,” says Hrustanbegovic. “However, this is practically impossible, and extremely unlikely even in theory. We are confident that our applications are continuously available with this technology.”

Depending on the level of importance of an application, MAN IT Services uses a single server, a Windows cluster or a Stratus system, with the most important applications always running on everRun FT.

Hrustanbegovic remarks, “We never put mission-critical applications on normal servers. We use everRun FT to be able to guarantee users constant access to mission-critical data and applications.”

“Should we need to protect more of our mission-critical data and applications against downtime, we will definitely go with everRun.”
Mr. Hrustanbegovic
IT specialist
MAN IT Services

Results: Elimination of System Failure and Increased Competitive Advantage

The consequences of any unscheduled downtime would not only jeopardize production at the factory in Munich, but also at the unit’s 240 outlets.

“In practice, if an employee was unable to connect to the central network because a server was down, all data on customers and products would become unavailable. This would mean that many of our employees would be unable to do their jobs, and we would have many unhappy customers to deal with,” Hrustanbegovic explains.

Throughout the MAN Group, Hrustanbegovic and his team are responsible for around 1,800 servers and about 30,000 connected computers. Following many years of using Stratus products, the group will implement more everRun systems in the future if necessary.

“Should we need to protect more of our mission-critical data and applications against downtime, we will definitely go with everRun,” Hrustanbegovic concludes.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top