案例研究

哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊国际机场

CAD的"始终可用"使世界上最繁忙的机场的警察、消防和应急反应成为可能。

亚特兰大哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊国际机场的旅客数量超过全球任何其他机场。哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊机场不仅多年来客流量第一,而且在起降方面也成为最繁忙的机场。

经营情况

有了这么多的活动,哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊随时准备处理各种类型的紧急情况。2010年,机场增加了一个新的中央指挥和控制中心(C4),以扩大其准备工作。C4提供了一个单一的点来管理其4700英亩的园区内的事件,以及一个人们可以呼叫的中央场所。

C4使用计算机辅助调度(CAD)系统来帮助加快警察和消防部门的反应速度。亚特兰大警察局和亚特兰大消防局都在机场派驻了部队。

而在过去的7年里,哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊一直依靠公共安全系统公司(PSSI)和Stratus Technologies来保证其CAD系统以最大的可用性平稳运行。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • 使驻扎在机场的警察和消防部队能够在计算机辅助下进行调度。
  • 服务于世界上最繁忙的机场
  • 为占地4 700英亩的机场园区提供集中联络点
  • 与城市的CAD系统集成
  • 使用Stratus® ftServer®系统确保始终在线的可用性。

产品

  • Stratus ftServer 系统
  • PSSI RESPONSE™
  • 计算机辅助调度软件(RESPONSE CAD)
  • Microsoft® Windows Server®
  • SQL Server®数据库软件

服务

  • Stratus 保证可用性支持

业务目标

在C4升级之前,机场是由不同的软件供应商提供的CAD服务的,当系统到期更换时,它提供了采用亚特兰大市使用的PSSI软件的机会。当系统到期更换时,它提供了一个机会,采用相同的PSSI软件,亚特兰大市使用。这样两个CAD系统就可以毫不费力地协同工作。例如,机场CAD系统可以将警察和消防电话直接归档到城市的记录管理(RMS)数据库。

这次变革还需要一台新的服务器。做初始安装的系统集成公司推荐了一个容错Stratus ,ftServer 系统,以保证正常运行时间。机场的CAD管理员Dan Negris对ftServer 设计所提供的内置弹性非常熟悉。他回忆说:"在这之前,我曾为不同的应用研究过Stratus ,我对Stratus 在可管理性方面比集群具有的可能性感到兴奋。"

可用性对CAD系统至关重要。Negris解释说:"CAD会利用最近的警察和消防单位的可用性推荐最佳反应。因此,例如,它对心脏病发作的乘客发出的建议与对无人看管的包的建议不同。"

如果CAD系统瘫痪,调度的效率也会降低。"我们的调度员将不得不更多地依赖电话和无线电通信。他们还必须手动跟踪电话,以便日后重新输入存档,"他说。

"五年来,我们没有经历过任何计划外停机。"
Dan Negris
信息技术部CAD管理员
哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊国际机场

PSSI和Stratus 解决方案

关键的CAD应用需要一个弹性的平台。"Stratus' 24/7/365的正常运行时间保证和主动监控,配合我们的RESPONSE CAD软件经过验证的可靠性和效率,为调度员提供了持续实时访问重要信息和通信所需的稳定性。"PSSI市场总监Linda Kossa说。

14个工作站的调度员可访问在ftServer 系统上运行的RESPONSE CAD。他们跟踪事件,并向机场财产上的电话发送警察、消防和紧急医疗服务帮助。

动态绘图能力使调度员能够查看事件发生的区域,并看到哪里有单位可以应对。该系统还提供访问佐治亚州犯罪信息中心/国家犯罪信息中心(GCIC/NCIC)的记录。

此外,该系统与PSSI的RESPONSE In-Field软件在移动电脑终端上进行交互,将信息传送给车内的警察和消防人员。PSSI的ICIS™ In-Form使这些响应者能够使用移动计算机提交事件报告。

RESPONSE CAD还链接到城市的ICIS记录管理系统(ICIS RMS),PSSI也提供该系统。这样,机场外的授权公共安全人员就可以在需要时访问事件信息。

CAD应用采用Microsoft Windows操作系统和SQL Server数据库,使其很好地适应了容错Stratus ftServer 系统。

ftServer 系统建立在重复的组件中。这种设计使系统能够自动克服会导致传统服务器崩溃的问题。而且与使用服务器集群进行冗余不同,ftServer 系统不需要 IT 管理员使用特殊的软件脚本和系统管理程序来确保可用性。

定制的CAD

ftServer 系统使用标准技术,应用程序不必修改就能从服务器的可用性功能中获益。因此,机场获得了更多的灵活性来定制CAD应用。

PSSI对机场的消防区警报进行了定制。以前当调度员需要呼叫消防或急救人员时,他们会发出提示音,提醒整个消防站。现在,调度员在五个站中的任何一个站都会发出警报区。"如果我们需要一种特殊类型的设备,或者要提醒某一群人,我们可以谨慎地做到这一点,"Negris解释说。这样就能在正确的时间将正确的帮助送到正确的地方。

行业标准的环境还能适应机场运营团队有时需要对应用程序进行的小范围更改。Negris观察到,"在SQL GUI[图形用户界面]中进行常规更改,比我们以前的系统要容易得多。"在我们以前的系统中,我们每次想要进行更改都必须通知供应商。现在,主管们可以进行很大比例的更改,我可以处理任何他们做不到的事情。"

"在这之前,我曾为不同的应用研究过Stratus ,我对Stratus 在可管理性方面比集群具有的可能性感到兴奋。"
Dan Negris
信息技术部CAD管理员
哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊国际机场

呼叫上门监控永远在工作中

作为一名IT专业人员,Negris很欣赏ftServer 的设计使管理正常运行时间变得更加容易。"我曾处理过集群,但它与Stratus 服务器的可用性完全不同。维护集群,使其能够正确地进行故障切换是很棘手的,"他指出。"我喜欢Stratus 硬件所具有的冗余性。它能让我们保持运行,我们不会错过任何一个环节。"

ftServer 系统的自我诊断和预测性监测有助于保持其持续运行,而无需额外的努力。

尼格里斯说:"而我真正非常喜欢的是,电话回家后接到Stratus 技术人员的电话,告诉我,比如说,我们的一个电源坏了。即使在下班后,他们也在处理事情。"

有一次,机场不得不将Stratus ftServer 从一栋楼搬到另一栋楼。在搬家过程中,服务器不得不短暂离线,从而中断了与Stratus 客户援助中心(CAC)的连接。Negris很快就接到了Stratus CAC的电话,检查似乎是异常的监控事件。虽然没有问题,但他知道服务器的呼救报告和Stratus'24小时监控始终存在,这让他很放心。

这种支持比以前的解决方案更加广泛,Negris的部门也通过与Stratus 和PSSI合作,节省了系统支持成本。

"Stratus' 24/7/365的正常运行时间保证和主动监控,配合我们的RESPONSE CAD软件经过验证的可靠性和效率,为调度员提供了持续实时访问重要信息和通信所需的稳定性。"
Linda Kossa
营销总监
PSSI

业务影响

在过去的五年里,管理哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊的CAD系统给Negris留下了深刻的印象。他也听到了调度员的积极评价。

"我对Stratus 硬件的性能和他们给我的支持非常满意。而且运行PSSI CAD系统也减轻了很多压力,"Negris表示。他观察到,由于每天都要负责管理CAD系统,"有了这种即时访问Stratus 的支持,真的很有用。"

真正的考验是ftServer ,如何成功支持可用性。"自实施以来,我们没有经历过任何计划外停机,"Negris说。此外,CAD管理员还指出,计划性停机时间相当有限。计划中的停机时间主要是用于偶尔的应用程序维护。

在哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊,无可挑剔的CAD可用性已经成为计划的一部分,使应急响应随时准备就绪。

"我喜欢Stratus 硬件所具有的冗余性。它能让我们保持运行,我们不会错过任何一个环节。而我真正非常喜欢的是,打电话回家接到技术人员的电话,告诉我,比如说,我们的一个电源坏了。即使在下班后,他们也在处理事情。"
Dan Negris
信息技术部CAD管理员
哈茨菲尔德-杰克逊国际机场

关于 Stratus Technologies

在当今始终在线的世界里,应用程序对运行环境要求越来越高。随着这些需求的不断升级,为了将应用停机时间降至最低,企业面临的压力也越来越大。企业正在通过寻找符合或增强其现有IT基础设施的技术来应对永续解决方案需求。

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport

ALWAYS-ON AVAILABILITY for CAD enables police, fire and emergency response at the world’s busiest airport

More passengers travel through Atlanta’s Hartsfield- Jackson International Airport than any other on the planet. Not only has Hartsfield-Jackson been number one in passengers for many years, but has als become the busiest in landings and takeoffs.

Business Situation

With that much activity, Hartsfield-Jackson stays ready to handle emergencies of all types. In 2010, the airport added a new Centralized Command and Control Center (C4) to expand its preparedness. The C4 provides a single point for managing incidents on its 4,700 acre campus, and one central place that people can call.

The C4 uses a computer aided dispatch (CAD) system to help speed police and fire department responses. Both the Atlanta Police Department and the Atlanta Fire Department keep units stationed at the airport.

And for the past seven years, Hartsfield-Jackson has depended on Public Safety Systems Incorporated (PSSI) and Stratus Technologies to keep its CAD system running smoothly with maximum availability.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Enables computer aided dispatch of police and fire units stationed at airport
  • Serves the busiest airport in the world
  • Provides centralized point of contact for 4,700 acre airport campus
  • Integrates with the city’s CAD system
  • Assures always-on availability with Stratus® ftServer® system

Products

  • Stratus ftServer system
  • PSSI RESPONSE™
  • Computer Aided Dispatch (RESPONSE CAD) software
  • Microsoft® Windows Server®
  • SQL Server® database software

Services

  • Stratus Assured Availability Support

Business Objectives

Before, the C4 upgrade the airport was served by CAD from a different software provider. When the system was due for replacement, it offered the chance to adopt the same PSSI software used by the City of Atlanta. Then the two CAD systems could work together effortlessly. For example, the airport CAD system could archive police and fire calls directly to the city’s records management (RMS) database.

The change also called for a new server. The systems integration firm that did the initial installation recommended a fault-tolerant Stratus ftServer system for uptime assurance. The airport’s CAD administrator, Dan Negris, was familiar with the built-in resiliency provided by the ftServer design. He recalled, “Having researched Stratus before this for a different application, I was excited about the possibilities Stratus had over a cluster in terms of manageability.”

Availability is crucial for the CAD system. Negris explained, “CAD recommends the best response using the nearest police and fire units that are available. So for example, it sends a different recommendation for a passenger having a heart attack than it would for an unattended bag.”

Dispatch would also be less efficient if the CAD system were down. “Our dispatchers would have to rely a lot more on communication by phone and radio. They would also have to keep track of calls manually to be reentered for archiving later,” he said.

“We have not experienced any unplanned downtime in five years.”
Dan Negris
CAD Administrator, Department of Information Technology
Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport

The PSSI and Stratus Solution

Critical CAD applications need a resilient platform. “Stratus’ 24/7/365 uptime assurance and proactive monitoring, paired with the proven reliability and efficiency of our RESPONSE CAD software, gives dispatchers the stability they need for continuous real-time access to vital information and communications,” said Linda Kossa, Director of Marketing at PSSI.

Dispatchers at 14 workstations access RESPONSE CAD, which runs on the ftServer system. They track incidents, and send police, fire and emergency medical services help to calls on airport property.

Dynamic mapping capability lets the dispatchers view the area of an incident and see where there are units available to respond. The system also provides access to Georgia Crime Information Center/National Crime Information Center (GCIC/NCIC) records.

In addition, the system interacts with PSSI‘s RESPONSE In-Field software on mobile computer terminals that deliver information to police and fire personnel in their vehicles. PSSI’s ICIS™ In-Form lets these responders file incident reports using mobile computers.

RESPONSE CAD also links to the city’s ICIS Records Management System (ICIS RMS), which PSSI also provides. That gives authorized public safety personnel outside the airport access to incident information when they need it.

The CAD application uses the Microsoft Windows operating system and SQL Server database, which makes it a good fit for the fault-tolerant Stratus ftServer system.

The ftServer system builds in duplicate components. This design lets the system automatically ride through issues that would cause a conventional server to crash. And unlike using a server cluster for redundancy, the ftServer system doesn’t require IT administrators to use special software scripts and systems management procedures to ensure availability.

Customized CAD

The ftServer system uses standard technologies, and applications don’t have to be modified to benefit from the server’s availability features. As a result, the airport gained more flexibility to tailor the CAD application.

PSSI customized the airport’s fire district alerting. Before when dispatchers needed to call fire or EMS personnel, they sent a tone that alerted an entire fire station. Now the dispatchers alert zones in any of the five stations. “If we need a particular type of equipment, or to alert a certain group of people, we can do that discretely,” explained Negris. That gets the right help, to the right place, at the right time.

The industry-standard environment also accommodates small changes to the application that the airport operations team sometimes needs. Negris observed, “Making routine changes in the SQL GUI [graphical user interface] is a whole lot easier than our previous system. “With our previous system, we had to notify the vendor every time we wanted to make a change. Now the supervisors can make a large percentage of the changes, and I can take care of anything they can’t do.”

“Having researched Stratus before this for a different application, I was excited about the possibilities Stratus had over a cluster in terms of manageability.”
Dan Negris
CAD Administrator, Department of Information Technology
Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport

Call-Home Monitoring is Always On the Job

As an IT professional, Negris appreciates that the ftServer design makes managing uptime much easier. “I’ve dealt with clusters, but it’s nothing like the availability of a Stratus server. Maintaining the cluster so it will fail over correctly can be tricky,” he noted. “I like the redundancy that the Stratus hardware has. It keeps us running and we don’t miss a beat.”

The ftServer system’s self-diagnostics and predictive monitoring contribute to keeping it running continuously without extra effort.

Negris said, “And what I really, really love is the phone home to get a call from a Stratus technician telling me that, say, one of our power supplies is down. They’re on top of things even after hours.”

On one occasion, the airport had to move the Stratus ftServer from one building to another. The server had to be offline briefly during the move, which interrupted the connection with the Stratus Customer Assistance Center (CAC). Negris quickly got a call from the Stratus CAC to check on what seemed to be abnormal monitoring events. While there was no problem, he was reassured to know that the server’s call-home reporting and Stratus’ 24-hour monitoring are always there.

This support is more extensive than with the previous solution, and Negris’ department also saves money on system support costs by working with Stratus and PSSI.

“Stratus’ 24/7/365 uptime assurance and proactive monitoring, paired with the proven reliability and efficiency of our RESPONSE CAD software, gives dispatchers the stability they need for continuous real-time access to vital information and communications.”
Linda Kossa
Director of Marketing
PSSI

Business Impact

Managing Hartsfield-Jackson’s CAD system over the past five years has made an impression on Negris. He has heard positive comments from the dispatchers as well.

“I’ve been very pleased with the performance of the Stratus hardware and the support I’ve gotten from them. And running the PSSI CAD has taken a lot of stress out of the picture,” Negris stated. With daily responsibility for administering the CAD system, he observed, “Having that instant access to Stratus support is really useful.”

The real test is how successfully the ftServer supports availability. “We have not experienced any unplanned downtime since the implementation,” said Negris. In addition, the CAD administrator notes that planned downtime has been quite lim­ited. Scheduled downtime has been mostly for occasional application maintenance.

At Hartsfield-Jackson, impeccable CAD availability has become part of the plan that keeps emergency response ready to go on any moment’s notice.

“I like the redundancy that the Stratus hardware has. It keeps us running and we don’t miss a beat. And what I really, really love is the phone home to get a call from a technician telling me that, say, one of our power supplies is down. They’re on top of things even after hours.”
Dan Negris
CAD Administrator, Department of Information Technology
Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport

About Stratus Technologies

In today’s always-on world, applications run under increasingly demanding circumstances. With these escalating demands comes greater pressure to prevent even the smallest amount of application downtime. Companies are responding to this need for always-on solutions by searching for technologies that either conform to or enhance their current IT infrastructures.

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top