案例研究

俄罗斯河啤酒公司

俄罗斯河啤酒公司使用Stratus's everRun®进行生产控制,使ProLeit的brewmaxx能够不停机地运行。

俄罗斯河啤酒公司

俄罗斯河酿酒公司是由位于加州Guerneville的Korbel Champagne Cellars于1997年创立的。他们的IPA"Pliny the Elder"是美国第一批商业化酿造的双倍或帝国IPA之一,多年来赢得了无数奖项。在推出近20年后,它仍然是他们最受欢迎的啤酒。2003年,Korbel决定退出啤酒业务,并将俄罗斯河酿酒公司的权利转让给Vinnie Cilurzo。在过去的15年里,这家啤酒厂获得了美国大啤酒节和世界啤酒杯的几十个奖项。Cilurzo和酒厂在GABF和世界啤酒杯上两次被评为年度最佳酿酒厂和酿酒师。2007年,Cilurzo被授予Russell Scherrer酿酒创新奖。

基于他们啤酒的成功和受欢迎程度,俄罗斯河酿酒公司在索诺玛乡村地区扩大了他们的分店数量。他们在加州温莎的最新地点是由建筑师、顾问、设计师和承包商组成的"梦之队"组建的。整个新的温莎啤酒厂占地8.5万平方英尺,涵盖了清洁啤酒和酸桶陈酿啤酒的生产。

温莎新址及其持续运营的需要。

随着温莎新啤酒厂的开业,Russian River Brewing Company有具体的要求,包括一个可靠的、易于管理的控制系统,以确保生产出一致的最终结果。建筑师、顾问和设计师制定了很高的标准,并希望为新啤酒厂使用最好的技术。他们决定使用brewmaxx来控制啤酒的酿造过程。

brewmaxx是一个基于对象相关和PLC的过程控制系统,具有MES功能,并集成了液体的配方控制。该brewmaxx软件控制着整个啤酒酿造过程。如果brewmaxx过程控制系统出现故障,酿造过程将受到严重影响,可能导致大量啤酒的损失。为了防止这种情况的发生,Russian River公司寻找了一些方法,使brewmaxx系统具有很高的可用性,并能继续运行--即使计算机系统发生故障。

Stratus everRun 的选择。

许多啤酒厂依靠Stratus everRun ,以确保他们的酿造过程不会因系统故障而中断。everRun ,在业界是独一无二的,因为它是唯一一个可以加载到两个基于英特尔的标准服务器上,以创建一个单例Windows® 虚拟机环境的软件产品。该软件提供零停机时间和零数据丢失;这意味着如果任何一台服务器发生故障,brewmaxx应用程序可以继续运行而不会中断或丢失数据。

在了解了everRun 所提供的优势后,Russian River Brewing Company 的信息技术总监 Joe King 决定,这将是满足其冗余和高可用性要求的理想解决方案。"ProLeit基于everRun'在其他啤酒厂使用everRun 作为brewmaxx的冗余系统平台的良好记录,推荐了everRun ,"King说。俄河啤酒公司也曾使用一家咨询公司帮助指定新设施的要求和整体设计,他们也认可了everRun 的建议。

自从实施everRun ,King对这个选择很满意。"自部署以来,系统一直在零停机状态下运行,而且性能完美。

我们要求正常运行时间要保持端到端的一致性。"

执行情况

King在2018年夏天配置了服务器,并与Stratus 和ProLeit合作,将everRun 系统纳入ProLeit的brewmaxx。然后,他将brewmaxx和everRun 系统整合到生产中,在温莎新址运行啤酒厂流程。

King解释说:"我们对我们的Stratus everRun 服务器非常满意。我们在一个简单易用的基于Windows的解决方案中拥有我们所需的冗余和可靠性水平。"

"我们对我们的Stratus everRun 服务器非常满意。我们在一个简单易用的基于Windows的解决方案中拥有我们所需的冗余和可靠性水平。"
Joe King
信息技术总监
Russian River Brewing Company

关于 Stratus

Stratus 使关键业务应用全年无休运行不再复杂。Stratus 技术可以主动预防数据中心和边缘的意外停机,我们的服务确保先于客户发现并解决问题。35年来,无论是全球财富500强企业,还是全球各行各业的中小企业都依赖 Stratus 简单的操作实现持续的可用性。

欲了解更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Russian River Brewing Company

Russian River Brewing Company uses Stratus’s everRun® for production control allowing brewmaxx by ProLeit to run without downtime

Russian River Brewing Company

The Russian River Brewing Company was founded in 1997 by Korbel Champagne Cellars in Guerneville, CA. Their IPA “Pliny the Elder” was one of the first commercially brewed Double or Imperial IPAs in America and has won numerous awards over the years. It continues to be their most popular beer nearly 20 years after it was introduced. In 2003, Korbel decided to get out of the beer business and transferred the rights to the Russian River Brewing Company to Vinnie Cilurzo. In the past 15 years, the brewery has won dozens of awards from the Great American Beer Festival and World Beer Cup. Cilurzo and the brewery were twice named Brewery and Brewmaster of the Year at both the GABF and World Beer Cup. In 2007, Cilurzo was awarded the Russell Scherrer Award for Innovation in Brewing.

Based on the success and popularity of their beers, the Russian River Brewing Company has expanded their number of locations across the Sonoma Country area. Their newest location in Windsor, CA, was assembled with a “dream team” of architects, consultants, designers and contractors. The entire new Windsor brewery is 85,000 square feet and encompasses beer production for both clean beers and sour barrel-aged beers.

The new Windsor location and its need for continuous operation

With the opening of the new brewery at the Windsor location, Russian River Brewing Company had specific requirements, including a reliable, easy-to-manage control system to ensure production of a consistent end result. The architects, consultants and designers set high standards and wanted to use the best technology available for the new brewery. They decided to use brewmaxx for process control for the brewing of their beer.

brewmaxx is an object-related and PLC-based process control system with MES functionality and integrated recipe control for liquids. This brewmaxx software controls the entire beer brewing process. If the brewmaxx process control system goes down, the brewing process will be severely compromised, leading to the potential loss of a significant amount of beer. To prevent this, Russian River searched for ways to make the brewmaxx system highly available and continue running— even if failures in computer systems occurred.

The Stratus everRun choice

Many breweries rely on Stratus everRun to ensure that their brewing process will not be interrupted by system failures. everRun is unique in the industry, in that it is the only software product that can be loaded onto two standard Intel-based servers to create a single instance Windows® VM environment. This software provides zero downtime and zero data loss; meaning the brewmaxx application can continue to run without interruption or the loss of data if either server fails.

After learning about the benefits everRun provides, Joe King, the Director of Information Technology at the Russian River Brewing Company, decided that it would be an ideal solution for his redundancy and high availability requirements. “ProLeit had recommended everRun based on everRun’s proven track record in other breweries using everRun as the redundant system platform for brewmaxx,” says King. The Russian River Brewing Company had also used a consulting company to help specify requirements and overall design for the new facility, and they also endorsed the everRun recommendation.

Since implementing everRun, King has been satisfied with that choice. “The systems have been running with zero downtime since their deployment and have been performing perfectly.

We require the uptime to maintain consistency end-to-end.”

The implementation

King configured the servers and worked with Stratus and ProLeit to incorporate the everRun system into ProLeit’s brewmaxx during the summer of 2018. He then integrated the brewmaxx and everRun systems into production to run the brewery process at the new Windsor location.

King explains, “We are very pleased with our Stratus everRun servers. We have the level of redundancy and reliability we require in a simple to use Windows-based solution.”

“We are very pleased with our Stratus everRun servers. We have the level of redundancy and reliability we require in a simple to use Windows-based solution.”
Joe King
Director of Information Technology
Russian River Brewing Company

About Stratus

Stratus takes the complexity out of keeping business critical applications running 24/7/365. Stratus’ technologies proactively prevent instances of unplanned downtime both in the data center and at the edge, and our services ensure any issues are addressed before customers need to. Global Fortune 500 companies and small medium sized businesses in a wide range of industries across the globe have been relying on Stratus for operationally simple, continuous availability for more than 35 years.

For more information, please visit www.stratus.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top