案例研究

Rubberlite

Stratus 边缘 计算如何使Rubberlite消除停工期,降低50%的IT成本,并将不可销售的材料减少80%。

面临的挑战

  • 提高产品质量以满足客户需求,并实现创新以促进增长
  • 消除SCADA应用的停机时间,集中配方管理以提高制造的可重复性
  • 现代化必要的计算基础设施,以实现关键流程的数字化,消除运营和数据收集的停机时间
  • 减少IT维护和人工成本,使工程师能够专注于高价值的工作

解决方案

  • 启动监督控制系统项目,以改造流程,使基础设施现代化,并实现全厂可视性
  • 安装了单一的Stratus ftServer ,运行应用程序虚拟化和容错,以消除停机时间,集中数据,提高可靠性。
  • 在ftServer®上部署AVEVA™系统平台,以实现完全集成的DCS和数据历史学家,并具有容错的服务器骨架

带来的优势

  • 自2016年实施以来,没有经历过任何停机时间
  • 即使销售量增加25%,也将不可销售的材料产量减少80%。

Rubberlite是一家位于西弗吉尼亚州的材料制造商,为全球1600多家客户定制和生产各种规格的中密度聚氨酯泡沫,用于航空、医疗、服装、家具应用等。该公司增长和成功的关键是超越客户的期望,并开发创新产品和工艺,以满足客户的新要求。

为了实现他们通过创新实现增长的使命,Rubberlite启动了一个监督控制系统项目来改造他们的基础设施。该团队选择了Stratus 边缘 Computing来提供一个解决方案,以简化和巩固IT基础设施,规范数据收集,并确保应用程序的持续可用性和数据的可靠性。

通过提高数据的可靠性和自动化,在Stratus 边缘 计算的支持下,Rubberlite推动了效率和产品质量的显著改善,转化为业务增长和客户满意度。该团队将不可销售的材料减少了80%,同时销售和生产增加了25%。最引人注目的是,自2016年实施Stratus ,他们经历了零停机时间。

"在考虑许可证和配置、劳动力、维护和其他成本的投资时,Stratus 能够为我们提供的可扩展性给我留下了深刻的印象。"
Jessica Spurlock
过程自动化工程师
Rubberlite

发展创新流程,成为世界一流组织

Rubberlite希望改造他们的操作,以提高可靠性,消除影响生产和增加劳动力资源的数据丢失。此外,他们还面临着多种软件许可和维护若干IT系统的高成本。

该公司确定需要部署容错计算来整合现有的遗留系统,作为调整Rubberlite的人员、流程和技术的关键步骤,以实现自动化流程控制、数据整合,以及更高水平的复杂性和操作纪律。

自动化孤岛阻碍了对设备性能的了解

像许多制造商一样,Rubberlite在工厂车间的独立系统之间缺乏整合,形成了孤立的信息孤岛,这使他们无法了解设备性能对利润或产品质量的影响。

除此之外,数据只在生产过程中被记录,而不是在空闲时间被记录,这在故障排除能力方面造成了很大的差距。数据导出很麻烦,生成一份报告需要近一个小时。每周有10-12份报告,这项额外的工作占了一个工程师四分之一的时间。

该公司还希望将陈旧的纸质流程数字化。近20年来,生产数据被储存在运行表的活页中,要求操作员在生产产品时写下实际规格和目标。在聚氨酯部门,员工的平均任期接近20年,导致每个人都积累了大量的知识,而整个工厂没有标准化。因此,产品具有可变的重复性,因为任务不是以相同的方式执行的,这导致了质量控制和劳动力发展的挑战。

Rubberlite决定启动监督控制系统项目,以直接应对这些挑战,并在提高增长和创新方面取得进展。

边缘 计算现有工作流程的数字化转型的基础

聚氨酯制造部门被选为实施监督控制系统项目的测试地点,以Stratus 边缘 计算平台为骨干。

Rubberlite公司选择了Stratus ftServer ,因为它是硬件、软件和连续监测服务的交钥匙组合。该平台的 "锁步"、硬件层面的容错性确保了在发生故障时,系统能够继续运行,不会出现停机或数据丢失。此外,该系统还提供主动健康监测,以便在潜在问题发生之前识别出来,并提供热插拔组件,以便在运行中进行维修,而不会产生任何计划内的停机。

Stratus ftServer 进一步允许Rubberlite团队使用虚拟化技术来同时运行多个软件应用程序,消除了购买多个硬件、软件和许可证的需要,从而降低了系统管理成本。

通过与Stratus 经销商InSource Solutions合作,Rubberlite配置了ftServer ,在容错的支持下整合了软件工作负载。其结果是一个快速现代化的基础设施,为他们的新控制架构进行了优化,其成本和复杂性仅为之前或其他计算解决方案的一小部分。Stratus与更复杂的方法相比,用一个物理系统实现容错的简单方法将总投资(劳动力和资本)减少了50%。

Stratus ftServer 和 AVEVA 系统平台的可靠性

对于其SCADA系统,Rubberlite采用了AVEVA系统平台和相关的制造软件进行控制、数据收集和共享。作为长期的Stratus 技术合作伙伴,AVEVA解决方案具有良好的特性,可以在Stratus 平台上运行,并为OT环境提供优化的综合解决方案。

新的和现有的PLC和仪表与运行在Stratus ftServer 的AVEVA系统平台直接对接,包括应用适当的网络要求、生成文件、测试和调试。

AVEVA系统平台Galaxy配置和实施利用InTouch和Historian进行操作界面和数据收集。AVEVA的瘦客户机管理器,也运行在ftServer ,允许使用Stratus 冗余来安装和配置瘦客户机。

有了这个基础,Rubberlite就可以部署更复杂的自动控制和流程改进,并继续利用AVEVA系统平台的全部功能。该软件基于模板的技术集中部署,消除了技术实施的成本和风险,降低了工程劳动成本,实现了项目的长期可持续性。

"自从[Stratus ftServer ]在2016年3月运行以来,我们没有发生过一次停机事件。"
Jessica Spurlock
过程自动化工程师
Rubberlite

数据的可靠性和自动化转化为产品质量和客户满意度

Rubberlite没有对基础技术进行翻修和替换,而是对现有技术进行现代化改造,并创造性地利用现有投资,发挥其最大潜力。通过将以前的手工任务自动化,他们获得了增强的质量控制,同时改善了关键的业务关键绩效指标,如。

  • 在实施的五年内减少80%的非等级材料
  • 销售额增长25%,并向市场推出若干新产品,包括两个新产品系列

"我们与Stratus 的合作关系帮助Rubberlite发展到现在的水平,它使我们处于可以继续发展和改进的位置。"
Jessica Spurlock
过程自动化工程师
Rubberlite

简单的、受保护的、自主的操作与Stratus

通过监督控制系统项目的成功,Rubberlite团队现在可以自由地优化性能和结果,而不是专注于维护任务和数据质量。Rubberlite还能够制定标准和流程,将员工多年的宝贵知识与来自Stratus 的现代化技术相结合。具体来说,一些改进的流程包括。

  • 一个中央数据库为生产的每个等级的泡沫生成配方和工艺参数,使Rubberlite基于纸张的工艺数字化。
  • 一个自动化的配方管理系统,极大地提高了启动和更换的效率,并减少了操作员的输入错误。
  • 一个与历史学家相联系的界面,供工程师根据相关字段访问所有过程数据。这个项目将生成报告的艰苦过程变成了一个简单的任务,总体上节省了数小时的时间。
  • 一个基于网络的可视化调度显示,用于全厂的生产和维护活动。这种用户友好的图形用户界面可以方便地实时编辑调度信息,改善管理、工程、操作和维护之间的沟通。

虽然Rubberlite已经取得了几十年的成功,但他们并不满足于现状--他们有一种不断创新和改进的动力。通过与Stratus 合作,Rubberlite能够充分利用和最大限度地发挥边缘 计算的优势,为他们的生产运营提供简单、受保护和自主的能力。

"使用Stratus ,是一个不折不扣的选择"
Jessica Spurlock
过程自动化工程师
Rubberlite

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Rubberlite

How Stratus Edge Computing Enabled Rubberlite to Eliminate Downtime, Lower IT Costs 50%, and Reduce Non-Sellable Material by 80%

Challenges

  • Improve product quality for customer satisfaction, and enable innovation for growth
  • Eliminate downtime for SCADA applications, and centralize recipe management for manufacturing repeatability
  • Modernize compute infrastructure necessary to digitalize critical processes and eliminate downtime for operations and data collection
  • Reduce IT maintenance and labor costs to enable engineers to focus on high value work

Solution

  • Launch Supervisory Control Systems Project to transform processes, modernize infrastructure, and enable plant-wide visibility
  • Installed a single Stratus ftServer running application virtualization and fault tolerance to eliminate downtime, centralize data, and improve reliability
  • Deploy AVEVA™ System Platform on ftServer® for fully integrated DCS and data historian with fault tolerant server backbone

Benefits

  • Experienced no downtime since implementation in 2016
  • Reduced non-sellable material production by 80%, even with 25% increase in sales

Rubberlite, a West Virginia-based materials manufacturer, custom engineers and produces medium-density polyurethane foams in a wide variety of specifications for over 1,600 customers globally for aviation, medical, apparel, furniture applications, and more. The company’s key to growth and success is exceeding customer expectations, and developing innovative products and processes to meet emerging customer requirements.

To achieve their mission of growth through innovation, Rubberlite launched a Supervisory Control Systems Project to transform their infrastructure. The team selected Stratus Edge Computing to provide a solution to simplify and consolidate IT infrastructure, standardize data collection, and ensure continuous availability of applications and reliability of data.

By improving data reliability and automation backed by Stratus Edge Computing, Rubberlite drove significant improvement in efficiency and product quality that translated to business growth and customer satisfaction. The team reduced non-sellable material by 80% while increasing sales and production 25%. Most dramatically, they have experienced zero downtime since implementing Stratus in 2016.

“I was impressed with the scalability that Stratus was able to offer us when considering investment in licenses and configuration, labor, maintenance and other costs.”
Jessica Spurlock
Process Automation Engineer
Rubberlite

Developing Innovative Processes to Become a World Class Organization

Rubberlite wanted to transform their operations to improve reliability and eliminate data loss that was impacting manufacturing and increasing labor resources. Additionally, they faced the high costs of multiple software licenses and maintaining a number of IT systems.

The company identified the need to deploy fault tolerant computing to consolidate existing legacy systems as a critical step in aligning Rubberlite’s people, processes and technology to achieve automated process controls, data integration, and a higher level of sophistication and operating discipline.

Islands of Automation Prevented Visibility on Equipment Performance

Like many manufacturers, Rubberlite lacked integration between standalone systems on the plant floor, creating siloed information islands, which prevented them from understanding the impact of equipment performance on profit or product quality.

On top of this, data was only logged during production runs, not during idle times, creating a large gap in troubleshooting abilities. Data exports were cumbersome, taking nearly an hour to generate one report. With 10-12 reports a week, this additional work accounted for one-quarter of an engineer’s time.

The company also looked to digitalize antiquated paper-based processes. For nearly 20 years, production data was stored in binders of run sheets that required operators to write actual specs and targets while making products. In the polyurethanes department, the average employee tenure was close to 20 years, leading to extensive accumulated knowledge for each individual without standardization across the plant. The products consequently had variable repeatability because tasks were not performed in the same manner, which led to quality control and workforce development challenges.

Rubberlite decided to launch the Supervisory Control Systems Project to directly address these challenges and make strides towards increased growth and innovation.

Edge Computing the Foundation for Digital Transformation of Existing Work Processes

The polyurethanes manufacturing department was chosen as the beta site for implementation of the Supervisory Control System Project with a Stratus Edge Computing platform as the backbone.

Rubberlite selected the Stratus ftServer for its turnkey combination of hardware, software, and continuous monitoring services. The platform’s “lock step,” fault tolerance at the hardware level ensured that, in the event of a malfunction, the system continued operation without downtime or data loss. Additionally, the system provides proactive health monitoring to identify potential issues before they occur, and hot swappable components for servicing while in operation without incurring any planned downtime.

Stratus ftServer further allowed the Rubberlite team to use virtualization to run multiple software applications concurrently, eliminating the need to purchase multiple hardware, software, and licenses which reduced system admin costs.

Working with Stratus distributor, InSource Solutions, Rubberlite configured ftServer to consolidate software workloads backed by fault tolerance. The result was a quickly modernized infrastructure optimized for their new control architecture at a fraction of the cost and complexity of prior or alternative computing solutions. Stratus’ simple way of enabling fault tolerance with one physical system reduced the total investment (labor and capital) by 50% as compared to more complex methods.

Reliability of Stratus ftServer and AVEVA System Platform

For its SCADA system, Rubberlite employed AVEVA System Platform and associated manufacturing software for control, data collection, and sharing. As a long-standing Stratus technology partner, AVEVA solutions are well characterized to run on Stratus platforms and provide a combined solution optimized for OT environments.

New and existing PLCs and instrumentation interface directly with the AVEVA System Platform running on Stratus ftServer, including applying the appropriate networking requirements, generating documentation, testing and commissioning.

AVEVA System Platform Galaxy Configuration and Implementation utilize InTouch and Historian for operator interface and data collection. AVEVA’s thin manager, also running on ftServer, allows the installation and configuration of thin clients using Stratus redundancy.

With this foundation in place, Rubberlite was well positioned to deploy more sophisticated automated controls and process improvements, and continue to leverage AVEVA System Platform’s full capabilities. The software’s template-based technology in a centralized deployment eliminated the costs and risks of technology implementation, and reduced engineering labor costs to enable long-term project sustainability.

“We have not had a single downtime event since [Stratus ftServer] has been running in March 2016.”
Jessica Spurlock
Process Automation Engineer
Rubberlite

Data Reliability and Automation Translate to Product Quality and Customer Satisfaction

Instead of a rip and replace of foundational technology, Rubberlite was able to modernize existing technology and creatively utilize current investments to their greatest potential. By automating previously manual tasks, they gained enhanced quality control while improving critical business KPIs such as:

  • 80% reduction of off-grade material within five years of implementation
  • 25% increase in sales and several new product offerings introduced to the market, including two new product lines

“Our partnership with Stratus has helped Rubberlite evolve into where we are now, and it’s put us in the position of where we can continue to grow and improve.”
Jessica Spurlock
Process Automation Engineer
Rubberlite

Simple, Protected, and Autonomous Operations with Stratus

Through the success of the Supervisory Control Systems Project, the Rubberlite team is now freed to optimize performance and results, rather than focusing on maintenance tasks and data quality. Rubberlite is also able to develop standards and processes that combine employees’ years of valuable knowledge with modernized technology from Stratus. Specifically, some of the processes improved include:

  • A central database to generate recipes and process parameters for every grade of foam produced which digitized Rubberlite’s paper-based processes.
  • An automated recipe management system that greatly improved efficiency in startups and change overs, and reduced errors in operator entry.
  • A historian-linked interface for engineers to access all process data according to associated fields. This project turned the painstaking process of generating reports into a simple task, saving hours of time overall.
  • A web-based visual scheduling display for plant-wide production and maintenance activities. This user-friendly graphical user interface allowed for easy editing of scheduling information in real time, improving communication between management, engineering, operations, and maintenance.

While Rubberlite had already achieved decades of success, they were not satisfied with the status quo – they had a drive to continually innovate and improve. By partnering with Stratus, Rubberlite was able to fully leverage and maximize the benefits of Edge Computing to deliver simple, protected, and autonomous capabilities to their manufacturing operations.

“Going with Stratus was a no-brainer”
Jessica Spurlock
Process Automation Engineer
Rubberlite

Related Assets

Scroll to Top