案例研究

罗威斯公司

边缘 生命科学中的计算

RoviSys如何部署Stratus 边缘 计算,以消除停机时间和数据丢失,融合OT/IT,并将生命科学公司的FAT/SAT从几周减少到几天。

面临的挑战

  • 为一家生命科学公司消除批量制造中的停机时间和数据损失
  • 确保FDA法规、GMP和VCAP的数据可靠性
  • 在一个多地点的园区内,对三个地点的控制架构进行标准化。
  • 使制造运营团队能够在没有高层IT支持的情况下维护和支持计算基础设施

解决方案

  • Stratus ftServer®和Stratus ztC Edge™用于容错和数据收集
  • 罗克韦尔自动化PlantPAx®软件用于整个园区的生产控制

带来的优势

  • 通过用Stratus 边缘 计算取代六个超融合服务器集群,消除了停机时间并整合了软件工作负载。
  • 在不同的生命科学设施和使用案例中实现标准化和规模化计算
  • 将FAT/SAT过程从几周缩短到几小时;在一周内完成全面验证
  • 将总拥有成本(TCO)减少15-20%,预计计算平台的工作周期为15年

为生命科学领域的批量制造带来可靠性

一家领先的生命科学公司,其产品组合涵盖了细胞生物学、DNA、RNA和蛋白质分析、药物开发、人类识别和分子诊断,需要通过为其批量制造业务选择更可靠和易于维护的计算基础设施来消除其制造业务中的停机和数据丢失。该公司一直依靠超融合服务器集群和基于软件的容错来管理FDA监管所需的流程自动化和数据。

该公司与专门从事自动化的全球系统集成商RoviSys®协商,将罗克韦尔自动化PlantPAx®软件标准化,该软件在Stratus®边缘 Computing上运行,用于公司园区的三个生产基地。RoviSys为流程自动化部署了容错的边缘 计算平台,极大地简化了这家生命科学公司的IT基础设施。使用Stratus 平台,RoviSys在一周内部署了控制架构--从工厂验收测试(FAT)到现场验收测试(SAT)和验证,同时与之前的集群解决方案相比,总拥有成本降低了15-20%。自Stratus 部署以来,这家生命科学公司没有经历过任何停机时间,并且能够在没有专门的IT支持的情况下为计算平台提供服务。

服务器集群不足以满足生命科学制造的需要

该公司一直依赖服务器集群来为其关键的制造过程提供计算和数据收集。该团队面临一些代价高昂的挑战,从组件故障到计划外的系统中断,导致数据丢失或停机。这影响了他们通过FDA审计和GMP报告的能力,并导致了严重的生产中断和产品浪费。如果一个集群服务器发生故障,团队往往没有即时的支持和知识来重建节点,需要额外的恢复时间。此外,该团队需要能够跟踪他们的VCAP(版本变更,审计控制)过程,以将系统变化映射到特定批次,反之亦然。

最初,RoviSys考虑采用基于Cisco® HyperFlex的超融合集群,该集群将驻扎在企业数据中心,由最终用户的团队进行管理。然而,这一选择带来了一些障碍。该解决方案需要一个虚拟的SAN,在客户的园区内使用10千兆的网络,这需要大量的专业知识和大量的带宽。此外,该解决方案的高度定制和复杂性质不仅需要大量的许可费用,而且还需要一支训练有素的团队。从实际的角度来看,这使得集群系统的设置和管理有太多的错误空间。

简单的、受保护的、自主的边缘 ,为OT建立的计算。

为了提供一个更简单和易于服务的可用性解决方案,RoviSys推荐Stratus ftServer 和Stratus ztC 边缘 计算平台。与需要大量集成工作的更复杂的超融合集群相比,Stratus 平台是现成的,可以快速安装。操作简单是使Stratus 平台成为OT团队可以使用的解决方案的关键因素,而不需要专门的IT技能。安装和终端用户培训大约需要两个小时--而不是HyperFlex解决方案的至少两天时间。该团队还计算出,使用Stratus ,最终用户的总拥有成本(TCO)会降低15-20%。

Stratus 平台提供了卓越的数据保护水平,可用性达到99.999%,没有昂贵的停机风险,同时实现了更强的网络安全。由于基于硬件的容错性,没有故障切换延迟或数据丢失。在组件发生故障的情况下,客户的运营团队可以轻松地更换即插即用的组件,而不会对批处理应用产生影响,也不会造成流程中断或数据丢失。由于在系统上运行的应用程序和虚拟机的不间断运行,验证测试可以快速完成,节省了大量时间和资源。

相比之下,如果集群节点发生故障,团队将面临多个步骤来更换和验证新的节点,从物理更换和物理及逻辑验证到确认所有节点上的所有虚拟机都在运行。一个生产基地的整个过程可能需要客户的验证团队有多达10个人,再加上两三个咨询资源来进行测试,并在几天或几周内发生。

使用罗克韦尔自动化的生产控制架构和Stratus

在生产控制方面,RoviSys为三个设施设计了罗克韦尔自动化和Stratus ,这三个设施是一个大规模的蛋白质生产基地,一个生产DNA和RNA试剂的基地,以及一个为其他生产过程提供原料的小分子基地。对于两个较大的生产基地,团队与罗克韦尔自动化PlantPAx相匹配,包括HMI、历史学家、批处理、资产中心、Vantage Point、Thin Manager、工程工作站和SQL,分别运行在Stratus ftServer 6910和2900。小分子制药厂不需要5-9倍的可靠性,在110i平台上运行PlantPAx套件。Stratus ztC 边缘 110i平台上运行。在网络安全方面,根据罗克韦尔自动化推荐的网络安全做法对平台进行了划分。

该团队在每条生产线上设置了七个虚拟机,以整合软件工作负载。这种效率也转化为软件许可证的显著节约,例如,ftServer ,只需花费600美元的VMware,而在集群解决方案中,每个节点需要花费数千美元。同样,该团队也能够实现对微软数据中心许可证的成本节约。

更短的FAT/SAT周期和快速验证

在部署Stratus 平台时,RoviSys在几个小时内完成了关键的FAT/SAT测试和验证过程,而使用集群解决方案则需要几个星期。该团队能够插入和拔出节点,并立即验证故障切换而不中断,包括运行一个Linux例程库,以测试各种组件和低级软件是否是最新的,作为FAT/SAT过程的一部分。

Stratus 平台的机架安装、容错和自愈设计使它们能够在生产中部署很长时间。该团队预测这些平台的工作周期为15年,并得出结论,凭借Stratus"长寿、耐用和简化的FAT/SAT验证,这家生命科学公司将拥有一个长期的顶级性能、高可用性解决方案。

OT/IT融合,缩短FAT/SAT周期,容错是生命科学领域的胜利

RoviSys与他们的生命科学终端用户合作,迅速部署了Stratus 边缘 计算,并改变了客户的生产运营、VCAP流程和GMP报告的可靠性。该解决方案极大地简化了IT基础设施,使OT团队能够在没有现场IT支持的情况下部署和维护新的基础设施。重要的是,RoviSys成功的关键是成功地进行了概念验证(PoC),并使用了一个解决方案,将FAT/SAT和验证测试从几周缩短到几天。凭借这次成功建立的信任,RoviSys已经扩大了对其他项目的终端用户参与。

基础设施解决方案

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

RoviSys

Edge Computing in Life Sciences

How RoviSys deployed Stratus Edge Computing to eliminate downtime and data loss, converge OT/IT, and reduce FAT/SAT from weeks to days for a life sciences company

Challenges

  • Eliminate downtime and data loss in batch manufacturing for a life sciences company
  • Ensure data reliability for FDA regulation, GMP, and VCAP
  • Standardize control architectures for three sites across a multi-site campus
  • Enable manufacturing operations team to maintain and support computing infrastructure without high-level IT support

Solution

  • Stratus ftServer® and Stratus ztC Edge™ for fault tolerance and data collection
  • Rockwell Automation PlantPAx® software for campus-wide production control

Benefits

  • Eliminated downtime and consolidated software workloads by replacing six hyperconverged server clusters with Stratus Edge Computing
  • Standardized and scaled computing across different life sciences facilities and use cases
  • Reduced the FAT/SAT process from weeks to hours; completed full validation in one week
  • Cut total cost of ownership (TCO) by 15-20% and projected duty cycle of 15 years for compute platforms

Bringing reliability to batch manufacturing in life sciences

A leading life sciences company with a portfolio spanning cell biology, DNA, RNA, and protein analysis, drug development, human identification, and molecular diagnostics needed to eliminate downtime and data loss in its manufacturing operations by selecting a more reliable and easy-to-maintain compute infrastructure for its batch manufacturing operations. The company had been relying on hyperconverged server clusters and software-based fault tolerance to manage process automation and data required for FDA regulation.

Consulting with RoviSys®, a global systems integrator specializing in automation, the company standardized on Rockwell Automation PlantPAx® software running on Stratus® Edge Computing for three manufacturing sites on the company’s campus. RoviSys deployed fault-tolerant Edge Computing platforms for process automation that dramatically simplified the life science company’s IT infrastructure. Using Stratus platforms, RoviSys deployed the control architecture in a week – from factory acceptance testing (FAT) to site acceptance testing (SAT) and validation while reducing TCO by 15-20% as compared to the prior cluster solution. Since the Stratus deployment, the life sciences company has experienced no downtime, and is able to service the compute platforms without dedicated IT support.

Server clusters insufficient for life sciences manufacturing

The company had been relying on server clusters to provide computing and data collection for its critical manufacturing processes. The team faced a number of costly challenges, from component failure to unplanned system outages, that resulted in data loss or downtime. This impacted their ability to pass FDA audits and GMP reporting and led to crippling manufacturing disruptions and product waste. If a cluster server failed, the team often did not have immediate support and knowledge to rebuild the node requiring additional recovery time. Additionally, the team needed to be able to track their VCAP (version change, audit control) process to map system changes to specific batches and vice versa.

Initially, RoviSys considered a hyperconverged cluster based on Cisco® HyperFlex that would reside in a corporate data center and would be managed by the end user’s team. However, that choice entailed several hurdles. The solution required a virtual SAN with 10 gig networking across the customer’s campus which required a lot of expertise and a lot of bandwidth. In addition, the highly customized and complex nature of the solution not only needs extensive licensing costs, but would also require a team of highly trained people. From a practical standpoint, this allowed too much margin for error in the setup and management of the cluster system.

Simple, Protected, Autonomous Edge Computing built for OT

To provide a simpler and easily serviceable availability solution, RoviSys recommended the Stratus ftServer and Stratus ztC Edge compute platforms. In contrast to the more complex hyperconverged cluster that required significant integration work, Stratus platforms are ready off-the-shelf to be installed quickly. The operational simplicity was a key factor making the Stratus platforms a solution that the OT team could use without needing specialized IT skills. Installation and end user training took about two hours – instead of at least two days for the HyperFlex solution. The team also calculated the end-user’s total cost of ownership (TCO) to be 15-20% lower with Stratus.

The Stratus platforms provided an exceptional level of data protection with 99.999% availability and no risk of costly downtime while enabling stronger cybersecurity. Due to the hardware-based fault tolerance, there was no failover delay or data loss. In the event of component failure, the customer’s operational team could easily swap out plug-and-play components with no impact to the batch application, process disruption, or data loss. With the uninterrupted operation of the applications and VMs running on the system, validation testing can be completed quickly, saving significant time and resources.

In comparison, with a cluster node failure, the team would have faced multiple steps to replace and validate a new node, from physical replacement and physical and logical validation to confirmation that all VMs across all nodes were functioning. The entire process for a manufacturing site might require as many as ten people on a customer’s validation team plus two or three consulting resources to run the testing and occur over days or weeks.

Production control architecture with Rockwell Automation and Stratus

For production control, RoviSys architected Rockwell Automation and Stratus solutions for three facilities – a large-scale protein manufacturing site, a site producing DNA and RNA reagents, and a small molecule site feeding other manufacturing processes. For the two larger sites, the team matched Rockwell Automation PlantPAx, including HMI, historian, batch, Asset Centre, Vantage Point, Thin Manager, Engineering Workstation, and SQL, running on a Stratus ftServer 6910 and 2900, respectively. The small molecule site did not require 5 nine plus reliability and ran the PlantPAx suite on a Stratus ztC Edge 110i platform. For network security, the platforms were segmented based on Rockwell Automation’s recommended cybersecurity practices.

The team set up seven VMs per production line to consolidate software workloads. The efficiency also translated into significant savings on software licenses, for example, costing only $600 for VMware for ftServer as compared to thousands of dollars per node in a cluster solution. Similarly, the team was able to realize cost savings with Microsoft data center licenses.

Shorter FAT/SAT cycles and quick validation

For deployment with the Stratus platforms, RoviSys accomplished the crucial FAT/SAT testing and validation processes in hours versus weeks with a cluster solution. The team was able to plug and unplug nodes and verify immediately failover without disruption, including running a library of Linux routines to test that various components and low-level software were up-to-date as part of the FAT/SAT process.

The rack-mountable, fault tolerant, and self-healing design of the Stratus platforms enable them to be deployed in production for a lengthy time. The team forecast a 15-year duty cycle for the platforms and concluded that with Stratus’ longevity, durability, and streamlined FAT/SAT verification, the life sciences company would have a top-performing, high-availability solution for the long haul.

OT/IT convergence, shortened FAT/SAT cycles, and fault tolerance a win in life sciences

Working with their life sciences end user, RoviSys quickly deployed Stratus Edge Computing and transformed the reliability of their customer’s manufacturing operations, VCAP process, and GMP reporting. The solution dramatically simplified IT infrastructure and enabled the OT team to deploy and maintain new infrastructure without on-site IT support. Importantly, RoviSys’ key to success was running a successful proof of concept (PoC) and using a solution that reduced FAT/SAT and validation testing from weeks to days. With the trust built from this success, RoviSys has expanded its end user engagement for additional projects.

Infrastructure solution

Related Assets

Scroll to Top