案例研究

全球的Enginuity

边缘 上游石油和天然气行业的计算

Enginuity Global如何在45天内对QuarterNorth Energy的Bullwinkle生产平台的传统控制系统进行现代化改造,以实现卓越运营和安全。

面临的挑战

  • 过时的服务器、工作站和控制器造成了长时间的停工,并且维修费用高昂。
  • 分散的控制系统需要大量的工作人员来监控操作
  • 系统的复杂性阻碍了故障排除
  • 几十秒的系统响应时间减缓了反应时间、决策和运营的可见性
  • 控制系统/安全系统的能力,没有余地在需要时增加逻辑。

解决方案

  • 对海上生产平台的传统控制系统和基础设施进行现代化改造,以实现安全、高效和可盈利的运行。
  • Stratus 运行12个虚拟机(VM)的ftServer®容错平台
  • 罗克韦尔自动化PlantPAx®分布式控制系统(DCS),包括。
    • HMI/SCADA和Factory Talk®历史学家,支持6000个I/O的SQL服务器
  • 反病毒和集群管理软件
  • 由Enginuity Global, LLC进行系统集成

带来的优势

  • 集中监控系统,使关键应用的产量更高,安全更有保障,无故障运行。
  • 利用虚拟化,将运行在6台服务器上的12个应用程序整合到一个单一的、容错的Stratus ftServer 计算平台上。
  • 有助于减少22%的非计划停机时间,提高生产力
  • 将系统响应时间减少1000%,从20多秒减少到几毫秒,增加了控制和安全。

QuarterNorth能源公司对Bullwinkle平台进行现代化改造以实现卓越运营

QuarterNorth能源公司是一家领先的石油和天然气生产商,在墨西哥湾经营深水资产。通过创新和严谨的油气生产管理方法,该公司专门通过利用技术获得效率和创造利润来经营多样化的资产。布尔文克海上生产平台是目前美国最大的固定海上平台,位于路易斯安那州附近,对于将新油井与现有出口流线连接起来具有战略意义。与许多老化的资产一样,Bullwinkle平台经历了几个所有者,在传统的基础设施上运行,并使用一个已经过时的、难以支持的工作控制系统。

QuarterNorth公司聘请了Enginuity Global公司,一家在过程自动化、控制、现场服务和应急支持方面具有专长的系统集成商,以最大限度地提高运营效率和减少停机时间,对Bullwinkle公司的基础设施和控制系统进行现代化和集中管理。Enginuity团队采用两阶段的方法,将平台从9个传统的PLC、6个服务器和低带宽的数据通信迁移到一个完全冗余的平台范围内的控制,由一个Stratus 边缘 计算系统来集中操作应用程序,并在整个平台和企业内共享数据。该团队在45天内完成了从现场验收到设施重新启动的重大转变。Stratus 计算平台提供容错计算,以运行Bullwinkle的关键应用程序,没有停机或数据丢失,可由操作技术(OT)进行服务,并大大降低了总拥有成本(TCO)。

将老化的平台升级为高效的资产

现有的Bullwinkle系统给他们的运营模式带来了一些挑战。经过多年的持续更新,控制系统演变成一个分散的架构,需要20多名操作员在384英尺高的平台上漫游,监控分布在几个地方的屏幕。此外,该系统的某些部分几乎已经过时,老化的部件会意外地失效。更换部件很困难--团队有时会在eBay上采购旧的部件--导致寻找和更换部件的时间很长。因此,该系统一直面临着经历昂贵的和意外的停机事件的风险。  

为了实现控制和安全操作中使用的Bullwinkle系统的现代化和集中化,Enginuity Global与QuarterNorth合作执行了一个分两阶段的项目,用一个单一的冗余Stratus 边缘 计算平台取代现有的服务器和工作站。将不同的多品牌软件整合为单一的罗克韦尔自动化PlantPAx自动化和控制套件,将现有的Allen-Bradley® PLC-5®控制器升级为罗克韦尔自动化ControlLogix®,并将现有的菊花链式远程I/O连接更新为双环以太网网络,以实现整个平台的全系统冗余。

根据自动化和控制的Enginuity负责人Eric Belgard的说法,分阶段管理过程 "减少 "了大修的痛苦,同时也使公司更容易在预算内管理项目。

整个项目的主要重点是提供一个能够确保人员安全、增强操作人员意识和提高可靠性的系统,同时确保可支持性--这对客户和支持他们的系统集成商都是至关重要的。Enginuity的方法的一个关键部分包括Stratus ftServer ,它提供了容错性和可扩展性,以满足QuarterNorth能源公司当前和未来在单一计算平台上运行关键应用程序的需求。Stratus 平台不仅提供了在Bullwinkle上运行多种应用所需的性能,而且还为平台的操作人员提供了更容易的管理,包括客户可更换单元(CRU),可由OT团队轻松安装而不会产生停机。而且,像QuarterNorth一样,Stratus 支持是24/7的,能够在任何时候快速解决支持电话。一旦Enginuity评估了几个替代方案的成本,他们发现Stratus ftServer ,提供了最大的可靠性和最低的总拥有成本。

"有了Stratus 服务器,我们就放心了,因为Stratus 服务器是真正的容错。这是我们在有条件时总是选择使用Stratus 服务器的主要原因之一"
Eric Belgard
首席系统工程师
Enginuity Global, LLC

使用Stratus 边缘 计算的虚拟化和可靠性

现代化项目的第一阶段主要是更新自动化和控制软件,用一个单一的边缘 计算平台取代多个服务器和工作站。QuarterNorth能源公司把重点放在石油、油井和运输作业上,他们希望有一个操作简单、没有故障切换时间、并能防止数据丢失的解决方案。Enginuity安装的Stratus ftServer ,支持16个厚的和薄的客户机,取代了6台服务器和16个工作站,这些服务器和工作站反复出现故障,已经达到或超过了它们的寿命极限(EOL)。作为一个容错的计算平台,ftServer ,提供热插拔组件和自动健康监测。利用应用虚拟化,该团队将12个应用整合到单一的Stratus 系统上,进一步简化了管理并降低了成本。ftServer的使用寿命较长--8到10年--意味着他们不再需要每3到4年投资更换过时的硬件。

客户端/工作站概述

新的过程控制系统和安全关闭系统提升了安全性、合规性和决策性

现代化项目的第二阶段是将现有的控制系统迁移到罗克韦尔自动化的PlantPAx上,该系统运行在Stratus ftServer 。老化的Allen-Bradley PLC-5单元已经过时,并且已经达到了能力的极限,没有空间来增加逻辑。控制操作与安全监测系统相结合,给合规性带来挑战。而且,分散式系统的响应时间很慢。操作员发出一个命令,然后等待10到20秒才能看到结果。此外,多品牌的人机界面没有一致性,每个品牌都需要不同的终端或显示器,并有不同的警报和趋势。

Enginuity用基于PlantPAx DCS的新冗余控制系统替换了现有的PLC-5装置,将过程控制系统(PCS)和安全关闭系统(SDS)分离到独立的处理器和机架中。他们使用罗克韦尔自动化公司的转换套件转换了连接到PlantPAx DCS的传统PLC-5控制器,使他们能够重新使用100多个I/O面板和6000个I/O点的现有接线。Enginuity随后安装了一个新的以太网网络,组织成两个冗余的光纤环。除了将响应时间从几十秒缩短到几毫秒外--速度提高了1000%--新的以太网网络提供了一个现代的、基于标准的协议,不仅更快、更可靠,而且更容易支持和维护。

现代化的系统极大地提高了平台运行的安全性--这是QuarterNorth能源公司的关键成功因素。自动化和控制工程师Michael Kinzel强调说:"可靠的系统响应速度对连续作业至关重要"。作为其安全管理过程的一部分,QuarterNorth公司对不同的事件进行模拟,并测量响应和反应的时间。在一次模拟异常过程的过程中,他们注意到响应时间从几十秒下降到3秒以下。这种反应时间的显著减少意味着操作人员可以在非计划事件中做出更快的反应。

新的解决方案还加强了可追溯性,包括自动跟踪警报、旁路和其他事件--这对确保安全和合规性至关重要。由于以前的系统缺乏这种能力,操作人员不得不手动建立审计跟踪,记录谁做了什么活动,何时发生。新系统中对所有事件的自动跟踪,包括谁做了什么,什么时候做的,做了多久,提供了更好的事件记录,提高了安全性并支持合规性。由此产生的DCS既是高性能的,又是完全冗余的,提供了可视性和控制性,同时使操作人员从平台的任何地方对多个系统进行工作变得更容易和更安全。

冗余的以太网I/O网络

"ftServer "是一辆坦克。它为一个复杂的系统提供了一种简单的方法。我们Enginuity公司的部分座右铭是:'我们简化了一个复杂的世界。因此,Stratus 服务器肯定有助于减少一些复杂性。而且,使用它们,我们能够节省大量的资金。"
Eric Belgard
首席系统工程师
Enginuity Global, LLC

为OT建立的可用性和可服务性

新安装的PlantPAx DCS系统的另一个重要优势是减少了操作员的工作量。操作员不再需要学习和管理多个界面,现在可以通过标准化的HMI屏幕查看数据。改进的数据收集加快了数据历史化进程,支持更快、更明智的决策。利用虚拟化将12个不同应用的工作负载整合到一个系统中,消除了自动化的孤岛,支持应用的可用性。用罗克韦尔自动化的ThinManager®管理的、位于整个平台的厚型和薄型客户机提供了更好的访问,使技术人员能够从平台的任何级别或位置管理操作。新系统还降低了操作的复杂性,包括对系统的管理和监控,以及对系统的定期维护。

部分归功于这种新的架构,QuarterNorth Energy深水作业团队将Bullwinkle生产平台的非计划停工时间减少了22%,提高了生产力。内置的冗余--从ftServer 和双以太网网络到过程控制系统和安全关闭系统面板--确保了系统在任何时候都能运行和使用。"贝尔加德说:"我们已经注意到报告服务器或系统停机的电话数量减少了,特别是与以前的情况相比。

展望未来。一个有增长空间的可扩展的解决方案

展望未来,Michael Kinzel认为有几个机会可以进一步改善Bullwinkle平台的运作。他们计划通过将运行在几个不太可靠的独立设备上的应用程序移植到ftServer 。在强调Stratus 系统的虚拟化和系统可用性时,Kinzel解释说:"我们可以这样做,因为我们对ftServer 有信心。"事实上,该解决方案的效果非常好,QuarterNorth能源公司正在与Enginuity公司建立类似的合作关系,以实现另一个地点的现代化。"这个架构真的很有效,"Kinzel总结说。

带有ftServer 容错平台的分布式控制系统

  • Stratus 运行12个虚拟机(VM)的ftServer®容错平台
  • 罗克韦尔自动化PlantPAx®分布式控制系统(DCS),包括。
    • HMI/SCADA和Factory Talk®历史学家与SQL服务器,用于PCS和SDS系统,支持6000个I/Os
    • 冗余的环形光纤以太网远程I/O网络
    • 用于过程控制系统(PCS)和安全关闭系统(SDS)的冗余ControlLogix处理器
  • 反病毒和集群管理软件

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Enginuity Global

Edge Computing in Upstream Oil & Gas

How Enginuity Global Modernized Legacy Control Systems at QuarterNorth Energy’s Bullwinkle Production Platform for Operational Excellence and Safety in 45 Days

Challenges

  • Outdated servers, workstations, and controllers caused extended downtime and were costly to repair
  • Decentralized control systems required a large number of staff to monitor operations
  • System complexity hindered troubleshooting
  • System response time in the tens of seconds slowed reaction time, decision making, and visibility on operations
  • Control system/safety system at capacity with no headroom to increase logic if needed

Solution

  • Modernize offshore production platform’s legacy control systems and infrastructure for safe, efficient, and profitable operation
  • Stratus ftServer® fault-tolerant platform running 12 virtual machines (VMs)
  • Rockwell Automation PlantPAx® Distributed Control System (DCS), including:
    • HMI/SCADA and Factory Talk® historian with SQL Server supporting 6,000 I/Os
  • Anti-virus and cluster management software
  • System integration by Enginuity Global, LLC

Benefits

  • Centralized monitor and control system resulting in higher yield, improved safety, and downtime-free operations for critical applications
  • Leveraged virtualization to consolidate 12 applications running on 6 servers onto a single, fault-tolerant Stratus ftServer compute platform
  • Contributed to a 22% reduction in unplanned downtime, increasing productivity
  • Reduced system response time by 1,000%, from more than 20 seconds to milliseconds, increasing control and safety

QuarterNorth Energy modernizes Bullwinkle platform for operational excellence

QuarterNorth Energy is a leading oil and gas producer that operates deep water assets in the Gulf of Mexico. Through innovation and a disciplined approach to oil and gas production management, the company specializes in operating diverse assets by using technology to gain efficiencies and generate profits. The Bullwinkle offshore production platform, currently the largest fixed offshore platform in the United States of America, is located close to Louisiana, and is strategic for tying new wells to existing export flow lines. As with many aged assets, the Bullwinkle platform had passed through several owners, ran on legacy infrastructure, and was using a working control system that had become outdated and difficult to support.

QuarterNorth engaged Enginuity Global, a system integrator with expertise in process automation, control, field services, and emergency support to maximize operations and minimize downtime, to modernize and centralize Bullwinkle’s infrastructure and control systems. With a two-phased approach, the Enginuity team migrated the platform from 9 legacy PLCs, 6 servers, and low bandwidth data communications, to a fully redundant platform-wide control anchored by one Stratus Edge Computing system to centralize operational applications and share data throughout the platform and to the enterprise. The team accomplished the significant transformation in 45 days from site acceptance to facility restart. The Stratus compute platform provides fault-tolerant computing to run the Bullwinkle’s critical applications with no downtime or data loss, is serviceable by Operational Technology (OT), and significantly lowered Total Cost of Ownership (TCO).

Upgrading an aging platform to an efficient asset

The existing Bullwinkle system presented several challenges to their operating model. Over years of continuous updates, the control system devolved into a decentralized architecture, which required more than 20 operators to roam the 384 foot tall platform to monitor screens spread out over several locations. Additionally, parts of the system were near obsolete, with aging components that would unexpectedly fail. Replacing parts was difficult—with the team at times resorting to sourcing older components on eBay—resulting in long lead times to find and replace parts. As a result, the system was continuously at risk of experiencing costly and unplanned downtime events.  

To modernize and centralize the Bullwinkle systems used in control and safety operations, Enginuity Global worked with QuarterNorth to execute a two-phased project to replace the existing servers and workstations with a single redundant Stratus Edge Computing platform, consolidate disparate multi-brand software into a single Rockwell Automation PlantPAx automation and control suite, upgrade the existing Allen-Bradley® PLC-5® controllers to Rockwell Automation ControlLogix®, and update the existing daisy chained remote I/O connections to a dual, ring-based Ethernet network for full system redundancy throughout the platform.

According to Eric Belgard, Enginuity Lead for Automation and Controls, managing the process in phases “lessens the pain” of a major overhaul while also making it easier for companies to manage projects within their budgets.

The primary focus throughout this project was delivering a system that assured personnel safety, enhanced operator awareness, and increased reliability while ensuring supportability—essential for both the customer and the system integrators who support them. A key part of Enginuity’s approach included the Stratus ftServer, which provides the fault tolerance and scalability to meet QuarterNorth Energy’s current and future demands to run critical applications in a single compute platform. Not only does the Stratus platform deliver the performance required to run the multiple applications on Bullwinkle, but it also provides easier management for the platform’s operators, including Customer Replaceable Units (CRUs) that are easily installed by OT teams without incurring downtime. And, like QuarterNorth, Stratus support runs 24/7, enabling the quick resolution of support calls at any time. Once Enginuity evaluated the costs of several alternatives, they found the Stratus ftServer offered the greatest reliability and the lowest TCO.

“Having the Stratus server there gives us peace of mind because the Stratus server is truly fault tolerant. It’s one of the main reasons why we always choose to go Stratus server when available”
Eric Belgard
Lead Systems Engineer
Enginuity Global, LLC

Virtualization and reliability with Stratus Edge Computing

The first phase in the modernization project focused on updating the automation and control software and replacing the multiple servers and workstations with a single Edge Computing platform. Prioritizing their focus on oil, well, and transport operations, QuarterNorth Energy wanted a solution that was simple to operate, had no failover time, and prevented data loss. The Stratus ftServer that Enginuity installed supports 16 thick and thin clients, replacing the six servers and 16 workstations that repeatedly failed and were at or past their end-of-life (EOL). A fault-tolerant compute platform, the ftServer provides hot-swappable components and automatic health monitoring. Using application virtualization, the team consolidated 12 applications onto the single Stratus system, further simplifying management and reducing costs. The longer lifespan of the ftServer—8 to 10 years—means they no longer have to invest in replacing obsolete hardware every 3 to 4 years.

Client/Workstation Overview

New process control system and safety shutdown system upgrade safety, compliance, and decision making

The second phase of the modernization project migrated the existing control system to connect to Rockwell Automation PlantPAx running on the Stratus ftServer. The aging Allen-Bradley PLC-5 units were outdated and had reached the limit of their capacity, with no room for additional logic. Control operations were combined with the safety monitoring system, creating challenges with compliance. And, response time in the decentralized system was slow. An operator would issue a command and then wait 10 to 20 seconds to see the results. In addition, there was no consistency in the multi-brand HMI interfaces, with each requiring different terminals or monitors and having different alarms and trends.

Enginuity replaced the existing PLC-5 units with a new redundant control system based on the PlantPAx DCS, separating the Process Control Systems (PCS) and Safety Shutdown System (SSDS) into separate processors and racks. They converted legacy PLC-5 controllers connected to the PlantPAx DCS using conversion kits from Rockwell Automation, allowing them to re-use existing wiring for more than 100 I/O panels and 6,000 I/O points. Enginuity then installed a new Ethernet network, organized into two redundant fiber optic rings. In addition to slashing the response time from tens of seconds to milliseconds—a 1000% improvement in speed—the new Ethernet network provides a modern, standards-based protocol that is not only faster and more reliable, but easier to support and maintain.

The modernized system dramatically improved the safety of the platform’s operations—a critical success factor for QuarterNorth Energy. Michael Kinzel, Automation and Controls Engineer, emphasized, “Reliable system response speed is critical for continuous operations.” As part of their safety management process, QuarterNorth performs simulations of different events and measures the time to respond and react. During a simulation of an abnormal process they noted that response time dropped from tens of seconds to less than 3 seconds. This remarkable reduction in response time means operators can react faster during unplanned events.

The new solution also enhances traceability, including the automatic tracking of alarms, bypasses, and other events—critical to ensuring safety and compliance. Because the previous system lacked this capability, operators had to manually build audit trails of who performed activities and when they occurred. The automatic tracking of all events in the new system, including who did what, when, and for how long, provides a better record of events, enhancing safety and supporting compliance. The resulting DCS is both performant and fully redundant, offering visibility and control, while making it easier and safer for operators to work on multiple systems from anywhere on the platform.

Redundant Ethernet I/O network

“The ftServer is a tank. It offers a simplistic approach to a complex system. Part of our motto at Enginuity is, ’We simplify a complex world.’ And so, Stratus servers definitely help reduce some of that complexity. And, we were able to save a substantial amount of money using them.”
Eric Belgard
Lead Systems Engineer
Enginuity Global, LLC

Usability and serviceability built for OT

Another important advantage of the newly installed PlantPAx DCS system is the reduction in operator workload. Instead of having to learn and manage multiple interfaces, operators can now view data through standardized HMI screens. Improved data collection speeds up the data historization process, supporting faster and more informed decision-making. Leveraging virtualization to consolidate workloads from 12 different applications into one system eliminates islands of automation and supports application availability. Thick and thin clients managed with Rockwell Automation’s ThinManager® and located throughout the platform provide better access, allowing technicians to manage operations from any level or location on the platform. The new system also reduces the complexity of operations, both in the management and monitoring of systems as well as in their regular maintenance.

Due in part to this new architecture, the QuarterNorth Energy deepwater operations team has reduced the Bullwinkle production platform unplanned downtime by 22%, increasing productivity. Built-in redundancy—from the ftServer and the dual Ethernet networks to the Process Control System and Safety Shutdown System panels—ensure the system is running and available at all times. “We have noticed the number of calls reporting server or system downtime has dropped —especially in comparison to the amount of previous cases,” remarked Belgard.

Looking forward: A scalable solution with room for growth

Looking forward, Michael Kinzel sees several opportunities to further improve operations on the Bullwinkle platform. They plan to further streamline their infrastructure by porting applications running on several less reliable independent devices to the ftServer. Highlighting the Stratus system’s virtualization and system availability, Kinzel explained, “We can do this because we have confidence in the ftServer.” In fact, the solution works so well, QuarterNorth Energy is in the process of setting up a similar engagement with Enginuity to modernize another location. “This architecture really works,” summarized Kinzel.

Distributed Control System with ftServer Fault-Tolerant Platform

  • Stratus ftServer® fault tolerant platform running 12 virtual machines (VMs)
  • Rockwell Automation PlantPAx® Distributed Control System (DCS), including:
    • HMI/SCADA and Factory Talk® historian with SQL Server for PCS and SSDS systems supporting 6,000 I/Os
    • Redundant ring-based Fiber-Optic Ethernet remote I/O network
    • Redundant ControlLogix processors for Process Control System (PCS) and Safety Shutdown System (SSDS)
  • Anti-virus and cluster management software

Related Assets

Scroll to Top