案例研究

KapStone Paper and Packaging

北美领先纸业公司实现不间断生产

KapStone Paper and Packaging 是一家原色牛皮纸生产商,产品主要用于包装、包裹和表面层等日常应用,还可用于生产礼品盒、纸袋、复合台面板和家具的底面层等。位于南卡罗来纳州查尔斯顿和北卡罗来纳州罗阿诺克拉皮兹的两家工厂全天不间断生产,每年可以生产130万吨纸。

经营情况

当初,KapStone 从卡罗莱纳州原所有人手中收购这两家工厂时,每家工厂各有一个已运行近20年的制造执行系统(MES),那时,工厂已经开始寻找可以替代这些过时系统的技术。

业务目标

首席信息官 Christophe Deslandes 表示:“为了换掉原有的系统,我们选择了 MAJIQ 的软件,而我们还需要新的硬件。”MAJIQ Inc.位于华盛顿州雷德蒙德,是一家专门面向纸浆和纸业企业的软件公司,KapStone 工厂选择了它开发的 Elixir® 作为标准的销售订单处理(SOP)和 MES 软件。查尔斯顿工厂是两家工厂中较大的一个,它最先替换了 MES 软件和服务器。

目标包括:

  • 最大程度减少意外和计划停机,为产线全天候运行提供支持
  • 在最短的时间内实施新系统
  • 如果可能,对 KapStone 其他工厂中相同的 MES 应用进行规范化管理

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • 造纸厂销售订单处理(SOP)和制造执行系统(MES)
  • 实现订单管理、纸卷生产和库存管理、国内/国际运输,以及开票功能
  • 为88.2万吨产能提供支持
  • 帮助确保全天候生产
  • 实现100%持续可用性

产品

  • Stratus® ftServer®系统
  • Stratus ftScalable™存储
  • MAJIQ Elixir® SOP/MES软件
  • Microsoft® Windows Server®操作系统
  • Microsoft SQL Server®数据库软件

服务

  • Stratus 支持服务

KapStone 表示,目前,系统可用性是他们最重要的考虑因素。工厂管理层对改变现有系统非常谨慎,这可以理解,因为工厂之前从未用过 Windows 服务器来运行最重要的生产应用。

KapStone 的 IT 运营总监 Emerson Beach 表示:“我们曾考虑使用传统服务器、集群等作为服务器解决方案,但为了实现全天候生产,我们希望最大程度确保运行时间。”

根据在其他工厂多年积累的经验,MAJIQ 推荐了 Stratus Technologies 的 ftServer 系统。MAJIQ 是 Stratus 的经销商。Beach 表示:“Stratus 和 MAJIQ 的团队通力合作,这对我们意义重大。”

Stratus ftServer系统证明能够以计算机行业最高级别的可用性持续运行,它可以预防服务器停机,保护基于 Microsoft Windows 的应用和数据库不丢失重要数据。ftServer 系统内置冗余组件以提供有效的冗余性,当出现故障时,这些双重组件可以确保系统持续运行,无需人工干预,因此不会出现中断或数据丢失。

Stratus ftServer 系统还采用了自诊断和主动监测技术,能够自动报告潜在问题并迅速排除故障。

“一台设备停机一小时可以产生大约3.3万美元成本,因为是全天候运行,这种成本是无法弥补的。
Christophe Deslandes
首席信息官
KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation

可用性就是时间和利润

究竟为什么可用性对 KapStone 如此重要?Beach 介绍:“如果 MES 系统停机,造纸机可以运行一段时间,我们还能生产出几卷纸。但我们无法把纸裁剪成订单要求的尺寸,因为尺寸是由 Elixir 系统提供的。所以,很快我们就得关闭造纸机。”

“工厂能够应对的停机时间非常有限。”Beach 补充道,“新系统的运行效果应该比得上原有的 VAX Alpha系统。”

Deslandes 对停机一小时的成本进行了说明:“一台设备停机一小时可以产生大约3.3万美元成本,因为是全天候运行,这种成本是无法弥补的。”如果查尔斯顿的三条生产线都受到影响,每小时的损失将接近10万美元。

考虑到其中的人力和机械因素,重新启动生产线涉及大量工作。Deslandes 表示,启动造纸机并恢复正常运行需要花费数小时时间。

Deslandes 表示:“投资于确保最大运行时间的解决方案可以排除这种风险。借助 ftServer 系统,我们向工厂管理层证明我们投资的是永不停机的系统,这让他们建立了信心。它的可靠性可以媲美大型机系统。”

“我们从未遇到影响生产的硬件问题,这给我们留下了深刻的印象。”
Emerson Beach
IT运营总监
KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation

仅需数月便可完成 MES 的特殊配置

KapStone 还希望避免项目持续太长时间,但查尔斯顿工厂要求实现纸卷跟踪,这需要集成 Elixir 和 PLC(可编程逻辑控制器),后者连接并控制着车间的造纸机和包装线。

另外,查尔斯顿工厂的优势在于毗邻海港货运码头,这让工厂能够自己处理国际运输,不必像其他工厂一样总是通过货运代理或报关行。

MAJIQ 针对 Elixir 进行了产品开发,在提高流程效率的同时能够更好地满足国际运输要求。MAJIQ 团队在不到10个月的时间里成功实施了 Elixir,这甚至还包括配置和部分产品开发工作。

Deslandes 表示:“在 MAJIQ 帮助下,我们得以在数月时间内实施该应用和所需的产品开发,而我们的一些竞争对手需要数年时间,这是我们获得(并将持续获得)的重要优势。当我们采用下一应用版本时,其他公司才刚刚完成第一个项目。”

部署 ftServer 硬件可谓“即插即用”。“我们有时间进行长达数周的烤机测试,以便在投入生产前确保服务器具有良好的稳定性。实际上,我们不需要构建集群并对[集群节点]进行同步,这节省了许多时间,”Deslandes说道。

MAJIQ 总裁 Steve Latham 补充道:“MAJIQ 和 Stratus的优势非常适合 KapStone 的信息技术战略,MAJIQ 和 Stratus长期的供应伙伴关系让 KapStone 相信,他们选择的解决方案在未来数年具备可行性。”

业务影响

2009年12月以来,查尔斯顿工厂一直使用 ftServer 硬件、ftScalable 容错存储和 MAJIQ Elixir 软件。Elixir 系统帮助查尔斯顿工厂确保产能达到88.2万吨纸。

Beach 这样描述业务影响:“借助 Elixir 软件和 ftServer 硬件,我们能够为查尔斯顿造纸厂提供最高等级的可用性。”凭借接近100%的系统可用性,服务器稳定性完全可以媲美之前的 MES。另外,ftServer 系统可以检测自身运行情况,预防可能导致其他服务器停机的问题。“我们从未遇到影响生产的硬件问题,这给我们留下了深刻的印象,”Beach说道。

他补充道:“大体上,当出现服务器问题时,我们首先会从Stratus那里知道,除非我们恰巧走到了机房,看到一些红灯警报。ftServer系统会持续运行。””

Beach 继续说道:“我们能够向工厂证明新采用的技术可以确保同等水平的运行时间,这对生产意义重大。”

“在 MAJIQ 帮助下,我们在仅仅几个月内就实施了该应用和所需的产品开发,而我们的一些竞争对手需要数年时间,这是我们获得的重要优势。”
Christophe Deslandes
首席信息官
KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation

关于 Stratus

Stratus 使关键业务应用全年无休运行不再复杂。Stratus 技术可以主动预防数据中心和边缘的意外停机,我们的服务确保先于客户发现并解决问题。35年来,无论是全球财富500强企业,还是全球各行各业的中小企业都依赖 Stratus 简单的操作实现持续的可用性。

如需了解更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com 或在 Twitter 上关注 @StratusAlwaysOn

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

KapStone Paper and Packaging

MANUFACTURING ROLLS NON-STOP at leading North American paper company

KapStone Paper and Packaging makes unbleached kraft paper that goes into the packages, wraps and surfaces that are part of everyday life. The company’s production is converted into everything from gift boxes, to paper bags, to subsurfaces for laminate countertops and furniture. Two mills in Charleston, South Carolina and Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina operate around the clock and together are capable of producing 1.3 million tons of paper annually.

Business Situation

When KapStone bought the two Carolina mills from their previous owners, each mill had a manufacturing execution system (MES) that had been in place for nearly 20 years. The facilities were already looking at technology to replace the outdated systems.

Business Objectives

Explained CIO Christophe Deslandes, “We had to get off the legacy system. That’s why we selected software from MAJIQ. And we had to get new hardware as well.” Elixir®, from pulp and paper enterprise software specialist MAJIQ Inc. of Redmond, Washington is the corporate standard for sales order processing (SOP) and MES at other KapStone facilities. Charleston, the larger of the two mills, would be first to replace both its MES software and computer server.

Objectives included:

  • Minimize unplanned and planned downtime to support 24/7/365 production lines
  • Implement the new system in the shortest amount of time
  • Standardize on the same MES application as the rest of KapStone, if possible

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Sales order processing (SOP) and manufacturing execution system (MES) for paper mill
  • Enables order management, roll production and inventory management, domestic/international shipping, and invoicing
  • Supports 882,000 tons of production capacity
  • Helps ensure 24/7/365 operation
  • Approaches 100% continuous availability

Products

  • Stratus® ftServer® systems
  • Stratus ftScalable™ storage
  • MAJIQ Elixir® SOP/MES software
  • Microsoft® Windows Server® operating system
  • Microsoft SQL Server® database software

Services

  • Stratus support services

System availability was the most important consideration by far, according to KapStone. Plant management was understand­ably wary of making a change, because the mills had not used a Windows server for its most critical manufacturing application before.

“We considered a conventional server, a cluster, etc. for our server solution. But for the 24/7/365 operation, we were looking for the best uptime assurance we could get,” said Emerson Beach, Director of IT Operations at KapStone.

Based on years of experience at other mills, MAJIQ was able to recommend ftServer systems from Stratus Technologies. MAJIQ is a Stratus reseller. “The teams that Stratus and MAJIQ had working together really made a big difference to us,” Beach noted.

Proven to perform at the computer industry’s highest level of availability, Stratus ftServer systems prevent server down-time and loss of critical data for Microsoft Windows-based applications and databases. ftServer systems build in redundant components that serve as active spares. These duplicate components keep the system running in the event of a problem without anyone having to take action. And, there’s no interruption or data loss.

Stratus ftServer systems also use self-diagnostic technology and proactive monitoring to automatically report potential problems and isolate issues fast.

“It’s [downtime] about $33,000 an hour, per machine. You never recover that because you’re running 24/7/365.”
Christophe Deslandes
Chief Information Officer
KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation

Availability Equals Time and Money

Exactly why does availability matter so much to KapStone? Beach explained, “If the MES system stops, we can make reels of paper coming off the paper machines for a little while. But we can’t cut the rolls to match our orders because the size of the pieces comes from the Elixir system. So we only have a little time before we’d have to shut down the paper machines.”

“In the mill, the amount of downtime they felt able to handle was very minimal,” added Beach. “And the new system would be compared to the old VAX Alpha system that performed well.”

Deslandes spelled out what an hour of downtime can cost. “It’s about $33,000 an hour, per machine. You never recover that because you’re running 24/7/365.” If Charleston’s three production lines were affected, the impact would be nearly $100,000 for every hour lost.

Restarting the production lines is a significant effort because of the physical and mechanical factors involved. Starting up the paper machines and making sure they run properly can take hours, according to Deslandes.

“Investing in a solution built for maximum uptime takes the risk out of the equation,” Deslandes stated. “With the ftServer system, we were able to tell plant management that we’re put­ting in a system built not to shut down. It gave them confidence. It’s like mainframe-based reliability.”

“We haven’t had any hardware issues that have affected production. And we’re very impressed with that.”
Emerson Beach
Director of IT Operations
KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation

Specifically Configured MES In Just Months

KapStone also wanted to avoid having the project stretch out for years. Yet Charleston wanted to use roll tracking, which required integrating Elixir with PLCs (programmable logic controllers) that interface with and control the paper machines and wrap lines on the production floor.

In addition, Charleston has the advantage of sitting next to a seaport freight terminal. That puts the mill in the position to handle its own international shipping instead of always going through a freight forwarder or a broker like most mills.

MAJIQ provided some product development to Elixir to better meet the international shipping requirements while making the process more efficient. The team from MAJIQ managed to implement Elixir in less than 10 months even with the configuration and some product development.

Deslandes observed, “Being able to implement the application and the required product development within months, instead of years like some of our competitors, is an important advantage we got (and continue to get) with MAJIQ. We’ll already be on the next version of our application by the time others only have their first project done.”

Deploying the ftServer hardware was a “plug and play” experience. “We had time to do burn-in for many weeks to make sure the server was well-stabilized before going into production. And the fact that we didn’t have to build a cluster and synchronize it [cluster nodes] helped,” said Deslandes.

Steve Latham, president of MAJIQ, added, “KapStone has an information technology strategy that fits nicely with MAJIQ’s and Stratus’ strengths. The long-term supplier partnership between MAJIQ and Stratus helps give KapStone the confidence that their chosen solution is viable for years to come.”

Business Impact

The Charleston mill has been using the ftServer hardware, fault-tolerant ftScalable storage and MAJIQ Elixir software since December 2009. The Elixir system supports Charleston’s entire production capacity of 882,000 tons of paper annually.

Beach described the results. “With the Elixir software and ftServer hardware, we’re able to provide the highest level of availability for the Charleston paper mill.” System avialability is exceptionally high, approaching 100%. Server reliability com­pares well with the previous MES. Plus, the ftServer system monitors its own operation and contains problems that would bring other servers to a halt. “We haven’t had any hardware issues that have affected production. And we’re very impressed with that,” said Beach.

He added, “By and large, when there is a server issue we hear from Stratus before we actually even know about it, unless we happen to go up into the computer room and see a red light here or there. The ftServer system keeps going.”

Beach added, “Being able to show the mill that we’re buying newer technology but we’ll still have the same sort of uptime makes a difference on the production floor.”

“Being able to implement the application and product development within months, instead of years like some of our competitors, is an important advantage we got with MAJIQ.”
Christophe Deslandes
Chief Information Officer
KapStone Paper and Packaging Corporation

About Stratus

Stratus takes the complexity out of keeping business critical applications running 24/7/365. Stratus’ technologies proactively prevent instances of unplanned downtime both in the data center and at the edge, and our services ensure any issues are addressed before customers need to. Global Fortune 500 companies and small medium sized businesses in a wide range of industries across the globe have been relying on Stratus for operationally simple, continuous availability for more than 35 years.

For more information, please visit www.stratus.com or follow on Twitter @StratusAlwaysOn.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top