案例研究

实时平衡不平衡的问题

精确的财务报表每月可节省数十万成本

由于无法准确监测天然气开采和输送过程中产生的数据,一家天然气采集和处理公司在财务报表上的损失每月高达数十万美元。该公司使用老旧的 RS232 通信技术和独立的 SCADA系统,速度慢且故障频繁,导致系统破坏严重。

为了解决这一问题,该公司启动改造项目,将其老旧系统升级为先进的过程自动化系统。该公司非常清楚从各营业点持续获取准确数据的价值以及频繁进行技术更新的成本,因此要求新系统必须具备持续可用的冗余性,且能保证使用寿命。

在寻找能满足需求的解决方案时,他们参加了一场自动化活动,并对一个存储阵列进行了评估。他们收到的提案需要将42台标准的戴尔™服务器连接到一个存储阵列上。该解决方案采用非冗余架构,保修条款规定每三年更换一次,因此无法满足他们对冗余性或使用寿命的要求。显然,这种复杂而昂贵的方法无法解决他们的问题。

 后来,自动化解决方案提供商向他们推荐了 Stratus Technologies 的常开型 ftServer® 平台。该平台不仅能够提供该公司所需的冗余性和持续可用性,还支持虚拟化,从而将服务器需求(及相关成本)从42台降至8台。该平台具有经过长期验证的可靠性和使用寿命,自动化系统消除了备件订购、实时管理和监测等工作对 IT 专业知识的需求,事实证明,它非常适合该公司地处偏远的营业场所。平台自部署以来从未出现停机事故。现在,借助准确的实时数据,该公司的财务报表每月可以节省数十万美元,并且让他们能够完全掌握经营情况,不再有“经营盲点”。

 “我们的财务报表准确呈现天然气的开采量和使用量,因此我们每月能够节省数十万美元。”
网络管理员

利用不间断的实时数据和准确的财务报表,您可以为公司节省多少成本?

关于 Stratus

Stratus 使关键业务应用全年无休运行不再复杂。Stratus 技术可以主动预防数据中心和边缘的意外停机,我们的服务确保先于客户发现并解决问题。35年来,无论是全球财富500强企业,还是全球各行各业的中小企业都依赖 Stratus 简单的操作实现持续的可用性。

如需了解更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com 或在 Twitter 上关注 @StratusAlwaysOn

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Balance the Imbalance in Real-Time

Save hundreds of thousands monthly with accurate imbalance sheets

A natural gas gathering and treating company was losing hundreds of thousands of dollars a month in imbalance sheet accounting due to its inability to accurately monitor data from the point of extraction through distribution. Their old technology that used RS232 communications with standalone SCADA was slow and frequently failed, crippling their systems.

To remedy this problem, the company launched a project to upgrade their old system to a modern process automation system. Because the company understood the value of having continuous accurate data at each of their locations and the expense of frequent technical refreshes — continuous availability with system redundancy and longevity were key requirements for the new system.

In their search for a solution to meet their needs, they attended an automation event and evaluated a storage array. The proposal they received called for 42 standard Dell™ servers connected to one storage array. With a non-redundant architecture and warranty coverage that needed replacement every three years, this solution did not meet their redundancy requirement or their longevity requirement. Clearly this complex and costly method was not the answer to their problem.

 Their automation solution provider introduced them to Stratus Technologies always-on ftServer® platforms. Not only could this platform provide the redundancy and continuous availability the company was seeking, but it could also support virtualization reducing their server needs (and associated cost) from 42 to 8. With a long track record of proven reliability and longevity, automatic system generated replacement part ordering, real-time management and monitoring without the need for IT expertise, it proved to be the perfect solution for the company’s remote locations. The company has not experienced any downtime since deployment. Today, with real-time accurate data, the company has saved hundreds of thousands of dollars a month in imbalance sheet reporting providing them with complete operational visibility and no more “blind moments”.

 “Our imbalance sheet matches up so closely from what is pumped from the producers to what is delivered to the users, that we literally save hundreds of thousands of dollars a month.”
Network Administrator

How much could you save your company with real-time uninterrupted data and an accurate imbalance sheet?

About Stratus

Stratus takes the complexity out of keeping business critical applications running 24/7/365. Stratus’ technologies proactively prevent instances of unplanned downtime both in the data center and at the edge, and our services ensure any issues are addressed before customers need to. Global Fortune 500 companies and small medium sized businesses in a wide range of industries across the globe have been relying on Stratus for operationally simple, continuous availability for more than 35 years.

For more information, please visit www.stratus.com or follow on Twitter @StratusAlwaysOn.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top