案例研究

亨伯河医院(Humber River Hospital)

加拿大大型医疗机构利用Stratus® everRun®停机预防解决方案实现不间断视频安防管理

Humber River Hospital(亨伯河医院)是加拿大最大的急诊医院之一,为大多伦多地区西北部85万多人提供医疗服务。作为北美地区第一家全数字化医疗机构,亨伯河医院利用最新技术为患者、员工和临床医生提供流畅的无纸化互联体验。医院目前拥有656张急诊病床(包括48张危重症病床)、3400名员工、约600名获得医院行医权限的医师,以及1000多名专注患者满意度的志愿者,是多伦多大学和皇后大学医学院的正式附属医院,医院多个医疗项目和服务获得地方、国家和国际认可。

挑战

2015年10月,为了突破技术和基础设施老化带来的局限,亨伯河医院毗邻基尔街(Keele Street)和威尔逊大道(Wilson Avenue)的现代化新院区投入运营。经过15年的规划,新院区展现了医院对尖端技术和创新的承诺,及其对提供优质护理服务和卓越患者体验的专注。为了保护医院的患者、员工和财产,在全院区安装顶级视频安防系统成为新院区规划的一部分。

医院的目标包括确保安全,预防调查犯罪活动,并在出现黄色警报和琥珀色警报时加快响应速度,因此必须具备全天候视频监控。认识到这种始终保持警惕的需求,负责制定医院安保系统规范的咨询人员加入了每年停机时间不超过一分钟的要求。

江森自控(Johnson Controls)赢得了合同,按照医院预先制定的规范安装并调试安防系统。合同规定,如果安保系统每年停机时间超过60秒,江森自控将面临巨额罚款。因此,选择适当的视频监控管理解决方案并使其持续不间断运行至关重要。

解决方案

江森自控选择使用Milestone的XProtect® Professional Series视频监控管理系统提供整个院区的完整视图,让安保人员能够监控院区环境,并以最快速度和最高效率响应任何意外情况。但即使最好的安保系统也需要持续可用才能发挥作用。经Milestone Systems认证,Stratus everRun是唯一受支持的应用零停机冗余系统解决方案,这一认证,结合其他客户的成功实施案例让江森自控选择everRun Enterprise来满足亨伯河医院对99.999%可用性的要求。

新院区建设过程中,江森自控安装并测试了运行XProtect应用的everRun系统。everRun的软件解决方案将物理资源部署到两台服务器中,构建起一台虚拟机,任何一台服务器出现故障虚拟机都可以继续运行。everRun 对包括内存数据在内的整个XProtect应用环境进行了复制,确保视频安防系统持续运行,防止停机或数据丢失。如果一个硬件组件出现故障,everRun会将其替换为另一个系统中的完好组件,直到故障组件维修或更换完毕。

测试成功后,江森自控实施了三个完全相同的everRun系统,运行Milestone XProtect视频管理软件,为亨伯河医院的现代化新院区构建完整的集成式安保解决方案。

成果

自2015年亨伯河医院新院区完全投入运行以来,运行三个XProtect视频监控管理应用实例的三个everRun冗余服务器系统一直持续可用。

安保/应急准备/交通需求管理负责人Mike Orrico表示:“系统自部署以来始终保持运行,从未出现停机,表现十分完美。”

everRun解决方案还让医院能够实现持续可用性应用的价值,不需要改变当前和规划基础设施,也不需要更改现有配置和策略。

Orrico补充道:“我们希望解决方案不会增加复杂性,也不需要对系统管理员进行大量培训。Stratus everRun让我们能够在标准Windows®服务器上快速实施持续可用性平台,我们还获得了内置虚拟化功能,而且不需要对应用进行更改。”

"汉伯河医院对我们的Stratus everRun 服务器非常满意。它们在一个简单易用的基于Windows的解决方案中提供了我们需要的冗余和可靠性水平。"
Mike Orrico
安全/应急准备/交通需求管理 亨伯河医院

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Humber River Hospital

A large Canadian medical facility relies on the Stratus® everRun® downtime prevention solution for always-on video security management

Humber River Hospital is one of Canada’s largest acute care hospitals, serving a catchment area of more than 850,000 people in the northwest Greater Toronto Area. North America’s first fully digital medical facility, Humber River Hospital leverages the latest technology to deliver a seamless, paperless, and connected experience for patients, staff, and clinicians. With a capacity of 656 acute inpatient beds, including 48 critical care beds, the hospital has 3,400 staff, approximately 600 physicians with privileges, and over 1,000 volunteers who are focused on patient satisfaction. The hospital has formal affiliations with the University of Toronto and Queen’s University Medical Schools. A number of Humber River’s programs and services have been, and remain, recognized provincially, nationally, and internationally.

The challenge

Seeking to move beyond the limitations of aging technology and building infrastructure, Humber River Hospital opened a new state-of-the-art facility at Keele Street and Wilson Avenue in October 2015. The culmination of 15 years of planning, the facility showcases the hospital’s commitment to cutting-edge technology and innovation as well as its dedication to providing high-quality care and an exceptional patient experience. In order to protect the hospital’s patients, staff, and property, facility plans included installation of a best-in-class video security system across the healthcare complex.

Round-the-clock video monitoring is essential in a hospital setting to ensure safety, deter and investigate criminal activities, and expedite responses in code yellow and code amber situations. Recognizing this need for constant vigilance, the consultant who prepared the hospital’s security system specifications included a requirement for no more than one minute of downtime per year.

Johnson Controls won the contract to commission and install the security systems according to the hospital’s predefined specifications. The contract stipulated that Johnson Controls would face significant penalties in the event that the security systems were down for more than 60 seconds per year. Therefore, the pressure was one to select the right video surveillance management solution and find a way to keep it up and running continuously.

The solution

Johnson Controls selected Milestone’s XProtect® Professional Series video surveillance management system to provide a complete visual overview of the entire hospital complex, enabling security staff to monitor the facilities and respond to any incidents with optimal speed and efficiency. But even the best security system can do its job only if it is continuously available. Milestone Systems certified Stratus everRun as the only supported redundant system solution with zero application downtime. This certification, combined with successful implementations at other customer sites, led Johnson Controls to choose everRun Enterprise to meet Humber River Hospital’s requirement for five nines of availability.

While the new hospital was still under construction, Johnson Controls installed and tested the everRun systems running the XProtect applications. everRun’s software-based solution pairs the physical resources in two servers to create a single virtual machine that keeps running in cases where a failure does occur in either server. The entire XProtect application environment, including data in memory, is replicated by everRun, ensuring that the video security system continues to run without interruption or data loss. If a hardware component fails, everRun substitutes the healthy component from the second system until the failed component is repaired or replaced.

Following successful testing, Johnson Controls implemented three identical everRun systems running the Milestone XProtect video management software as part of a complete, integrated security solution at Humber River Hospital’s new leading-edge healthcare complex.

The results

Since the new Humber River Hospital site became fully operational in 2015, the three everRun redundant server systems running three instances of the XProtect video surveillance management applications have been continuously available.

“The systems have been running with zero downtime since their deployment,” said Mike Orrico, Security/Emergency Preparedness/Traffic Demand Management at Humber River Hospital. “They have been performing perfectly.”

The everRun solution also enables the hospital to realize the value of continuously available applications without requiring changes to its current and planned infrastructure or modifications to existing configurations and policies.

”We wanted a solution that would not add complexity or require extensive training for our system administrators,” added Orrico. “Stratus everRun allowed us to quickly implement continuously available platforms on standard Windows® servers with built-in virtualization and no application modifications.”

“Humber River Hospital is very pleased with our Stratus everRun servers. They provide the level of redundancy and reliability we require in a simple-to-use Windows-based solution”
Mike Orrico
Security/Emergency Preparedness/Traffic Demand Management Humber River Hospital

Related Assets

Scroll to Top