案例研究

上海科威生物制药有限公司

中国制药公司利用Stratus® ftServer®系统在其最先进的设施中实现了始终在线的温度和湿度监测。

上海科威尔生物制药有限公司成立于2001年,是一家从事高品质活性药物成分(API)和医药中间体研发、销售、生产的高新技术企业。公司位于上海莘庄工业区,拥有通过GMP认证的厂房和设备。依托生物提取、微生物发酵、化学合成等研发平台,上海科威生物制药能够自主研发多种高难度原料药。其主要产品包括人绒毛膜促性腺激素(HCG)、人绝经期促性腺激素(HMG)、卵泡刺激素(FSH)、前列腺素、抗真菌剂及中间体等。公司的生化、发酵系列产品在国内外市场享有盛誉。

 挑战

上海科威尔生物制药有限公司实施了凯伊LabWatch™ LT连续监测系统,按照药品良好生产规范调节工厂的温度和湿度水平。Kaye LabWatch系统的温度和湿度传感器允许设施人员监测和控制关键环境条件,以确保安全、合规的药品生产。此外,凯伊LabWatch系统的监测、报警和数据采集功能还能提高工厂空调系统的效率,帮助上海科威尔生物制药有限公司顺应中央政府对生态环保和节能运营的倡议。

如果工厂的温度或湿度水平偏离可接受的标准,上海科威尔生物制药有限公司将被迫放弃正在进行的工作,从而导致向客户发货的延迟、重大的经济损失和潜在的声誉损害。更重要的是,能源效率可能会受到影响,从而导致成本上升并对环境造成不利影响。鉴于这些高风险,该公司需要一种方法,以保持其凯伊LabWatch系统,并在适当的环境条件下,所有的时间运行的能源效率生产。

解决方案

ftServer 在评估了多个高可用性解决方案后,上海科威尔生物制药有限公司选择了Stratus ,这是一个完全集成的、连续可用的硬件和软件解决方案,是运行关键业务生产操作和控制应用的理想选择。凯易LabWatch系统运行在位于该公司天威站数据中心的单ftServer 2800系统上。

利用最先进的英特尔® Xeon®处理器技术,ftServer 通过先进的锁步技术和实时管理与监控,提供持续的应用可用性。ftServer 系统由两个相同的客户可更换单元 (CRU) 组成,每个单元都有自己的处理器、内存和存储。获得专利的锁步处理确保即使在硬件组件故障的情况下也不会丢失任何交易,而且多路径I/O故障转移可防止数据损坏。所有冗余组件和子系统都被封装为一个单元,简化了持续的系统管理,并减少了软件许可费用。

考虑到在高成本和严格监管的药品生产环境中需要连续加工,易维护性也是一个关键的选择标准。ftServer 系统采用了可热插拔的CRU,可以在不关闭系统电源的情况下拆卸和更换CRU,而无需使用特殊工具。当重新插入CRU时,CRU会自动重新同步,系统会不间断地继续运行。

当上海科威尔生物制药有限公司将购置、部署、管理和计划外停机成本等因素考虑在内时,很明显,ftServer ,是实现持续可用性、高可靠性、简化操作和管理,从而实现最低总拥有成本的最佳选择。

"此外,ftServer 系统非常容易部署--不需要ISV应用修改或故障转移脚本,使公司能够实现更快的价值时间。"

成果

自2016年部署ftServer 系统以来,上海科威尔生物制药有限公司实现了凯伊LabWatch系统的持续可用性,使该公司能够在最佳环境条件下生产高质量的原料药和医药中间体--没有中断。ftServer 2800系统占地面积小、能耗低,符合公司的环保标准以及政府对节能运营的要求。

此外,ftServer 系统非常易于部署,无需修改 ISV 应用程序或故障切换脚本,使公司能够更快地实现价值。自动化的自我监控、自我诊断和警报功能简化了持续管理,从而大大节省了时间和成本。

集高可靠性、高能效、易操作性于一体的ftServer ,使上海科威尔生物制药有限公司的温湿度监测系统实现了持续稳定的运行,用于符合最高质量和安全标准的始终在线的药品生产。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical

Chinese pharmaceutical company achieves always-on temperature and humidity monitoring in its state-of-the-art facilities with the Stratus® ftServer® system

Founded in 2001, Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd. is a high-tech enterprise engaged in the research, development, marketing, and production of high-quality active pharmaceutical ingredients (API) and pharmaceutical intermediates. Located in Shanghai’s Xinzhuang Industrial Zone, the company operates GMP-certified plants and equipment. Thanks to its R&D platforms for biological extraction, microorganism fermentation, and chemical synthesis, Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical is able to independently research and develop a wide range of challenging APIs. Its main products include human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG), human menopausal gonadotropin (HMG), follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), prostaglandins, antifungals, and intermediates. The company’s biochemical and fermentation series products enjoy a strong reputation in both domestic and foreign markets.

 The challenge

Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd. implemented the Kaye LabWatch™ LT Continuous Monitoring System to regulate plant temperature and humidity levels in accordance with Good Manufacturing Practices for pharmaceutical products. The Kaye LabWatch system’s temperature and humidity sensors allow facilities personnel to monitor and control critical environmental conditions to ensure safe, compliant pharmaceutical production. In addition, Kaye LabWatch system’s monitoring, alarming, and data collection capabilities enhance the efficiency of plant air conditioning systems, helping Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd. conform to central government initiatives for eco-friendly and energy-saving operations.

If plant temperature or humidity levels were to deviate from acceptable standards, Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd would be forced to scrap work in process, resulting in delayed shipments to customers, significant financial losses, and potential reputation damage. What’s more, energy efficiency could be compromised—driving up costs and causing adverse environmental impact. Given these high-stakes risks, the company needed a way to keep its Kaye LabWatch system up and running—all the time—for energy-efficient production under the proper environmental conditions.

The solution

After evaluating a number of high availability solutions, Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd. selected the Stratus ftServer system, a fully integrated, continuously available hardware and software solution that is ideal for running business-critical manufacturing operations and control applications. The Kaye LabWatch system runs on a single ftServer 2800 system located in the company’s Tian Wei Station data center.

Leveraging state-of-the art Intel® Xeon® processor technology, ftServer provides continuous application availability with advanced lockstep technology and real-time management and monitoring. The ftServer system is made up of two identical customer replaceable units (CRUs)—each with its own processors, memory, and storage. Patented lockstep processing ensures that no transactions are lost—even in the event of a hardware component failure—and multipath I/O failover protects against data corruption. All redundant components and subsystems are packaged as a single unit, simplifying ongoing system management and reducing software licensing fees.

Given the need for continuous processing in the high-cost and strictly regulated pharmaceutical manufacturing environment, ease of serviceability was also a key selection criterion. The ftServer system is designed for serviceability with hot-swappable CRUs that can be removed without powering down the system and replaced without using special tools. The CRUs are automatically resynchronized when reinserted and the system continues to run without interruption.

When Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd. factored in acquisition, deployment, management, and unplanned downtime costs, it became clear that ftServer was the best choice for achieving continuous availability, high reliability, and simplified operation and management for the lowest total cost of ownership.

“In addition, the ftServer system was remarkably easy to deploy—with no ISV application modifications or failover scripts required—enabling the company to achieve faster time to value.”

The results

Since deploying the ftServer system in 2016, Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd. has achieved continuous availability of its Kaye LabWatch system, allowing the company to produce high-quality APIs and pharmaceutical intermediates—without interruption—in optimal environmental conditions. The ftServer 2800 system’s smaller footprint and low energy consumption meet the firm’s eco-friendly standards as well as government mandates for energy-efficient operations.

In addition, the ftServer system was remarkably easy to deploy —with no ISV application modifications or failover scripts required—enabling the company to achieve faster time to value. Automated self-monitoring, self-diagnosing, and alerting capabilities simplify ongoing management for significant time and cost savings.

Combining high reliability, energy efficiency, and ease of operation, the ftServer system has enabled Shanghai Techwell Biopharmaceutical Co., Ltd. to achieve continuously stable operation of its temperature and humidity monitoring system for always-on pharmaceutical manufacturing that meets the highest quality and safety standards.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top