案例研究

汉川市人民医院

汉川市最大的非营利性医院依靠Stratus® everRun®实现其关键数字信息系统的高可用性。

汉川市人民医院创建于1950年,是全市最大的非营利性综合医院,也是华中科技大学同济医学院、长江大学医学院、湖北理工学院等众多医学院校的临床教育基地。2011年6月正式获得武汉大学人民医院的信任,2013年被湖北省卫生厅核实为"三甲医院"。

汉川市人民医院由两个科室组成。北区占地34亩,现有床位1250张,临床诊室28个,医技室14个,专科门诊26个,年门诊量45万人次,手术量1.3万例,出院病人4.5万人次。南区包括外科和医疗区,以及眼科和门诊办公室。

挑战

汉川市人民医院投资1000多万元,实施了基于Windows®的综合数字信息系统,实现了全院数据共享。该系统包括用于电子病历的HIS(医院信息系统)、用于医学影像的PAC(图片存档和通信系统)、LIS(实验室信息系统)和RIS(放射科信息系统)等应用,这些都是医院日常运营和患者护理所必需的。

最初,该医院使用集群,试图实现其数字信息系统的高可用性。使用复杂的群集软件将两个服务器连接在一个网络中。服务器之间相互通信,不断检查心跳,以确认另一台服务器是否启动和运行。如果集群中的一台服务器发生故障,另一台服务器就会接管,但恢复过程有可能造成停机和数据丢失,而这两种情况在医院环境中都是不可接受的,因为医院的病人福祉岌岌可危。

此外,由于医院的IT人员不具备编写、测试和管理故障切换脚本所需的专业知识,他们不得不依靠外部技术资源来完成这些任务。与集群相关的高成本、复杂性和风险最终促使医院寻求其他高可用性解决方案。

解决方案

在评估了各种高可用性解决方案后,汉川市人民医院决定在虚拟化的Dell™和IBM® x86服务器上实施Stratus everRun 防宕机软件。与需要重新启动的基于恢复的解决方案不同,everRun 通过主动监控应用环境的所有组件,使医院的数字信息系统保持持续运行--即使在系统故障时也是如此。利用专利技术,everRun ,将两台标准服务器的物理资源整合到一个单一的运行环境中,所有底层硬件和数据完全冗余。

汉川市人民医院everRun 成立。

通过everRun MX,数据在服务器之间自动同步以实现冗余,如果设备发生故障,系统会自动从故障设备重定向到冗余设备,以保护飞行中的数据。通过SNMP发送的主动式故障提醒,在需要注意时提供通知。成本效益高的everRun 解决方案消除了高可用性集群所涉及的风险和复杂性,同时确保医院关键应用的最高可用性,因为医院根本无法容忍停机或数据丢失。

此外,汉川市人民医院实施了everRun SplitSite®,为相隔两公里的南北分院数据中心提供同步数据镜像和应用容错。通过支持地理上的隔离,everRun SplitSite进一步保障了医院免受洪水、停电等潜在灾难性事件的影响。

"汉川市人民医院依靠我们的综合医疗信息系统的始终在线可用性,以便在我们所有的设施中提供高质量的患者护理。Stratus everRun MX软件提供了一个完全弹性的应用环境,与传统的集群相比,它远比传统的集群更可靠、更具成本效益、更容易维护,使我们能够防止停机和数据丢失,因为这可能严重影响医院的运营,并可能影响患者的治疗效果。"
杨敏先生
湖北省汉川市人民医院IT总监

成果

自部署everRun MX以来,汉川市人民医院的应用可用性水平得到了提高,实现了平稳、高效的运营,日复一日地提供优质的患者护理服务。由于everRun MX可以在不改变应用的情况下进行部署,该软件降低了与之前的HA集群解决方案相关的风险和复杂性,从而节省了成本,并减少了对第三方技术资源的依赖。everRun MX支持应用程序的始终在线可用性,帮助医院保持其卓越医疗服务的良好声誉。

关于 Stratus

在如今永续运行的世界中,Stratus Technologies 基于基础架构提供领先的解决方案,能够保障应用程序持续运行。从企业服务器到云端,Stratus 能够快速部署永续基础架构,而无需对应用程序进行任何更改。Stratus 提供灵活的解决方案--软件、平台和服务--能够预防停机,确保重要业务不间断运行。

更多信息,请访问 stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Hanchuan People’s Hospital

Largest non-profit hospital in Hanchuan City relies on Stratus® everRun® for high availability of its critical digital information systems

Founded in 1950, Hanchuan People’s Hospital is the city’s largest nonprofit general hospital and the clinical education base of numerous medical schools, including Tongji Medical School of Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Medical School of Yangtze University and Hubei Polytechnic Institute. The hospital was officially trusted by Renmin Hospital of Wuhan University in June 2011 and was verified as a “Third Grade Hospital” by the Health Department of Hubei Province in 2013.

Hanchuan People’s Hospital consists of two divisions. The North Division is a 34-acre facility with 1,250 available beds, 28 clinical offices, 14 medical technology offices and 26 specialized outpatient clinics, which handles 450,000 outpatient visits, 13,000 surgeries and 45,000 discharged patients annually. The South Division includes surgical and medical zones as well as an ophthalmology department and outpatient offices.

The Challenge

Hanchuan People’s Hospital invested more than 10 million yuan to implement a comprehensive Windows®-based digital information system that enables hospital-wide data sharing. The system includes applications such as HIS (Hospital Information System) for electronic medical records and PACs (Picture Archiving and Communications System) for medical imaging as well as LIS (Laboratory Information System) and RIS (Radiology Information System)—all of which are essential to day-to-day hospital operations and patient care.

Initially, the hospital used clustering in an attempt to achieve high availability of its digital information system. Two servers were connected in a single network using complex clustering software. The servers communicated with each other, continually checking for a heartbeat to confirm that the other server was up and running. If one server in the cluster failed the other would take over, but the recovery process introduced the potential for downtime and data loss—both of which are unacceptable in a hospital environment where patient well-being is on the line.

In addition, because hospital IT staff did not have the specialized expertise required to write, test and manage failover scripts, they had to rely on outside technical resources for these tasks. The high cost, complexity and risks associated with clustering eventually drove the hospital to seek out an alternative high availability solution.

The Solution

After evaluating various high availability solutions, Hanchuan People’s Hospital decided to implement Stratus everRun downtime prevention software on virtualized Dell™ and IBM® x86 servers. Unlike recovery-based solutions that need to be restarted, everRun keeps the hospital’s digital information system running continuously—even in the event of a system failure— by proactively monitoring all components of the application environment. Using patented technology, everRun combines the physical resources of the two standard servers into a single operating environment with full redundancy of all underlying hardware and data.

Hanchuan People’s Hospital everRun Set Up

With everRun MX, data is automatically synchronized between servers for redundancy, and if a device fails, the system automatically redirects from the failed device to the redundant device in order to protect in-flight data. Proactive failure alerts, sent via SNMP, provide notification when something needs attention. The cost-effective everRun solution eliminates the risk and complexity involved with HA clusters while ensuring the highest levels of availability for critical hospital applications that simply cannot tolerate downtime or data loss.

In addition, Hanchuan People’s Hospital implemented everRun SplitSite® to provide synchronized data mirroring and application fault tolerance across its North and South division data centers, which are separated by two kilometers. By supporting geographical separation, everRun SplitSite further safeguards the hospital from major downtime due to potentially catastrophic events such as flooding and power outages.

“Hanchuan People’s Hospital relies on always-on availability of our comprehensive medical information systems in order to deliver high-quality patient care across all our facilities. Stratus everRun MX software provides a completely resilient application environment that is far more reliable, cost-effective, and easier to maintain than traditional clusters, enabling us to prevent downtime and data loss that can seriously impact hospital operations, and potentially, patient outcomes.”
Mr. Yang Min
IT Director, Hubei Province Hanchuan People Hospital

The Results

Since deploying everRun MX, Hanchuan People’s Hospital has experienced improved levels of application availability, enabling smooth, efficient operations and delivery of quality patient care—day in and day out. Because everRun MX can be deployed without making changes to applications, the software has reduced the risk and complexities associated with its previous HA cluster solution, resulting in cost savings and reduced reliance on third-party technical resources. Supporting always-on application availability, everRun MX is helping the hospital maintain its strong reputation for exceptional medical care.

About Stratus

Stratus Technologies is the leading provider of infrastructure-based solutions that keep applications running continuously in today’s always-on world. Stratus enables rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures—from enterprise servers to clouds—without any changes to applications. Stratus’ flexible solutions—software, platform and services—prevent downtime before it occurs and ensure uninterrupted performance of essential business operations.

To learn more, visit stratus.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top