案例研究

H2OSatellite

始终可用为海事通信公司开辟新天地

自1998年以来,H2OSatellite一直是海事行业IT通信系统的知名供应商。超过3000艘船舶已经配备了他们的创新和强大的解决方案,公司已经建立了卓越的声誉。完全专注于客户的具体需求,并通过保持在IT创新和海事法律方面的领先优势,找到最佳实践解决方案,这正是H2OSatellite的工作方式。因此,当一个潜在的客户向他们提出问题时,恰好与他们的研究和开发计划的最新发现相吻合,他们迅速设计并实施了一个解决方案。

经营情况

解决方案H2OUptime不仅解决了该客户的非计划停机问题,也为H2OSatellite带来了新的前景。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • Stratus' 始终如一的可用性实现了新的产品创新,为H2OSatellite打开了整个航运市场。

解决方案

  • Stratus® ftServer®系统
  • 瘦客户机架构

服务

  • H20卫星

业务目标

H2OUptime是H2OSatellite的新型海事服务器网络,经过一段时间的研究和开发,专注于寻找一种更安全、更有弹性的网络系统来取代大多数船舶常见的高风险PC网络。

第一个发现表明,未来的发展方向是中央服务器和瘦客户机架构。事实上,一个竞争者已经在提供一种基于将两个服务器联网并在它们之间复制数据的解决方案。这种方法可以解决安全问题,如易受病毒感染的问题。然而,它也带来了两个新的问题:弹性(以及相关的停机风险)和操作复杂性。进一步的研究发现集群是一种选择。这虽然在一定程度上解决了复原力问题,但仍然带来了操作上的复杂性。

H2OSatellite 的 IT 系统经理 Lee Black 解释说:"引入中央服务器和瘦客户机架构的问题是,如果服务器出现故障,可能需要三十分钟到三个半小时才能使环境恢复运行--这还是在船上有人知道该怎么做的情况下。大多数船舶都没有配备IT经理。大多数航运公司根本无法承担停机的风险。

"围绕着这个问题思考,寻找其他的解决方案,我们看到了Stratus ,以及它的容错服务器套件。容错服务器的架构消除了故障重启的情况(宕机),并引入了操作的简单性。同时,一个使用这种中央服务器瘦客户机设置的客户向我们提出了一个问题。他们的服务器不断发生故障,相关的停机时间让他们损失惨重。我们该如何帮助他们?

"因此,虽然该客户最初的具体目标是提供保证的正常运行时间,但我们最终交付的解决方案不仅仅是保证正常运行时间。它提供了一个技术上优雅的解决方案。我们的客户喜欢这样的事实,即如果出现故障,船上的任何人都不需要做任何事情。容错架构可以简单地度过故障。船员所要做的就是接到我们的支持团队的电话,安排在他们的下一个停靠港交付一个新的组件。"

正如H2OSatellite的创始人兼董事总经理Robert Kenworthy所解释的那样,该解决方案已被命名为H2OUptime,其影响不仅仅是确保可用性和操作简单。

"现在我们有了整个市场的前景......"
Robert Kenworthy
董事总经理
H2OSatellite

业务影响

"对H2O客户的影响是巨大的。"

"船舶的通信网络是非常非常脆弱的。船舶的性质决定了它在海上是孤立的。船上有信息技术管理员的船舶不多,因此,如果出现任何问题,可能是灾难性的"。

"而且很多东西都可能出问题:乘客和机组人员将记忆棒和DVD带上飞机,这些东西可能含有任何数量的病毒。将这些东西插入联网的个人电脑是一种高风险策略"。

"几年前,我们意识到需要一种更安全的方式在船上建立通信网络,虽然服务器和瘦客户机架构解决了一些问题,但它并没有提供一个完整的解决方案。直到我们看到Stratus 和ftServer ,我们才意识到我们其实可以做一些事情,将网络推到安全服务器的路线上,而不会引入停机的风险。事实上,一个客户正是带着这个问题来找我们的,这给了我们创造一个一流的、第一个推向市场的解决方案所需要的所有动力。"

"船舶上的系统故障在当今世界会产生巨大的商业、金融、人力和安全后果。例如,超级游艇、超级油轮、油轮、巡洋舰和超级集装箱,都要依靠电子邮件来传达发动机性能、货物状态、通知美国海岸警卫队到港(9/11以来出台的新法规)等。"

"就拿后一项要求来说:出发和到达的通知。如果一艘船不能提供这一点,就不允许进入美国水域。这仅对一艘船造成的潜在收入损失就高达每天33000美元。如果再加上船员和其他乘客因无法与陆地上的亲人联系,或无法获得船上的娱乐活动而对人造成的影响,再加上船舶在哪怕是一瞬间的意外停航期间也无法收到与安全相关的关键信息的潜在风险,很显然,没有多少船东会愿意冒停航的风险。"

"有了H2OUptime,他们不再需要这样做,"Rob总结道。

"以前我们销售的是电子邮件系统和防病毒包,我们的潜在客户是那些没有任何系统,或者没有最新系统的船只,而现在我们销售的是一个完整的海事化服务器网络;我们现在的潜在客户是整个市场。"Rob总结道。

H2O的SOS支持团队24/7/365的可用性是一个很好的保证,知道如果有任何IT问题,船长唯一要做的就是打一个电话。而随着一个全新的销售管道的开拓,H2OSatellite也很高兴。

"因此,虽然这个客户最初的具体目标是提供保证的正常运行时间,但我们最终交付的解决方案不仅仅是保证正常运行时间。它提供了一个技术上优雅的解决方案。"
Lee Black
IT系统经理
H2OSatellite

关于H2OSatellite

H2OSatellite是完整的海事通信合作伙伴,已经有2200多艘船舶依赖其完全集成、简单和具有成本效益的解决方案。从商业信息、垃圾邮件、病毒防护和船员信息,到硬件销售安装和通话时间,H2OSatellite使客户能够通过任何可用的传输包进行通信,包括主要的卫星系统,如Inmarsat、铱星和VSAT,以及GSM、宽带和ISDN。自1998年以来,当业务开始作为全球技术有限公司,该公司一直在卫星通信软件开发的先锋,为客户提供行业领先的通信投资回报。公司成功的关键在于其专注于通过市场领先的24/7/365客户支持提供人性化的技术,以及真正的个性化服务,确保每个客户都能得到适合其特定需求的解决方案。

H2OSatellite总部位于英国,并在全球范围内拥有一个全面的合作伙伴网络。

关于 Stratus Technologies

在当今始终在线的世界里,应用程序对运行环境要求越来越高。随着这些需求的不断升级,为了将应用停机时间降至最低,企业面临的压力也越来越大。企业正在通过寻找符合或增强其现有IT基础设施的技术来应对永续解决方案需求。

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

H2OSatellite

ALWAYS-ON AVAILABILITY opens new horizons for maritime communications company

H2OSatellite has been an established provider of IT communication systems to the maritime industry since 1998. With over 3000 ships already equipped with their innovative robust solutions, the company has an established reputation for excellence. Focusing fully on the specific needs of customers, and on finding best practice fixes by keeping ahead of the curve on both IT innovations and maritime legalities, is just how they do things at H2OSatellite. So, when a potential customer approached them with a problem that coincided with a recent discovery in their research and development program they were quick to design and implement a solution.

Business Situation

The solution, H2OUptime, not only solved this customer’s unplanned downtime issues, it also revealed new horizons for H2OSatellite.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Stratus’ always-on availability enables new product innovation, opening up the whole shipping market for H2OSatellite

Solutions

  • Stratus® ftServer® systems
  • Thin client architecture

Services

  • H20Satellite

Business Objectives

H2OUptime, H2OSatellite’s new marinized server network, came about following a period of research and development focused on finding a way to replace the high-risk PC networks common to most ships, with a more secure and resilient network system.

First findings suggested the way forward was a central server and thin client architecture. Indeed a competitor was already offering a solution based on networking two servers and replicating data between them. This approach would address security issues, such as vulnerability to viruses. It also, however, introduced two new issues: resilience (and the associated risk of downtime) and operational complexity. Further research uncovered clustering as an option. This though, whilst partly addressing the resilience issue, still introduced operational complexity.

Lee Black, IT systems manager at H2OSatellite explains “The problem with introducing a central server and thin client architecture is that if the server fails, it can take anywhere from thirty minutes to three and a half hours to get the environment back up and running—and that’s if there’s someone onboard who knows what to do. Most ships do not carry IT managers. Most shipping companies simply cannot afford the risk of downtime.

“Thinking around this issue, searching for an alternative solution, we came across Stratus and its suite of fault-tolerant servers. The architecture of fault-tolerant servers removes the failure restart scenario (downtime) and introduces operational simplicity. At the same time, a customer using such a central server thin client set up came to us with a problem. Their server kept failing and the associated downtime was costing them dearly. How could we help?

“So, whilst the specific objective for this client, initially, was to provide guaranteed uptime, the solution we finally delivered did more than just guarantee uptime. It delivered a technically elegant solution. Our customer loves the fact that, if there is a failure, nobody on board has to do anything at all. The fault-tolerant architecture simply rides through the failure. All the crew has to do is receive a call from one of our support team scheduling delivery of a new component at their next port of call.”

The solution, which has since been branded H2OUptime, impacts deeper than just assuring availability and operational simplicity though, as H2OSatellite’s founder and managing director Robert Kenworthy explains.

“Now we have the whole market as prospects …”
Robert Kenworthy
Managing Director
H2OSatellite

Business Impact

“The impact for H2O customers is enormous.”

“A ship’s communications network is very, very vulnerable. Ships by their nature are physically isolated when at sea. Not many ships have IT Managers aboard, so if anything goes wrong it can be catastrophic.”

“And plenty can go wrong: passengers and crew members bring memory sticks and DVDs on board, which could contain any number of viruses. Inserting these into PCs networked together is a high-risk strategy.”

“We realized a few years ago that there was a huge need for a safer way to build communication networks on ships, and that while the server and thin client architecture answered some of the issues, it did not offer a complete solution. It was not until we came across Stratus and ftServer that we realized we could actually do something that would push networks down the secure server route, without introducing the risk of downtime. The fact that a client came to us with exactly this problem gave us all the momentum we needed to create a first class, first-to-market solution.”

“System failure on a ship can have massive commercial, financial, human and safety consequences in today’s world. Super yachts, super tankers, tankers, cruise-liners and super containers, for example, all rely on emails to communicate engine performance, cargo status, notice of arrival to the US coast guard (new legislation introduced since 9/11), for example.”

“Take the latter requirement: notice of departure and arrival. If a ship fails to provide this, it is not allowed in US waters. The potential loss of income this can cause for just one ship is up to $33,000 per day. When you add to this the human impact on crew and other passengers of being unable to communicate with loved ones on land, or access entertain­ment onboard, plus the potential risks of the ship not receiving a crucial safety related message during even a split second of unplanned downtime, and it is clear that not many ship owners are going to want to risk downtime.”

“With H2OUptime, they no longer have to,” concludes Rob.

“Whereas before we were selling email systems and anti-virus packages and our prospects were ships that hadn’t got any, or had not got up to date systems, we are now selling a full scale marinized server network; we now have the whole market as prospects,” concludes Rob.

H2O’s SOS support team’s 24/7/365 availability is a great source of reassurance, the knowledge that the only thing the ship captain has to do if there is any IT issue whatsoever is make one call. And with a whole new sales pipeline to explore, H2OSatellite is delighted too.

“So, whilst the specific objective for this client, initially, was to provide guaranteed uptime, the solution we finally delivered did more than just guarantee uptime. It delivered a technically elegant solution.”
Lee Black
IT Systems Manager
H2OSatellite

About H2OSatellite

H2OSatellite is the complete maritime communications partner with more than 2200 ships already relying on its fully integrated, simple and cost effective solution. Comprising a full suite of packages from commercial messaging, spam, virus protection and crew messaging, to hardware sales installation and airtime H2OSatellite enable their customers to communicate via any transmission package available, including major satellite systems such as Inmarsat, Iridium and VSAT and also GSM, Broadband and ISDN. Since 1998, when the business started as Global Technology LTD, the company has been in the vanguard of satellite communications software development, offering customers industry leading returns on their communications investment. Key to the company’s success is its focus on providing technology with a human face via its market leading 24/7/365 customer support, and a genuinely personal touch that ensures each customer has a solution that is tailored for their specific needs.

H2OSatellite is head quartered in the UK and has a comprehensive network of partners with offices worldwide.

About Stratus Technologies

In today’s always-on world, applications run under increasingly demanding circumstances. With these escalating demands comes greater pressure to prevent even the smallest amount of application downtime. Companies are responding to this need for always-on solutions by searching for technologies that either conform to or enhance their current IT infrastructures.

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top