案例研究

萩原工业

构建以物联网为目标的集成信息系统基础设施 通过ftServer®提高性能,减少维护时间。

萩原工业以合成树脂产品和工业机械为国内外两大业务支柱,为提高经营效率,不断推进ICT的发展。

挑战

该公司目前正在更换其每个业务系统运行的旧硬件。该公司实际上已将其不同的服务器整合起来,以建立一个新的信息系统基础设施。

该公司希望利用物联网技术,在其ICT基础设施中采用了Stratus Technologies的容错服务器,ftServer 。信息共享系统,帮助像萩原工业这样的创新制造商创造舒适的平纱环境。

总部位于冈山县仓敷市的萩原工业株式会社,生产和销售含有合成树脂纤维"扁平纱"的产品。此外,还经营采用该技术的工业机械。

扁平纱是通过拉伸聚乙烯/丙烯薄膜缝隙而形成的一种坚固、扁平的材料。这种纱线的应用范围很广,出现在家用和工业产品中,如天气晴朗时的野餐毯、层压篷布、人造草皮、建筑篷布、防止滑坡的沙袋等。

萩原工业自1962年成立以来,通过运用"切割、拉伸、卷绕"技术,不断推进创新。销售额超过224亿日元*,在日本拥有4个生产基地,并在中国和印度尼西亚设有集团公司,是行业内的佼佼者。

该公司迅速推进了信息和通信技术的发展,目的是提高业务效率。它还在开发可用于公司各部门范围以外的各种业务的业务系统。

项目支援部会计部信息系统科助理经理伊藤健吾先生说:"公司的HAGI-Web系统是公司运营中不可缺少的。本质上,它从任务关键型系统中积累的数据中提取并显示必要的现场数据"。

HAGI-Web系统是一个可以在浏览器中查看的内部信息共享系统。它采用BI(Business Intelligence)机制,使各站点的采购、订单、库存、生产管理、销售、使用、利润等必要信息可视化。

通过该系统,现场管理人员可以轻松获得工作所需的信息。它提高了业务开展的速度,有助于提高业务效率。伊藤先生接着说:"在关键任务系统上积累的信息是一笔财富。但是,在本公司的系统中,信息无法直接引用。因此,我们决定建立一个数据库,定期从关键任务系统中提取并保存数据。这些数据可以从HAGI-Web系统中引用。"

然而,在运行了7年之后,HAGI-Web系统背后的硬件开始显示出它的年龄。"起初,备份设备出现了故障。由于无法获得维护部件,所以无法进行维修。风险与日俱增。服务器性能也不足。数据需要一段时间才能显示,超时现象也经常发生。合成树脂业务开发部开发部生产组副经理世良玉津先生说:"因此,业务效率不断下降。HAGI-Web系统急需更换。"我们也开始注意到所有资源的不足,其他系统老化,与HAGI-Web系统相连的其他业务系统的数据量也在增加。我们觉得有必要着眼于未来,采用一体化的信息系统基础设施。"伊藤先生说。

随着老旧服务器的虚拟整合,硬件的可靠性和可操作性成为决定性因素。该公司立即开始调查,并决定为其新的信息系统采用虚拟基础设施。现有系统经过一段时间的迁移。

"在这个过渡期,我们有三件事是重点关注的。第一是可靠性。我们公司的工厂一年365天,一天24小时都在运行。我们需要为基础硬件提供更好的可靠性,在此基础上,我们的多个业务系统被虚拟集成。其次是对数据库移动的支持。我们公司的HAGI-Web系统是自主开发的。我们在建立系统时的规格书和操作手册都不够用,而且知识也没有得到传承,所以我们对转移的想法很不放心。第三是费用问题。与系统转移有关的所有费用都要在预算之内。伊藤先生说:"我们向多家公司征询了满足这三个需求的方案,富士施乐冈山给我们提供了一个非常突出的方案。

解决方案--向物联网迈出了一大步。

我们收到的许多建议都建议采用集群系统。其目的是将多个服务器和外部磁盘结合起来,以确保冗余。然而,集群系统涉及到当故障发生时,从实际服务器到备用系统的故障切换(切换),导致系统停机,在此期间必须暂停工作。在机器之间切换时还会出现内存和缓存数据丢失的情况。还有就是重写应用程序、创建脚本等所需的时间问题。

另一方面,富士施乐冈山公司的方案是采用Stratus 科技公司的容错服务器ftServer ,建立一个高可靠性的系统。ftServer 中的所有部件,如CPU、内存和电源都是重复的,消除了单点故障的可能性。由于每个CPU都在同一时间与其他CPU同步处理,因此任何可能发生的故障都会被自动检测到,并与系统隔离,从而可以继续运行,不会对操作系统或应用程序造成任何影响。故障的组件可以在不停止系统的情况下进行更换,从而避免了时间滞后和数据丢失。

解决方案销售部SE组组长Sunami一弘先生有如下感想。"与集群系统相比,ftServer ,配置极为简单。当发生故障时,可以在不中断系统的情况下继续工作。而且由于操作是在一台服务器上进行的,这就减少了系统运营经理所花费的时间。由于具有高可用性,且无需花费时间进行维护,我觉得ftServer 将是萩原工业公司新信息系统基础设施的最佳服务器。"

大宗营业部大宗二组副经理山越雄二先生继续说道。"本公司擅长于从提案到施工,再到安装后的支持,多厂商响应。我们协助构建符合客户需求的灵活、最佳系统。高可靠性和易用性,ftServer ,也促进了创新的工作方式,因此我们有信心提交提案,以支持萩原工业未来的物联网工作的信息系统基础设施。"

"从ftServer'的高操作性和故障响应,到未来的运行管理和维护系统,这是一个让我们全方位放心的方案。"
塞拉先生
开发部开发部合成树脂业务部生产组经理助理

结果

"从ftServer'的高操作性和故障响应,到未来的运营管理和维护系统,这个方案让我们在各方面都很放心。该公司紧凑的方案在预算范围内,包括对数据库转移的支持。Sera先生在谈到公司选择ftServer 的决定时说:"我们觉得只有一个选择。

荻原工业得到了富士施乐冈山公司的热情支持,推进了新的信息系统基础设施的建设。该公司的前三个系统采用了Microsoft® Hyper-V进行虚拟化和集成。"这是我们第一次安装Hyper-V的经验,但我们的印象是它非常简单和用户友好。在一切都转移到ftServer.HAGI-Web系统后,HAGI-Web系统的表现更加出色。现在你只需点击一个按钮,一秒钟后数据就会显示在屏幕上。这消除了我们过去一直遇到的超时现象。"Sera先生谈到安装效果时说。"我们的用户深深地体会到,必要的信息能够顺利地显示出来。从运营管理的角度来看,也放心了许多,因为系统在发生故障时不会中断。我们现在从服务器管理中解放出来,可以专注于实际工作。HAGI-Web系统中使用的数据库可以安全地转移,我们感到很放心。我们非常感谢富士施乐冈山公司。伊藤先生继续说道:"我们非常感谢富士施乐冈山公司,他们为我们提供了一切支持,包括我们自己无法处理的细节。萩原工业计划将其他服务器虚拟地集成到其信息系统基础设施中。它将继续简化其整个ICT基础设施的运作。

公司也以新的信息系统为基础,开始研究物联网和大数据技术。谈及公司未来的繁荣发展,Sera先生有以下几点看法。"我们的首要目标是通过大数据的积累和分析,提高生产设备的运营效率。我们将目光投向了在整个生产过程中利用物联网技术。通过利用从物联网技术中获得的大量信息,不仅可以提高生产效率和运营效率,我们觉得还可以创造出

无人生产过程,从而带来新的服务模式。稳定性对于我们的机械和支持我们生产的信息系统基础设施都是至关重要的。每当我们的经理决定分析数据时,他们需要实时访问这些数据。数据库的中断意味着业务的中断。安装ftServer ,是我们物联网工作的重要一步。"

随着数字化商业不断展现出越来越多的前景,来自物联网的数据正成为越来越宝贵的资产。这种由ftServer 支持的高度可靠的信息系统基础设施,必将成为推进萩原产业业务的有力工具。

*截至2016年10月的合并数据。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Hagihara Industries

Constructing an integrated information system infrastructure aimed at IoT Increased performance and reduced maintenance hours with ftServer®

Hagihara Industries, whose two pillars of business, both in Japan and overseas, are synthetic resin products and industrial machinery, has moved forward with ICT developments with the aim of improving operational efficiency.

The challenge

The company is currently replacing its old hardware, on which each of its business systems run. It has virtually integrated its disparate servers to build a new information system infrastructure.

Looking to make use of IoT technology, the company employed Stratus Technologies’ fault-tolerant server, ftServer, in its ICT infrastructure. An information sharing system that helps an innovative manufacturers like Hagihara Industries create comfortable environments with flat yarn.

Hagihara Industries Inc., headquartered in Kurashiki City, Okayama Prefecture, manufactures and sells products that contain the synthetic resin fiber “flat yarn”. They also deal in industrial machinery that employs this technology.

Flat yarn is a strong, flat material created by stretching polyethylene/propylene film slits. This yarn has a wide range of applications and appears in both household and industrial products, such as picnic blankets for fine weather, laminated tarps, artificial turf, construction tarps, and sandbags for landslide prevention.

Since its establishment in 1962, Hagihara Industries has continually pushed for innovation through the use of “cutting, stretching, and winding” technology. It is a leading manufacturer in its industry, with sales exceeding 22.4 billion yen*, four production bases in Japan, and group companies in China and Indonesia.

The company has quickly moved forward with ICT developments with the aim of improving operational efficiency. It is also developing business systems that can be used for various operations that extend beyond the scope of the company’s departments.

Mr. Kengo Ito, Assistant Manager of the Information System Division in the Accounting Department of Project Support, says that “the company’s HAGI-Web system is indispensable for the company’s operations. Essentially, it extracts and displays necessary on-site data from the data accumulated in the mission-critical system.”

This HAGI-Web system is an in-house information sharing system that can be viewed in a browser. It employs a BI (Business Intelligence) mechanism that allows each site to visualize necessary information, such as purchases, orders, inventory, production control, sales, utilization, and profitability.

With this system, on-site managers can easily obtain the information they need for work. It increases the speed at which business is performed and contributes to greater operational efficiency. Mr. Ito continues, “Information accumulated on the mission-critical system is an asset. However, information could not be directly referenced on our company’s system. Therefore, we decided to build a database that regularly extracts and saves data from the mission-critical system. This data can be referenced from the HAGI-Web system.”

However, after seven years of operation, the hardware behind the HAGI-Web system began to show its age. “At first the backup equipment malfunctioned. Maintenance parts couldn’t be obtained, so repairs were impossible. The risks were increasing day-by-day. Server performance was also lacking. It took a while for data to be displayed, and timeouts occurred frequently. As a result, operational efficiency was dropping,” says Mr. Tamotsu Sera, Assistant Manager of the Production Team in the Development Division of the Develop­ment Department in Synthetic Resin Operations. The HAGI-Web system urgently needed to be replaced. “We also began noticing shortcomings in all of our resources, with other systems aging and the amount of data from other business systems linked to the HAGI-Web system increasing. We felt that it was necessary to adopt an integrated information system infrastructure with an eye toward the future,” says Mr. Ito.

With the virtual integration of aged servers, hardware reliability and operability became decisive factors. The company immediately began investigating and decided to adopt a virtual infrastructure for its new information system. The existing system was moved over a period of time.

“There were three things we focused on during this transition period. The first was reliability. Our company’s plants run 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. We needed even better reliability for the base hardware on which our multiple business systems were being virtually integrated. The second was support for moving the database. Our company’s HAGI-Web system was developed in-house. The specification and operation manuals that were available when we built our system were insufficient, and knowledge was not being passed down, so we were very uneasy about the idea of a transfer. The third was expense. All expenses related to moving the system needed to be within budget. We asked multiple companies to give us proposals that met these three needs, and Fuji Xerox Okayama gave us one that really stood out,” says Mr. Ito.

The solution – A large step towards IoT

Many of the proposals we received suggested a cluster system. The aim was to combine multiple servers and external disks to ensure redundancy. However, cluster systems involve failover (switching) to the standby system from the actual server when a failure occurs, resulting in system downtime during which work must be suspended. Memory and cache data loss can also occur when switching between machines. Then there are issues with the amount of time needed to rewrite applications, create scripts, and so forth.

On the other hand, Fuji Xerox Okayama’s proposal was for a highly reliable system using Stratus Technologies’ fault-tolerant server, ftServer. All of the components in ftServer, such as the CPU, memory, and power supply, are duplicated, eliminating the possibility of a single point of failure. Since each CPU processes at the same time in sync with the others, any failure that may occur is automatically detected and isolated from the system so that it can keep running without any effect on the OS or applications. The failed component can be replaced without halting the system, thus avoiding time lag and data loss.

Mr. Kazuhiro Sunami, Group Leader of the SE Group in the Solution Sales Department, has the following to say: “Compared to a cluster system, ftServer has an extremely simple configuration. Work can be continued without system interruption when a failure occurs. And since operations take place on a single server, this cuts down on the amount of time spent by the system operations manager. With high availability and no time spent on maintenance, I felt that ftServer would be the optimal server for Hagihara Industries’ new information system infrastructure.”

Mr. Yuji Yamazoe, Assistant Manager of Major Group 2 in the Major Sales Department, continues: “Our company excels at multi-vendor response for everything from the proposal to the construction and support after installation. We assist in the construction of flexible and optimal systems that meet the needs of our clients. Highly reliable and easy to use, ftServer also promotes innovative ways of working, so we felt confident submitting our proposal for an information system infrastructure that would support the future IoT efforts of Hagihara Industries.”

“It was a proposal that gave us peace of mind on all fronts, from ftServer’s high operability and failure-response to its future operational management and maintenance systems.”
Mr. Sera
Assistant Manager of the Production Team in the Development Division of the Development Department in Synthetic Resin Operations

The result

“It was a proposal that gave us peace of mind on all fronts, from ftServer’s high operability and failure-response to its future operational management and maintenance systems. The company’s compact proposal was within budget, and this included support for the database transfer. We felt there was only one choice for us,” says Mr. Sera, reflecting on the company’s decision to select ftServer.

Hagihara Industries received hospitable support from Fuji Xerox Okayama to move forward with the construction of its new information system infrastructure. Microsoft® Hyper-V was used to virtualize and integrate the first three of the company’s systems. “This was our first experience installing Hyper-V, but we had the impression that it was extremely simple and user-friendly. The HAGI-Web system performed even better after everything had been transferred to the ftServer. Now you just click a button and the data is displayed on the screen a second later. This eliminates the timeouts we had been experiencing in the past,” says Mr. Sera on the effects of the installation. ”Our users deeply appreciate the fact that necessary information is smoothly displayed. There is also a lot of peace of mind from an operational management perspective, since the system isn’t interrupted when a failure occurs. We’re free from server management now, and can focus on our actual work. We’re relieved that we can safely transfer the databases used on the HAGI-Web system. We are extremely grateful to Fuji Xerox Okayama. They supported us with everything, including the finer details that we couldn’t handle on our own,” continues Mr. Ito. Hagihara Industries plans to virtually integrate other servers into its information system infrastructure. It will continue to streamline the operation of its entire ICT infrastructure.

The company has also started looking into IoT and big data technology, using its new information system as a base. Discussing the company’s future prosperity, Mr. Sera has the following to say: “Our first goal is to improve the operational efficiency of our production facilities through the accumulation and analysis of big data. We have our sights set on making use of IoT technology throughout the entire manufacturing process. By utilizing the large amount of information obtained from IoT technology, not only will productivity and operational efficiency be improved, but we feel that it will also be possible to create

unmanned manufacturing processes, thus leading to new service models. Stability is essential for both our machinery and the information system infrastructure that supports our production. Whenever our managers decide to analyze data, they need to access that data in real time. A database interruption means a business interruption. Installing ftServer was an important step for us in our IoT efforts.”

As digital business continues to show more and more promise, data from IoT is becoming an increasingly valuable asset. This highly reliable information system infrastructure supported by ftServer will surely be a powerful tool for advancing the business of Hagihara Industries.

*Consolidated as of October 2016

Related Assets

Scroll to Top