案例研究

中国民用航空局空管局

民航华东地区管理局通过Stratus® ftServer®平台确保ADS-B空中交通管制系统的持续可用性。

中国民用航空局空中交通管理局(民航局/ATMB)负责全国空中交通服务,民航通信、导航和监视,以及航空气象和飞行信息。该组织参与了自动依赖监视-广播(ADS-B)系统的测试和实施,该系统提供了最先进的空中交通监测能力,以提高当今拥挤的空域的安全和效率。ADS-B系统通过卫星GPS技术自动接收机载飞行器的参数,如位置、高度、速度、航向和识别号,并将这些数据广播给其他飞机或地面站。这些系统是中国民航交通管制进步的一个重要里程碑。

挑战

2010年代中期,CAAC/ATMB在两台Dell™x86服务器上以冗余网络模式运行旧版ADS-B系统,处理、整合和传输无线信号数据。然而,执行数据分析和编译的服务器反复出现机器故障,破坏了整个ADS-B系统的稳定性。这个单点故障中断了网络请求,并导致ADS-B系统崩溃--这一事件可能会危及飞机的安全和保障。除了这些性能和可用性问题外,系统管理员还发现同时管理和维护多个服务器既费时又费钱。

在民航局/空管局准备测试下一代版本的ADS-B系统时,技术负责人决定实施高可用性解决方案,以消除单点故障,确保系统连续运行,实现始终在线的空中交通监测。

解决方案

2017年,CAAC/ATMB选择了Stratus ftServer 4810持续可用性平台,以保持下一代ADS/B应用正常运行,不会出现非计划停机或飞行数据丢失。部署在CAAC/ATMB上海地面站的全集成ftServer 平台,通过冗余组件、锁步固件和数据同步,提供99.999+%的可用性。ftServer 系统由两个相同的客户可更换的单元组成,每个单元都有自己的处理器、内存和存储空间,使其能够承受瞬时错误和电源峰值,而这些错误和峰值会使其他x86系统瘫痪。锁定步进处理可确保交易不会丢失,而多路径I/O故障切换可防止数据丢失和损坏。同样重要的是,ftServer 4810可提供连续的ADS-B系统可用性,而不需要软件修改或故障切换脚本。

CAAC/ATMB在一个ftServer 系统上的虚拟机中运行ADS-B应用,以降低成本、空间和能耗,同时改善计算资源的动态调度。虚拟化也使得系统管理员可以很容易地对应用程序进行备份,而不影响可用性或性能。

"ADS-B技术通过先进的通信、导航、监视和空中交通管理,正在彻底改变航空领域。通过确保ADS-B系统的持续可用性,Stratus ftServer 平台正在帮助CAAC/ATMB提高中国的航空安全和效率。我们依靠ftServer 系统来提供这些关键应用所需的高水平可靠性和性能。"
中国民用航空局

成果

在2017年12月部署ftServer 平台后不久,CAAC/ATMB与航空通信与监视系统(ACSS)、L3和泰雷兹公司合作,在中国进行了ADS-B空中交通安全系统的首次测试。测试在上海均瑶航空公司运营的三架空客A321飞机上进行,这三架飞机正在飞往上海虹桥国际机场。由于ftServer ,ADS-B系统连续运行并保持着较高的性能,从而提高了飞行员和空中交通管理人员的态势感知和决策能力。这些成功的测试为ADS-B在中国航空基础设施中更广泛的应用铺平了道路。

然而,ftServer ,其操作优势不仅限于其卓越的可用性和性能。自我监控、自我诊断、警报和补救功能提高了操作效率,简化了问题管理,为系统管理员节省了时间和精力。自动在线部件更换消除了猜测,并允许ADS-B应用程序继续运行,即使在ftServer 正在进行维修时,系统也不会中断。ftServer 将持续可用性与操作简单性相结合,为CAAC/ATMB提供了低总体拥有成本和无忧计算。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Civil Aviation Administration of China’s Air Traffic Management Bureau

The CAAC East China Regional Administration ensures continuous availability of the ADS-B air traffic control system with the Stratus® ftServer® platform

The Air Traffic Management Bureau of the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC/ATMB) oversees national air traffic services, civil aviation communications, navigation, and surveillance, and aviation meteorology and flight information. The organization is involved in the testing and implementation of Automatic Dependent Surveillance —Broadcast (ADS-B) systems, which provide stateof-the-art air traffic monitoring capabilities to improve safety and efficiency in today’s crowded airspace. ADS-B systems automatically receive parameters, such as position, height, speed, heading, and identification numbers, from airborne craft via satellite-based GPS technology and broadcast that data to other aircraft or ground stations. These systems represent a significant milestone in the advancement of civil aviation traffic control in China.

The challenge

In the mid-2010s, the CAAC/ATMB ran an older version of the ADS-B system on two Dell™ x86 servers in redundant network mode to process, integrate, and transmit wireless signal data. However, the server performing data analysis and compilation experienced repeated machine failures, which undermined the stability of the entire ADS-B system. This single point of failure interrupted network requests and caused the ADS-B system to crash—an incident that could put aircraft safety and security at risk. In addition to these performance and availability issues, system administrators found managing and maintaining multiple servers simultaneously to be time-consuming and costly.

As the CAAC/ATMB prepared to test a next-generation version of the ADS-B system, technical leaders decided to implement a high availability solution to eliminate single points of failure and ensure continuous system operation for always-on air traffic monitoring.

The solution

In 2017, the CAAC/ATMB selected the Stratus ftServer 4810 continuous availability platform to keep the next-gen ADS/B applications up and running with no unscheduled downtime or loss of in-flight data. Deployed in the CAAC/ATMB’s Shanghai ground station, the fully integrated ftServer platform provides 99.999+% availability through redundant components, lock­step firmware, and data synchronization. The ftServer system is made up of two identical customer replaceable units—each with its own processors, memory, and storage—enabling it to withstand transient errors and power spikes that would take down other x86 systems. Lockstep processing ensures that no transactions are lost, while multi-path I/O failover prevents data loss and corruption. As important, the ftServer 4810 provides continuous ADS-B system availability without requiring software modifications or failover scripts.

CAAC/ATMB runs the ADS-B applications in virtual machines on a single ftServer system to reduce costs, space, and energy consumption, while improving dynamic scheduling of computing resources. Virtualization also makes it easy to for system administrators to back up the applications without impacting availability or performance.

“ADS-B technology is revolutionizing the field of aviation though advanced communication, navigation, surveillance, and air traffic management. By ensuring continuous availability of the ADS-B system, the Stratus ftServer platform is helping CAAC/ATMB improve aviation safety and efficiency in China. We rely on the ftServer system to deliver the high levels of reliability and performance these critical applications demand.”
Civil Aviation Administration of China

The results

Shortly after deploying the ftServer platform in December 2017, CAAC/ATMB collaborated with Aviation Communication & Surveillance Systems (ACSS), L3, and Thales to conduct the first tests of the ADS-B air traffic safety systems in China. The demonstrations were performed on three Airbus A321s operated by Shanghai-based carrier Juneyao Airlines on approach to Shanghai’s Hongqiao International Airport. Thanks to ftServer, the ADS-B system operated continuously—and at a high level of performance—to enhance situational awareness and decision making for pilots and air traffic management alike. These successful tests are paving the way for broader applications of ADS-B across China’s aviation infrastructure.

The operational benefits of the ftServer, however, extend beyond its superior availability and performance. Self-monitoring, self-diagnosing, and alerting, and remediation capabilities increase operational efficiency and simplify issue management, saving time and effort for system administrators. Automated online parts replacement eliminates guesswork and allows ADS-B applications to continue running—even while the ftServer is being serviced—for zero system interruption. Combining continuous availability with operational simplicity, ftServer delivers low total cost of ownership and worry-free computing for CAAC/ATMB.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top