案例研究

布鲁克莱恩警察局

Stratus 始终在线的解决方案确保关键公共安全系统的可用性。

与波士顿市接壤,布鲁克莱恩的人口超过58,000居民,但与该地区的大学,公司办公室和医院的日常通勤者,人口可以增加到超过100,000。为了服务于活跃的社区,布鲁克莱恩警察局(BPD)由145名宣誓的警官组成,包括一名全职的调度人员,负责处理所有的警察、消防和救护车服务电话。

状况

为了确保该镇居民的安全,警察部门要求24/7全天候提供关键的公共安全计算机应用程序,包括计算机辅助调度(CAD)、逮捕登记程序、侦探案件管理和事故报告记录管理系统。该部门依靠其CAD和增强型9-1-1接口到CAD的应用程序来协调警察、消防和紧急医疗服务的所有调度。

"从我们的调度到我们的逮捕/预订系统,停机是不可接受的,BPD技术总监Scott Wilder警官说。"如果我们的公共安全系统发生故障,它不仅危及我们标准报告的程序和法律要求,但更重要的是,它使我们的官员和社区的生命处于危险之中。任何停机都会破坏通信,使我们的官员失去协助他们履行职责的关键信息。"

多年来,当主服务器发生故障时,局里使用一个辅助服务器作为备份,这需要手动启动和切换到备份服务器。一旦主服务器发生故障,信息技术部门需要数小时才能全面运作。在停机期间,官员们将不得不恢复到效率较低的人工调度系统,失去对关键程序、系统和记录的访问。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • Larimore Associates 公共安全软件
  • 随时提供计算机辅助调度、逮捕预约程序、侦探案件管理和事故报告记录管理系统。
  • 该解决方案满足关键公共安全系统24/7/365的要求,而价格比市场上其他高可用性产品低五到六倍。

产品

  • Stratus® everRun®软件

解决方案

为了帮助满足BPD的24小时高可用性要求,技术合作伙伴Larimore Associates推荐Stratus everRun®软件。

"在审查了其他高可用性解决方案后,我们发现只有Stratus ,以比市场上其他产品低五到六倍的价格提供了我们所需的货物。"Wilder警官说。

BPD选择了在标准的基于英特尔的戴尔服务器上运行的Stratus® everRun®软件,以保证其关键的应用程序在任何时候都可以使用和运行。BPD购买、安装并配置了everRun 软件,快捷方便。everRun 软件的工作原理是将两台戴尔服务器的物理资源集中到一个单一的操作环境中。Stratus everRun 将这两台服务器虚拟化,使其看起来像一台服务器,并作为一台服务器运行,以确保其关键应用程序的始终可用。如果一台服务器因任何故障而停止运行,调度系统和其他公共安全应用程序将继续在另一台服务器上不间断地运行。

"我们发现,everRun 是我们数据中心中缺少的一块。有了everRun ,我们有信心,我们的警察、消防和EMS团队可以持续访问他们应对紧急情况所需的应用程序。"
Wilder警官
Brookline警察局

成果

十多年来,BPD一直在使用everRun 软件,以确保其关键的公共安全应用程序的持续正常运行时间。自从实施了everRun ,尽管发生了重大的硬件故障,但警察部门仍然保持了最高水平的可用性。

"我每逢节假日都会反思,我很感谢使用everRun 来保护我们的关键应用程序,"Wilder警官说。"有一次,我们的服务器在圣诞节当天出现了故障,但由于everRun ,我们从未经历过服务中断。故障对用户来说是完全透明的,而且最重要的是,我不必在办公室度过圣诞节,试图让我们的系统恢复运行。我们发现,everRun 是我们数据中心中缺少的那一块。有了everRun ,我们有信心,我们的警察、消防和EMS团队可以持续访问他们应对紧急情况所需的应用程序。"

此外,该解决方案的内置冗余功能使IT人员能够在不中断机构运营的情况下,拆掉一台服务器进行日常维护,并保持所有其他虚拟机的运行。

通过保持系统始终处于运行状态,everRun ,企业可以让机构人员在紧急情况下优化响应时间,日复一日地更好地保护和服务社区。

"在审查了其他高可用性解决方案后,我们发现只有Stratus 以比市场上其他产品低五到六倍的价格提供了我们需要的货物。"
Wilder警官
Brookline警察局

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Brookline Police Department

Stratus always-on solution ensures availability of critical public safety systems

Bordered by the City of Boston, Brookline is populated with more than 58,000 residents, but with daily commuters to the area colleges, corporate offices and hospitals, the population can increase to more than 100,000. To serve the active community, the Brookline Police Department (BPD) is comprised of 145 sworn officers, including a full time dispatch staff who are responsible for handling all calls for police, fire, and ambulance services.

The Situation

To ensure the safety of the town’s residents, the police department requires 24/7 availability of their mission-critical public safety computer applications including computer-aided dispatch (CAD), arrest booking program, detective case management, and records management system for accident reporting. The department relies on its CAD and Enhanced 9-1-1 Interface-to-CAD applications to coordinate all dispatch for police, fire, and emergency medical services.

“From our dispatch to our arrest/booking system, downtime is unacceptable, states Officer Scott Wilder, director of technology for the BPD. “If our public safety systems go down, it not only jeopardizes the procedural and legal requirements for our standard reports, but more importantly, it puts the lives our officers and the community at risk. Any downtime would disrupt communications and deprive our officers of the critical information that aids them in their duties.”

For years the BPD used a secondary server as backup when the main server was down, which required a manual start-up and switch-over to the backup server. In the event of a main server failure, the IT department would need hours to be fully operational. During the downtime, officers would have to revert to a less efficient manual dispatch system, losing access to key programs, systems, and records.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Larimore Associates Public Safety Software
  • Always-on availability of computer-aided dispatch (CAD), arrest booking program, detective case management, and records management system for accident reporting
  • Solution meets 24/7/365 requirements for critical public safety systems at a price five to six times less than the other high-availability products on the market

Products

  • Stratus® everRun® software

The Solution

To help meet the BPD’s 24-hour high availability requirements, technology partner Larimore Associates recommended Stratus everRun® software.

“After reviewing other high availability solutions, we found that only Stratus delivered the goods we needed at a price five to six times less than the other products on the market,” says Officer Wilder.

The BPD chose Stratus® everRun® software, running on standard Intel-based Dell servers, to guarantee that its critical applications would be available and operational at all times. The BPD purchased, installed, and configured the everRun software quickly and easily. The everRun software works by pooling the physical resources of the two Dell servers into a single operating environment. Stratus everRun virtualizes these two servers to appear and operate as one for the purpose of ensuring always-on availability for their critical applications. If one server stops running due to any failure, the dispatch system and other public safety applications continue to operate uninterrupted on the other server.

“We have found everRun to be the piece in our data center that was missing. With everRun, we are confident that our police, fire and EMS teams have continuous access to the applications they need to respond to emergencies.”
Officer Wilder
Brookline Police Department

The Results

For more than ten years, the BPD has been using everRun software to ensure continuous uptime for its critical public safety applications. Since implementing everRun, the police department has maintained the highest level of availability in spite of a significant hardware failure.

“I reflect every holiday season, and I am grateful for using everRun to protect our critical applications,” says Officer Wilder. “On one occasion, our server went down on Christmas day, but thanks to everRun, we never experienced a disruption in service. The failure was completely transparent to users and, most importantly, I didn’t have to spend Christmas at the office trying to get our systems back up and running. We have found everRun to be the piece in our data center that was missing. With everRun, we are confident that our police, fire, and EMS teams have continuous access to the applications they need to respond to emergencies.”

In addition, the solution’s built-in redundancy enables IT personnel to take down a server for routine maintenance and keep all of the other virtual machines running—without interrupting agency operations.

By keeping systems up and running all the time, everRun Enterprise allows agency personnel to optimize response times in emergency situations and to better protect and serve the community day in and day out.

“After reviewing other high availability solutions, we found that only Stratus delivered the goods we needed at a price five to six times less than the other products on the market.”
Officer Wilder
Brookline Police Department

Related Assets

Scroll to Top