案例研究

FRIGOSCANDIA SPA

意大利领先的冷冻食品分销商,依赖 Stratus 常开软件来满足 SLA 要求并扩大市场份额

Frigoscandia SPA 每年要向意大利市场提供 1700 万箱冷冻食品。其客户包括遍布全国各地的所有主要超市,这些超市期望获得最优质的服务。Frigoscandia SPA 有信心能够扩大市场份额,于是投资建设了新办公地点,并且深知还需要更新 IT 基础架构,以满足持续可用和灾难恢复要求。

Frigoscandia SPA 在其办公地点设立了两个不同的数据中心,二者相距 1000 米。这两个数据中心负责存储 Frigoscandia SPA 所有关键应用程序,也就是供应链、物流、语音激活软件(使员工无需用手就能在冷藏存储区内工作)和支付应用程序中的数据。

公司最初为实现容错目标采取的方法是:在每个数据中心选用基于 Microsoft® 集群的解决方案,并搭配使用 Fujitsu 存储,以实现同步复制。但是,Frigoscandia SPA 在采用这种方法后持续遭遇了各种挑战,这些难题主要涉及复制、所需的物理服务器数量以及复杂的管理。

挑战

考虑到采用现有集群解决方案遇到的问题,Frigoscandia SPA 向 ACME Consulting 寻求建议,以期找到替代解决方案,能为企业未来的持续增长和严苛的 SLA 提供更好的支持。ACME 负责找到一款解决方案,让 Frigoscandia SPA 能够实现以下目标:维护两个单独的数据中心,用于灾难恢复;实现整个基础架构的虚拟化,以减少服务器数量;易于实施和管理。

此外,还需要确保应用程序更加强大且始终可用。对 Frigoscandia SPA 而言,即便是一分钟的停机时间也可能严重影响其对客户提供食品的速度和效率。而且,还有一些法律要求也必须遵守。

根据 Frigoscandia SPA 提供的条件,ACME 考量了不同供应商提供的多个硬件解决方案和软件解决方案,以便找到最适宜的解决方案。

“安装 everRun 以来,我们受益匪浅。这款解决方案不仅让我们实现了整个 IT 基础架构的虚拟化,而且可确保企业应用程序更加强大且始终可用,同时简化了备份和恢复操作。”
Daniele Revelant
Frigoscandia SPA IT经理

解决方案

在对各种解决方案进行评估后,ACME 与 Frigoscandia SPA 一致认为,Stratus everRun® 企业软件是唯一可以满足 Frigoscandia SPA 所有要求的解决方案。而且,everRun 还允许 Frigoscandia SPA 使用标准的 x86 服务器,无需昂贵的自定义硬件解决方案。

ACME 实现了整个基础架构的虚拟化,方法就是安装了两台标准的 x86 服务器用于运行 everRun,同时维护两个物理域控制器(每个数据中心各一个)。升级两个数据中心之间的链路,每对允许 10GB,使他们能够维护两个单独的数据中心。everRun 在标准的 Fujitsu RX300S8 服务器上运行,服务器具有 2 个 CPU 十核 (Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-2660 v2 @ 2.20GHz) 处理器和 96GB RAM。此外,每个服务器还具有两个 10GB 接口,可通过冗余交换机将它们连接到客户端网络。

成果

安装 everRun 成功满足了 Frigoscandia SPA 的所有要求:实现了整个 IT 基础架构的虚拟化,减少了所需的服务器数量,易于安装(数据中心就绪后半小时内即可安装完毕),易于维护和管理,显著简化了备份和恢复操作。

everRun 让 Frigoscandia SPA 的应用程序始终可用,确保客户对整个供应链流程的满意度并持续扩大市场份额。

“everRun 易于安装,数据中心就绪后半小时内即可安装完毕,而且易于维护。”
Andrea Garattini
ACME 首席咨询师

ACME Consulting 公司简介

ACME Consulting 成立于 2000 年 2 月,是一家专注于 IT 领域的咨询公司。ACME 致力于为想要革新和升级自身 IT 基础架构的企业提供完整的集成式解决方案,ACME 在培训和咨询方面积累了丰富的经验,能够开发定制化解决方案来满足客户的需求。ACME 员工持续不断地更新自己的专业知识,不仅学有所成,而且拥有主流 IT 企业认可的高水平专业认证,公司以这些乐学精进的员工为荣。ACME Consulting 是 Stratus 合作伙伴,也是 Microsoft 白银合作伙伴,还是 VMware® 专业合作伙伴。

要了解更多信息,请访问 acmeconsulting.it

关于 Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

更多信息,请访问 stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

FRIGOSCANDIA SPA

Leading Italian frozen food distributor relies on Stratus’ ALWAYS-ON SOFTWARE to meet SLAs and grow market share

Frigoscandia SPA delivers 17 million cartons of frozen food to the Italian market every year. Their customers include all of the leading supermarkets across the country, who expect the highest quality of service. Confident in its ability to grow its market share, the company invested in new premises and knew it also needed to update its IT infrastructure to meet its continuous availability and disaster recovery requirements.

Frigoscandia SPA had two different data centers on its premises that were located 1000m apart. These data centers were responsible for all of Frigoscandia SPA’s critical applications— supply chain, logistics, voice activation software (that enabled employees to work inside the refrigerated storage areas without using their hands) and payments.

The company’s initial approach to achieving fault tolerance was a Microsoft® cluster based solution with Fujitsu storage in each data center enabling synchronous replication. However, Frigoscandia SPA had experienced ongoing challenges with this approach primarily related to the replication, the number of physical servers needed and the complexity of management.

The Challenge

Concerned by the issues experienced with their existing cluster solution, Frigoscandia SPA approached ACME Consulting to find an alternative solution that would better support their growth plans and aggressive SLAs. ACME was tasked with finding a solution that would enable Frigoscandia SPA to maintain the two separate data centers for disaster recovery, virtualize the entire infrastructure to reduce the number of servers required and be easy to implement and manage.

In addition to all this, there was a need to ensure the applications were more robust and always on. For Frigoscandia SPA, even one minute of downtime would seriously impact the supply of food to their customers. And there were legal requirements that needed to be adhered to as well.

ACME considered a number of solutions from different vendors —both hardware and software based—against the criteria provided by Frigoscandia SPA to find the ultimate solution.

“We have seen significant benefits from installing everRun—it has enabled us to virtualize our entire IT infrastructure while ensuring our applications are more robust and always on and simplified our back-up and recovery operations.”
Daniele Revelant
IT Manager, Frigoscandia SPA

The Solution

Based on an evaluation of all of the solutions, ACME and Frigoscandia SPA agreed that Stratus everRun® Enterprise software was the only solution that could meet all of Frigoscandia SPA’s requirements. What’s more, it would also allow them to use standard x86 servers, negating the need for an expensive custom hardware solution.

ACME virtualized the entire infrastructure by installing two standard x86 servers running everRun while maintaining two physical domain controllers (one in each room). Upgrading the links between the data centers, allowing 10GB links for each pair, enabled them to maintain the two separate data centers. everRun is running on standard Fujitsu RX300S8 servers with 2 CPU 10 core (Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-2660 v2 @ 2.20GHz) and 96GB of RAM. Each server also has two 10GB interfaces that connect them to the client network through redundant switches.

The Results

The installation of everRun succeeded in meeting all of Frigoscandia SPA’s virtualize their entire IT infrastructure and cut down the amount of servers required, it was simple to install (less than half an hour once the data centers were ready), has been easy to maintain and manage, and significantly simplified Frigoscandia SPA’s back-up and recovery operations.

everRun has provided Frigoscandia SPA with the always-on availability needed to ensure customer satisfaction throughout the supply chain and continue growing its market share.

“everRun was simple to install—less than half an hour once the data centers were ready— and is simple to maintain.”
Andrea Garattini
Lead consultant, ACME Consulting

About ACME Consulting

ACME Consulting was established in February 2000 as a consulting company in the IT field. Offering complete, integrated solutions to companies who want to renew and upgrade their IT infrastructure, ACME’s experience, both as a trainer and consultant, allows it to develop customized solutions to meet a customer’s needs. ACME employees constantly update their knowledge and the organization is proud of its staff’s continuing achievements and maintenance of high levels of certification recognized by major IT companies. ACME Consulting is a Stratus Partner, a Microsoft Silver Partner and a VMware® Professional Partner.

To learn more go to acmeconsulting.it

About Stratus Technologies

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

To learn more, visit stratus.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top