白皮书

边缘转型

构建性能可靠的基础设施

随着商业和技术趋势持续改变边缘计算的方式,许多企业都在探索最好的方式来选择、实施面向未来的边缘计算策略,并利用其在今天创造的机遇。

本白皮书将对边缘计算展开深入介绍,还将对如今在边缘计算领域发生的变革进行说明,同时展示下一代解决方案如何帮助组织利用边缘变革在当下和未来创造的新机遇。

执行摘要

联网设备的爆炸式增长催生了海量数据,许多企业希望利用边缘计算系统改进收集和处理数据的方式,但对于在各自的组织中长期负责边缘计算系统的大多数运营技术(OT)专家,边缘变革似乎是一个难以达成的目标。

随着商业和技术趋势持续改变边缘计算的方式,许多企业都在探索最好的方式来选择、实施面向未来的边缘计算策略,并利用其在今天创造的机遇。

本白皮书将对边缘计算展开深入介绍,通过各种案例、行业和用例说明边缘计算带来的最大优势。书中还将对如今在边缘计算领域发生的变革进行说明,同时展示下一代解决方案如何帮助组织利用边缘变革在当下和未来创造的新机遇。

迎接新边缘

如今,许多关键操作和流程要在组织的网络边缘完成,例如无人化机械、公共安全系统、运输系统,以及电力和能源生产。这些操作以及执行操作的机器都连接到数量迅速增长的物联网(IoT)设备,根据预测,到2020年IoT设备数量将超过204亿台。1

这些传感器和设备收集的实时数据可用于优化生产周期,提高产品或服务质量,或者缩短响应时间。因此,更好地管理边缘数据可以帮助企业优化关键流程,降低成本,并获得显著的竞争优势。 

1Gartner实时见解需求为边缘计算创造市场机遇,“预测:物联网 – 2016年全球物联网设备及相关服务”,2017年2月24日。

但实现这些优势并不像表面上看起来那么容易,尤其是通过集中的云端应用或本地数据中心处理和管理边缘数据。虽然这些计算模型拥有各自的优势,但它们不适合IT人员有限、连接质量较差或成本高昂,以及对操作时效性要求极高的支持环境。边缘通常面临相同的环境条件。

今天,边缘计算正在发生重大变革,其中带来的新挑战和新机遇共同促进了边缘的迅速变革。

的潜力。边缘

为了克服上述内在挑战,许多组织开始重新思考他们的边缘计算基础设施,这些基础设施通常不会连接远程数据中心和/或云,或者只有有限的连接。边缘数据可能在源点直接进行处理,也可能发送到网关设备或中介服务器,但不论哪种方式,数据的有效性经常会受限于大约30年前构建边缘基础设施所使用的硬件的规模和容量。

边缘计算目前正在发生重大变革,首先是使用量的增加,其中带来的新挑战和新机遇共同促进了边缘的迅速变革。

组织利用这些机遇可能收获巨大的回报。例如,经过提升的边缘计算基础设施可以更有效地处理和利用来自IoT设备和传感器的数据流,与分析、智能交通信号灯、车辆间通信、电力生产和制造设备相关的应用将因此受益。在这些案例中,这些应用可以重新分配流量,改善预测性维护,从而预防故障并优化生产。

为OT专家带来的优势

OT专家有很多工作要做,除了保持装配线持续运转,供水设施不间断供水,或者火车准点运行,他们现在还要更新IA系统,以便利用不断进化的边缘。

通过技术加服务的方式优化边缘基础设施可以大幅简化这一问题,为OT专家及其组织带来巨大优势,这些优势包括:

  • 风险缓解: 预防IA系统意外停机帮助企业避免系统故障(即使是短暂的)导致的中断。
  • 运营效率:主动监测、自动化,以及更好地了解IA系统各组件的状况让OT专家能够迅速改善运营,节省时间和成本。
  • 降低总拥有成本: 将管理IA应用所需的所有硬件、软件和服务集成到一个统一的解决方案中,将高可用性边缘解决方案的总拥有成本降至最低。
  •  OT赋能: 简化边缘架构管理有助于降低OT专家对IT部门的依赖,让他们能够在自己专长的IIoT等领域率先进行技术部署。  

边缘计算要求持续变化

边缘系统通常部署在典型数据中心之外的边缘位置,或者从定义上讲,部署在计算网络的最边缘。在边缘,简便性至关重要,但可服务性和可用性等元素同样重要。由于人才变得越来越稀缺,边缘环境经常只能依靠OT专家,无法承担IT人员成本,因此如果出现故障,派遣人员进行修复无论从时间还是成本角度都难以施行。OT人员可能不如IT人员专业,但依然能够迅速恢复产品服务,确保正常运行。

许多新的边缘应用用于存储大量数据,或者将数据发送到其他位置,这让数据完整性变得异常重要。任何故障都可能导致数据传输中断,给现有的流程或合规工作带来诸多问题。例如在一个牛奶公司里,如果在生产牛奶的过程中出现系统故障,生产工人可能就无法收集合规需要的数据,从而提高潜在召回风险。

边缘应用一般不会经常更新,因此企业需要技术加服务的模式和工具,让他们能够部署系统,并保持系统长时间独立运行。

新趋势带来新的复杂因素和新机遇

目前,部署边缘计算的组织可能认为他们现有的方法足以保证需求,至少目前如此,但技术领域上演着各种趋势和变化,这要求组织改变思考和实施边缘计算的方式。

  •  设备升级: 数量增加将促进成本降低,让IoT设备更廉价、更智能并实现标准化。例如,可编程逻辑控制器(PLC)已经变得更加智能且基于开放标准,而且成本效益大幅提升。
  • OT将实现进化: 由于IT部门已经承担了太多任务,所以OT的角色将持续进化,边缘绝不是他们的首要任务。对于边缘计算等关键技术,OT将承担更多责任。
  • 提高机器自动化水平:实时分析和人工智能等新兴技术将提高边缘数据的关键程度,自动化将变得更加快速、更加智能,甚至突破人类能力的限制。例如,现在铁路可以通过处理边缘数据支持火车以每小时300公里的速度安全行驶。
  • 新的供应商和新的商业模式: AI、机器学习和高级分析等新的技术解决方案将持续促进创新、敏捷性和资产效率。企业必须思考哪些供应商、技术和解决方案最适合自己的长期战略。

很明显,边缘运营要求持续更新思考和行为方式,部署边缘计算策略的任何组织都需要仔细评估这些趋势。

现有解决方案无法满足需求

一个广泛的共识是,现有的边缘系统需要新的使能技术以满足不断变化的需求,但此类技术的供应落后于需求。

现有的计算/通信技术可以满足工业自动化(IA)领域的需求,但这些技术主要满足IA终端用户几十年来形成的需求,而不是目前推动IA行业发展的具体边缘需求(例如实施预测性维护或集成大数据分析的需求),因此,这些技术未实现最佳的功能组合,存在不足之处。

这些技术包括:

  • IA网络计算机 ,来自传统数据中心供应商的IA网络计算机(例如戴尔的Edge Gateways for IoT)可以在边缘收集传感器或设备数据,并将其发送到数据中心或公共云。与其他类型的边缘解决方案相比,它们成本更低,但无法很好地向上扩展(与向外扩展相反),无法提供边缘环境必需的持续可用性和操作简便性。
  • 超融合平台,如慧与科技的Converged Edge Systems等超融合平台将数据采集、控制、计算和存储功能集成到一个硬件设备中,强调操作的简便性,可以在边缘进行实时分析,但代价是持续可用性较差,价格较高。
  • 高可用性解决方案,如VMware的vSphere等高可用性解决方案利用虚拟化技术以可接受的成本提供更高水平的可用性,但牺牲了操作简便性,需要IT技能。许多高可用性解决方案还缺乏实时数据合成与分析要求的计算能力和性能。

无疑,许多制造企业依然使用着30年前的工业控制系统,IA领域需要彻底升级才能过渡到工业物联网、普适云和/或雾计算。但推倒重来的方式并不能奏效,在向边缘转型的过程中企业面临许多挑战,包括继续使用原有系统收集数据,尽可能延长这些系统的寿命,以及逐渐增加新功能。

而且,不是所有企业都需要彻底进行边缘转型,转型的程度取决于业务需求。但为了从边缘变革中收获最大优势,任何组织都需要采取新的技术途径。

理想解决方案

为了弥补上述不足,理想的解决方案应能满足企业对可靠、可扩展、高性能边缘计算的需求,而且,解决方案在带来短期优势和满足当前需求的同时,还应该融合持续演进的边缘基础设施。

具体而言,实现边缘转型的必要因素包括:

  • 操作简便性 ,提供低接触和无接触运营、可服务性以及可用性,由于边缘或工厂车间缺少IT资源,因此这些属性至关重要。
  • 不间断生产 ,预防意外停机,由于新的边缘应用存储大量数据或者将数据发送到远程位置(如云端),因此还需要确保数据完整性。
  • 虚拟化和可靠性功能 ,让制造商和IA组织能够部署高度可用且高效的业务关键型系统和数据库。
  • 互操作性设计 ,利用能够实现设备和系统互操作的现有标准(如操作系统)和新标准。
  • 网络安全 ,包括对边缘计算系统的所有组件、系统所处理的数据,以及系统间通信和外部通信的内置保护。

边缘优化架构和交付案例

目前,行业领先的技术供应商可以提供融合上述所有要素的创新边缘基础设施解决方案,而且该解决方案是一个综合而完整的计算平台,交付即可使用,让IA公司能够更新老化的系统,打造工业控制虚拟应用,并提高运营效率。

这种新的边缘解决方案包括三个要素:

  • 零接触计算平台: 完整集成的自动化自我防护工业计算平台,在提高运营效率和降低停机风险的同时减少对IT支持的需求。
  • 软件定义边缘基础设施:通过单一界面管理所有必要应用,包括虚拟化计算、存储、网络连接、网络安全、IoT网关、VPN、路由器、分析和人工智能。
  • 主动管理服务:通过全新方法部署、监测和维护边缘解决方案和基础设施。不同于以往的被动服务,主动管理服务可以由OT专家轻松实施监督,系统自主执行服务,并由一个本地服务提供商进行支持。

结合以上三个要素(零接触计算平台、软件定义边缘基础设施和主动管理服务)可以打造新的基础设施解决方案,并根据组织的边缘需求进行优化。

经过优化的解决方案包括以下主要优势:

  • 非常适合 在缺乏IT资源的偏远位置快速、可靠地运行业务关键型企业应用。
  • 借助预先安装的虚拟化软件以及直观且便于使用的配置和管理工具提高 运营效率。
  •  方便 用户部署和迅速安装,缩短启动关键应用并保持运行所需的时间。
  • 利用自主检测和自主防护功能降低IT的工作量,非常适合无人化设施。
  • 通过由托管服务云支持的本地冗余系统提前预防 意外停机。
  • 支持 由各种架构和应用组成的多个生态系统,无需更改。

这种综合的边缘平台可以满足当今边缘环境的根本要求(见“现有解决方案无法满足需求”部分),包括操作简便性、虚拟化、不间断生产和互操作性。

关于 Stratus

Stratus 使关键业务应用全年无休运行不再复杂。Stratus 技术可以主动预防数据中心和边缘的意外停机,我们的服务确保先于客户发现并解决问题。35年来,无论是全球财富500强企业,还是全球各行各业的中小企业都依赖 Stratus 简单的操作实现持续的可用性。

如需了解更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com 或在 Twitter 上关注 @StratusAlwaysOn

相关资料

返回顶部

Whitepaper

Transformation of the Edge

Architecting your infrastructure for performance and reliability

As business and technology trends continue to reshape how computing happens at the edge, many companies are searching for the best way to select, implement, and capitalize on the opportunities that future-proof edge computing strategies offer today.

This white paper offers a closer look at edge computing and defines the evolution that is taking place in edge computing today while demonstrating how next-generation solutions can help industries execute on the new opportunities offered by the transformation of the edge.

Executive summary

Many companies are looking to their edge computing systems for improvements in the way they collect and process data resulting from the explosive growth of Internet-connected devices. Yet for most operational technology (OT) professionals who have long been responsible for edge-based computing systems in their organizations, the evolution of the edge may seem like a moving target.

As business and technology trends continue to reshape how computing happens at the edge, many companies are searching for the best way to select, implement, and capitalize on the opportunities that future proof edge computing strategies offer today.

This white paper offers a closer look at edge computing and highlights various examples, industries, and use cases where it delivers the most benefit. It also describes the evolution that is taking place in edge computing today while demonstrating how next-generation solutions can help organizations execute on the new opportunities presented by the transformation of the edge, today and tomorrow.

Welcome to the new edge

Today, many critical operations and processes take place at the edge of an organization’s network, such as unmanned machinery, public safety systems, transportation systems, and power and energy production. These operations, and the equipment they rely on, are connected to a rapidly growing number of Internet of Things (IoT) devices, which is forecasted to exceed 20.4 billion endpoints by 2020.1

These sensors and devices collect real-time data that can be used to streamline production cycles, improve product or service quality, or shorten response times. As a result, better management of edge data can help the entire business improve critical processes, reduce costs and gain a significant competitive advantage. 

1Gartner, The Need for Real-Time Insights Offers Market Opportunities in Edge Computing, “Forecast: Internet of Things – Endpoints and sociated Services Worldwide, 2016,” February 24, 2017.

Yet reaping these benefits is more difficult than it might appear, especially when attempting to process and manage edge data through centralized cloud-based applications or on-premise data centers. While these computing models have their advantages, they are not particularly well suited to supporting environments where IT staff is limited, connectivity is poor or expensive, and operations are especially time-sensitive. All of these conditions are usually found at the edge.

Edge computing today is going through significant changes, bringing new pressures as well as new opportunities that together are driving the rapid transformation of what is happening at the edge.

The potential of the edge

To overcome such inherent challenges, many organizations have begun to rethink their edge computing infrastructures, which generally have limited or no connectivity to a remote data center and/or the cloud. Edge data may be processed directly at the point of origin, or it can be sent to a gateway networking device or intermediary server. But either way, the usefulness of the data is often constrained by the scale and capacity limitations of hardware – sometimes 30 years old – that make up most edge infrastructure.

Edge computing today is going through significant changes, starting with increased usage. This offers new pressures as well as new opportunities that together are driving the rapid transformation of what is happening at the edge.

For organizations that capitalize on these opportunities, the payoff can be tremendous. For example, applications related to analytics, smart traffic lights, vehicle-to-vehicle communications, power production, and manufacturing equipment benefit from improved edge computing infrastructure that more effectively processes and uses streaming data from IoT devices and sensors. In these cases, these applications can reroute traffic, improve predictive maintenance to prevent defects, and optimize production.

Benefits to OT Professionals

OT professionals have a lot on their plates: In addition to keeping the assembly line running, the water supply flowing, or the trains running on time, they are now being tasked with updating their IA systems to take advantage of the evolving edge.

A technology-plus-service approach to optimizing edge infrastructure can greatly simplify this challenge and deliver significant benefits to OT professionals and their organizations. These benefits include:

  • Risk mitigation: No unplanned downtime in their IA systems helps organizations avoid the disruptions that result from even brief system failures.
  • Operational efficiencies: Proactive monitoring, automation, and better visibility into every component of their IA systems enable OT professionals to quickly make operational improvements, saving time and money.
  • Reduced TCO: Integration of all the hardware, software, and services required to manage IA applications into a single, unified solution translates into the lowest total cost of ownership for a high-availability edge solution.
  • OT empowerment: Simplifying the management of edge architectures helps reduce OT professionals’ dependence on IT departments and empowers them to take the lead in deploying technologies in their sphere of influence – to IIoT and beyond.  

Changing requirements of edge computing

Edge systems are usually deployed in remote locations beyond the typical data center, or by definition, up to the very edge of computing networks. Simplicity is key at the edge, but so too are elements such as serviceability and usability. As talented people become increasingly scarce, edge environments can often only afford to rely on OT professionals – not IT – so if anything goes wrong, the idea of flying someone in to fix it is not feasible from a time or cost perspective. OT staff may not be IT-specialized but are still able to get the product serviced and up and running quickly.

Many new edge applications are either holding a significant amount of data or streaming data to other locations, which makes data integrity extremely important. Any failures could cause a break in the data stream, presenting several issues to existing processes or compliance efforts. For example, in a dairy farm, if a system fails as milk is moving through a production line, farmers may not be able to collect the required data for compliance, creating increased risk in the event of a potential recall.

Applications at the edge generally do not get updated very often. This means companies need technology with a service model and tools that enable them to deploy the system and essentially leave it alone for a very long time.

New trends, complications, and opportunities

Organizations computing at the edge today may believe that their existing approach is sufficient – for now. However, many trends and shifts are occurring in technology that will require them to change how they think and act about edge computing:

  • Device evolution: Increased volumes will drive down unit costs, making IoT devices cheaper, more capable, and standardized. For example, programmable logic controllers (PLCs) are already becoming more intelligent, open standards-based, and much more cost-effective.
  • OT will evolve: The OT role will continue to evolve because IT departments are already stretched too thin, and the edge is simply not a top priority for them. OT will assume more responsibility for those technologies that are critical to them, such as edge computing.
  • Increasing machine-based automation: Emerging technologies such as real-time analytics and artificial intelligence will increase the criticality of edge data. Automation will become increasingly faster and much more capable, even surpassing the limits of human ability. For example, railways can now process edge data to support 300 km per hour travel safely.
  • New vendors and new business models: New technological solutions, such as AI, machine learning, and advanced analytics will continue to drive innovation, agility, and capital efficiency. Organizations must consider partnering with vendors, technology, and solutions that are best suited to their long-term strategies.

Clearly, operating at the edge will continue to require new ways of thinking and acting. These trends must be carefully evaluated by any organization deploying an edge computing strategy.

Today’s solutions fall short

There is widespread recognition that today’s edge-based systems need new enabling technologies to meet changing demands. However, the supply of such technologies lags behind the need.

There are computing/communications technologies available that address the industrial automation (IA) sector. However, they tend to focus on the needs that IA end user customers have had for decades, rather than on edge-specific pressures (such as the need to perform predictive maintenance or integrate with Big Data analytics) that are driving the IA field today. As such, they represent a suboptimal combination of capabilities and deficiencies.

Examples of these technologies include:

  • IA network computers from traditional data-center vendors, such as Dell’s Edge Gateways for IoT, can collect data from sensors or devices on the edge and send it to a data center or public cloud. They are less expensive than other classes of edge solutions, but do not scale up well (as opposed to scaling outward), and do not provide continuous availability or operational simplicity – both of which are essential on the edge.
  • Hyper-converged platforms, such as Hewlett Packard Enterprise’s Converged Edge Systems, integrate data capture, control, compute, and storage capabilities in a single hardware device. They emphasize operational simplicity and can perform real-time analytics at the edge, but at the sacrifice of continuous availability and affordability.
  • High-availability solutions, such as VMware’s vSphere, rely on virtualization to deliver higher levels of availability at acceptable cost, but sacrifice operational simplicity by requiring IT-level skill sets. Many also lack the computational strength and performance required for real-time data synthesis and analysis.

Clearly, the 30-year-old industrial control systems that are still the norm in many manufacturing and IA settings need a substantial upgrade to move toward the Industrial Internet of Things, pervasive clouds, and/or fog computing. However, a rip-and-replace approach will not work. The challenges facing these companies during their transition to the edge includes continuing to collect data from their legacy systems, extending the lifecycle of those systems where possible, and incrementally adding capabilities.

Moreover, not all companies need to move all the way along the continuum of the edge. Their business needs will dictate how much of an edge transformation they require. Yet in order for any organization to reap the maximum benefits that the evolving edge can deliver to its business, a new technology approach is needed.

The ideal solution

To overcome these shortcomings, an ideal solution would satisfy enterprise edge needs for reliable, scalable, high performance computing. Furthermore, it would deliver these near-term benefits, and meet current requirements, as well as accommodate an evolving edge infrastructure.

More specifically, the essential attributes for a move to the edge include:

  • Operational simplicity that provides low-touch to zero-touch operation, serviceability, and usability – all critical since IT resources are scarce at the edge or on the plant floor.
  • Uninterrupted production for no unplanned downtime, plus the assurance of data integrity, since newer edge applications either hold large volumes of data or stream data to remote locations (such as the cloud).
  • Virtualization and reliability capabilities that enable manufacturers and IA organizations to deploy highly available – yet highly efficient – business-critical systems and databases.
  • Interoperability designs that leverage current standards (e.g., operating systems) as well as emerging standards that will enable devices and systems to operate with each other.
  • Cyber security, including built-in protection of all components of the edge computing system, the data they handle, and their communications with each other and externally.

An example of edge-optimized architecture and delivery

Today, industry-leading technology vendors are delivering an innovative new edge infrastructure approach that incorporates all the attributes described above. More, this solution is comprehensive – a complete, turnkey compute platform that enables IA companies to update aging systems, virtualize industrial control applications, and increase operational efficiency.

This new edge approach consists of three essential elements:

  • A zero-touch computing platform: An automated, fully integrated, and self-protecting industrial computing platform that reduces the need for IT support while increasing operator efficiency and lowering downtime risk.
  • Software-defined edge infrastructure: A single interface to a full stack of essential applications, including virtualized compute, storage, and networking; cyber security; IoT gateways; VPNs; routers; analytics; and artificial intelligence.
  • A proactive managed service: A revolutionary approach to deploying, monitoring, and maintaining edge solutions and infrastructure. Unlike yesterday’s reactive service, such a proactively managed service can be easily overseen by OT professionals, executed by the system itself, and supported by a single, locally based service provider.

The combination of all three elements – a zero-touch computing platform, the software-defined edge infrastructure, and proactive managed service – creates a new infrastructure solution that is optimized for organizations at the edge.

Key advantages of the optimized solution are:

  • It is ideal for running business-critical industrial applications quickly and reliably in remote, locations with limited or no IT resources.
  • It increases operational efficiency with pre-installed virtualization software and intuitive, user-friendly configuration and management tools.
  • It is easy to deploy and can be installed quickly by users, reducing the time it takes to get critical applications up and running.
  • It reduces IT’s burden with self-monitoring and self-protecting capabilities that make it ideal for unmanned facilities.
  • It predictively prevents unplanned downtime, via redundant on-premise systems backed by a managed service cloud.
  • It supports multiple ecosystems – a wide range of architectures and applications, without modification.

Such a comprehensive edge platform satisfies the essential requirements of the today’s edge environment (see section “Today’s Solutions Fall Short”), including operational simplicity, virtualization, uninterrupted production, and interoperability.

About Stratus

Stratus takes the complexity out of keeping business critical applications running 24/7/365. Stratus’ technologies proactively prevent instances of unplanned downtime both in the data center and at the edge, and our services ensure any issues are addressed before customers need to. Global Fortune 500 companies and small medium sized businesses in a wide range of industries across the globe have been relying on Stratus for operationally simple, continuous availability for more than 35 years.

For more information, please visit www.stratus.com or follow on Twitter @StratusAlwaysOn.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top