案例研究

深圳市华星光电技术有限公司

领先的LDC面板制造商利用Stratus® everRun® Enterprise确保第8.5代生产线持续运行

深圳华星光电技术有限公司(简称“华星光电”)成立于2009年,是领先的TV面板供应商,TCL集团子公司,也是中国自主建设的最新一代薄膜晶体管液晶显示器(TFT-LCD)制造商之一。公司占地60万平方米的工厂是亚洲最大的单体工厂,已建成两条第8.5代55吋面板生产线,单机组产量和工效达到世界最高水平,连续14个季度超过全球同行。华星光电最近开始规划建设全球最大的第11代LCD面板加工厂,面向65吋及以上LCD TV市场生产超大高分辨率平板显示器。自成立以来,公司树立了良好的声誉,成为显示技术领域高度创新的全球领导者。

挑战

在LCD面板行业持续取得成功依靠两个关键因素:持续技术创新和高市场份额。为了达成这一目标,保持竞争力,华星光电一直在寻找降本增效解决方案,而首要工作是确保第8.5代TFT-LCD生产线以峰值效率全天候运行。利用先进的数据收集系统,华星光电的技术人员能够持续监控生产流程,迅速做出调整以确保高性能运行。但如果生产数据收集系统出现故障,华星光电会因为产量降低、质量问题、收入损失或声誉损失而产生巨大成本,作为一家市场领导企业,该公司显然不希望承受这种风险。

为了保持生产线持续运行,华星光电最初将多台服务器部署到一个网络,构建高可用性集群,为现有的计算环境实现双机冗余。采用这种方法,华星光电需要为每一台服务器购买软件许可证,创建并测试故障转移脚本,以便确保应用集群可用,这是一项复杂而耗时的任务,让IT人员承受了额外的工作压力。而且,由于即使最短暂的集群停机也会导致故障转移延迟和动态数据丢失,因此这种解决方案无法满足公司对不间断生产的严格要求。认识到这些不足,华星光电开始寻找高度可靠的持续可用性解决方案,为生产线系统的高效、持续运行提供支持。

解决方案

通过评估多个可用性解决方案,华星光电选择了Stratus everRun Enterprise,这款综合的高可用性和容错软件解决方案专为业务关键型虚拟化应用而设计。everRun是一款经济且高度通用的解决方案,其虚拟化平台通过配对受保护的虚拟机建立一个操作环境,将该公司现有的两台x86服务器连接起来。everRun可以复制包括内存数据在内的整个应用环境,从而确保华星光电的数据收集系统持续运行,不会出现中断或丢失数据。I/O自动映射到冗余服务器以确保最佳防护。

everRun并行处理华星光电的数据收集应用,以提供基于软件的容错功能。如果其中一台物理服务器出现故障,应用会在另一台服务器上继续运行,不会出现中断。如果硬件组件出现故障,everRun会将其替换为另一个系统中的完好组件,直到故障组件维修或更换完毕。检查点技术可以防止复制数据和动态数据丢失或损坏。

华星光电还要求系统的管理要简单、方便,everRun同样可以满足,利用综合可用性控制台,IT人员可以在一个Web界面设置、配置和管理整个环境,包括外部设备。

“Stratus everRun Enterprise让我们轻松满足了严格的可用性要求,保证先进的第8.5代TFT-LCD生产线持续运行。这一高度可靠的软件解决方案确保持续、稳定地收集关键生产数据,帮助我们最大程度提高生产效率,避免系统停机造成财务损失。”

成果

自2016年部署everRun以来,华星光电的生产数据收集系统持续保持可用,从未出现停机和数据丢失,其第8.5代生产线实现了高效、不间断运行。借助everRun,该公司能够迅速实施具备内置虚拟化功能的不间断平台,无需更改应用。此外,整个系统可以可靠而稳定地运行一年以上,无需重启。

借助everRun,华星光电可以确保应用持续运行,从而创造价值,避免原有集群解决方案的成本和复杂性。everRun不仅不需要编写自定义脚本,管理服务器连接和配置共享存储,还可以简化持续管理和维护。华星光电员工可以通过一个自定义控制台,轻松监控系统的性能和运行情况,并在执行维修计划期间对版本进行升级,无需停机。everRun支持行业标准的x86基础设施,并提供灵活的存储选项,这可以进一步降低总拥有成本。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Shenzhen China Star Optoelectronics Technology Co., Ltd

Leading LDC panel manufacturer ensures continuous operation of its Gen 8.5 production lines with Stratus® everRun® Enterprise

A leading TV panel supplier and a subsidiary of TCL Group, Shenzhen China Star Electronics Technology, Co., Ltd. (CSOT) first began production in 2009 as one of China’s independently-built, highest generation thin-film-transistor liquid crystal display (TFT-LCD) manufacturing facilities. The single largest plant in Asia, the company’s 600,000-square meter factory runs two Gen 8.5 lines capable of producing panels as large as 55 inches. These lines boast the highest single-unit productivity and efficiency in the world—outperforming global peers for 14 consecutive quarters. CSOT recently started planning and construction of the world’s largest Gen 11 LCD panel fabrication plant, which will produce extra-large high-resolution flat panel displays targeting 65″ and larger LCD TV markets. Since its establishment, the company has earned a strong reputation as a highly innovative global leader in display technology.

The challenge

Sustained success in the LCD panel industry hinges on two key factors: continuous technological innovation and high market share. To achieve these goals and stay competitive, CSOT is always looking for ways to reduce costs and enhance performance. This starts with making sure its Gen 8.5 TFT-LCD production lines are always running—24/7/365—at peak efficiency. Using an advanced data collection system, CSOT technicians are able to continually monitor manufacturing process and make immediate adjustments to maintain high-performance operations. Should the production data collection system go down, however, CSOT could suffer significant losses due to lower yields, quality issues, lost revenue, or reputation damage—a risk this market-leading manufacturer was simply unwilling to take.

To realize continuous operation of its production lines, CSOT first tried adding dual-unit redundancy to its existing computing environment through high availability clusters that joined multiple servers in a single network. This approach required CSOT to license software for each server and to create and test failover scripts to make its applications cluster aware— a complex and time-consuming task that placed additional burden on IT staff. Furthermore, because even the briefest cluster downtime results in a failover delay and loss of in-flight data, this solution did not meet the company’s stringent requirements for always-on manufacturing. Recognizing these shortcomings, CSOT set out to find a highly reliable continuous availability solution to support efficient, ongoing operation of its production line system.

The solution

After evaluating alternative availability solutions, CSOT selected the Stratus everRun Enterprise, a comprehensive high availability and fault-tolerant software solution designed for business-critical virtualized applications. A highly versatile, yet affordable solution, everRun links together two of the company’s existing x86 servers in a virtualization platform that pairs protected virtual machines to create a single operating environment. everRun replicates the entire application environment, including data in memory, to ensure that CSOT’s data collection system continues to run without interruption or data loss. I/O is automatically mirrored to the redundant server for optimal protection.

With everRun, CSOT’s data collection applications are being processed in parallel to deliver software-based fault-tolerance. In the event that one of the physical servers should fail, the applications continue to run on the other server without missing a beat. If something goes wrong with a hardware component, everRun simply substitutes the healthy component from the second system until the failed component is repaired or replaced. Checkpointing protects both replicated and in-flight data against loss or corruption.

everRun also meets CSOT’s requirements for easy, convenient system management. A comprehensive availability console enables IT staff to set up, configure, and manage the entire environment, including external devices, from a single web-based interface.

“Stratus everRun Enterprise simplifies the process of meeting our stringent availability requirements for continuous operation of our state-of-the art Gen 8.5 TFT-LCD production lines. This highly reliable, software-based solution ensures that critical production data can be collected in a continuously stable manner, helping us maximize manufacturing productivity and avoid the financial losses that can result from system downtime.”

The results

Since deploying everRun in 2016, CSOT’s manufacturing data collection applications have been continuously available—with zero downtime and zero data loss—resulting in highly efficient, uninterrupted operation of its Gen 8.5 production lines. Thanks to everRun, the company was able to quickly implement an always-on platform with built-in virtualization and no application modifications. In addition, the entire system can operate— reliably and stably—for more than a year without requiring reboot.

everRun is enabling CSOT to realize the value of continuously available applications without the cost and complexity of its previous clustering solution. everRun not only eliminates the need to write custom scripts, manage server connectivity, and configure shared storage, but it also simplifies ongoing management and maintenance. A single, customizable console makes it easy for CSOT staff to monitor the performance and health of the system, and version upgrades can take place during scheduled maintenance periods with no shutdown required. everRun’s support for an industry-standard x86-based infrastructure and flexible storage options further reduce total cost of ownership.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top