案例研究

中国移动云南数据中心

Stratus everRun ,为世界最大的移动运营商的关键业务系统提供高可用性和冗余。

中国移动有限公司是世界上最大的电信供应商,按市值和用户数量计算,截至2020年9月,拥有超过9.46亿用户。它是一家国有企业,由中国政府控制,并在纽约证券交易所和香港证券交易所上市。该公司向中国大陆和香港地区的客户提供有线语音、宽带、漫游和其他相关服务。中国移动在世界各地运营数据中心,包括新加坡和伦敦,以及中国境内的多个站点。

设备必须100%避免温度变化

在中国移动云南数据中心,中国移动面临着管理能源消耗和密切调节关键任务的服务器和网络设备所发出的热量的挑战。该公司依靠江森自控的MetaSys中央监控系统,通过水冷装置控制温度,该装置在夏季高温时运行。在冬季,该系统转向板式热交换器,在温暖的计算机房和自然凉爽的室外之间交换热量,这也有效地减少了能源消耗。

由于互联网数据中心业务对中国移动数据中心至关重要,确保江森自控MetaSys中央监控系统的安全可靠运行成为中国移动数据中心运维人员的首要任务。随着数据中心对系统服务的依赖程度越来越高,对数据中心的系统运维能力的要求也随之提高。

 由于该行业数据的实时性,即使是短暂的系统中断也会导致许多小时的人力来监控水冷装置;如果温度过高,可能会使整个计算机房完全瘫痪。作为回应,中国移动团队评估了具有以下要求的高可用性软件。

  • 连续运行,解决单点故障的问题
  • 高效和快速的操作和部署
  • 简单方便的操作和维护管理
  • 满足数据中心对高可用性系统的要求
  • 满足业务需求,优化资源利用
  • 持续的应用可用性
  • 消除停机时间并从虚拟化中获得更多好处

Stratus'everRun 提供持续的可用性和内置冗余

中国移动团队选择了Stratus'everRun 容错软件,以最大限度地减少停机时间,保持Windows和Linux应用程序持续运行,确保业务连续性和数据完整性,实现类似大型机的可用性。它可以确保在运行过程中不会出现业务中断或数据丢失,并提供集成的灾难恢复能力。

Stratus everRun 安装在两个行业标准的服务器上,不需要专门的IT人员。它不需要修改应用程序,在虚拟和云环境中运行,以保护虚拟机、应用程序和数据。每台服务器,一个在用,一个备用,运行一个虚拟机,通过心跳线监控两台服务器的健康状况。如果一个服务器出现故障,它就会启动一个备用的虚拟机。Stratus everRun 软件确保约翰逊的MetaSys系统实现真正的连续可用性。

结果

使用容错的Stratus everRun 软件,中国移动以较低的总拥有成本实现了其核心数据中心的连续可用性。该团队通过简单的监控和管理节省了工时。除了日常维护和系统部署,它实现了零停机时间,以提供完全连接的楼宇自动化。

使用容错的Stratus everRun 软件,中国移动以较低的总拥有成本实现了其核心数据中心的连续可用性。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

China Mobile Yunnan Data Center

Stratus everRun provides high availability and redundancy for business critical systems at world’s largest mobile operator

China Mobile Ltd. is the world’s largest telecommunications provider, both by market capitalization and number of subscribers, with more than 946 million customers as of September 2020. It is a state-owned enterprise, controlled by the Chinese government, and is listed on the NYSE and Hong Kong stock exchanges. The company offers wireline voice, broadband, roaming, and other related services to customers throughout the mainland of China and in Hong Kong. China Mobile operates data centers around the world, including Singapore and London, as well as multiple sites within China.

Equipment must be 100% protected from temperature changes

At its China Mobile Yunnan Data Center, China Mobile faces the challenge of managing energy consumption and closely regulating heat emitted by mission-critical servers and network equipment. The company relies on Johnson Controls’ MetaSys central monitoring system to control temperature through the water cooling unit which is run during the summer heat. In winter, the system turns to a plate heat exchanger to exchange heat between the warm computer room and the naturally cooler outdoors, which also effectively reduces energy consumption.

Because the Internet Data Center business is critical to the China Mobile Data Center, it became the top priority of the China Mobile Data Center operation and maintenance staff to ensure the safe and reliable operation of Johnson Controls’ MetaSys central monitoring system. Requirements on the system operation and maintenance capabilities of the Data Center also increased in step with the increasing dependence of the Data Center on system services.

 Because of the real-time nature of data in the industry, even short system interruptions resulted in many hours of manpower to monitor the water cooling unit; if the temperature got too high, it could completely paralyze the entire computer room. In response, the China Mobile team evaluated high-availability software with the following requirements:

  • Continuous operation to solve the problem of a single point of failure
  • Efficient and fast operation and deployment
  • Simple and convenient operation and maintenance management
  • Meeting the Data Center’s requirement for high availability systems
  • Meeting business needs and optimizing resource utilization
  • Continuous application availability
  • Eliminating downtime and benefiting more from virtualization

Stratus’ everRun provides continuous availability and built-in redundancy

The China Mobile team selected Stratus’ everRun fault-tolerance software to minimize downtime and keep Windows and Linux applications running continuously to ensure business continuity and data integrity and achieve mainframe-like availability. It can ensure that there is no business interruption or data loss during operation and provide integrated disaster recovery capabilities.

Stratus everRun was installed on two industry-standard servers without the need for specialized IT staff. It required no application modification and runs in virtual and cloud environments to protect virtual machines, applications, and data. Each server, one active and one standby, runs a virtual machine which monitors the health of the two servers via a heartbeat line. If one server fails, it starts a standby virtual machine. The Stratus everRun software ensures that Johnson’s MetaSys system achieves true continuous availability.

Results

Using fault-tolerant Stratus everRun software, China Mobile achieved continuous availability for its core data center at a low total cost of ownership. The team saves man hours through easy monitoring and management. It achieves zero downtime, except for routine maintenance and system deployment, to provide fully connected building automation.

Using fault-tolerant Stratus everRun software, China Mobile achieved continuous availability for its core data center at a low total cost of ownership.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top