案例研究

蝵蝏

边缘 中游石油和天然气的计算

Stratus 边缘 计算如何在Petra Srl公司利用Loginet的下一代终端自动化解决方案消除停机时间并实现整个仓库的可视性。

面临的挑战

  • 码头操作自动化,以提高准确性,确保安全,最大限度地提高安全,并获得处理13条油轮通道的效率。
  • 管理35个石油产品储存罐,每天运送约5000吨产品,自2021年初以来运送的产品超过130万吨。
  • 提高自动化程度,以提高准确性、安全性和库房效率,并降低成本
  • 用于分析、警报和改进的操作可视性

解决方案

  • Loginet Nuovo加油站自动化系统
  • Loginet IBIS LT2徽章阅读器
  • Loginet GraL终端
  • Stratus ztC 边缘 在成对的容错配置中

带来的优势

  • 灌装时间从30分钟缩短到20分钟
  • 将实时操作与ERP和海关报告联系起来
  • 通过统一系统和确保用边缘 计算进行数据采集,实现了整个仓库的运营可视性。
  • 使用Stratus 边缘 计算平台的终端自动化系统10年零非计划停机时间

意大利最大的石油服务公司之一,Petra Srl,拥有并经营着该国最大的油库之一,每天处理数百万升的石油和汽油,并装载数百辆卡车。为了实现油库操作的效率和准确性,Petra运行Nuovo Petrol,这是Loginet公司的下一代终端自动化解决方案,Loginet是一家位于意大利米兰的系统集成商,在设计和实施处理石油产品分销的复杂工业自动化系统方面拥有25年的专业经验。

Stratus 边缘 计算使Loginet能够提供一个全面的终端自动化解决方案,使仓库操作自动化,将交易数据连接到ERP系统,管理运输请求,并跟踪海关信息,所有这些都在一个由容错支持的单一计算平台上运行。通过Loginet解决方案和Stratus 边缘 Computing,Petra实现了人工流程的自动化,并整合了不同的终端系统,以减少风险,实现实时数据,并集中管理运营的可见性。因此,该公司将仓库的装载时间减少了33%,将三十(30)分钟的流程减少到二十(20)分钟,并在使用Stratus 边缘 Computing的十年中经历了零停机时间。

使用Loginet Nuovo Petrol的先进终端自动化和物流

10多年来,Petra一直依靠Loginet的旗舰终端自动化平台Nuovo Petrol来简化和自动化仓库操作。Nuovo Petrol解决方案控制和监测所有的终端程序和过程--从访问控制和称重站到货位的交付和文件的发放。该解决方案结合了一系列的硬件设备,如摄像头、读卡器、称重站、仪表和流量计算机,以及高度定制的软件,以优化整个多英亩园区的人员、车辆、设备和石油产品。

为了提供最高水平的可靠性,Loginet将其应用程序运行在Stratus ztC 边缘 计算平台上运行,以确保Petra的关键流程的数据采集和处理。

在部署Nuovo Petrol解决方案之前,Petra依靠一些容易出现人为错误的手工流程。卡车进入、装载、处理和离开码头的顺序由几个互不相干的流程组成,妨碍了效率和对整个码头运作的可视性。

实施后,Petra能够通过Nuovo Petrol软件实现流程自动化,利用智能联网设备,从视频终端到打印机和设备阀门,协调和控制整个仓库的活动。软件监督的具体流程包括货物预订、进入/离开控制、呼叫装载、过道装载管理和重量控制,并运行基本逻辑以验证各种操作、记录和报告的顺序是否正确。如果发现差异或失误,系统会向操作员发出相关警报。终端操作的所有数据都与Petra的CRM服务器联系在一起,即时生成所有必要的财务和旅行安全文件,以满足法律要求和合规。

码头自动化软件、订单和海关合并上Stratus ztC 边缘

为了确保复杂的终端自动化系统的可靠性,Loginet在计算平台上运行Nuovo Petrol的解决方案。Stratus ztC 边缘 计算平台上运行Nuovo Petrol解决方案,以实现容错的成对配置。该 ztC 边缘 是一个安全、坚固、高度自动化的紧凑型服务器,提供内置的虚拟化、简化的安全性、OT可管理性、自动化保护和易于现场维修的功能。此外,它是专门建造的,非常适合于坚固的环境,具有UL Class 1 Div 2认证和IP40等级。

Loginet利用了 ztC 边缘的内置虚拟化技术,在单个单元中有效地运行多个软件应用程序,并有容错功能支持。

"对于Petra的安装,我们将Stratus 服务器配置为多个虚拟机运行,"Loginet的首席执行官Leonardo D'Alimonte解释说。"首先,我们设置了一个虚拟机来运行微软的Windows服务器,并配置了所有必要的软件,使Petra能够运行主要的Nuovo Petrol应用程序。然后,我们能够部署一个Petra工作门户,供他们提交发货请求。最后,我们有一个Windows服务器托管一个实时网络服务,在司机离开仓库之前,生成所有需要的官方文件"。

终端操作的实时可视性和无停工期

Loginet的Nuovo Petrol解决方案统一了系统,实现了整个车厂的数据收集。来自徽章阅读器以及现场仪器的数据被发送到Nuovo Petrol上。Stratus ztC 边缘.边缘 平台还接收来自13条油罐车道的60个电子计算头的数据。因此,Petra能够用从Nuovo Petrol数据库获得的数据操作仪表盘,以产生分析图和统计数据。这些数据也被展示出来,为油库管理部门提供业务可视性。其结果是在控制中心对油库内部发生的事情进行实时的全景观察。通过显示器,操作员可以控制和监督从交付到出口和入口门的所有操作。

Loginet公司的自动化工程师Gianluigi Campisano解释说:"操作员能够看到一个装货台的工作情况,分析每一次输送的持续时间,一个泵是否正常工作,或者一个阀门是否及时关闭,或者一个温度探头是否测量正确的数值。因此,通过获取这些数据,我们可以管理和分析这些数据。"

"有了这个新系统,他们能够大大减少人为错误--并创造一个更安全的环境,不容易发生事故或计划外的操作,因为系统本身一步一步地控制程序。"

佩特拉的精简仓库

作为Nuovo Petrol终端自动化平台的长期用户,Petra公司极大地提高了其终端的吞吐量。D'Alimonte说:"在实施之前,当Petra在其终端依赖人工流程时,一辆车从进入到离开完成其装载过程需要30分钟,"。"现在,同样的过程平均约为20分钟。这不仅使他们能够装载更多的卡车,而且还确保了一个没有错误的证明过程。"

更重要的是,该Stratus ztC 边缘 平台提供了下一代的正常运行时间和可用性。Loginet自动化工程师Gianluigi Campisano说:"10多年来,Petra没有发生过计划外的中断,"。"以Stratus 为基础,他们从未经历过任何业务中断。当我们的客户需要这种极端水平的可靠性时,我们将继续依靠Stratus 进行连续计算。"

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Loginet

Edge Computing in Midstream Oil & Gas

How Stratus Edge Computing eliminated downtime and enabled depot-wide visibility with Loginet’s Next-Gen Terminal Automation Solution at Petra Srl

Challenges

  • Automate terminal operations to improve accuracy, ensure security, maximize safety, and gain efficiency processing 13 tanker lanes
  • Manage 35 tanks for oil-product storage, with approximately 5,000 tons of product shipped daily and more than 1.3 million tons of product shipped since the beginning of 2021
  • Increase automation to improve accuracy, safety and depot efficiency, and reduce cost
  • Operational visibility for analysis, alerting, and improvement

Solution

  • Loginet Nuovo Petrol Terminal Automation System
  • Loginet IBIS LT2 Badge Reader
  • Loginet GraL Terminal
  • Stratus ztC Edge in paired fault tolerant configuration

Benefits

  • Reduced filling time from 30 minutes to 20 minutes
  • Connected real-time operations to ERP and customs reporting
  • Enabled depot-wide visibility into operations by unifying systems and ensuring data capture with Edge Computing
  • Zero unplanned downtime terminal automation system for 10 years using Stratus Edge Computing platforms

One of Italy’s largest petroleum services companies, Petra Srl, owns and operates one of the country’s largest oil depots, handling millions of liters of oil and gasoline and loading hundreds of trucks each day. To enable efficiency and accuracy for depot operations, Petra runs Nuovo Petrol, a next-generation terminal automation solution from Loginet, a Milan, Italy-based system integrator with 25 years of expertise in the design and implementation of sophisticated industrial automation systems for handling distribution of petroleum products.

Stratus Edge Computing enables Loginet to deliver a comprehensive terminal automation solution that automates depot operations, connects transaction data to ERP systems, manages shipping requests, and tracks customs information, all running on a single compute platform backed by fault tolerance. Through the Loginet solution with Stratus Edge Computing, Petra has automated manual processes and integrated disparate terminal systems to reduce risk, enable real-time data, and centralize visibility on operations. As a result, the company reduced depot load times by 33%, reducing the thirty (30) minutes process to twenty (20) minutes, and experienced zero downtime in a decade using Stratus Edge Computing.

Advanced Terminal Automation and Logistics with Loginet Nuovo Petrol

For more than 10 years, Petra has relied on Nuovo Petrol, Loginet’s flagship terminal automation platform, to streamline and automate depot operations. The Nuovo Petrol solution controls and monitors all terminal procedures and processes – from access control and weigh stations to deliveries in the bays, and paperwork issuances. The solution combines a range of hardware devices such as cameras, badge readers, weigh stations, meters, and flow computers, along with highly customized software to optimize people, vehicles, equipment, and petroleum products across the multi-acre campus.

To deliver the highest level of reliability, Loginet runs its application on the Stratus ztC Edge Computing platform to ensure data capture and processing for Petra’s critical processes.

Prior to deploying the Nuovo Petrol solution, Petra relied on a number of manual processes that were prone to human error. The sequence for trucks to enter, load, process, and exit the terminals consisted of several disconnected processes that prevented efficiency and visibility into overall terminal operations.

Following implementation, Petra was able to automate processes through the Nuovo Petrol software to coordinate and control the activities across the depot using intelligent networked devices, from video terminals to printers and equipment valves. Specific processes that software supervises include load reservations, entry/exit control, call-to-load, management of aisle load, and weight control, and runs underlying logic to verify the correctness of the sequences of various operations, records, and reports. If discrepancies or lapses are detected, the system issues related alarms to operators. All data from terminal operations are tied into Petra’s CRM server to instantly generate all necessary financial and travel-safety documents to meet legal requirements and compliance.

Terminal Automation Software, Orders, and Customs Combined on Stratus ztC Edge

To ensure reliability for the complex terminal automation system, Loginet runs the Nuovo Petrol solution on the Stratus ztC Edge compute platform in a paired configuration for fault tolerance. The ztC Edge is a secure, rugged, and highly automated compact server that offers built-in virtualization, simplified security, OT manageability, automated protection, and easy field serviceability. In addition, it is purpose built and ideally suited for rugged environments with a UL Class 1 Div 2 certification and IP40 rating.

Loginet utilizes ztC Edge’s built-in virtualization to efficiently run multiple software applications in a single unit backed by fault tolerance.

“For Petra’s installation, we configured the Stratus server to run with multiple virtual machines,” explained Leonardo D’Alimonte, CEO at Loginet. “First, we set up a virtual machine to run a Microsoft Windows server and configured it with all the software necessary to enable Petra to run the main Nuovo Petrol application. Then we were able to deploy a Petra work portal for them to submit shipment requests. And finally, we have a Windows server hosting a real-time web service to generate all the official documents that are needed before drivers even exit the depot.”

Realtime Visibility on Terminal Operations and No Downtime

Loginet’s Nuovo Petrol solution unified systems to enable data collection across the depot. Data from badge readers as well as field instrumentation is sent to Nuovo Petrol on the Stratus ztC Edge. The edge platform also receives data from 60 electronic computing heads across the 13 tanker lanes. As a result, Petra is able to operate a dashboard with data acquired from the Nuovo Petrol database to produce analytical diagrams and statistics. The data is also presented to provide operational visibility for depot administration. The result is a real-time panoramic view from the control center of what’s going on inside the depots. From a monitor, operators can control and supervise all the operations from deliveries to the exit and entrance gate.

Gianluigi Campisano, Automation Engineer at Loginet explains, “Operators are able to see how a loading bay is working, analyzing the duration of each delivery, if a pump is working correctly, or if a valve is closing in time, or if a temperature probe is measuring the right values. So, by acquiring this data we can manage and analyze this data.”

“With this new system, they are able to significantly reduce human error – and create a safer environment less prone to accident or unplanned operation because the system itself controls procedures step by step.”

Petra’s Streamlined Depot

As a long-term user of the Nuovo Petrol terminal automation platform, Petra has dramatically improved throughput in its terminals. “Before implementation, when Petra relied on manual processes in its terminal, it took up to 30 minutes for a vehicle to complete its loading process from entry to exit,” said D’Alimonte. “Now, that same process averages about 20 minutes. That not only enables them to load more trucks, but also ensures an error free proven process.”

What’s more, the Stratus ztC Edge platform provides the next generation in uptime and availability. “Petra hasn’t had an unplanned outage in more than 10 years,” said Gianluigi Campisano, automation engineer at Loginet. “They’ve never experienced any business disruption with Stratus as their foundation. When our customers need that extreme level of reliability, we will continue to rely on Stratus for continuous computing.”

Related Assets

Scroll to Top