案例研究

纬纶科技

Stratus Edge Computing 平台使粉末加工解决方案供应商能够增强运营的可视性并提高业务连续性

目标

  • 启用边缘服务器的高可用性,比起简单的冷备份是一种升级
  • 消除计划外的停机时间,提高业务连续性
  • 作为数字化转型的一部分,提高装配线操作的可见性

面临的挑战

  • 缺少合适的计算平台会增加意外停机的风险
  • 需要高性能的解决方案来监测和控制工厂车间的机器
  • 没有专门的人力来维护和设置边缘服务器

结果

  • 使用Stratus ztC™ Edge服务器,为粉末加工机器的制造操作提供高可用性
  • 使得公司能够更加专注于在一个可信赖的平台上构建应用程序
  • 通过易于维护的Stratus 服务器,取消了对现场专门IT人员的要求。

总部设在瑞士的粉末加工解决方案供应商在制造机器方面有着悠久的历史,这些机器被制药和食品及饮料公司用来混合、搅拌和输送精细粉末状产品。其亚太业务为该地区的客户提供服务,利用该公司著名的粉末加工技术。

例如,食品和饮料公司依靠该公司的机器来生产咖啡粉。此外,还有为制药客户提供的机器,帮助他们满足清洗和加工产品的严格要求。

数字化未来的高可用性

为了确保其业务运行不受阻碍,这家粉末加工技术公司知道它必须寻求一个替代现有解决方案的方案,因为该方案无法实现其业务连续性目标。

它只依靠一个在普通工作站上运行的冷备份,以在发生中断的情况下保持公司的运作。它知道,这还不够。

备份必须手动进行,而且同步并不总是防错的。更重要的是,如果生产系统出了问题,快照可能并不总是能够完全或快速恢复。

该公司知道,对于用于制造其客户信任的粉末加工机器的关键任务设备来说,高可用性是必须的。非计划的停机会带来收入损失的风险。它还需要不成比例的资源来重新启动和运行。

找到一个易于部署的解决方案

粉末加工供应商起初试图建立一个温暖的备份系统。然而,这并没有解决业务连续性的挑战。该公司仍然需要一种方法,以便在发生计划外的中断时迅速恢复数据。

其技术合作伙伴Winsys Technology提出了一个建立在Stratus ztC Edge 服务器上的高可用性系统。通过把它放在其运营的一个重要部分--控制和监测制造过程的网络边缘--该粉末加工供应商能够更好地了解实时情况。

有了这个,工作人员可以远程监控机器,而不必实际踏入工厂车间。它可以更主动地管理制造机器的任何突发问题。

"作为一个系统集成商,我们为客户提供了一个完整的可用性解决方案,在基础设施方面减少了工作量和复杂性,这样我们就可以专注于设计和编程应用程序。对于我们的客户来说,该系统让他们更加放心,这样他们就可以专注于制造机器的性能,提供更好的客户体验。"
Eugene Yeo
业务发展总监
Winsys Technology

利用Stratus ztC Edge 服务器为未来打下基础

决定的关键是坚固的Stratus 设计,使ztC Edge 服务器为工业用途而建。它提供的高可用性至关重要,因为所有写入磁盘的数据都是自动镜像的。

基于英特尔的ztC Edge 平台也提供了高性能。一台设备使该粉末加工供应商能够在其所在地监测和控制其生产机器,并发地运行多个工作负载。这是因为ztC Edge 服务器带有内置的虚拟化功能,使客户能够将多个应用程序整合到一个平台上。这意味着降低了成本,提高了敏捷性。

快速部署和易于维护

同时,ztC Edge 服务器还具有Stratus 闻名的易于安装和维护的特点。凭借坚固的热插拔节点和自动数据保护及本地站点恢复,它有助于降低公司IT基础设施的复杂性。

对于像Winsys这样有整合IT和运营技术(OT)经验的系统集成商来说,ztC Edge 服务器很快就显示出其易用性。

"我们喜欢它,一个虚拟机可以很容易地复制到另一台ztC Edge 服务器,这帮助我们减少了安装所需的时间。我们可以把资源和服务集中在客户的操作要求和新机会上,同时减少响应客户服务或维护电话的时间"。
王磊
技术总监
南联科技
Winsys架构图

它可以很容易地远程准备一个虚拟机(VM),并让它复制到另一台ztC Edge ,这在基本安装方面节省了很多时间。每安装一台机器,它可以节省一天的人力。

这对该粉末加工供应商来说是一个关键的好处,因为该公司没有一个全职的IT团队来照顾Edge Computing 单位。此外,由于ztC Edge 服务器易于使用,该公司可以减少对基础设施的关注,更多地关注其应用。该公司设备的这种现代化也为他们的关键基础设施提供了保障,使他们能够集中精力改进他们的解决方案,并在长期内更加关注他们的客户。

结论

Stratus ztC Edge 服务器帮助该粉末加工供应商减少了计划外的停机时间,从而提高了其生产线的可靠性和生产力。这在使其能够开拓进取并与自己的客户建立信任方面至关重要。

ztC Edge 服务器的易用性也意味着不需要雇用一个专门的IT团队一直在现场。由于易于维护和操作,该系统使该公司能够专注于其核心业务。

"在这个复杂的自动化和IIoT场景中,Stratus ,使容错解决方案易于设置和维护,并降低总拥有成本。当任何客户需要容错服务器解决方案时,他们是我们的首选解决方案。因此,我们很荣幸能成为Stratus'的新加坡总经销商,为系统集成商和终端客户提供服务。"
Zen Tan
解决方案销售经理
HoST Pte Ltd

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Winsys

Stratus Edge Computing Platform Enables Powder Processing Solutions Provider to Enhance Visibility of Operations and Improve Business Continuity

Goal

  • Enable high availability of edge server, an upgrade over a simple cold backup
  • Eliminate unplanned downtime to improve business continuity
  • Improve visibility into assembly line operations as part of digital transformation

Challenges

  • Lack of suitable computing platform raises risk of unplanned downtime
  • Need for high-performance solution that monitors and controls machines on the factory floor
  • No dedicated manpower for maintenance and setup for edge server

Results

  • Used Stratus ztC™ Edge server to provide high availability in manufacturing operations of powder processing machines
  • Enabled company to focus more on building apps on a trusted platform
  • Removed requirement for dedicated IT staff onsite with easy-to-maintain Stratus server

Based in Switzerland, the powder processing solutions provider has a long history of manufacturing machines that are used by pharmaceutical and food and beverage companies to blend, mix and convey fine powdery products. Its Asia-Pacific operations serve customers from the region, leveraging the powder processing technology that the company is renowned for.

Food and beverage companies rely on the company’s machines to produce coffee powder, for example. Also available are machines for pharmaceutical customers, which help them meet stringent requirements in cleaning and processing their products.

High Availability for the Digital Future

To ensure that its operations run unhindered, the powder processing technology company knew it had to seek a replacement for its existing solution, which could not fulfill its business continuity goals.

It had relied only on a cold backup, running on a regular workstation, to keep the operations at the company going should a disruption occur. This, it knew, was not enough.

The backup had to be carried out manually and synchronizations were not always error-proof. More importantly, the snapshots may not always work for a full or fast recovery should things in the production system go wrong.

The company knew that high availability was a must for the mission-critical equipment used to manufacture the powder processing machines that its customers trust. Unplanned downtime poses the risk of lost revenue. It also requires a disproportionate amount of resources to get things up and running again.

Finding a Solution That Was Easy to Deploy

The powder processing provider at first sought to set up a warm backup system. However, this did not solve the challenge of business continuity. The company still required a way to quickly recover the data should an unplanned disruption occur.

Its technology partner, Winsys Technology, proposed a high-availability system built on the Stratus ztC Edge server. By placing it at an important part of its operations — at the edge of the network controlling and monitoring the manufacturing process — the powder processing provider was able to gain an improved understanding of the real-time situation.

With this, the staff could remotely monitor the machines without actually stepping onto the factory floor. It could be more proactive in managing any emergent issue with a manufacturing machine.

“As a system integrator, we provided a complete availability solution to our client that came with less effort and complexity in the infrastructure, so that we could focus on designing and programming the applications. For our client, the system gave them added peace of mind so that they could focus on the performance of the manufacturing machines and deliver better customer experiences.”
Eugene Yeo
Director, Business Development
Winsys Technology

Building a Foundation for the Future With the Stratus ztC Edge Server

Key to the decision was the ruggedized Stratus design that makes the ztC Edge server built for industrial use. The high availability it offers is critical, because all data written to disk is mirrored automatically.

The Intel-based ztC Edge platform also delivered high performance. A single unit enabled the powder processing provider to monitor and control its manufacturing machines at its premises, running multiple workloads concurrently. This is because the ztC Edge server comes with built-in virtualization to allow customers to consolidate multiple applications onto a single platform. This means reducing cost and boosting agility.

Fast Deployment and Ease of Maintenance

At the same time, the ztC Edge server comes with the ease of installation and maintenance that Stratus is renown for. With rugged hot-swappable nodes and automated data protection and local site recovery, it helps reduce the complexity of a company’s IT infrastructure.

For a systems integrator such as Winsys, which has experience integrating IT and operational technology (OT), the ztC Edge server demonstrated its ease of use quickly.

“We like it that a VM could be easily duplicated to another ztC Edge server, which helped us to reduce the time needed for installation. We can focus our resources and services on the operational requirements and new opportunities for the customer, while reducing time spent responding to customer service or maintenance calls.”
Wang Lei
Technical Director
Winsys Technology
Winsys Architecture Diagram

It could easily prepare a virtual machine (VM) remotely and have it duplicated on another ztC Edge machine, which saves it a lot of time in terms of the basic installation. For each machine installed, it could save a day of manpower.

This was a key benefit for the powder processing provider, as the company did not have a full-time IT team to take care of the Edge Computing unit. In Addition, with the ztC Edge server’s ease of use, the company could focus less on the infrastructure and more on its applications. This modernization of the company’s equipment also provides peace of mind for their critical infrastructure, allowing them to concentrate on improving their solutions and focusing more on their customers in the long term.

Conclusion

The Stratus ztC Edge server has helped the powder processing provider to reduce unplanned downtime, thus improving the reliability and productivity of its production line. This has been critical in enabling it to forge ahead and build trust with its own customers.

The ease of use of the ztC Edge server also means that there is no need to hire a dedicated IT team to be on-station all the time. By being easy to maintain and operate, the system has enabled the company to focus on its core business.

“In this complex automation and IIoT scene, Stratus makes fault-tolerant solutions easy to set up and maintain with lower total cost of ownership. They are our go-to solution when any customer requires a fault-tolerant server solution. As such, we are proud to be Stratus’s master distributor in Singapore serving system integrators and end customers.”
Zen Tan
Solution Sales Manager
HoST Pte Ltd

Related Assets

Scroll to Top