案例研究

阿莱维恩斯

Edge Computing 在海运业

Alewijnse如何为关键的船舶系统和减少计算足迹开发出海运业第一个面向未来的数字化平台 75%。

目标

  • 启用边缘服务器的高可用性,比起简单的冷备份是一种升级
  • 消除计划外的停机时间,提高业务连续性
  • 作为数字化转型的一部分,提高装配线操作的可见性

面临的挑战

  • 缺少合适的计算平台会增加意外停机的风险
  • 需要高性能的解决方案来监测和控制工厂车间的机器
  • 没有专门的人力来维护和设置边缘服务器

结果

  • 使用Stratus ztC™ Edge服务器,为粉末加工机器的制造操作提供高可用性
  • 使得公司能够更加专注于在一个可信赖的平台上构建应用程序
  • 通过易于维护的Stratus 服务器,取消了对现场专门IT人员的要求。

总部位于荷兰的Alewijnse拥有130年的历史,是全球领先的船舶技术公司,为游艇、海军和政府机构以及疏浚、近海和运输提供关键的船舶系统。该公司设计、提供和整合船上电气系统、自动化系统和先进的船舶电子设备。

利用Stratus Edge Computing ,该公司推出了AlViVi,这是海运业第一个面向未来的数字化平台,用于控制关键船舶系统的舰桥。该平台依靠应用虚拟化来大幅降低IT需求,并实现全船信息的可视化。总的来说,AlViVi将船上的计算足迹减少了75%,将客户的IT维护成本降低了50%。

"大多数计算机设备需要每四年更换一次。如果你在舰桥和船上的不同位置有二十台电脑,这是一项经常性的、耗时的投资。相比之下,有了AlViVi和Stratus Edge Computing ,需要更换的硬件就少了很多。它们都在一个地方,平台本身每八年才需要更换一次。"
Johan van Rikxoort
产品经理
Alewijnse

创新AlViVi数字化平台

为了给客户带来创新,Alewijnse寻求解决海运业最大的挑战之一--简化在有限的空间内操作多个关键船舶系统所需的IT架构。Alewijnse没有为推进、能源、导航、通信、电气、安全等每个控制系统部署和管理分散在船上的单独IT架构,而是转向Stratus Edge Computing ,以整合计算和软件,并集中计算自动化和控制。

该公司开发的AlViVi(Alewijnse虚拟化和可视化)是一个突破性的数字化平台,使用Stratus ftServer ,以整合与流程相关的系统。创新的AlViVi平台--也是海运业的第一个平台--作为一个中央枢纽来整合和控制船舶系统,并使用罗克韦尔自动化的ThinManager®将信息分发到网络屏幕上,以便在船上任何地方进行可视化。随着应用程序在Stratus Edge Computing 平台上的虚拟化,AlViVi与软件无关,能够运行任何应用程序,无论是在疏浚控制、气象监测、推进或电力和公用事业方面。

关键控制系统的正常运行时间的可靠性

对于关键的船舶系统来说,Stratus 平台提供最高水平的应用可用性和可靠性是至关重要的,该团队将计算冗余纳入其中,实现了99.999%以上的可用性。

"我们选择Stratus ,是因为它的技术,特别是,硬件的冗余性。我们使用Stratus ftServer® 4900,这是一个完全集成的平台,部署简单,管理简单,服务简单,不需要IT技能。此外,它比多个服务器更具成本效益。Alewijnse Dredging & Offshore的产品经理Johan van Rikxoort说:"核心是用Stratus ,。

"现在,我们也在从系统本身检索更多的数据,并在SCADA上将其可视化。例如,不同处理器的故障数是多少?服务器的健康状态如何?我们的客户现在有一个所有关键系统的视图,他们可以在船上任何地方分享。这种可视性和对信息的访问使船舶运营的快速反应和更好的决策成为可能"。

减少75%的IT足迹

通过AlViVi平台,Alewijnse将多个船舶系统整合到一个Stratus ftServer 4900,作为船舶的服务器。其结果是将二十(20)台单独的PC整合到一个计算平台上,从而释放了宝贵的物理空间。

据Rikxoort说:"在我们替换的系统中,以前有多台计算机和服务器执行不同的功能,它们分散在船上。有了Stratus ,硬件都在一个地方了。我们新的基于Stratus 的解决方案占用的空间减少了75%,淘汰了计算机硬件、显示器、键盘和所有的后端。"

"大幅减少空间对我们的客户来说是非常重要的。此外,合并在Stratus Edge Computing ,意味着更少的硬件和软件成本以及更少的维护。"

"我们很高兴成为第一家,也是迄今为止唯一一家向海运市场提供这种完全数字化平台的公司。它是快速的、用户友好的、极其可靠的,从而实现了最大的正常运行时间和最佳操作性能。通过在一个环境中汇集多个系统,管理和维护变得更加容易和有效。"
Eline Savert
通信顾问
Alewijnse

为OT系统建造的IT

使用Stratus Edge Computing 平台,Alewijnse能够为OT控制系统实现全船IT架构的现代化,并使非IT人员易于管理。通过计算冗余,Stratus ,消除了单点故障,消除了计划外的停机时间。任何故障部件都会自动下线,对性能没有影响,而且子系统可以由OT团队热插拔。新的客户可替换单元被自动检测,数据被重新同步,避免了任何额外的编程或配置。

通过将20个系统的管理合并到一个具有冗余计算功能的单位,Alewijnse能够将IT系统的寿命延长一倍,从3-4年延长到7-8年。

Rikxoort解释说:"船上的硬件面临着恶劣的条件--咸味的空气、挖泥的灰尘--由于这个原因,我们每五年就要更换所有的硬件。对于传统的计算机,操作系统在五年内就会被淘汰。图形化的SCADA软件也已经过时了。因此,你不仅要更换用于疏浚控制和监测的计算机,还要更换用于调查、数据加载、办公和其他船舶功能的计算机。"

"有了Stratus 平台,在八年的生命周期结束时,我们可以在一个地方轻松地管理、修改和安装更换。使用'松散'的计算机,你每四年做一次。"

"Stratus 上的AlViVi平台速度快、用户友好且极其可靠,从而实现了最大的正常运行时间和最佳的操作安全性。通过将多个系统集中在一个环境中,维护和管理变得更加容易和高效"。
Johan van Rikxoort
产品经理
Alewijnse

Edge Computing 未来创新的平台

"Stratus 上的AlViVi平台速度快、用户友好且极其可靠,从而实现了最大的正常运行时间和最佳的操作安全性。通过将多个系统集中在一个环境中,维护和管理变得更加容易和高效。更新更好,测试或回滚也更快。Rikxoort说:"这对我们构建关键系统的方式来说是变革性的。

凭借AlViVi平台的效率,Alewijnse公司可以纳入更多的船舶系统,以前由于IT的限制而无法实现。现在,将基于IP的摄像系统集成到船上并流向移动设备是可行的。通信和声纳导航设备被嵌入到平台中,可以在操作人员希望的全船任何位置显示在屏幕上。

通过Stratus Edge Computing ,Alewijnse为客户提供了一个突破性的平台,以管理关键的船上系统,节省时间、金钱和空间。在Stratus Edge Computing 的持续支持下,Alewijnse已经创建了一个平台,为客户进行创新,并引领海运业的技术转型。

Alewijnse开发了一个独特的、面向未来的数字平台,可以取代桥梁上的大部分计算机设备,从而节省空间,更重要的是,节省资金。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Alewijnse

Edge Computing in the Maritime Industry

How Alewijnse Developed the Maritime Industry’s First Future-Proof Digitalization Platform for Critical Ship Systems and Reduced Computing Footprint 75%.

Goal

  • Enable high availability of edge server, an upgrade over a simple cold backup
  • Eliminate unplanned downtime to improve business continuity
  • Improve visibility into assembly line operations as part of digital transformation

Challenges

  • Lack of suitable computing platform raises risk of unplanned downtime
  • Need for high-performance solution that monitors and controls machines on the factory floor
  • No dedicated manpower for maintenance and setup for edge server

Results

  • Used Stratus ztC™ Edge server to provide high availability in manufacturing operations of powder processing machines
  • Enabled company to focus more on building apps on a trusted platform
  • Removed requirement for dedicated IT staff onsite with easy-to-maintain Stratus server

With a 130 year history, Netherlands-based Alewijnse is a global leader in marine technology for critical ship systems for Yachts, Naval & Governmental, and Dredging, Offshore & Transport. The company designs, delivers, and integrates on-board electrical systems, automation systems, and advanced marine electronics.

Using Stratus Edge Computing, the company introduced AlViVi, the maritime industry’s first future-proof digitalization platform for bridge control of critical vessel systems. The platform relies on application virtualization to drastically reduce IT requirements and enables ship-wide visualization of information. Overall, AlViVi reduces onboard computing footprint by 75% and reduces customers’ IT maintenance costs by 50%.

“Most computer equipment needs to be replaced every four years. This is a recurring and time-consuming investment if you have twenty computers on the bridge and in various locations on the vessel. By comparison, with AlViVi and Stratus Edge Computing, there is a lot less hardware to replace. It is all in one location and the platform itself needs replacing only once every eight years.”
Johan van Rikxoort
Product Manager
Alewijnse

Innovating the AlViVi Digitalization Platform

To innovate for customers, Alewijnse sought to solve one of the largest challenges for the Maritime Industry — simplifying the IT architecture required to operate multiple, critical ship systems in a constrained space. Rather than deploy and manage individual IT architectures spread across the vessel for each control system for propulsion, energy, navigation, communications, electrical, security, and others, Alewijnse turned to Stratus Edge Computing to consolidate computing and software, and centralize computing for automation and control.

The company developed AlViVi (Alewijnse Virtualization and Visualization) a breakthrough digitalization platform that uses Stratus ftServer to consolidate process-related systems. The innovative AlViVi platform — and first of its kind in the maritime industry — acts as a central hub to integrate and control ship systems, and uses Rockwell Automation’s ThinManager® to distribute information to networked screens for visualization anywhere on the ship. With applications virtualized on the Stratus Edge Computing platform, AlViVi is software agnostic, able to run any application whether it be on dredging control, weather monitoring, propulsion, or power and utilities.

Uptime Reliability for Critical Control Systems

For critical ship systems, it was essential that the Stratus platform delivered the highest level of application availability and reliability, and the team incorporated computing redundancy for more than 99.999% availability.

“We chose Stratus because of the technology, especially, the redundancy in the hardware. We use the Stratus ftServer® 4900 which is a fully integrated platform which is simple to deploy, simple to manage and simple to service without the need for IT skills. Additionally, it is more cost effective than multiple servers. The core is organized with Stratus,” said Johan van Rikxoort, product manager, Alewijnse Dredging & Offshore.

“Now, we are also retrieving more data from the system itself and visualizing it on the SCADA. For example, what is the fault count of the different processors? How is the health status of the server? Our customers now have one view of all critical systems that they can share anywhere on the ship. That visibility and access to information enables quicker response and better decision making for ship operations.”

75% Reduction in IT Footprint

With its AlViVi platform, Alewijnse consolidated multiple ship systems on a single Stratus ftServer 4900 to perform as the vessel’s server. The result was consolidation of twenty (20) individual PCs to a single compute platform which freed up valuable physical space.

According Rikxoort, “In the systems we replaced, there were previously multiple computers and servers performing different functions that were spread out across the vessel. With Stratus, the hardware is all in one place. Our new Stratus-based solution takes up 75% less space, phasing out computer hardware, displays, keyboards, and all of the backend.”

“The significant reduction on space is highly important for our customers. In addition, consolidating on Stratus Edge Computing translates into less hardware and software cost and less maintenance.”

“We are excited to be the first, and so far, the only company, to offer this fully digitalized platform to the maritime market. It is fast, user-friendly, and extremely reliable, resulting in maximum uptime and optimal operational performance. By bringing together multiple systems in one environment, the management and maintenance becomes much easier and more efficient.”
Eline Savert
Communications Advisor
Alewijnse

IT Built for OT Systems

Using Stratus Edge Computing platform, Alewijnse was able to modernize vessel-wide IT architecture for OT control systems, and enable easy management by non-IT staff. With computing redundancy, Stratus removes a single point of failure and eliminates unplanned downtime. Any failed components are automatically taken offline with zero performance impact, and subsystems are hot swappable by OT teams. The new customer replaceable units are automatically detected, and data is resynchronized, avoiding any additional programming or provisioning.

By consolidating management of twenty systems into a single unit with redundant computing, Alewijnse was able to double the lifespan of IT systems from 3-4 years to 7-8 years.

Rikxoort explains, “The hardware on vessels face harsh conditions — salty air, dust from the dredging — and due to that, we have to replace all the hardware every five years. With traditional computers, the operating system is obsolete within five years. The SCADA software for graphic facilitations is also obsolete. You have to then replace computers for not only the dredging control and monitoring but also computers for the survey, data loading, office purposes, and other ship functions.”

“With the Stratus platform, at the end of the eight-year lifecycle, we can easily manage, modify, and install a replacement at one place. With ‘loose’ computers, you do it every four years.”

“The AlViVi platform on Stratus is fast, user-friendly and extremely reliable, resulting in maximum uptime and optimal operational safety. By bringing together multiple systems in one environment, the maintenance and management becomes much easier and efficient.”
Johan van Rikxoort
Product Manager
Alewijnse

Edge Computing a Platform for Future Innovation

“The AlViVi platform on Stratus is fast, user-friendly and extremely reliable, resulting in maximum uptime and optimal operational safety. By bringing together multiple systems in one environment, the maintenance and management becomes much easier and efficient. Updates are better and faster to test or roll back. This is transformational for how we architect critical systems,” said Rikxoort.

With the efficiency of the AlViVi platform, Alewijnse can incorporate additional ship systems previously not possible due to IT limitations. It is now feasible to integrate IP-based camera systems on-board and stream to mobile devices. Communication and sonar navigation equipment is embedded into the platform and can be displayed on screen at any location across the ship that operators want.

With Stratus Edge Computing, Alewijnse is offering customers a breakthrough platform to manage critical on-board systems that saves time, money, and space. Backed by the continuous availability of Stratus Edge Computing, Alewijnse has created a platform to innovate for customers and lead technology transformation in the maritime industry.

Alewijnse has developed a unique, future-proof digital platform that can replace most of the computer equipment on the bridge, thus saving space and, very importantly, money.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top