案例研究

流水线创新

Edge Computing 在石油和天然气领域

Streamline Innovations如何使用Stratus Edge Computing ,为远程油田设备带来AI驱动的预测性维护、远程操作和99.5%的正常运行时间。

面临的挑战

  • 确定一个Edge Computing 平台,以部署OT和IT能力,精确监测和控制专有的H2S去除过程。
  • 在偏远的石油和天然气地区,在有限的数据连接下进行操作
  • 为客户提供至少95%的正常运行时间的服务协议,并满足客户的自动化预算。

解决方案

  • 部署Stratus ztC Edge™,开发、托管和保护Valkyrie智能平台™(VIP)。
  • 利用Stratus 内置的虚拟化功能来运行Inductive Automation、PostgreSQL数据库和Python™以及Seeq人工智能软件层。
  • 将ztC Edge ,以获得云数据分析、远程可视性和全部功能的广域网。

带来的优势

  • 实现了实时数据分析、人机界面、可视性,以及从五小时外的控制室跟踪50个关键绩效指标。
  • 使用AI驱动的预测性维护,将所需的现场人员减少了66%,节省了时间和成本。
  • 在远程地点实现了99.5%的正常运行时间,超过了客户95%的服务水平协议,并达到了客户的成本点。

从智能到智能的油田设备与Edge Computing

位于德克萨斯州圣安东尼奥的Streamline Innovations公司,开发并运营一个名为Valkyrie™的专有硫化氢(H2S)气体处理工艺,该工艺将有毒的H2S还原成用于化肥的元素硫。其结果是一种新颖的清洁技术工艺,消除了对石油和天然气、水和废水、垃圾填埋场和沼气的污染。

使用Stratus Edge Computing ,Streamline Innovations公司将智能和远程操作带到了复杂的工艺橇上,并实现了连续运行,超越了客户的期望。通过使用Stratus ztC Edge 的Valkyrie智能平台(VIP),该公司以99.5%的正常运行时间远程监控设备,并将现场人员需求从6个全职员工减少到2个全职员工。数据从ztC Edge 到微软Azure,以集中查看设备,可从控制中心和操作车远程访问。有了Induction Automation HMI/SCADA、PostgreSQL数据库和Python Linux在ztC Edge ,该团队拥有精确的过程控制和 "分层 "智能,以监测和分析每分钟和每小时的性能,并进行每日和每周的集中分析。

在远程石油和天然气生产中部署专有的清洁技术

Streamline Innovations公司的Valkyrie脱硫工艺在上游石油和天然气行业特别有效,因为在生产过程中H2S含量很高。该公司将其专有的工艺部署在偏远的工地上,这些工地往往白天没有人员进出,从而带来了一些独特的挑战。

Valkyrie工艺由两个化学反应组成,必须控制在一个非常狭窄的范围内。在整个操作过程中,该工艺必须适应气体流速和H2S浓度每分钟和每一天的变化。此外,团队必须密切控制、监测和维护泵、过滤器、管路和阀门--通常的工业设备--处理多相材料。因此,Streamline Innovation的复杂工艺需要对化学工艺和小型工厂进行精确控制。

由于地处偏远,该团队必须在数据连接度很低的情况下工作,监测工作需要全天候的现场培训专家。流水线创新公司寻求解决这些挑战,通过为油田流程带来智能,以少花钱多办事,满足客户的自动化预算。

"使用Stratus ,我们已经建立了智能工厂,由人工智能进行远程管理,并在任何地点24小时可见。"
Peter Photos
CTO
Streamline Innovations

Stratus Edge Computing 打开了智能油田设备的大门

Streamline创新公司选择了Stratus ztCEdge computing 平台,以最大限度地提高工艺可靠性,并为其Valkyrie工艺带来新的远程能力和智能。

Streamline Innovations的首席技术官Peter Photos博士解释说:"我们花了大量时间测试了许多不同的edge computing 设备,并找到了合适的技术。我们首先被ztC Edge 的潜力所吸引,因为它提供真正的冗余处理。两个ztC Edge 设备作为一对冗余设备运行,这意味着如果一个设备因任何原因发生故障,另一个设备可以继续运行而不会中断服务。在Edge Computing 环境中,消除停机时间是无可比拟的。

"当我们探索ztC Edges的虚拟化能力来解决客户的具体要求时,另一个巨大的优势变得很明显。我们正在运行三个虚拟机。我们的第一个虚拟机是Inductive Automation Ignition,运行我们的OPC服务器和数据采集。第二个虚拟机是PostgresSQL数据库,然后我们的第三个虚拟机是一个Python Linux Box,运行Python脚本。有了ztC Edge 的广泛计算能力,我们能够得到一个漂亮的、矮胖的强大计算机,能够做我们想要的所有计算。"

彼得继续说:"所以我们有Valkyrie连接到一个PLC,它正在进行每分钟的计算。我们有Stratus ztC Edge ,正在进行实时计算,运行Python,收集历史数据,运行Ignition,并通过Wi-Fi进行通信。这些数据被发送到云端的Azure数据库,我们在那里进行逐日、逐周和逐月的计算。它与Seeq集成,这是一个人工智能软件,用于计算我们复杂的模型。

"Valkyrie智能平台现在是一个独立的盒子,可以集成到现有设备中,并应用于任何过程。它由Stratus ,Seeq在后台运行,做人工智能和复杂的计算,如预测性维护。"

数据收集和分层情报的架构

Valkyrie智能平台提供多层次的智能。可编程逻辑控制器(PLC)在第一层,ztC Edge 在下一层运行,而云是最顶层的。每一个都有特定的作用,充分利用其固有的优势,例如,利用PLC和ztC Edge 之间的强大带宽,实时管理大量的数据。在边缘和云环境之间带宽下降的地方,传输的数据较少,使云的巨大处理能力能够进行更重的计算。这使得Streamline Innovations能够运行机器学习,将信息反馈给运营管理部门,在现场实现预测性和预防性维护。

有了ztC Edge"的虚拟机和力量,Streamline Innovation能够继续迭代并纳入新的智能。Photos博士补充说:"我们有JavaScript,我们有Python脚本。我们有一个调制解调器,让我们去找国家气象局。我们拉来未来六小时的天气预报,并根据它来确定我们的加热器温度。我们能够在龙卷风警告期间关闭我们的设备。"

二叠纪盆地的远程客户部署

Streamline Innovations为德克萨斯州Pecos的一个超级Valkyrie客户项目部署了多台Valkyrie设备,以处理1600万立方英尺的天然气。该项目包括三个胺化厂和三个远程Valkyrie橇,分布在8英里范围内。客户要求至少有95%的正常运行时间和设定的预算。

利用其智能平台,Streamline Innovations将其设备连接到TropOS广域网(WAN),以实现远程控制室的可视性和移动设备的连接。

虽然这样的解决方案通常需要六名全职操作员和广泛的待命维护能力,以实现全天候运行,但目标是用两名全职人员和最少的非现场维护人员来操作。

在圣安东尼奥总部,团队从远程设备上监控50个关键性能指标(KPI)。在控制室运行的应达自动化点火软件指导维护和调用,使诊断和维修更有效率。有了额外的机器学习和预测性维护能力,维护的频率就会降低。

Photos博士解释说:"操作员在控制室、滑车和圣安东尼奥总部看到的东西都是一样的。我们的控制系统监督着整个装置,这给我们带来了巨大的价值"。

"有了这种方法,建立智能设备以跨越从井口到销售的整个石油和天然气途径就没有障碍了。边缘是IT和OT的未来"。
Peter Photos
CTO
Streamline Innovations

油田智能的新机遇

使用ztC Edge 的Super Valkyrie项目使智能胺厂和装置以99.5%的正常运行时间运行--大大超过了客户规定的95%的最低运行时间,并在数小时外的中央控制室实现了完全的可视性、功能性和分析。人员需求减少了66%,有助于满足客户的自动化预算。

"在看到Stratus Edge Computing 平台在Valkyrie这样的复杂解决方案中的能力后,很明显,边缘技术可以为石油和天然气行业提供很多东西--智能井口、智能乙二醇装置、智能JT(Joule Thomson)橇,等等。

"我们使Valkyrie智能平台成为一个交钥匙包,这就是它的简单之处。而且有了远程监控功能,这一切都变成了模块化。我们正在把现成的Stratus 技术放到盒子里,把一个运营技术项目变成一种服务。"

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Streamline Innovations

Edge Computing in Oil & Gas

How Streamline Innovations uses Stratus Edge Computing to bring AI-powered predictive maintenance, remote operation, and 99.5% uptime to remote oilfield equipment.

Challenges

  • Identify an Edge Computing platform to deploy OT and IT capabilities for precise monitor and control of proprietary H2S removal process
  • Operate with limited data connectivity in remote Oil & Gas locations
  • Deliver on customer SLA of minimum 95% uptime and meet customers’ automation budgets

Solution

  • Deploy Stratus ztC Edge™ to develop, host, and protect Valkyrie Intelligent Platform™ (VIP)
  • Leverage Stratus built-in virtualization to run Inductive Automation, PostgreSQL database, and Python™ and layer Seeq AI software
  • Connect ztC Edge to WAN for cloud data analysis, remote visibility, and full functionality

Benefits

  • Enabled real-time data analysis, HMI, visibility, and tracking of 50 KPIs from a control room five hours away
  • Reduced required onsite staffing by 66%, saving time and cost, using AI-powered predictive maintenance
  • Achieved 99.5% uptime in remote location, surpassing customer SLA of 95%, and met customer cost point

From Smart to Intelligent Oilfield Equipment with Edge Computing

Streamline Innovations, based in San Antonio, Texas, develops and operates a proprietary hydrogen sulfide (H2S) gas treating process called Valkyrie™ which reduces toxic H2S to elemental sulphur used in fertilizer. The result is a novel clean tech process that eliminates pollution for Oil & Gas, Water & Wastewater, landfills, and biogas.

Using Stratus Edge Computing, Streamline Innovations brought intelligence and remote operations to complex process skids and enabled continuous operation, surpassing customer expectations. With its Valkyrie Intelligence Platform (VIP) using Stratus ztC Edge, the company monitors units remotely with 99.5% uptime and reduced onsite staffing requirements from 6 FTEs to 2 FTEs. Data is sent from the ztC Edge to Microsoft Azure for a centralized view of equipment that is accessible remotely from control centers and operator trucks. With Induction Automation HMI/SCADA, a PostgreSQL database, and Python Linux running concurrently on ztC Edge, the team has precision process control with “tiered” intelligence to monitor and analyze performance minute-to-minute and hour-to-hour with centralized analysis day-to-day and week-to-week.

Deploying Proprietary Clean Tech in Remote Oil & Gas Production

Streamline Innovations’ Valkyrie sulphur removal process is particularly effective in upstream Oil & Gas, where H2S is abundant in the production process. The company deploys its proprietary process on skids at remote sites that often have no daytime access for staffing, introducing several unique challenges.

The Valkyrie process consists of two chemical reactions that must be controlled in an exquisitely narrow band. Throughout operations, the process must adapt to minute-to-minute and day-to-day changes in gas flow rates and H2S concentration. Additionally, the team must closely control, monitor, and maintain pumps, filters, lines, and valves – usual industrial equipment – handling multiphase material. Streamline Innovation’s complex process therefore required precise control of both the chemical process and the mini plant.

Given the remote locations, the team must work with very low data connectivity and monitoring requires on-site trained experts around-the-clock. Streamline Innovation sought to address these challenges to do more with less by bringing intelligence to their oilfield process and meet customers’ automation budgets.

“Using Stratus, we have built smart plants that are managed remotely by Artificial Intelligence and visible from any location 24/7.”
Peter Photos
CTO
Streamline Innovations

Stratus Edge Computing Opens the Door to Intelligent Oilfield Equipment

Streamline Innovations selected the Stratus ztC Edge computing platform to maximize process reliability and bring new remote capability and intelligence to its Valkyrie process.

Dr. Peter Photos, Chief Technology Officer of Streamline Innovations explained, “We spent a tremendous amount of time testing out a lot of different edge computing devices and finding the right technology. We were first attracted to the potential of ztC Edge because it offered truly redundant processing. Two ztC Edge units operate as a redundant pair, this means that if one unit fails for any reason, the other can continue without a break in service. The elimination of downtime is unmatched in the Edge Computing environment.

“Another huge advantage became obvious as we explored the ztC Edges virtualization capability to solve our client’s specific requirements. We’re running three virtual machines. Our first virtual machine is Inductive Automation Ignition running our OPC Server and data acquisition. The second virtual machine is a PostgresSQL database, and then our third virtual machine is a Python Linux Box, running Python scripts. With the extensive computing power available of ztC Edge, we’re able to get a nice, chunky powerful computer that’s able to do all the calculations we want.”

Peter continued, “So we have the Valkyrie connected to a PLC, which is performing minute-to-minute calculations. We have the Stratus ztC Edge that is doing real-time calculations, running Python, collecting historical data, running Ignition, and communicating via the Wi-Fi. The data is sent to an Azure database out in the cloud where we do day-to-day, week-to-week, and month-to-month computations. It is integrated with Seeq, an artificial intelligence software that calculates our sophisticated modelling.

“The Valkyrie Intelligence Platform is now a standalone box that can be integrated into an existing unit and applied for any process. It is powered by Stratus, with Seeq running in the background doing artificial intelligence and complex calculations like predictive maintenance.”

Architecture for Data Collection and Tiered Intelligence

The Valkyrie Intelligent Platform provides intelligence across multiple tiers. The programmable logic controller (PLC) is on the first tier, ztC Edge runs on the next layer, and the cloud is the topmost tier. Each has a specific role that makes the most of its inherent strengths, for example, taking advantage of the strong bandwidth between the PLC and the ztC Edge to manage large volumes of data in real time. Where the bandwidth falls between the edge and the cloud environments, less data is transmitted, enabling the huge processing power of the cloud to do much heavier calculations. This allows Streamline Innovations to run machine learning, which feeds information back to operational management, enabling predictive and preventive maintenance at a site level.

With ztC Edge’s virtual machines and power, Streamline Innovation is able to continue to iterate and incorporate new intelligence. Dr. Photos added, “We have JavaScript, we have Python scripts. We have a modem, let’s go to the National Weather Service. We pull in the forecast for the next six hours of weather, and we determine our heater temperature based off of that. We’re able to shut down our units during tornado warnings.”

Remote Customer Deployment in the Permian Basin

Streamline Innovations deployed multiple Valkyrie units for a Super Valkyrie customer project in Pecos, Texas to treat 16 million cubic feet of gas. The project comprises three Amining Plants and three remote Valkyrie skids spread across eight miles. The customer required a minimum of 95% uptime and a set budget.

Using its intelligent platform, Streamline Innovations connected its units to a TropOS wide area network (WAN) to enable remote control room visibility and connection by mobile devices.

While such a solution would normally require six full-time operators and extensive on-call maintenance capability to run 24/7, the goal is to operate it with two full-time personnel and minimal offsite maintenance staff.

From its San Antonio headquarters, teams monitor 50 key performance indicators (KPIs) from the remote units. The Inductive Automation Ignition software running in the control room directs maintenance and callouts, making diagnostics and repairs more efficient. With the additional machine learning and predictive maintenance capabilities maintenance is less frequent.

Dr. Photos explains, “What the operator sees in the control room, the skids, and in the San Antonio HQ are all the same. Our control system supervises the entire unit, and that gives us tremendous value.”

“With this approach, there’s no barrier to building smart equipment to span the entire oil and gas pathway from the wellhead to sales. Edge is the future of IT and OT.”
Peter Photos
CTO
Streamline Innovations

New Opportunities for Oilfield Intelligence

The Super Valkyrie project using ztC Edge enabled smart Amine plants and units to run at 99.5% uptime – comfortably exceeding the 95% minimum stipulated by the customer with full visibility, functionality, and analysis from the central control room hours away. Staffing requirements were reduced 66% and contributed to meeting the customer’s automation budget.

“Having seen what the Stratus Edge Computing platform is capable of in a complex solution such as the Valkyrie, it’s clear that edge technology has a lot to offer the Oil and Gas industry – smart wellheads, smart glycol units, smart JT (Joule Thomson) skids, and more.

“We’ve made Valkyrie Intelligent Platform a turnkey package, which is what makes it so simple. And with the remote monitoring capability, it all becomes modular. We are taking the Stratus technology that is available off the shelf and putting it into boxes, and turning an operational technology project into a service.”

Related Assets

Scroll to Top