案例研究

杭州九溪水厂

中国水处理厂利用 Stratus® ftServer® 系统保护关键 SCADA 应用避免停机和数据丢失

杭州九溪水厂的设计日供水能力为60万立方米,是浙江省最大的水厂。自2000年投入生产以来,这一现代化环境水处理厂利用最先进的技术和设备为净水工艺提供支持,满足政府严格的水纯净度标准要求。经过处理后的出厂水水质达到或超过住房和城乡建设部2000年技术进步发展规划设定的一类水质标准。2016年,出厂水平均浊度为 0.3 NTU 且经常低于0.1 NTU。水厂目前有60名员工,其中30名为操作工人,按照不同的轮班制度操作全天候运行的生产线。

挑战

作为领先的水处理企业,杭州九溪水厂致力于提供创新、智能的水处理解决方案和服务,实现水资源的可持续利用。该公司为达到既定的水纯度标准而不懈努力,利用自动化系统对先进的水处理设备进行控制和监测,包括利用数据采集与监控(SCADA)系统收集和监控实时数据,控制水处理流程,让操作人员能够通过人机界面与设备进行交互,并在数据库中建立事件记录以便进行详细报告和分析。

多年来,该公司一直使用独立式物理服务器运行 SCADA 应用,性能数据分析表明,处理多任务请求消耗有限的内存资源,因此导致服务器长时间高负荷运行。这种状况不仅加速了服务器设备的老化,还降低了企业在工厂内的处理响应速度。此外,对于 SCADA 系统而言,独立式服务器是一个故障点,提高了因意外停机导致的关键数据丢失风险。 

为了应对上述挑战,将数据丢失风险降至最低,杭州九溪水厂决定利用持续可用性平台构建虚拟化应用环境,确保 SCADA 系统全天候运行。

解决方案

对多个高可用性解决方案进行评估后,杭州九溪水厂决定在其工厂控制中心部署两个 Stratus® ftServer® 4800 系统,一个运行 SCADA 应用,一个用作数据库。ftServer 解决方案提供完整的硬件、软件和服务,是整合工厂物理服务器基础设施,确保虚拟化应用可用性的理想平台。

ftServer 采用最新的英特尔®至强®处理器,利用先进的同步技术和实时管理监测技术确保应用的持续可用性。ftServer 系统由两个完全相同的客户可更换单元组成,每个单元配备自己的处理器、内存和存储器,通过现场可编程冗余门阵列、数据通路和同步固件实现不间断控制与监测所需的处理器同步、数据复制和逻辑功能。由于即使在出现硬件故障时系统也能持续保持运行,因此可以防止已提交数据和动态数据丢失或损坏。

ftServer 平台可以最大程度确保该公司虚拟化 SCADA 应用的可靠性,无需更改软件或编写故障转移脚本。ftServer 的物理资源被抽象成逻辑资源,让许多应用能够在一台服务器上相互独立的虚拟机中运行。所有虚拟机共用服务器的 CPU、内存、硬盘、I/O 以及其他资源,从而方便系统管理,并快速适应不断变化的业务要求。

操作简便性同样是选择最适合的持续可用性平台的重要考虑因素,便于部署、管理和服务是杭州九溪水厂选择 ftServer 系统的原因之一。工厂控制中心人员十分繁忙,自检测硬件、自动化组件更换以及客户可更换子系统可以为他们节省时间,减少工作量。

"杭州九溪水厂致力于通过不断创新和战略性地使用先进技术来保持我们作为环境水处理领先企业的地位。通过支持我们的虚拟化 SCADA 应用的持续可用性和可靠性能,Stratus ftServer 系统使我们公司实现了一流的水质、工厂生产力和成本效益。它是一个成熟的平台,将无与伦比的停机预防与操作简单和低总拥有成本结合起来,实现了最佳价值。"“杭州九溪水厂致力于通过持续创新和战略性采用先进技术,维持我们在环境水处理行业的领导地位,通过确保虚拟化 SCADA 应用的持续可用性和可靠性能,Stratus ftServer 系统让公司能够实现最佳的水质、工厂生产效率和成本效益。事实证明,该平台可以提供无与伦比的预防停机性能,简单的操作还可以降低总拥有成本,实现更多价值。”
杭州九溪水厂

成果

自2017年8月部署 ftServer 系统以来,杭州九溪水厂显著改善了经营效率,除了预防意外停机,ftServer 还提高了 SCADA 应用的性能、可靠性和数据稳定性。平台提供的无缝虚拟化支持让该公司能够改进系统基础设施,降低能源消耗,并节省控制中心宝贵的空间。

ftServer 还让该公司能够快速实现价值,为实现财务目标提供支持。该整体解决方案便于部署,管理简单,预防停机,在最大程度优化 SCADA 应用性能和可用性的同时可以降低总拥有成本。

关于 Stratus

Stratus 使关键业务应用全年无休运行不再复杂。Stratus 技术可以主动预防数据中心和边缘的意外停机,我们的服务确保先于客户发现并解决问题。35年来,无论是全球财富500强企业,还是全球各行各业的中小企业都依赖 Stratus 简单的操作实现持续的可用性。

如需了解更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com 或在 Twitter 上关注 @StratusAlwaysOn

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant

Chinese water treatment facility protects its critical SCADA applications against downtime and data loss with the Stratus® ftServer® system

Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant, which has a designed capacity of 600,000 m3/d, is the largest waterworks in Zhejiang Province. In production since June 2000, this modern environmental water treatment facility leverages the most advanced technology and equipment to support filtration methods and meet stringent government standards for water purity. The quality of the plant’s treated output meets—or exceeds—the criteria for Class-A water set forth in the 2000 Technological Progress Plan of the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development. In 2016, the turbidity of finished water was 0.3 NTU on average— and often below 0.1 NTU. The plant employs a staff of 60 employees, 30 of whom are operators working in various shifts on the 24/7/365 production line.

The challenge

As a leading water treatment enterprise, Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant is committed to providing innovative, intelligent water treatment solutions and services to achieve the sustainable utilization of water resources. As part of its ongoing effort to meet established water purity standards, the company relies on automated systems to control and monitor its state-of-the-art water treatment equipment. This includes a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system that collects and monitors real-time data; controls water treatment processes; enables operator interaction with equipment via a human machine interface; and records events in a database for detailed reporting and analysis.

For many years, the company was running its SCADA applications on a standalone physical server. Performance data analysis revealed that processing of multi-task requests was consuming limited memory resources, thereby causing the server to run at high load for long periods of time. These conditions not only accelerated aging of the server equipment, but they also slowed business processing response times within the plant. In addition, the standalone server provided a single point of failure for the SCADA system, increasing the risk of critical data loss due to unplanned downtime. 

To address these challenges and minimize risk of data loss, Hangzhou Jixi Water Plant decided to move to a virtualized application environment on a continuous availability platform that would keep its SCADA systems up and running 24/7/365.

The solution

After evaluating a number of high availability solutions, Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant decided to deploy two Stratus® ftServer® 4800 systems—one for the SCADA applications and one for the database—in its facility control center. The ftServer solution— complete with hardware, software, and services—provided the ideal platform for consolidating the plant’s physical server infrastructure and ensuring the availability of its virtualized applications.

Leveraging state-of-the art Intel® Xeon® processor technology, ftServer provides continuous application availability with advanced lockstep technology and real-time management and monitoring. The ftServer system is made up of two identical customer replaceable units—each with its own processors, memory, and storage. Redundant field-programmable gate arrays, data paths, and lockstep firmware provide the processor synchronization, data replication, and logic needed to ensure always-on control and monitoring. Because the system keeps operating—even in the event of hardware failure—both committed and in-flight data are protected against loss or corruption.

The ftServer platform delivers maximum reliability of the company’s virtualized SCADA applications—without requiring software modifications or failover scripts. The physical resources of the ftServer are abstracted into logical resources, enabling many applications to run in isolated virtual machines on a single server. All the virtual machines share the server’s CPU, memory, disk, I/O, and other resources, enabling easy system management and fast adaptation to changing business requirements.

Operational simplicity was also a key consideration for selecting a best-fit continuous availability platform. Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant chose the ftServer system because it is easy to deploy, manage, and service. Self-monitoring hardware, automated parts replacement, and customer-replaceable subsystems save time and effort for the plant’s busy control center staff.

“Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant is committed to maintaining our position as a leading environmental water treatment enterprise through continuous innovation and strategic use of advanced technology. By supporting continuous availability and reliable performance of our virtualized SCADA applications, the Stratus ftServer system is enabling our company to achieve best-in-class water quality, plant productivity, and cost-efficiency. It is a proven platform that combines unparalleled downtime prevention with operational simplicity and low total cost of ownership for optimal value.”
Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant

The results

Since deploying the ftServer system in August 2017 Hangzhou Jiuxi Water Plant has realized significant operational efficiency gains. In addition to preventing unplanned downtime, ftServer has increased SCADA application performance, reliability, and data stability. The platform’s seamless virtualization support has enabled the company to improve its system infrastructure, reduce energy consumption, and save valuable space within its control center environment.

The ftServer is also delivering rapid time to value to support the company’s financial goals. The turnkey solution’s ease of deployment, simplified management, and downtime prevention capabilities contribute to a low total cost of ownership while maximizing SCADA application performance and availability.

About Stratus

Stratus takes the complexity out of keeping business critical applications running 24/7/365. Stratus’ technologies proactively prevent instances of unplanned downtime both in the data center and at the edge, and our services ensure any issues are addressed before customers need to. Global Fortune 500 companies and small medium sized businesses in a wide range of industries across the globe have been relying on Stratus for operationally simple, continuous availability for more than 35 years.

For more information, please visit www.stratus.com or follow on Twitter @StratusAlwaysOn.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top