案例研究

Alunorf

Stratus® ftServer® 确保生产流程持续运行

几年前,一次 IT 系统停机事故促使全球最大铸轧铝制造商 Alunorf 开始寻找替代系统。该公司需要使用这一系统管理和控制其均热炉和推杆式加热炉。Alunorf曾考虑集群系统,但最终选择了Stratus Technologies利用容错服务器构建的系统。本案例研究将介绍其中原因。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • 为全球最大铸轧铝制造商 Alunorf 的生产过程提供支持
  • 确保区域控制系统的持续可用性,满足热轧机的卫生安全要求
  • 无需复杂、昂贵的集群解决方案
  • 实现无中断系统保养和维护,确保全天候生产,六年零停机

解决方案

  • 采用 Stratus ftServer 管理和控制关键均热炉和推杆式加热炉

业务目标

位于德国诺伊斯的 Alunorf 是全球最大的铸轧铝制造商,每年可生产150万吨轧制铝,其繁忙、复杂且费用高昂的工厂必须满足严格的卫生安全要求,因此高可用性是购买替代系统首先考虑的标准。

Alunorf 生产超重型铝条,在均热炉和推杆式加热炉中进行退火处理后,温度高达500℃左右的铝条被送到带材热轧机上,然后被轧制成长度近200米的大型铝带,冷却至室温后在冷轧机上进行进一步处理,然后轧制成厚度仅0.2mm的铝片,最后销售到汽车、包装等行业进行进一步加工。

Alunorf 的技术车间整体位于热轧区:起重机、铣床、高炉、轧机和切割机准确排列在生产线上。生产过程中如果一个环节出现故障,整个生产线都将陷于停滞,考虑到工厂的巨大投资及其全部产能,这会产生巨大的成本,因此对系统可用性的要求极高。

“关键在于 ftServer 不会造成生产中断,而其他任何解决方案都可能占用我们好几天时间……”
Markus Haastert
Alunorf 公司生产线经理

均热炉和推杆式加热炉具有工厂控制系统,这些系统由监控整个生产流程的区域控制系统进行监测。在区域控制系统之前,交付的铝条经过生产流程被加工成轧制铝成品。根据工厂控制系统反馈的信息,区域控制系统始终掌握每一根铝材在生产过程中的确切位置。来自工厂控制系统的数据通过控制室中的独立系统变成可视化信息。这里的软件以图表表示热轧机的均热炉和推杆式加热炉,让操作人员能够监控温度、重量等参数。软件还允许对生产过程进行手动干预,例如在出现故障时关闭生产线。

由于区域控制系统和可视化系统管理控制着核心生产流程,服务器绝不能出现故障,因此需要将这些系统托管在高可用性服务器上。

业务解决方案

Alunorf 在诺伊斯的热轧均热炉和推杆式加热炉产线经理 Markus Haastert 表示:“系统短暂停机不会产生严重问题,工厂可以继续运转。如果出现爆发式服务器停机,操作人员可以手动输入缺失的信息。但就像生产一样,服务器通常每天都需要全天候运行。如果在现场没有 IT 人员的夜间或周末中断运行,则必须尽快进行修复,而且很大程度上是自动修复。”

Alunorf 最初考虑采用集群系统,但那对于热轧生产来说太过复杂,Stratus 的容错服务器(ftServer)则不然。Stratus 系统可以实现持续运行,所有组件(CPU、内存、IO单元和硬盘)完全采用冗余设计,每个组件都有两套,因此,如果一个组件出现故障,系统可以继续运行,不会中断。得益于此,Stratus 系统可以提供行业领先的可用性,确保运行时间达到99.9999%。

Stratus 服务器是一台独立运行的机器,因此不需要定制用户软件,服务器的管理也非常简单。而且,容错服务器系统倡导综合服务和维护理念。服务器通过 Call Home 功能直接向制造商报告故障组件,因此可以立即寄出更换组件。通常,系统用户在发现故障组件之前就会收到更换组件。

“如果在现场没有IT人员的夜间或周末中断运行,则必须尽快进行修复,而且很大程度上是自动修复。”
Markus Haastert
Alunorf 生产线经理

业务影响

ftServer 兑现了它的两个承诺--高可用性与易于实施和使用。事实证明,它也没有隐藏的成本。

“我们在工厂控制系统和可视化系统中安装了非常复杂的软件,”Haastert说。

“软件需要进行调整才能在不同的可用性系统中运行,这非常困难而且成本高昂。如果真是这样,我们就无法实现目前对程序所做的开发了。”但 ftSserver 不仅能够保证出现故障时继续生产,还能在系统持续运行的同时更换故障组件。实施维护工作时不需要关闭服务器,正如 Alunorf 体验到的:

“一个系统曾经提示 IO 单元出现故障,”Haastert表示。

“我们在服务器保持运行的同时更换了上述组件,只需要卸下螺丝,拆掉原来的组件,然后换上新的。关键是 Stratus 服务器没有因为之前的故障或更换组件停止运行,我们还不需要重新启动系统或应用,也没有丢失数据库中的任何数据,而其他任何解决方案都可能占用我们几天时间。”

因为持续的良好体验,Alunorf 逐渐增加了 Stratus 容错服务器的使用。目前热轧均热炉和推杆式加热炉有四台容错服务器,全年全天候运行。这些系统已经运行了六年时间,从未出现停机。它们的预期寿命为十年,之后才需要定期交换并替换为更新的型号。

“我确信我们能达成预期的总运行时长,而且不会出现任何停机事故,”Haastert 总结道。

“如果在现场没有IT人员的夜间或周末中断运行,则必须尽快进行修复,而且很大程度上是自动修复。”
Markus Haastert
Alunorf 生产线经理

Alunorf 简介

位于德国诺伊斯的Aluminium Norf GmbH是全球最大的铸轧铝制造商,是由Novelis 和 Hydro Aluminium 联合经营的合资企业,每年可生产大约150万吨轧制铝,用途十分广泛。产品由两家持股公司独家销售。

Aluminium Norf GmbH 的工厂占地57.5万平方米,大约相当于60个足球场,其中厂房面积26.8万平方米,道路和仓库面积16.2万平方米。Alunorf 的生产由三部分构成:熔铝工艺、热轧工艺以及冷轧工艺。目前该公司拥有2100名员工,生产实行轮班制,从而确保一周七天全天候生产。

铝(化学符号Al,原子序数13)在现代工业中扮演着重要角色,广泛用于计算机外壳、饮料罐、城际特快列车(ICE)车身和飞机机身。由于铝十分常见,物理性能优异(尤其是其轻量化特征,重量只有钢的三分之一),且具有良好的延展性,它成为工业生产的首选材料。铝还是仅有的可100%回收且不会降低质量的金属,近年来,来自可回收产品的铝消耗量大幅增加。全世界每年生产约5000万吨铝,目前铝是继铁之后最常用的金属,铝业已成为一个未来产业。

关于 Stratus Technologies

在当今始终在线的世界里,应用程序对运行环境要求越来越高。随着这些需求的不断升级,为了将应用停机时间降至最低,企业面临的压力也越来越大。企业正在通过寻找符合或增强其现有IT基础设施的技术来应对永续解决方案需求。

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Alunorf

Stratus® ftServer® secures production process

When the IT system for Alunorf, the world’s largest aluminium rolling and casting plant, was discontinued a few years ago, the organization set out to find a replacement system. The management and control of both its pit and pusher furnaces were dependent upon it. After considering a cluster system, Alunorf eventually chose a system built on fault-tolerant servers from Stratus Technologies. This case study explains why.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Supports manufacturing operations of Alunorf, the world’s largest aluminium rolling and casting plant
  • Ensures always-on availability of area control system to meet health and safety requirements in hot rolling mill
  • Eliminates need for complex, costly clustering solutions
  • Allows non-disruptive system maintenance and repair to ensure 24/7/365 operations, with zero downtime in six years

Solution

  • Stratus ftServer for the management and control of critical pit and pusher furnaces

Business Objectives

Alunorf, situated in Neuss in Germany, is the world’s largest aluminium rolling and casting plant. Manufacturing 1.5 million tonnes of aluminium rolls every year, this expensive, busy and complex plant has to meet many serious health and safety requirements, so high availability was top of the purchasing criteria for a replacement system.

Alunorf produces extremely heavy aluminium bars that are hot – around 500 degrees Celsius – when they come out of annealing in the pit and pusher furnaces and onto a hot strip mill. These bars are then rolled out into enormous strips measuring almost 200 metres long. The aluminium is cooled to room temperature, processed further in the cold-rolling mills and then rolled to a thickness of only 0.2mm, before being sold on to, for example, the car or packaging industries, to be processed further.

All of Alunorf’s technical plant is situated in the hot-rolling mill area: cranes, milling machines, furnaces, rollers and cutters, all lined up precisely. Should one link in the processing chain fail, the whole production line would come to a standstill. In light of the high investment in the plant and its full workload, this would cause significant costs. Therefore the demands on the availability of the system are just as high.

“The bottom line was that ftServer did not go out of operation for a single minute. Any other solution would have cost us a few days of work …”
Markus Haastert
Line Manager, Alunorf

The pit and pusher furnaces have systems that control the plant and these are overseen by an area control system supervising the entire process. The area control system follows the aluminium bars from delivery through the production process to the finished aluminium rolls. Feedback from the control systems in the plant means that area control knows at all times exactly where each aluminium product is in the production process. The data from the control systems in the plant is visualized through a separate system in the control room. The software in here presents the pit and pusher furnaces of the hot-rolling mill graphically and allows the operators to monitor the specifics, such as the temperature or the weight. The software also allows manual intervention in the production process, for example to stop the production line if there is a breakdown.

Because both the area control system and the visualization system manage and control the central operation, the servers have to be failsafe. The need was for a high availability server upon which to host them.

Business Solution

“It isn’t a big problem if a system stalls for a few moments”, explains Markus Haastert, line manager of the pit and push furnaces in the hot-rolling mill at Alunorf in Neuss. “The plant continues to work. If there are short bursts of server downtime, the operators can manually input any missing information. But generally the servers, just like production, have to work daily around the clock. Any interruptions at night or at the weekend, when there are no IT personnel on site, must be fixed quickly and to a large extent automatically.”

Alunorf originally considered a cluster system, but it was too complex for the operations in the hot-rolling mill. Stratus’ fault-tolerant servers (ftServers) were not. The Stratus system allows continuous operation. All components—the CPU, RAM, IO unit and disks—are designed on a totally redundant basis, there is a duplicate of everything, so, if one component fails, the system continues operating without interruption. Because of this, Stratus systems deliver industry leading availability, guaranteeing 99.9999% uptime.

The Stratus server operates as a single machine, so user software doesn’t need to be customized. The administration of the server is very simple too. Furthermore, the fault tolerant server systems come with a comprehensive servicing and maintenance concept. The servers report any faulty components directly to the manufacturer through the Call Home function so that replacement parts are sent out without delay. They often reach the system user before the user has even noticed that one part has failed.

“Any interruptions at night or on the weekend, when there are no IT personnel on site, must be fixed quickly and to a large extent automatically.”
Markus Haastert
Line Manager, Alunorf

Business Impact

ftServer delivered on both its promises—high availability and ease of implementation and use. It also proved to have no hidden costs:

“The software that we have installed in the systems controlling the plant and in the visualization system is extremely complex,” explains Haastert.

“Adapting this to work on a different high-availability system would have been very difficult and expensive. As well as this, it would have isolated us from any current developments to the programs.” ftSservers don’t just guarantee continuing operation in the event of a fault though, they also allow the failed component to be replaced while the system is still running. The servers do not need to be shut down for maintenance work to be carried out, as Alunorf experienced:

“One system once reported a fault in an IO-unit”, reports Haastert.

“We changed the part in question while the server was still in operation, with no more to do than loosening screws, removing the old component and putting the new one in. The bottom line was that the Stratus server didn’t go out of operation for a single minute, neither because of the preceding failure, nor during its replacement. We also didn’t need to restart the system or applications and we didn’t lose anything from the database. Any other solution would have cost us a few days of work.”

Because of its consistently positive experiences, Alunorf has gradually expanded its use of Stratus fault-tolerant servers. Today there are four fault-tolerant servers in the hot-rolling mill for the pit and push furnaces, which run around the clock 365 days a year. These systems have run for six years without a single second of downtime. They have a planned life expectancy of ten years before being routinely exchanged and replaced by newer models.

“I am sure that we will reach the anticipated total running time without a single outage”, concludes Haastert.

“Any interruptions at night or on the weekend, when there are no IT personnel on site, must be fixed quickly and to a large extent automatically.”
Markus Haastert
Line Manager, Alunorf

About Alunorf

Aluminium Norf GmbH in Neuss is the world’s largest aluminium rolling and casting plant. It is a joint venture between Novelis and Hydro Aluminium and manufactures around 1.5 million tonnes of aluminium rolls for an extremely wide range of uses. The products are sold exclusively by the two shareholders.

The site of Aluminium Norf GmbH spans 575,000 square metres, around the size of 60 football fields. 268,000 square metres are built over, and 162,000 square metres are used for roads and storage space. Alunorf’s production is organized into three areas; aluminium melting, hot rolling and cold rolling. It employs over 2,100 people. The production is organized into a shift system to allow operation around the clock, 7 days a week.

Aluminium

Aluminium (symbol Al—atomic number 13) plays an important role in modern industry and is used in computer casing, drinks cans, bodywork of the Inter-City Express (ICE) and aeroplane fuselage. Due to its frequent occurrence and physical properties, especially its light weight—it is only about a third as heavy as steel—and its malleability, aluminium is a preferred material in industrial production. Aluminium is also the only metal to be 100% recyclable without loss of quality—the amount of aluminium used from recycled products has sharply increased in the past few years. With around 50 million tonnes produced worldwide every year, today aluminium is the most commonly used metal after iron and the aluminium industry has become an industry of the future.

About Stratus Technologies

In today’s always-on world, applications run under increasingly demanding circumstances. With these escalating demands comes greater pressure to prevent even the smallest amount of application downtime. Companies are responding to this need for always-on solutions by searching for technologies that either conform to or enhance their current IT infrastructures.

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top