案例研究

AF SWITCHGEAR LTD

英国领先的开关设备制造商使用Stratus® everRun® Enterprise使客户的电力监控系统保持正常运行。

AF Switchgear Ltd成立于1974年,是英国最大的开关设备制造商之一,为低压(LV)开关设备和配电设备设立了标准。AF Switchgear Ltd拥有40多年的开关设备行业经验,250多名员工,年营业额超过3000万英镑,提供灵活、经济的解决方案,以适应所有开关设备和控制应用,包括高压设备和成套子站、主低压配电开关设备、子低压配电开关设备等。2011年,公司成立了控制和监控系统(CMS)部门,为客户提供高功能系统的定制设计和集成。如今,CMS部门不断发展壮大,对年营业额的贡献率不断提高。

挑战

作为施耐德电气授权的StruxureWare™系统集成商,AF开关有限公司使用StruxureWare™电力监控专家为数据中心和有多个租户的大型商业楼宇定制设计和集成先进的控制和监控系统。该系统从设施的电力网络中收集和组织数据,并将其输入标准的SQL数据库,用于完整的历史事件回顾和电力使用分析。AF Switchgear Ltd提供设计协助--从系统概念到结构规划,再到全面运行的系统,为数据中心或大楼运营人员提供用电分析,并为终端租户提供计费报告。通过对电力基础设施的智能洞察,AF Switchgear的系统可帮助客户准确地向租户收取用电费用,最大限度地降低能源成本,并充分利用现有资产以实现其财务和运营目标。

 AF Switchgear Ltd将其控制和监控系统部署在客户设施的标准x86服务器上运行的虚拟机中。每隔一个季度,系统会自动从数据中心或商业楼宇的仪表中收集数据。这些数据被缓存在随机存取存储器(RAM)中,并被推送到Microsoft® SQL数据库中,在那里可以进行历史分析或计费。AF Switchgear Ltd发现,由于电表并不总是具有内部内存,物理服务器故障可能会导致当前缓存在RAM中的电力使用数据永久丢失。这种数据丢失不仅会影响客户对租户进行全面反收费的能力,而且可能会造成关键的智能差距,阻碍能源效率计划的实施。

考虑到系统故障的潜在影响,基本的冗余故障切换无法提供许多AF Switchgear Ltd客户所需的RAM级数据保护。随着电力

在单一服务器上运行的监控软件,当客户启动硬盘驱动器的副本时,硬件故障将导致一段时间的停机。因此,该公司看到了一个机会,通过持续可用性解决方案提供附加值,首先防止系统停机和数据丢失的发生。

解决方案

在评估了几个持续可用性解决方案并检查了施耐德电气的系统测试结果后,AF Switchgear Ltd选择了Stratus everRun 企业停机预防软件,以保持其电力监控系统在客户大楼和数据中心的正常运行。everRun 解决方案可在运行 Microsoft® Windows® 或 Red Hat® Linux® 和 Microsoft SQL Server 的标准 Intel® x86 服务器上与定制的 StruxureWare 电力监控专家软件一起运行。

在每个客户站点,两台x86服务器通过虚拟化平台同步,该平台将受保护的虚拟机配对在一起,以创建一个单一的操作环境,所有底层硬件和数据完全冗余。如果一台物理机出现故障,电源监控软件将继续在另一台物理机上运行,不会出现任何中断或数据丢失。如果一个硬件组件出现故障,everRun ,只需从第二个系统中替换出健康的组件,直到故障组件得到修复或更换。

I/O会自动镜像到冗余服务器上,以确保所有飞行中的事务以及内存和缓存中的数据得到保存,而无需重新启动机器,从而实现最佳的保护和安心。此外,everRun ,主动在后台监控服务器--在需要关注时发出即时警报,帮助AF Switchgear的客户实现始终在线的电源监控。

"我们的许多客户对能源监控和计费报告中的数据颗粒度要求很高--很多情况下是以半小时或一刻钟为单位。如果一台服务器出现故障,他们可能会丢失整段关键数据。Stratus everRun ,可以防止意外停机,这样客户就可以准确地对租户的能源消耗进行反收费。替代方案是不准确的反收费和吸收因不可恢复的数据损失而产生的成本。"
Darren Pearce
控制与监控系统设计经理
AF开关柜

成果

AF Switchgear Ltd能够快速、轻松地安装everRun 解决方案,而无需对电力监控软件进行修改。一旦硬件连接完毕,只需很短的时间就可以进行单盘安装,并创建一个单一的操作环境,应用程序在两个虚拟机上共存。基于网络的everRun 可用性控制台使设置、管理和实时查看系统(包括虚拟机、网络和存储)变得简单。此外,Stratus 支持中心持续远程监控系统,并在发生故障时自动发送通知。

随着AF Switchgear Ltd准备在客户现场部署其首个具有everRun 停机保护功能的电力监控系统,该公司一直在严格测试该解决方案,以确保高性能和可靠性。"根据我们目前所进行的测试,everRun 的性能完全符合我们的预期,"AF Switchgear 公司控制与监控系统设计经理 Darren Pearce 表示。"我们完全没有遇到任何问题;everRun'的停机预防功能非常到位。"

"Stratus everRun 企业使我们能够为客户提供完全放心的基本计费数据的可用性和完整性。"
Darren Pearce
控制与监控系统设计经理
AF开关设备公司

关于 Stratus

在如今永续运行的世界中,Stratus Technologies 基于基础架构提供领先的解决方案,能够保障应用程序持续运行。从企业服务器到云端,Stratus 能够快速部署永续基础架构,而无需对应用程序进行任何更改。Stratus 提供灵活的解决方案--软件、平台和服务--能够预防停机,确保重要业务不间断运行。

更多信息,请访问stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

AF SWITCHGEAR LTD

Leading UK switchgear manufacturer keeps customers’ power monitoring systems up and running using Stratus® everRun® Enterprise

Established in 1974, AF Switchgear Ltd is one of the UK’s largest switchgear manufacturers and has set the standard for low voltage (LV) switchgear and power distribution. With more than 40 years of switchgear industry experience, over 250 employees and an annual turnover in excess of £30 million, AF Switchgear Ltd provides flexible and economic solutions to suit all switchgear and control applications including HV Equipment & Package Sub Stations, Main LV Distribution Switchgear, Sub LV Distribution Switchgear and more. In 2011, the company established the Control and Monitoring Systems (CMS) department to provide custom design and integration of highly functional systems for customers. Today, the CMS department continues to grow and increase its contribution to annual turnover.

The Challenge

As a Schneider Electric Authorised StruxureWare™ System Integrator, AF Switchgear Ltd custom designs and integrates state-of-the-art control and monitoring systems using StruxureWare™ Power Monitoring Expert for data centres and large commercial buildings with multiple tenants. The systems collect and organise data from a facility’s electrical network into a standard SQL database for full historical event recollection and power usage analysis. AF Switchgear Ltd provides design assistance—from system conception through structure planning to fully working systems—to enable power usage analysis for data centre or building operations staff and delivery of billing reports for end tenants. By providing intelligent insight into the electrical infrastructure, AF Switchgear’s systems help customers accurately bill tenants for power usage, minimize energy costs and make the most of current assets to meet their financial and operational goals.

 AF Switchgear Ltd deploys its control and monitoring systems in virtual machines running on standard x86 servers at the customer’s facilities. Every quarter hour, the systems automatically collect data from meters across the data centre or commercial building. This data is cached in Random Access Memory (RAM) and pushed to a Microsoft® SQL database, where it can be accessed for historical analysis or billing purposes. AF Switchgear Ltd identified that because meters don’t always have internal memory, a physical server failure may result in permanent loss of the power usage data currently cached in RAM. This data loss may not only impact a customer’s ability to fully counter-charge tenants, but it may create critical intelligence gaps that hinder energy efficiency initiatives.

Given the potential impact of system failures, basic redundancy failover did not offer the RAM-level data protection that many AF Switchgear Ltd customers require. With the power

monitoring software running on a single server, a hardware failure would result in a period of downtime as the customer boots up a copy of the hard drive. Therefore, the company saw an opportunity to deliver added value with a continuous availability solution that prevents system downtime and data loss from happening in the first place.

The Solution

After evaluating a few continuous availability solutions and examining results of Schneider Electric’s system testing, AF Switchgear Ltd selected Stratus everRun Enterprise downtime prevention software to keeps its power monitoring systems up and running—all the time—at customer buildings and data centres. The everRun solution operates alongside the customized StruxureWare Power Monitoring Expert software on standard Intel® x86 servers running Microsoft® Windows® or Red Hat® Linux® and Microsoft SQL Server.

At each customer site, two x86 servers are synchronized via a virtualization platform that pairs protected virtual machines together to create a single operating environment with full redundancy of all underlying hardware and data. If one physical machine should fail, the power monitoring software will continue to run on the other physical machine without any interruptions or data loss. If a hardware component fails, everRun simply substitutes the healthy component from the second system until the failed component is repaired or replaced.

The I/O is automatically mirrored to the redundant server to ensure that all in-flight transactions as well as data in memory and cache are preserved, without the need for machine restarts, for optimal protection and peace of mind. In addition, everRun proactively monitors the servers in the background—sending instant alerts when something needs attention—to help AF Switchgear’s customers achieve always-on power monitoring.

“Many of our customers demand high granularity of data in their energy monitoring and billing reports—in many cases down to the half hour or quarter hour. If a server fails, they could lose a whole segment of critical data. Stratus everRun protects against unplanned downtime so customers can accurately counter-charge tenants for energy consumption. The alternative is inaccurate counter-charging and absorbing costs due to irrecoverable data loss.”
Darren Pearce
Design Manager, Control & Monitoring Systems
AF Switchgear

The Results

AF Switchgear Ltd is able to install the everRun solution quickly and easily without having to make modifications to the power monitoring software. Once the hardware is connected, it takes very little time to perform the single-disc installation and create a single operating environment with applications co-existing on two virtual machines. The web-based everRun Availability Console makes it simple to set up, manage and view the systems—including virtual machines, networking and storage—in real time. In addition, the Stratus support center continuously monitors the systems remotely, and automatically sends notifications if a fault should occur.

As AF Switchgear Ltd prepares to deploy its first power monitoring system with everRun downtime protection at a customer site, the company has been rigorously testing the solution to ensure high performance and reliability. “Based on the tests we’ve conducted so far, everRun is performing exactly the way we expected,” stated Darren Pearce, Design Manager, Control & Monitoring Systems at AF Switchgear. “We’ve experienced no issues at all; everRun’s downtime prevention capabilities are spot on.”

“Stratus everRun Enterprise enables us to provide customers with complete peace of mind with regard to the availability and integrity of their essential billing data.”
Darren Pearce
Design Manager, Control & Monitoring Systems
AF Switchgear

About Stratus

Stratus Technologies is the leading provider of infrastructure-based solutions that keep applications running continuously in today’s always-on world. Stratus enables rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures—from enterprise servers to clouds—without any changes to applications. Stratus’ flexible solutions—software, platform and services—prevent downtime before it occurs and ensure uninterrupted performance of essential business operations.

To learn more, visit stratus.com

Related Assets

Scroll to Top