宣传册

成功选择边缘 计算平台的8个提示

选择边缘 计算平台时应考虑的问题

边缘 计算最初是为了减少带宽、延迟要求以及从机器层面获取原始数据并将其上传到企业数据中心或云端进行处理的成本。作为分布式计算的一种形式,边缘 计算在机器层面处理特定的应用功能。边缘 计算平台还能够通过存储、处理、分析和采取行动来管理关键数据,从而提高实时应用的使用率。

1.注重安装、操作和维护的便利性。

并非所有具有高额计算能力的边缘 设备都易于部署和管理。目标是快速安装你的边缘 系统,让它与你目前的系统整合,然后提供独立的操作。边缘 计算平台应该容易和有效地提供所有必要的本地操作。维护也应该同样简单和有时间性。

2.消除延迟问题。

在处理关键决策应用时,通过处理在本地产生的数据边缘 ,而不是在数据中心或云端,消除了延迟挑战。你的边缘 计算平台越接近实际过程或机器操作,数据就可以更快地转化为行动并提供结果。计算机中心和云服务很容易因一次处理大量数据而陷入瘫痪。如果由于网络中的瓶颈,操作变得缓慢,你可能无法对你的洞察力采取行动,或者更糟糕的是,导致操作停顿。

3.考虑边缘 计算的成本效益。

节省成本是大多数系统升级的一个重要部分。仅这一点就可以成为将边缘 计算纳入你的操作的主要驱动力。云计算通常需要比预期更高的带宽和容量,这对于现场产生数据的过程和机器应用来说可能会变得昂贵。与网关不同,边缘 系统可以消除在云或数据中心创建和支付更高成本的容量的需要。

4.寻找一个具有冗余和自我诊断功能的边缘 计算系统。

为了增加你的边缘 计算平台的寿命,请确保你的选择提供几个级别的可用性和诊断功能。例如,一个具有冗余节点的边缘 系统,作为一个单一的系统,创造了一个更坚固耐用的解决方案,支持你的关键应用程序的持续可用性。自我诊断功能确保你的边缘 解决方案不断地测量其健康和性能。如果它检测到一个潜在的CPU、内存或磁盘故障,系统应自动将负载从一个节点转移到另一个节点,而不中断生产。这种能力保持了应用程序和数据的连续性。冗余的节点允许维护人员在不停机的情况下热交换一个节点。对于额外的保险级别,边缘 计算系统可提供基于云的健康监测和管理服务。

5.了解你的边缘 系统的工作环境。

工业环境,如石油和天然气、水和废水、化学加工和制造业需要快速决策,以防止产生危险情况和昂贵的停机时间的关键错误。这些应用中的每一个都会使边缘 系统暴露在不同的环境中。你的边缘 计算平台应该足够坚固,能够处理恶劣的环境,包括大的温度波动,暴露在灰尘和湿气中,以及抵抗冲击和振动。此外,检查你需要遵守的地方和国家认证,以确保你的边缘 计算系统符合这些要求。

6.选择一个能够适应各种应用的边缘 解决方案。

在研究边缘 计算平台时,考虑那些支持开放平台通信(OPC)标准的平台,以确保你的工业自动化基础设施为数据的安全交换提供高水平的互操作性。OPC被每个主要的人机界面(HMI)软件、控制系统和工业自动化软件包所支持。

7.选择一个可以进行多种操作的边缘 系统。

一个边缘 计算平台应具有处理能力,为多个应用程序提供快速的数据收集和处理、实时分析、监测和报告。在考虑你的公司未来发展时,一个可扩展的系统也是有益的。一个新的边缘 系统的好处是,它可能有助于发现你没有考虑过的见解,而拥有对这些见解采取行动的能力是至关重要的。执行本地处理的速度和敏捷性--以及自我诊断和在大多数情况下自我修复的能力--可以帮助保持所有业务的在线。

仅有多种应用是不够的;一个边缘 系统还应该提供自我保护和自我监测功能。这大大减少了计划外的停机时间,并确保关键业务应用的持续可用性。内置的冗余功能使之成为可能。例如,来自 ztC 边缘 来自Stratus 的解决方案是一个零接触、安全和高度自动化的边缘 计算平台,专门为边缘 环境而建。该平台提供自动数据保护和本地站点恢复。

8.确保你的所有数据和操作是安全的。

网络安全是所有边缘 计算系统的一个关键功能。大量的边缘 计算平台要么仍在使用旧的安全协议,要么没有能力支持现代网络安全的最佳做法,这使得它们容易受到黑客攻击。当你的边缘 解决方案承担着高度关键和敏感的操作任务时,你必须确保采取所有安全预防措施,以保证你的公司安全。

相关资料

返回顶部

Brochure

8 Tips for Successful Edge Computing Platform Selection

What to consider when selecting an Edge Computing platform

Edge Computing was initially designed to reduce bandwidth, latency requirements, and the cost of taking raw data from the machine level and uploading it for processing, either to an enterprise data center or the cloud. As a form of distributed computing, Edge Computing handles application-specific functionality at the machine level. Edge Computing platforms are also able to increase the use of realtime applications by managing critical data through storing, processing, analyzing, and taking action.

1. Focus on ease of installation, operation, and maintenance.

Not all edge devices with high amounts of computing capabilities are easy to deploy and manage. The goal is to install your edge system quickly, have it integrate with your present systems, and then provide independent operations. Edge Computing platforms should offer all the necessary local operations easily and efficiently. Maintenance should be equally as simple and time-sensitive.

2. Eliminate the latency problems.

Eliminate the latency challenges when dealing with critical decision-making applications by processing the data generated locally at the edge and not in the data center or cloud. The closer to the actual process or machine operation your Edge Computing platform resides, the faster data can be turned into action and deliver results. Computer centers and cloud services can easily get bogged down with volumes of data being processed at one time. If operations become slow due to a bottleneck in your network, you may fail to act on your insights or worse, cause operation shutdowns.

3. Consider the cost benefits of Edge Computing.

Cost savings is an important part of most system upgrades. This alone can be a major driver to incorporate Edge Computing into your operation. The cloud often requires higher than expected bandwidths and capacity, which can become expensive for process and machine applications, where data is generated on-site. Unlike gateways, edge systems can eliminate the need to create and pay for higher-cost capacity in the cloud or data center.

4. Look for an Edge Computing system with redundancy and self-diagnostics.

To increase the life of your Edge Computing platform, be sure your selection offers several levels of availability and diagnostics. For example, an edge system with redundant nodes that acts as a single system creates a more rugged and robust solution, supporting the continuous availability of your critical applications. Selfdiagnostics makes sure your edge solution continually measures its health and performance. If it detects a potential CPU, memory, or disk failure, the system should automatically shift the load from one node to another without disrupting production. This capability maintains application and data continuity. The redundant nodes allow maintenance to hot-swap a node without downtime. For additional levels of insurance, Edge Computing systems are available that offer cloud-based health monitoring and management services.

5. Understand the working environment of your edge system.

Industrial environments such as oil and gas, water and wastewater, chemical processing, and manufacturing require quick decision-making to prevent critical mistakes that can produce dangerous situations and costly downtime. Each of these applications would expose an edge system to a different environment. Your Edge Computing platform should be rugged enough to handle harsh environments, including wide temperature swings, exposure to dust and moisture, and resistance to shock and vibration. Also, check the local and national certifications you’ll need to comply with to ensure your Edge Computing system meets those requirements.

6. Select an edge solution that can adapt to a wide variety of applications.

When researching Edge Computing platforms, consider those that support the Open Platform Communications (OPC) standard to ensure that your industrial automation infrastructure provides a high level of interoperability for the secure exchange of data. OPC is supported by every major human-machine interface (HMI) software, control system, and industrial automation software package.

7. Select an edge system that can perform multiple operations.

An Edge Computing platform should have the processing power to provide fast data collection and processing, real-time analysis, monitoring, and reporting for multiple applications. A scalable system is also beneficial when considering future growth for your company. The beauty of a new edge system is that it may help discover insights you have not considered, and it is critical to have the capacity to act on those insights. The speed and agility to perform local processing—as well as self-diagnostics and the ability to repair itself under most circumstances—can help keep all operations online.

Multiple applications are not enough; an edge system should also offer self-protecting and self-monitoring features. This drastically reduces unplanned downtime and ensures the continuous availability of businesscritical applications. Built-in redundancies make this possible. For example, the ztC Edge solution from Stratus is a zero-touch, secure, and highly automated Edge Computing platform purpose-built for edge environments. The platform provides automated data protection and local site recovery.

8. Make sure all your data and operations are secure.

Cybersecurity is a key function in all Edge Computing systems. A wide number of Edge Computing platforms are either still using older security protocols, or incapable of supporting modern cybersecurity best practices, which makes them vulnerable to hacking. When your edge solution is tasked with highly critical and sensitive operations, you must be sure that all security precautions are taken to keep your company safe.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top