白皮书

赢在边缘

管道管理的新前沿

对于持续运行且实时传输准确数据的系统,全天候监测和自动故障检测可以预防意外停机和其他影响运营效率的问题。

本白皮书介绍以下内容:

  • 在边缘实施控制和自动化技术(支持管道运行的设备)
  • 打造可在恶劣气候条件下运行的稳健平台。
  • 提供在边缘和整个企业保护数据安全的解决方案。

摘要

近年来,美国天然气行业实现工业和需求的双增长,日益增长的清洁能源和新储量开发需求为天然气扩产提供了支持。但天然气行业如何稳定维持增长趋势?运营系统故障会导致安全威胁、违规、天然气账目不准确以及一系列其他问题。本白皮书将介绍应用坚固耐用的工业级平台以及更广泛的边缘计算解决方案如何能够显著改善管道运营的经济性,提高运营灵活性,降低停机时间,以及优化信息管理。

简介

美国天然气行业发展迅速,水力压裂和水平钻探方面的新方法、新技术大幅释放了天然气供应。美国拥有超过3374万亿立方英尺(Tcf)的天然气探明储量,是领先的天然气出产国。对气候变化和环境的担心促进了“更清洁”能源的使用,发电是天然气的主要用途(图1)。目前,天然气可以满足美国30%以上的能源需求。1

天然气是一种清洁能源,由于供应量巨大,除了少数例外情况,2015年以来Henry Hub天然气平均价格一直低于4美元/BTU,因此,居民和商业用户纷纷将天然气作为供热和其他服务的动力。随着全行业需求增加,天然气行业是否能够持续满足未来需求?向所有用户可靠供应天然气是否具备必要的基础设施、技术人员和安全流程?

管道管理现状

美国通过260万英里地下管网向客户提供天然气,这包括220多万英里的本地公共事业配气管道和30万英里的输送管道。尽管这是一个庞大而复杂的管网,但管道运输依然是向消费者提供天然气最安全的方式。

在管道运营中,基于实时数据的准确信息对确保持续运营至关重要。对于天然气供应,外力破坏是引发许多重大问题的根本原因(图2),但三分之一的严重事件与管道维护和运营有关。在大型管网中,从问题发生到采取纠正措施的时间可能决定了其后果只是短暂中断还是环境灾难。

图1:2019年美国天然气分行业消费情况
来源:美国能源信息署,eia.gov/tools/faqs
图2:2005-2019年重大天然气供应事件的原因
来源:phmsa.dot.gov/data-and-statistics/pipeline/pipeline-incident-
20-year-trends。图表:Global Energy Writers

天然气供应中断可能产生严重的经济、安全和社会影响。据报道,2015到2017年美国天然气管道事故造成12人死亡,10人受伤,另外还有不计其数的已遂和未遂事件未造成人员死亡或受伤。天然气管道企业面临着来自各方的压力,社区担心安全做法和管道基础设施老化等问题,政府监管机构要求管道运营企业改善安全和环保成效,并实施了更严格的立法,包括严格审计和更大额的违规罚款。

Stratus了解到天然气公司面临相同的问题:

“我们的管道基础设施系统遇到了停机问题,这是我们无法接受的,因为系统会越来越复杂。”

“如果整个系统停止运行,我们就不得不派一队人去偏远的运营位置手动监测管道的关键部件。”

“如果无法维持系统始终运行,我们将陷入盲目运营。”

“我们必须证明自己是合规的,因此不能丢失数据,否则就会被罚款。”

“我们在偏远位置没有可以解决系统问题的IT技术或资源。”

“我们的管道系统越来越复杂,却也越来越脆弱。”

天然气管道运营企业在解决系统老旧、延迟和现代化问题时面临诸多挑战,更重要的是,管道运营企业必须利用收集的数据,根据信息进行决策。

“在数据中心之外建立边缘计算基础设施是必要的,因为它可以在管道基础设施周围实时收集、处理数据,并根据收集的数据采取措施。”

边缘和边缘计算 :先进的软硬件技术为改善运营和提高管道的盈利能力开辟了新道路,技术发展正在彻底重塑实时管理数据的方式,稳健可靠的平台确保与多个用户安全地共享数据和信息。

21世纪前十年被定义为数字化的十年,因此,硬件、软件和工业管理平台的改进正在让职责范围变得模糊,提出了在管道基础设施附近管理和分析数据的新概念。未来,随着边缘计算的采用,IT和OT的职责将会融合,工业基础设施管理平台将在天然气管道行业获得发展动力。

在数据中心之外建立边缘计算基础设施是必要的,因为它可以在管道基础设施周围实时收集、处理数据,并根据收集的数据采取措施。

传统管道管理解决方案让中游企业感到失望

许多中游企业难以解决利用管道数据和运营管理的问题,企业的生存计划应融入更多数字化功能才能实现流程自动化和实时数据分析。对于某些管道管理工作和任务,边缘计算是可行且必要的解决方案。

中游资产正在形成庞大的网络,为了改善经营业绩,提高设备可用性,管道运营企业需要在运营区域附近安装解决方案。边缘计算是向工业IoT和数字化转型的主要动力,为了运行包含HMI、SCADA、历史数据库、分析和资产性能管理功能的自动化和控制解决方案(图3),边缘和边缘计算都需要工业级平台。

图3 稳健的系统为设备级边缘和边缘计算应用提供支持,保护来自远程运营点的数据。

边缘计算可以平衡传感器和可编程逻辑控制器(PLC)等智能工业设备收集的数据加载,不需要将全部数据发送到全球数据中心。借助边缘计算,可以在中游管道基础设施附近对数据进行处理,从而为更快响应条件变化提供支持。

对于管道基础设施管理操作,可靠性和安全是重中之重。根据德勤最近的报告,数据驱动的方法可以将每年的停机时间减少70%,节省高达22%的意外停机成本。与基于时间的传统基础设施管理计划不同,边缘计算确保实时分析设备工况数据(温度、压力和振动),而且,由于边缘计算可以支持关键的预测性维护解决方案,因此是不可或缺的。

更有效的维护计划可以延长关键基础设施的使用寿命。由于管道资产地处偏远,边缘计算需要坚固、安全和高度自动化的计算系统,快速、可靠且有效地保护和支持管道管理应用。此外,平台必须包含冗余组件,在与SCADA平台断开连接时保护存储的数据,并保持特定管道持续运行。

“根据德勤最近的报告,数据驱动的方法可以将每年的停机时间减少70%,节省高达22%的意外停机成本。与基于时间的传统基础设施管理计划不同,边缘计算确保实时分析设备工况数据(温度、压力和振动)。”

管道管理 – 休斯顿,我们遇到了问题

一家大型天然气管道运营公司管理着跨越16个州的1.5英里基础设施,每年向客户提供超过1 Tcf的天然气,该公司将压缩机站升级为完全冗余系统,根据CRM条例的要求,本次升级包括压缩泵/涡轮、阀以及安全和控制系统。为PLC、电力和网络服务实施冗余比较简单,但构建可以运行SCADA、历史数据库、HMI和相关控制系统应用的常开型完全冗余计算机平台依然是一项严峻挑战。更重要的是,在整个运营升级过程中,关键是部署预测性维护解决方案,以在发生意外停机或灾难性故障之前检测和解决压缩机站问题。

采用的解决方案包括在每个压缩机站部署三台标准的计算机服务器,每台运行一个关键应用,可惜,该解决方案存在多项劣势。为了支持一系列管道管理应用,每个位置需要六到八台服务器,由于空间和电力限制,这是一个重要问题,如果服务器出现故障,运行将变得更加复杂。要让压缩机站完全恢复运行,需要回到总部重新配置其操作环境,然后返回压缩机站进行安装和重新接线,这可能需要两到三天时间。

压缩机站数据丢失会为管道运营企业带来不良后果,导致无法实现提高总体运营效率的目标。现有的硬件计算基础设施严重阻碍管道管理目标的实现,并带来高额成本。

“对于持续运行且实时传输准确数据的系统,全天候监测和自动故障检测可以预防意外停机和其他影响运营效率的问题。”

未来管道管理

Stratus Technologies致力于构建新的策略,解决前文所述的管道基础设施管理问题,我们的解决方案可以为完整的常开型管道系统提供支持,消除停机并优化运营。该策略包含三个步骤:

  • 在边缘实施控制和自动化技术(支持管道运行的设备)
  • 打造可在恶劣气候条件下运行的稳健平台。
  • 提供在边缘和整个企业保护数据安全的解决方案。

在边缘实施控制和自动化技术。边缘计算不依赖数据中心或SCADA系统进行分析和采取响应措施,而是支持设备水平的控制决策和操作。压缩机站是管道运营的核心,利用工业级计算平台(图3),边缘计算可以为压缩机站的预测性维护和整体工况监测提供支持。对压缩机传感器数据进行趋势分析可以发现需要维修的故障,避免完全停机。

按计划维护可以降低设备故障率、维修成本和收入损失,约30%的重大管道事件是由设备故障和操作不当(图2)引起的。对于持续运行且实时传输准确数据的系统,全天候监测和自动故障检测可以预防意外停机和其他影响运营效率的问题。

打造可在恶劣气候条件下运行的稳健平台。管道、仪表、传感器、压缩机和数据平台的工作条件可能发生改变,这些设备和资产必须承受极端温度、振动和冲击。边缘计算平台必须采用工业级设计,能够适应不断变化的环境。更重要的是,平台必须能够自主检测并在出现故障我自助修复。对于管道,零接触技术可以有效支持远程资产的监测、控制和更新,无需IT资源在场。

提供在边缘和整个企业保护数据安全的解决方案。数字化的主要优势是提高组织传输和利用数据的能力,数据安全是主要关注的问题,支持边缘计算的平台必须持续可用,保护数据安全,并包含预防停机的冗余功能。借助坚固耐用的平台,在整个企业分享数据将变得更轻松、更安全、更低成本。灵活的运营平台让运行更多应用成为可能,而且不会增加复杂性或停机风险。

数据分层有助于确定存储或使用数据的位置,数字化将产生更多数据进行高效管理和分析。通过采集实时信息,边缘平台可以在设备级别上优化决策并加快决策的实施速度,采用“即插即用”架构的智能设备支持在边缘进行数据分析,降低将数据发送到数据中心进行进一步处理的需求。

满足未来运营需求

未来,中游行业需要通过切实可行的计划,支持远程管道基础设施、管道管理解决方案和数据中心的持续连接和数据安全。对于中游企业,做好软硬件基础设施规划对长期可持续发展至关重要。中游企业运营不允许出现“盲目”时刻。

40多年来,Stratus Technologies帮助企业确保系统持续运行。点击中游石油天然气企业 了解详细信息或请求演示

相关资料

返回顶部

Whitepaper

Winning at the edge

A new frontier for pipeline management

With systems that are continually operating and transmitting real-time accurate data, 24/7/365 monitoring with automatic fault-detection prevents unplanned downtime and other operational inefficiencies.

In this whitepaper it outlines:

  • Bring control and automation to the edge (devices supporting pipeline operations).
  • Build a robust platform that can operate under severe climate conditions.
  • Provide a solution that secures data at the edge and across the enterprise.

Abstract

In recent years the United States (U.S.) natural gas industry has grown in both supply and demand. Rising demand for cleaner energy options and new reserves exploitation support the expansion of natural gas production. But can the natural gas industry safely sustain this growth? When your operational systems fail, you are exposed to safety threats, compliance violations, inaccurate gas balancing and a host of other issues. In this whitepaper, you’ll learn how applying a rugged industrial-grade platform as part of a wider Edge Computing solution can drastically improve pipeline operating economics, enable more flexible operations, reduce downtime and create better information management.

Introduction

The U.S. natural gas industry has rapidly grown. New methods and technologies in hydraulic fracturing and horizontal drilling unleashed a wave of natural gas supplies. With over 3,374 trillion cubic feet (Tcf) of discovered reserves, the U.S. is a leading natural gas producer. Concerns over climate change and the environment are drivers to use “cleaner” energy resources. Electric power is the leading consumer of natural gas (Figure 1). Today, natural gas meets more than 30% of the U.S. energy needs.1

Natural gas is a clean-energy resource. With abundant supplies, Henry Hub natural gas prices have averaged under $4/BTU since 2015 with some exceptions. Consequently, residential and commercial users are migrating to natural gas for heating and other services. As demand across all sectors increases, can the natural gas industry sustainably meet future demand? Are necessary infrastructure, skilled personnel and safety procedures in place to reliably deliver natural gas to all users?

Pipeline management today

In the U.S., natural gas is delivered to customers through a 2.6 million-mile underground pipeline network. It includes more than 2.2 million miles of local utility distribution pipelines and 300,000 miles of transmission pipelines.1 Although this is a vast and complicated network, pipeline transportation remains the safest way to deliver natural gas to consumers.

In pipeline operations, good information based on real-time data is critical to maintain sustainable operations. For natural gas distribution, the root causes of major incidents are sourced to outside damage (Figure 2). Yet, one-third of serious incidents are related to pipeline maintenance and operations. With a vast network, the time between an event occurrence and the corrective response can be the determining factor of whether it is just a brief interruption or an environmental disaster.

Figure 1. 2019 U.S. natural gas consumption by sector.
Source: U.S. EIA, eia.gov/tools/faqs
Figure 2. Gas distribution serious incident causes, 2005-2019.
Source: phmsa.dot.gov/data-and-statistics/pipeline/pipeline-incident-
20-year-trends. Graphics: Global Energy Writers.

Disruptions in natural gas distribution have major economic, safety and societal effects. From 2015 to 2017, 12 deaths and 10 injuries were reported due to natural gas pipeline accidents in the U.S. There are other countless incidents and near-miss events that do not result in fatalities or injuries. Natural gas pipeline companies are facing pressures from all sides. Communities are concerned about safety practices and the aging pipeline infrastructure. Government regulatory agencies demand better safety and environmental performance by pipeline operators and have enacted more stringent legislation involving rigorous audits and larger fines for non-compliance.

Stratus is hearing the same themes from natural gas companies:

“We are experiencing unacceptable down time of our ever increasingly complex pipeline infrastructure systems.”

“We have to send an army of people to remote locations to monitor critical parts of the pipelines manually if all systems are down.”

“We are running blind when we do not have our systems always on.”

“We have to prove we are in compliance—and cannot be missing data; otherwise we can get fined.”

“We do not have technical IT skills or resources to fix system issues at remote locations.”

“We are adding more and more complexity to our pipeline systems making them more breakable.”

Natural gas pipeline operators are facing multiple challenges to manage legacy, latency and modernization concerns. More importantly, pipeline operators must capitalize on collected data and make information-driven decisions.

“Edge Computing infrastructure outside of the data center is essential as it collects, processes and acts on data collected close to the pipeline infrastructure itself in real-time.”

Edge and Edge Computing: Advanced hardware and software technologies are charting new pathways to improve operations and profitability of pipelines. Such developments are radically reshaping the options to manage data in real-time. Robust and reliable platforms ensure that data and information can be shared with multiple users in a secure manner.

The 2020s is defined as the decade of digitalization. Consequently, advancements in hardware, software and industrial management platforms are blurring responsibility areas and creating new concepts to manage and analyze data closer to the pipeline infrastructure. Looking forward, IT and OT duties will merge as the adoption of Edge Computing and industrial infrastructure management platforms gains momentum within the natural gas pipeline industry.

Edge Computing infrastructure outside of the data center is essential as it collects, processes and acts on data collected close to the pipeline infrastructure itself in real-time.

Conventional pipeline management solutions are failing midstream operators

Many midstream companies struggle to solve pipeline data usage and operational management problems. Incorporating more digitalization capabilities will be part of survival plans to automate processes and do real-time data analytics. Edge Computing is both a viable and essential solution for certain pipeline management workloads and tasks.

Midstream assets are sprawling networks. To improve operating performance and increase equipment availability, pipeline operators need solutions installed closer to the area of operation. Edge Computing acts as the backbone for the transition to Industrial IoT and digitalization. Both the edge and Edge Computing require industrial-grade platforms in order to run automation and control solutions containing HMI, SCADA, historians, analytics and asset performance management functions (Figure 3).

Figure 3. A robust platform supports edge and Edge-Computing applications at the device levels and secures data from remote operations.

Edge Computing can balance the data load collected by smart industrial devices—sensors and programmable logic controllers (PLCs). Not all data needs to be sent back to the global data center. With Edge Computing, data can be processed closer to the midstream pipeline infrastructure, thus supporting faster responses to changing conditions.

For pipeline infrastructure management operations, reliability and safety are critical priorities. According to a recent Deloitte report, a data-driven approach can reduce annual downtime by 70% and lower unplanned downtime costs up to 22%. Unlike conventional time-based infrastructure management programs, Edge Computing ensures that equipment health data (temperature, pressure and vibrations) can be analyzed in real-time. Moreover, Edge Computing is essential as it supports critical predictive maintenance solutions.

Better maintenance programs lengthen the service life of key infrastructure. Due to the remote location of pipeline assets, Edge Computing requires a rugged, secure and highly-automated computing system that protects and supports pipeline management applications quickly, reliably and efficiently. In addition, the platforms must incorporate redundancy to protect stored data and to continue designated pipeline operations should connections to SCADA platforms be interrupted.

“According to a recent Deloitte report, a data-driven approach can reduce annual downtime by 70% and lower unplanned downtime costs up to 22%. Unlike conventional time-based infrastructure management programs, Edge Computing ensures that equipment health data (temperature, pressure and vibrations) can be analyzed in real-time.”

Pipeline management—Houston, we have a problem

A large gas pipeline operator managing 15,000 miles of infrastructure, spread across 16 states, transporting over 1 Tcf of natural gas per year to their customer base, upgraded their compressor stations to a fully redundant system. This upgrade included compressor pumps/turbines, valves, and safety and control systems as mandated by CRM regulations. It was easy to implement redundancy for PLCs, power and network services. Creating an always-on fully redundant computer platform to operate the SCADA, historian, HMI and related control system applications, however, remained a critical challenge. More importantly, a key element in the total operational upgrade was deploying a predictive maintenance solution to detect and address compressor station problems before unplanned outages or catastrophic failures occurred.

The solution adopted involved deploying three standard computer servers at each compressor station, each running one critical application. Unfortunately, this solution had multiple weaknesses. Six to eight servers were necessary at each location to support a range of pipeline management applications. Given space and power constraints, this was a significant problem complicating operations when servers failed. To get a compressor station fully operational again required reconfiguring its exact operating environment back at head­quarters and then driving to the location to do the install and re-cabling. This would take two to three days.

Data loss at compressor stations meant sub-optimal results for the pipeline operator thus defeating the objective of increasing total operational efficiency. The existing hardware computing infrastructure created critical and expensive obstructions to pipeline management goals.

“With systems that are continually operating and transmitting real-time accurate data, 24/7/365 monitoring with automatic fault-detection prevents unplanned downtime and other operational inefficiencies.”

Managing pipelines of the future

Stratus Technologies is working on a new approach solving pipeline infrastructure management problems such as those highlighted. Our solution supports a complete, always-on pipeline system that eliminates downtime and optimizes operations. This approach consists of three steps:

  • Bring control and automation to the edge (devices supporting pipeline operations).
  • Build a robust platform that can operate under severe climate conditions.
  • Provide a solution that secures data at the edge and across the enterprise.

Bring control and automation to the edge. Instead of relying on the data center or SCADA systems for analytics and response actions, Edge Computing supports control decisions and actions at the device level. For pipelines, compressor stations are the heart of the operation. Using industrial-grade computing platforms (Figure 3), Edge Computing supports predictive maintenance and overall health monitoring of compressor stations. Trending compressor sensors data can detect the need for repairs well before a total failure occurs.

Planned maintenance reduces equipment unavailability, cost of repairs and lost revenue. About 30% of major pipeline incidents are caused by equipment failure and incorrect operations (Figure 2). With systems that are continually operating and transmitting real-time accurate data, 24/7/365 monitoring with automatic fault-detection prevents unplanned downtime and other operational inefficiencies.

Build a robust platform that operates under severe climate conditions. For pipelines, instrumentation, sensors, compressors, and data platforms are subject to variable conditions. These devices and assets must withstand temperature extremes, vibrations, and shock. The Edge Computing platform must be industrial-grade design and have resiliency to constantly changing environment. More importantly, the platform must be self-monitoring and self-healing should problems occur. For pipelines, zero-touch technology efficiently supports the monitoring, controlling and updating of remote assets without requiring IT resources on site.

Provide a solution that secures data at the edge and across the enterprise. The main benefit of digitalization is the enhanced ability to move and use data across the organization. Security of data is a major concern. The platform supporting Edge Computing must be continuously available, protect data and include redundancy features for failure protection. With a rugged platform, data is easier, safer, and cheaper to share throughout the enterprise. Flexible operations enable running more applications without adding complexity or risk of failures.

Data hierarchy assists in determining where data should be stored or used. Digitalization will create more data to efficiently manage and analyze. With real-time information developed by Edge Computing, better decisions can be implemented faster at the device level. Smart devices in “plug and play” architectures enable analytics at the edge level and can reduce the need to send data to the data center for further action.

Future proofing the operation

Looking ahead, the midstream industry will need living plans that support continued connectivity and data security to remote pipeline infrastructure, pipeline management solutions and data centers. Planning the best hardware and software infrastructure for midstream operations is critical for long-term sustainability. Midstream companies can’t afford “blind” moments in their operations.

For over 40 years Stratus Technologies has been helping companies keep their systems continuously operational. Learn more at Oil and Gas Midstream or to request a demo.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top