白皮书

Stratus 产品安全

Stratus安全计划与安全实践概述

摘要

作为全面安全策略的一部分,Stratus通过管理和实施安全计划和实践确保开发安全的产品,促进整个企业的安全意识。在产品开发的过程中及之后,Stratus建立了成熟的监督流程,帮助发现和缓解产品安全风险。本文旨在介绍Stratus的“安全开发生命周期计划”,该计划通过全面且严格的产品安全保证流程帮助企业修复潜在漏洞,确保产品完整性。

Stratus重视安全

Stratus具有长期的安全传统

Stratus为企业提供计算基础设施已接近40年,企业需要高度可靠、安全和可管理的平台运行大部分任务关键型数据中心工作负载。目前,全球《财富》100强企业超过一半使用Stratus的解决方案,每年安全处理价值8.6万亿美元的信用卡交易,生产2亿吨食品饮料,以及运送15亿航空乘客。

边缘计算基础设施必须是安全的

Stratus的解决方案正在被越来越多地部署到企业网络的边缘,更多企业选择简单、安全、自主的Stratus计算平台在缺乏环境控制措施和/或技术资源的位置运行重要的边缘应用。

由于IoT(物联网)的出现以及IT(信息技术)和OT(运营技术)的融合,新的和现有的IT安全漏洞开始影响之前“独立的”OT边缘网络,而且,使用传统的IT安全措施和工具很难为这些OT网络提供保护。

安全对Stratus至关重要

对于Stratus,确保客户计算平台(从数据中心到边缘)安全无虞至关重要。公司许多客户经营的行业受到严格监管,他们使用公司的边缘计算平台运行重要的国家基础设施。因此,减少可能被利用的攻击矢量,为产品添加支持深度防护的层是降低风险的重要措施。为了更好地保护客户和合作伙伴,Stratus遵循全面的安全策略,包括实施行业最佳安全做法,在设计和构建产品时保持安全意识,迅速响应已知的安全漏洞和威胁,以及持续评估当前情况并通过实施改进提高安全态势。

Stratus遵循行业最佳安全做法

在设计和构建产品时Stratus遵循公认的行业最佳安全做法(安全流程),并确保产品更加安全(安全产品)。正式的SDL(安全开发生命周期)计划融合ISA、NIST和OWASP指南,帮助Stratus识别和缓解安全风险。通过与OPAF等组织合作,公司可以利用更多安全社区的资源最大程度提高产品安全。

以ISA为基础

国际自动化学会(ISA)是一个非营利性专业组织,该组织成立于1945年,负责制定和维护被广泛采用的国际标准,包括适用于工业自动化和控制系统的安全标准。Stratus主要遵循已被国际电工委员会(IEC)采用的两项标准,从流程和产品两个方面保持安全意识。

安全流程

ISA/IEC 62443-4-1
ISA/IEC 62443-4-1规定了工业自动化和控制系统使用的产品安全开发流程要求。Stratus在安全开发自有产品时遵循这些ISA指南,为了开发和维护安全的产品,指南规定了安全开发生命周期,包括以下方面:

  • 安全要求的定义
  • 安全设计
  • 安全实施(包括编程指南)
  • 验证与确认
  • 缺陷管理
  • 补丁管理
  • 产品到期

NIST SP 800-37
美国国家标准技术研究所是一家政府组织,隶属美国商务部,负责制定和监督旨在促进行业竞争力的技术、度量衡和标准。NIST特刊800-37 (SP 800-37)提供了关于联邦信息系统应用“风险管理框架”的指南,在开发Stratus Redundant Linux、everRun和VOS等软件产品的过程中,Stratus开发人员遵循这些补充指南。

产品安全

ISA/IEC 62443-4-2
Stratus还根据ISA的功能要求确定产品应该包含的安全功能,ISA/IEC 62443-4-2详细介绍了符合控制系统功能安全等级的七项基本要求(FR),以及与之相关的技术组件要求(CR)。以下为七项基本要求:

  • 身份验证控制
  • 使用控制
  • 系统完整性
  • 数据保密性
  • 数据流限制
  • 事件及时响应
  • 资源可用性

例如,ztC Edge和everRun等Stratus产品利用访问控制列表、角色和密码实施最起码的权限认证、身份认证和使用控制。ztC Edge通过安全可靠的启动确保系统完整性,ftServer和ztC Edge使用HTTPS、SSH和SMTP等安全通信协议和加密技术确保数据保密性。如果Stratus产品出现可能导致安全事件的配置变化,提醒日志会立即向管理员发出通知。资源可用性是所有Stratus产品的特征,提供应对各种拒绝服务事件和确保企业关键服务持续可用的高可用性和容错功能。

FIPS 140-2
联邦信息处理标准140-2 (FIPS 140-2)是另一个NIST标准,由该组织的计算机安全部门(CSD)和应用网络安全部门(ACD)共同维护。标准规定了密码模块应满足的安全性要求,提供了四个日益严格的定性等级,旨在涵盖各种各样的潜在应用和环境。

Stratus遵循FIPS 140-2的密码和数据安全设计原则,满足其产品安全要求。例如,目前的Stratus产品使用OpenSSL 1.0.2k-fips和TLS v1.2提供Web服务,ztC Edge提供控制台访问权限的Web服务器默认遵循FIPS 140-2算法。

OWASP
开放式Web应用程序安全项目(OWASP)是一个旨在提高软件安全性的非盈利基金组织。Stratus利用该基金会的方法、文档、工具和技术提高安全性。

Stratus在设计和构建产品时牢记安全意识

在产品开发过程中,Stratus制定了识别和缓解安全风险的程序和做法,Stratus工程组的产品安全团队负责在全公司范围内制定和实施安全计划,培养安全意识文化。该团队还负责Stratus的SDL计划、安全事件响应和安全认证。

Stratus的SDL是一个闭环安全保证计划,帮助Stratus工程师以安全的方式开发安全的产品,其主要目标是减少产品(包括正在开发和已部署的)中的漏洞数量并降低其严重性。该计划通过将安全融入产品生命周期和灵活开发文化的各个方面实现这一目标,包括前期培训、要求汇总、设计、实施、验证、发布和发布后响应。

除了利用行业最佳安全做法、指南、标准以及ISA、NIST和OWASP提供的工具,Stratus还在SDL项目的每个阶段加入其它安全做法,以缓解安全风险。

培训
为了尽可能避免开发过程和产品中出现安全问题,Stratus工程师定期接受安全培训,了解最新的安全趋势和行业中不断演进的威胁环境。Stratus的安全团队管理并维护基于角色的安全课程和特定的技术安全课程,并定期进行更新,目前课程包括安全概念、安全设计与测试、安全编码技术和安全工具。

要求汇总
要求汇总和规划阶段对产品最初的安全级别进行评估,之后还要根据一系列已知的安全要求进行多次重要的评估,这些要求可能来自产品所有人,即客户要求,也可能来自行业标准,但都由安全团队进行审查和维护。目前包含的标准涉及身份验证、授权、加密、证书管理、网络安全、虚拟化、责任制,以及软件封装和交付等。另外,保护敏感数据、预防恶意代码和减少攻击表面等有更高级别的安全要求。

设计
产品设计阶段同时对发布前的安全问题进行鉴别和修复,通过建立威胁模型或架构图发现潜在的漏洞、系统缺陷和不恰当的设计假设。通过在开发过程早期执行这一工作,开发团队可以获得的足够时间解决任何与设计相关的安全问题。


在这一阶段,开发团队使用自动化工具监测漏洞,包括与安全相关的缺陷。对于可能导致安全漏洞的编码和设计条件,则使用SAST(静态应用安全测试)分析应用源码、字节代码和二进制。这一阶段还进行漏洞扫描。

另外,安全团队通过安全寻源记录产品中包含的所有OSS(开源软件)和TPS(第三方软件)的名称和版本级别,检查是否存在已知的安全漏洞。Stratus对供应商硬件和软件进行安全评估,确保使用按照行业标准开发的安全产品,避免将安全问题风险传递给客户。

验证
在生命周期的这一阶段,开发团队使用自动化工具对软件进行扫描,检查网络中运行的计算系统是否存在安全漏洞,确定是否存在威胁或利用系统的特定方式,另外还可能通过渗透测试确定恶意入侵者是否能够成功攻击产品或解决方案。这些测试在独立的测试环境中进行,可能包括产品架构和源码审查,也可能使用各种商业或内部漏洞检测工具。

这一阶段还进行最终的安全审查,检验产品是否完成全部SDL检查,以及前期安全审查发现的问题是否得到解决。最终安全审查完成后,产品达到RC(候选版本)要求。

发布和发布后响应
属于GA(一般可用)的产品进入其产品生命周期的生产阶段。它们一直处于这个阶达到GA(正式发布)要求的产品会进入其生命周期的生产阶段,它们将一直处于这个阶段,直至EOL(到期)。对于任何与Stratus产品相关的安全问题报告,Stratus的产品安全事件响应团队(PSIRT,安全团队的子团队)负责监测其技术情况,全球团队负责调查提交的漏洞,并将信息提供给相应的内部团队。全球团队的另一个职责是担任安全调查机构、客户、合作伙伴和其他外部团体提交Stratus产品漏洞的联系人。(product.security@stratus.com)

Stratus迅速响应安全漏洞和威胁

当检测到有关Stratus产品的问题或收到问题报告时,PSIRT会与Stratus开发团队共同调查相关问题,然后针对问题的解决和沟通,与相应的产品和支持团队进行内外协调。另外,PSIRT负责发布和推广所有的安全建议,并在Stratus的网站上建立维护记录。

Stratus与其他技术供应商和政府组织(如英特尔、AMD、IBM、微软、红帽、谷歌、Facebook、亚马逊、MITRE、CISA等)一道建立安全联盟,持续识别、验证和发布有关已知安全漏洞的信息。联盟成员收到潜在漏洞提示时,开始验证和诊断相关问题,在成员中分享信息,并共同找到解决方案。最终,Stratus创建安全补丁,并由PSIRT提供给客户和合作伙伴。

Stratus持续评估并提升安全态势

Stratus定期评估SDL计划识别和缓解风险的能力,并将成熟且经过验证的新流程和工具添加到计划中。

另外,Stratus的敏捷方法体系包含与各开发阶段的漏洞类型和等级相匹配的自动安全测试流程,集成的DevSecOps方法有助于确保将安全融入Stratus迅速而频繁的产品开发周期,并将前期开发获得的经验迅速应用到后期开发中。

更多信息

如需获取详细信息或提交漏洞,请通过product.security@stratus.com联系Stratus的PSIRT。如需获得详细的Stratus安全建议,请访问support.stratus.com。如需详细了解Stratus如何确保产品安全,请访问stratus.com/securitystratus.com

参考资料

  • 国际自动化学会(ISA):isa.org
  • 国际电工委员会(IEC):iec.ch
  • 美国国家标准技术研究所(NIST):nist.gov
  • 开放式Web应用程序安全项目(OWASP):owasp.org
  • 开放式流程自动化论坛(OPAF):opengroup.org/forum/open-process-automation-forum
  • 网络安全和基础设施安全局(CISA):us-cert.gov。

相关资料

返回顶部

Whitepaper

Stratus Product Security

An overview of Stratus’s Security Programs and Practices

Abstract

As part of a comprehensive security strategy, Stratus manages and executes programs and practices to ensure the development of secure products and drive security awareness across its enterprise. Established oversight procedures help Stratus identify and mitigate product security risks both during and after product development. The purpose of this paper is to explain Stratus’s Secure Development Lifecycle program— the comprehensive and rigorous product security assurance processes that help it address potential vulnerabilities and ensure product integrity.

Stratus takes security seriously

Stratus has a rich security heritage

For nearly 40 years, Stratus has been providing computing infrastructure for enterprises that need highly reliable, secure, and manageable platforms to power their most mission-critical data center workloads. Today, Stratus solutions are used by over half of the global Fortune 100, to safely process $8.6T in credit card transactions, produce 200M tons of food and drink, and transport 1.5B airline passengers annually.

Edge computing infrastructure must be secure

More and more, Stratus solutions are being deployed at the edge of corporate networks. Stratus’s simple, protected, and autonomous computing platforms are increasingly being sought out to run critical edge applications, in locations lacking environmental controls and/or technology resources.

The emergence of IoT (Internet of Things), and the convergence of IT (information technology) and OT (operational technology), are exposing previously “isolated” OT edge networks to new and existing IT security vulnerabilities. Furthermore, these OT networks are not easily secured using traditional IT security measures and tools.

Security is important at Stratus

Ensuring the security of customers’ computing platforms— from the data center to the edge—is of utmost importance to Stratus. Many of its customers operate in heavily regulated industries and use its edge computing platforms for critical national infrastructure. As such, reducing viable attack vectors, and creating products with layers that support defense-in-depth approaches, are important elements to reduce risk. To better protect its customers and partners, Stratus follows a comprehensive security strategy, including leveraging security industry best practices, designing and building products with security in mind, responding rapidly to known security vulnerabilities and threats, and continually evaluating its current stance and making improvements to enhance its security posture.

Stratus follows security industry best practices

Stratus follows recognized security industry best practices when designing and building products (secure process) and making them more secure (secure product). A formal SDL (secure development lifecycle) program that incorporates ISA, NIST, and OWASP guidelines helps Stratus identify and mitigate security risks. Partnering with organizations like OPAF helps it leverage the resources of the broader security community to maximize product security.

It starts with the ISA

The International Society of Automation (ISA) is a non-profit professional association founded in 1945. The organization develops and maintains widely used global standards, including security standards for industrial automation and control systems. Stratus primarily follows two ISA guidelines that have also been adopted by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) to consider security from both a process and product perspective.

Security Process

ISA/IEC 62443-4-1
ISA/IEC 62443-4-1 specifies process requirements for the secure development of products used in industrial automation and control systems. Stratus follows these ISA guidelines in securely developing its own products. The guidelines define a secure development lifecycle for the purpose of developing and maintaining secure products, including the following:

  • security requirements definition
  • secure design
  • secure implementation (including coding guidelines)
  • verification and validation
  • defect management
  • patch management
  • product end-of-life

NIST SP 800-37
Now part of the US Department of Commerce, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) is a government organization that establishes and oversees technologies, measurements, and standards designed to help promote industrial competitiveness. NIST Special Publication 800-37 (SP 800-37) provides guidelines for applying their Risk Management Framework to federal information systems. Stratus developers leverage these supplemental guidelines during the development of its software products, like Stratus Redundant Linux, everRun, and VOS.

Product Security

ISA/IEC 62443-4-2
Stratus also uses ISA functional requirements to help define which security features to incorporate into its products. ISA/IEC 62443-4-2 details technical component requirements (CRs) associated with seven foundational requirements (FRs) for meeting control system capability security levels. The seven foundational requirements are:

  • identification and authentication control
  • use control
  • system integrity
  • data confidentiality
  • restricted data flow
  • timely response to events
  • resource availability

For example, Stratus products like ztC Edge and everRun leverage access control lists, roles, and passwords, for least privilege identification, authentication, and use control. System integrity in ztC Edge is ensured with secure and trusted boot. Both ftServer and ztC Edge use secure communication protocols such as HTTPS, SSH and SMTP with encryption to ensure data confidentiality. Alert logs notify administrators immediately of configuration changes in Stratus products that might be indicative of security incidents. Resource availability is also a hallmark of all Stratus products, which offer high availability and fault tolerance to provide resilience against various types of denial of service events and continuity of business critical services.

FIPS 140-2
Federal Information Processing Standard 140-2 (FIPS 140-2) is another NIST standard maintained jointly by their Computer Security Division (CSD) and Applied Cybersecurity Division (ACD). It specifies the security requirements that would be satisfied by a cryptographic module, providing four increasing, qualitative levels intended to cover a wide range of potential applications and environments.

Stratus uses FIPS 140-2 cryptography and data security design principles to inform its product security requirements. For example, current Stratus products use OpenSSL 1.0.2k-fips and TLS v1.2 for web services. ztC Edge’s web server for providing console access complies with FIPS 140-2 algorithms by default.

OWASP
The Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) is a nonprofit foundation whose purpose is to improve the security of software. Stratus leverages the foundation’s methodologies, documentation, tools, and technologies to improve the security.

Stratus designs and builds its products with security in mind

Stratus has established programs and practices that identify and mitigate security risks during its product development process. A product security team within Stratus’s Engineering group is responsible for developing and driving security initiatives across the company and fostering a security conscious culture. This team is responsible for Stratus’s SDL program, security incident response efforts, and security certifications.

Stratus’s SDL is a closed loop security assurance program that helps Stratus engineers securely develop secure products. Its primary objective is to reduce the number and severity of vulnerabilities in its products, both under development and deployed. It accomplishes this by infusing security into every aspect of its products’ lifecycles and agile development culture, including up-front training, requirements gathering, design, implementation, verification, release, and post-release response.

In addition to leveraging the security industry best practices, guidelines, standards, and tools provided by the ISA, NIST, and OWASP, Stratus incorporates additional security practices throughout each SDL program phase to mitigate security risk.

Training
Stratus engineers receive security training on a regular basis, keeping current on security trends and the industry’s evolving threat landscape, in order to help minimize the introduction of security issues into its development process and products. Stratus’s security team manages and maintains role-based and technology specific security curricula, periodically updating it. Currently, there are courses in security concepts, security design and testing, security coding techniques, and security tools.

Requirements gathering
During the requirements gathering and planning phases, the product’s initial security profile is evaluated. This is the first of several milestones where the product’s security profile is compared against a set of known security requirements. These requirements may come from product owners as customers’ requests, or from industry standards, but they are vetted and maintained by the security team. Currently, they include standards for things like authentication, authorization, encryption, certificate management, network security, virtualization, accountability, and software packaging and delivery. In addition, there are higher level security requirements, for items like securing sensitive data, malicious code prevention, and attack surface reduction.

Design
During a product’s design phase, a parallel activity takes place to identify and remediate security issues before release. A threat model, or architectural drawing which identifies potential vulnerabilities, system flaws, and incorrect design assumptions is drafted. By performing this activity early in the development process, development teams have adequate time to address any design-related security issues.

Implementation
During this phase, development teams use automated tools to detect defects, including security-related flaws. SAST (static application security testing) is utilized to analyze application source code, byte code and binaries for coding and design conditions that are indicative of security vulnerabilities. Vulnerability scanning is also performed at this stage.

In addition, the security team employs secure sourcing. It documents the names and release levels of all OSS (open source software) and TPS (third party software) incorporated into its products, inspecting them for known vulnerabilities. Security assessments of vendor hardware and software are performed to ensure that Stratus is receiving secure products that are developed to industry standards, in order to mitigate the risk of security issues being passed down to its customers.

Verification
During this lifecycle phase, development teams use automated tools to scan software products for security vulnerabilities in computing systems that are running in a network, to determine if there are specific ways the system can be threaten or exploited. In addition, penetration testing may be performed to determine if a malicious intruder can successfully attack the product or solution. These tests are conducted in isolated, test environments, and can include product architecture and source code reviews, and utilize various commercial or internal vulnerability detection tools.

Also, a final security review is performed during this stage, to verify whether the product has gone through all SDL program activities, and any issues raised in prior security reviews have been addressed. This final security review is completed before any RC (release candidate) milestones are met.

Release and post-release response
Products that are GA (generally available) enter the production phase of their product lifecycle. They remain in this phase until their EOL (end of life). Stratus’s Product Security Incident Response Team (PSIRT), a subset of the security team, is responsible for monitoring the technology landscape for any reports of security issues concerning Stratus products. A global team, one of its roles is to investigate reported vulnerabilities, and provide information internally to the appropriate teams. Another role that it plays is to be the Stratus point of contact (product.security@stratus.com) for security researchers, customers, partners, and other external parties reporting vulnerabilities in Stratus products.

Stratus quickly responds to security vulnerabilities and threats

When PSIRT detects or receives a report of an issue with a Stratus product, PSIRT works with Stratus development teams to investigate the issue. PSIRT continues to coordinate the remediation and communication internally and externally of the issue with the appropriate product and support teams. In addition, PSIRT is responsible for communicating and distributing all security advisories, and maintaining a record of them on Stratus’s website.

Stratus, together with other technology vendors and government organizations (e.g. Intel, AMD, IBM, Microsoft, Red Hat, Google, Facebook, Amazon, MITRE, CISA, etc.), belong to a security coalition that continually identifies, qualifies, and publishes information about known security vulnerabilities. When coalition members are alerted to a potential vulnerability, work begins to qualify and diagnose the issue. Information is shared among coalition members, and members collaborate to create a fix. Eventually, Stratus creates a security patch, which is then distributed by PSIRT to its customers and partners.

Stratus continually evaluates and improves its security posture

Stratus’s SDL program is periodically assessed for its ability to identify and mitigate risks, and new processes and tools are added to the program as they mature and are qualified.

In addition, Stratus’s agile methodology includes automated processes for security testing that match the type and level of vulnerability for each development stage. An integrated DevSecOps approach helps ensure security is incorporated into Stratus’s rapid and frequent product development cycles, where lessons learned from earlier cycles can quickly be applied to future ones.

For more information

For more information, or to report a vulnerability, please contact Stratus’s PSIRT at product.security@stratus.com. For more information about Stratus’s security advisories, please visit support.stratus.com. For more information about how Stratus ensures the security of its products, please visit stratus.com/security or stratus.com.

References

  • International Society of Automation (ISA): isa.org
  • International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC): iec.ch
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST): nist.gov
  • Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP): owasp.org
  • Open Process Automation Forum (OPAF): opengroup.org/forum/open-process-automation-forum
  • Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA): us-cert.gov

Related Assets

Scroll to Top