白皮书

智能工厂需要更智能的机器

边缘计算平台为机器和设备制造商创造新的增收降本机会

开发满足客户要求的新一代智能设备的最好方式是什么?边缘计算值得考虑。

多年来,自动化已成为机器设计不可或缺的一部分,数字化转型、智能制造、工业4.0和工业物联网(IIoT)等新概念越来越多地被应用到机器领域,以实现差异化和竞争优势。

本白皮书将详细介绍机器制造商和设备制造商可以采取哪些方式应用上述概念,以及边缘计算等技术如何满足机器制造商和终端客户的需求。

简介

机器设备制造商(OEM)包括许多不同类型的商业组织,但他们都面临相同的挑战 – 市场的激烈竞争。每一代设备都比上一代有价格/性能方面的提升,在推出新设计的过程中,设计、生产和产品管理部门必须持续评估和权衡新的技术提升和由此增加的成本。

多年来,自动化已成为机器设计不可或缺的一部分,数字化转型、智能制造、工业4.0和工业物联网(IIoT)等新概念越来越多地被应用到制造领域以实现竞争优势。本白皮书主要介绍机器制造商和设备制造商可以采取哪些方式应用上述新概念,以及边缘计算如何满足机器制造商和客户的特殊需求。

智能工厂和智能制造需要更智能的机器

大约30年前PLC和PAC等机器自动化技术引起了设备设计的变革,今天智能工厂和智能制造正在以同样的方式引起工业领域的另一场变革。数字化变革概念的应用让企业能够通过控制系统和传感器收集数据,从而以最佳效能运营。通过这种方式,企业可以实现实时分析,获得有助于提高设备综合效率(OEE)的见解,在本地收集和分析数据,并将数据发送到云端,在各种应用中进行更深层次的分析。数据可以用于优化维护工作,提高供应链灵活性,以及提高类似生产过程所使用的所有设施的产量。

机器和OEM设备是基本的生产要素,智能机器只有按照OEM的设计目的或终端用户的要求运行,才能实现智能工厂和智能制造。机器和设备制造商通过实施数字化变革能够优化设计,为围绕设备性能和维护开发新服务提供支持。一个重要的问题是,开发新一代智能设备或者让现有设计和部署满足客户要求,最有效的方式是什么?边缘计算是一种能够满足许多关键设计要求的方法。

什么是边缘计算?

边缘计算有许多形式,广义上,数据中心之外发生的任何计算都可以定义为边缘计算。由于这一定义十分宽泛,因此很容易将它与IT行业以及自动化和控制行业的许多概念混为一谈,我们称后者为运营技术(OT)。

著名分析公司Gartner topology发布了一个简单的拓扑,让每个人能够了解可能对自己有用的边缘计算类型。该拓扑图是一个基础设施技术堆栈,展示了可以称为边缘计算的服务器、设备或平台类型,以及它们到数据源“边缘”的物理端点的距离,其中还提到了可在实际数据中心外实现的计算能力、收集、分析和数据传输类型。边缘可以为设备制造商及其客户提供极为重要的优势。

从该拓扑图中,很容易看出设备边缘到计算边缘适用于机器和设备制造商。 实际上,目前所有的机器和设备都属于采用PLC的设备边缘,部分属于网关边缘设备。在某些方面,机器或设备使用的工业计算机和平板电脑属于网关边缘,它们可能是设备边缘PLC的第一个“接触点”。但工业计算机(IPC)的计算和分析能力有限,或者存在常见的可靠性和可用性问题,这与不适用于恶劣环境的普通PC或服务器类似。因此,其他类型的专用边缘计算平台必须满足客户要求。

如果要建立现代化的机器控制和自动化系统,设备制造商应该重点关注计算边缘。边缘计算可以提供机器和设备制造商优化现有设计,向提供更智能设备过渡所需要的所有特征和功能。

边缘计算催生智能机器设备

边缘计算是一种可扩展的模块技术,可以为开发标准化模块软件组件和应用提供支持,从而提高效率。

利用边缘计算,设备制造商能够将监测和控制软件等现有应用整合到一个平台中,同时在同一平台上运行其他关键应用, 从而更加轻松地开发智能工业物联网(IIoT)机器设备,而且便于后期添加应用,满足客户不断升级的工业4.0和智能制造需求。

通过实施边缘计算,可以实现从现有设备到客户运营中集成的数字化设备的平稳过渡, 这包括多种功能,例如为完整集成的智能机器建立本地或云端连接,轻松实施数字化转型,无需进行复杂的改装和重新设计。

面向机器和设备制造商的边缘计算特征

尽管边缘计算的范畴十分宽泛,但通过几个关键特征,机器和设备制造商可以缩小专门适用于他们的功能范围。

支持现有的自动化和控制应用

边缘计算平台必须能够以模块化的方式运行现有的控制和自动化应用,无需大量重构。虚拟化是一门关键技术。本质上,在边缘计算平台上现有的每一台IPC都可以作为“虚拟IPC”或者虚拟机,这可以将现有的所有IPC整合达到一个平台上。虚拟机之间没有通信,因此所有应用可以继续独立运行。

改进和升级现有控制应用

借助虚拟化边缘计算平台可以大幅提高运行和监测机器设备的灵活性,例如,利用传统的IPC/HMI方式只能通过其显示的内容了解机器或设备的状态,因此只有一位操作人员能够从一个位置对复杂的设备进行监测,这显然不是理想的模型。利用虚拟化技术,设备制造商可以由多名人员从不同的工位远程访问数据和应用,灵活应对客户需求。这是一种更好的模型,可以为客户提供更多选择。

增加新的分析应用和数字化转型应用

借助虚拟化技术,增加新应用有望变得更加简单,只需在边缘计算平台上创建新的虚拟机即可,这为在不影响现有应用的情况下添加新应用铺平了道路。这可以是本地数据采集、实时分析和传输前数据筛选,例如传输到客户数据中心,私有云等外部位置,当然,如果您有需要扩展的可扩展边缘计算平台,这还需要考虑数据隐私法等。

支持OT/IT融合

机器和设备制造商通常会忽略该功能,但它对于数字化转型中越来越重要。设计工程师和操作机器的客户十分了解保持机器运转的控制和自动化应用,他们关注的是运营技术(OT),开发复杂分析功能所需的专业技术——可能包括机器学习(ML)和人工智能(AI)——和确保将适当数据传输到数据中心或云端所需的功能通常是信息技术(IT)专家的领域。边缘计算平台可以为满足OT和IT要求提供支持,关键要确保平台支持多种类型的运营应用,便于部署和维护,并且方便OT和IT人员进行管理。

边缘计算平台让机器和设备制造商有机会提供能够创收的新服务,同时帮助降低成本,优化TCO。

增加收入机会

边缘计算平台支持的许多功能和新应用可以创造新的营收服务机会,还可以优化现有的服务和支持功能。例如,“机器即服务”或“设备即服务”概念正在成为一种趋势,终端客户按照时间或使用量支付费用,而不是遵循传统购买资产。要成功实施并维持这种模式,机器或设备制造商必须了解设备的性能和维护情况,并能够准确收集和分析适当的数据。

简化服务

紧凑,无风扇,支持壁挂或DIN轨道安装

工业额定参数

  • -10至60°C (-10至140°F)
  • 湿度10-95%
  • 3 Grms(5-500Hz)

支持热插拔、自主识别和自动同步

坚固耐用

对于机器和制造制造商这可能是显而易见的,但边缘计算平台的供应商多种多样,并非全部都能意识到设备最终的运营环境。平台不仅要坚固,还要消除停机风险,尽可能简化维护和支持,并提供远程监测。同样,应用于OT环境的边缘计算平台必须确保长时间自主运行,因为平台可能经常与外部世界没有联系。

降低成本

设备制造商面临激烈的市场竞争,说到底,采用边缘计算平台只有满足严格的成本限制才是可行的。在评估边缘计算平台时,务必要考虑资本成本、发展成本和长期成本。除了利用虚拟化等功能节约成本,成本还取决于价值,与计算能力较低的简单设备或门户相比, 成本更高的平台可以实现更高的价值,这可以降低人工监测、停机、人力资源和应用效率等其他成本。这些成本中有些可能比较抽象,但随着行业向自动化、数字化转型、工业4.0、智能制造和IIoT过渡,设备制造商必须考虑未来的应用以及客户环境的变化。

边缘计算平台必须是简单、安全、自主的

真正有效的边缘计算平台必须符合三个重要原则,在选择适当的边缘计算平台来满足客户需求时,必须牢记这些原则:

简单

  • 边缘计算平台应便于迅速安装和部署。
  • 它应该提供简单易用且直观的管理界面,在冗余系统中,如果需要更换装置,只需按动按钮就能让系统完全恢复运行。
  • 非冗余系统可以在云端维护映像备份,并在需要时自动恢复。

安全

  • 如果出现故障,或者平台主动检测到即将出现的问题,冗余系统可以实现无缝故障转移。
  • 平台应包含嵌入式安全功能。
  • 禁用所有未使用的外部端口(例如USB),需要时必须能够迅速启用。
  • 首次登陆应更改密码,以规避密码公开和过于简单造成的常见安全风险,而且,平台应具备嵌入式防火墙功能,支持IP地址白名单和黑名单。
  • 平台能够监测其中运行的所有应用的基本运行情况,当出现潜在应用问题或平台上部署了恶意应用时提醒用户。

自主

  • 您的边缘计算平台是否能够在不与外界联系的情况下长时间运行?预测性运行情况监测和无缝故障转移让冗余系统能够持续运行。
  • 平台应该自动进行自主管理,根据应用负载的变化自动平衡负载,实现此功能。
  • 边缘计算平台应支持远程管理,可以通过云服务管理,也可以通过一些标准的应用程序接口(API)嵌入设备制造商或客户的管理解决方案。

节省时间和人力

  • 支持OVF设备,包括VMware映像
  • 整合现有和原有应用
  • 无需配置冗余模式或集群

总结

机器和设备制造商市场正在进入变革时期,像大约30年前的PLC一样掀起一场行业变革。边缘计算是实现和简化这一过渡的关键技术,在扩展传统的设备控制和自动化功能的过程中,边缘计算平台将发挥不可或缺的作用,它们还可以为设备制造商架起桥梁,以实施数字化变革并与客户的发展规划相结合。

更多信息

欲了解更多关于设备和机器制造商信息,请访问 https://www.stratus.com/oem/

欲了解有关Stratus ztC Edge产品系列的更多信息,请访问https://www.stratus.com/solutions/platforms/ztc-edge/

面向机器制造商的Stratus ztC™ Edge平台

Stratus ztC Edge产品系列包括一系列旨在满足工厂和远程运营场所需求的边缘计算平台。因此,ztC Edge平台非常适合机器和设备制造商升级传统的应用控制和自动化功能,向支持智能制造、工业4.0和IIoT等数字化转型措施的智能机器过渡。

将智能机器连接到企业内部和云端

ztC Edge平台不同于无法同时支持各种应用的IPC,虚拟化技术使其能够支持多种不同的应用,包括旨在利用有限功能实现数据访问的高性能边缘网关。ztC Edge平台也不同于无法适应恶劣环境的IT类服务器,它们坚固耐用,能够承受更宽的温度范围,而且没有活动件。

ztC Edge产品系列通过独特的方式解决机器和设备制造商面临的根本问题,每个ztC Edge提供预先集成的虚拟层且经过预先配置,可以在30分钟内完成安装并开始运行。

关于 Stratus Technologies

Stratus 使关键业务应用全年无休运行不再复杂。Stratus 技术可以主动预防数据中心和边缘的意外停机,我们的服务确保先于客户发现并解决问题。35年来,无论是全球财富500强企业,还是全球各行各业的中小企业都依赖 Stratus 简单的操作实现持续的可用性。

了解更多信息,请访问 stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Whitepaper

Smart Factories Need Smarter Machines

Edge Computing platforms offer new revenue and cost reduction opportunities for machine and equipment manufacturers

What is the best way to develop new generations of smarter equipment that meet customer demands? Edge Computing is an important approach to consider.

While automation has been an integral part of machine design for many years, new concepts such as Digital Transformation, Smart Manufacturing, Industry 4.0 and the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) are being increasingly applied in the machine world to deliver differentiation and competitive advantages.

Learn what machine builders and equipment manufacturers can do to embrace these concepts, and how technologies such as Edge Computing can meet machine builder and end customer requirements in this info-packed whitepaper.

Introduction

There are many different types of businesses and companies in the machine and equipment manufacturer (OEM) space but one challenge is always the same—the market is highly competitive. Each generation of equipment offers price/ performance improvements over previous generations. Design, engineering and product management departments must constantly evaluate the tradeoffs between new technology improvements and associated cost increases as they bring new designs to market.

Automation has been an integral part of equipment design for many years, new concepts such as digital transformation, Smart Manufacturing, Industry 4.0 and the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) are being increasingly applied in the manufacturing world to deliver competitive advantages. This paper focuses on what machine and equipment manufacturers (OEMs) can do to leverage these new concepts and how Edge Computing can meet their unique needs as well as their customers’ requirements.

Smart factories and smart manufacturing need smart machines

In the same way that machine automation, using PLCs and PACs, revolutionized equipment design a generation ago, Smart Factories and Smart Manufacturing are evolving the industrial world again. Applying digital transformation concepts enables companies to operate at peak performance by leveraging the data collected by control systems and sensors. This approach provides real-time analytics to operators, inputs that help improve Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE), and data that can be collected and analyzed locally. Data can also be sent to the Cloud for deeper analysis in a variety of applications. Applications can include optimized maintenance, supply chain agility, and increasing yield across multiple facilities engaged in similar production.

Machines and OEM equipment are fundamental elements of production. Smart Factories and Smart Manufacturing can only be achieved by Smart Machines operating as designed by their OEM or specified by the end user. Embracing digital transformation enables machine and equipment builders to enhance design and supports the development of new services around equipment performance and maintenance. An important question is, what is the best way to develop new generations of smarter equipment, or enable existing designs and deployments to meet the requirements that customers are demanding? Edge Computing is an approach that can solve many of the key design requirements.

What is Edge Computing?

Edge Computing comes in many forms and can be broadly defined as any computing that takes place outside the data center. With such a broad definition, it is not surprising that there are many confusing definitions that span both the IT industry and the automation and controls industry, that we refer to as Operational Technology (OT).

Gartner, a major analyst firm, has published a simple topology that enables everyone to understand what type of Edge computing might be useful to them. This topology image demonstrates an infrastructure technology stack that shows the types of servers, devices, or platforms that can be characterized as Edge Computing and where they reside from the physical endpoint “at the edge” of the data source. It alludes to the types of computing power, collection, analysis, and data movement that is available outside the actual data center. Edge provides extremely important benefits for equipment manufacturers and their customers.

From this topology, it is easy to see that the Device Edge through the Compute Edge are applicable to machine and equipment builders. In practice, all machines and equipment today have aspects of the Device Edge with PLCs, and some have Gateway Edge devices. In some respects, Industrial and panel PCs used by machines or equipment fall into this Gateway category. They may be the first “point of contact” for a device edge PLC. Yet IPCs have limited computing and analysis power or suffer from common reliability and usability issues that are similar to a typical PC or server that is not manufactured for harsh environments. So, other types of purpose-built Edge compute platforms are required to meet customer needs.

When it comes to the modernization of machine control and automation systems, it is the Compute Edge that should be the focus for equipment builders. Edge Computing delivers all the characteristics and capabilities necessary for machine and equipment manufacturers to enhance their current designs and transition to the delivery of even smarter equipment.

Edge Computing enables smart machines & equipment

Edge Computing is a scalable modular technology that supports the development of standardized, modular software components and applications to increase efficiency.

It can help enable equipment manufacturers’ existing applications—such as monitoring and control software—to be consolidated onto a single platform while enabling other critical applications to run on the same platform. This makes it easier to develop smart, Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT)-enabled machines and equipment, and to easily add future applications that support customers’ evolving Industry 4.0 and Smart Manufacturing demands.

When implemented, Edge Computing can facilitate a smooth evolution from the equipment of today to digitalized machines that are integrated into a customer’s operations. This includes multiple capabilities such as on-prem or Cloud connectivity to fully-integrated Smart Machines that embrace Digital Transformation without the need for complex retrofitting and redesign.

Edge Computing characteristics for machine and equipment builders

While the Compute Edge category is quite broad, there are a number of key characteristics that narrow the types of functions that apply specifically to a machine or equipment manufacturer.

Support for existing automation and control applications

Edge Computing platforms must be capable of running existing control and automation applications in a modular way, without the need for significant re-architecting. Virtualization is a key technology. Essentially, each existing IPC can run as a “virtual IPC” or virtual machine on the Edge Computing platform. This enables consolidation of all existing IPCs onto a single platform. None of these virtual machines are aware of the other virtual machines so all applications continue to run independently.

Modifying and upgrading existing control applications

With a virtualized Edge Computing platform, it is now possible to add much bigger degrees of flexibility to machine and equipment operation and monitoring. For example, with the traditional IPC/HMI approach, each station on a machine or piece of equipment is limited to what that IPC/HMI can display so only a single operator can monitor complex equipment from a single location. This is not an ideal model. Using virtualization, equipment manufacturers can achieve increased flexibility for their customers by having multiple people remotely access data and applications at different stations. This autonomous model is preferred and provides customers more options.

Addition of new analytics and Digital Transformation applications

With virtualization it can potentially be easier to add new applications simply by creating a new virtual machine on your Edge Computing platform. This paves the way to add new applications without impact to existing applications. This can include localized data collection, real-time analytics and data filtering before transport to external locations, such as a customer’s data center, or to the Cloud, perhaps your own. This can also depend on such things as data privacy laws and, of course, assumes you have a scalable Edge Computing platform as needs expand.

Support for OT/IT convergence

This is perhaps a topic not often considered by machine and equipment builders, but it is increasingly important in Digital Transformation initiatives. The control and automation applications that operate the machine are well understood by your design engineers and your customers who operate the machines. They are focused on the Operational Technology (OT). The expertise to develop sophisticated analytic capabilities, perhaps involving machine learning (ML) and artificial intelligence (AI), plus the capability to securely transfer appropriate data to a data center or to the Cloud is often the domain of Information Technology (IT) experts. Edge Computing platforms can support both OT and IT requirements. It is important to ensure that a platform that supports multiple types of operations applications is simple to deploy and maintain, and easy to manage by both OT and IT professionals.

Edge Computing platforms offer equipment and machine manufacturers the possibility of new revenue generating services while helping to reduce costs and improve TCO.

New revenue opportunities

Many of the capabilities and new applications that Edge Computing platforms support create the possibility of new revenue generating services, or the optimization of existing service and support capabilities. For example, a trend that is beginning to emerge is the concept of the “machine as a service” or “equipment as a service”, whereby the end customer pays based on time or usage instead of a traditional capital purchase. To successfully implement and maintain such a model, the machine or equipment manufacturer must understand the performance and maintenance profile of equipment, and have the ability to accurately collect and analyze the appropriate data.

Simplifies service

Compact , fan-less, wall or DIN rail mountable

Industry rated

  • –10 to 60 °C (–10 to 140 °F)
  • 10 to 95% humidity
  • 3 Grms (5 to 500 Hz)

Hot swappable, self-recognizing and auto synchronizing

Ruggedization

For a machine and equipment manufacturer, this is perhaps obvious, but Edge Computing platforms are supplied by a variety of vendors – not all of which are aware of the equipment’s final operating environment. It is not just about ruggedization, but also about eliminating downtime, making maintenance and support as simple as possible, and offering remote monitoring. Similarly, Edge Computing platforms in the OT world must be prepared to operate autonomously for long periods of time as often there may be no connectivity to the outside world.

Cost reductions

Ultimately, adopting Edge Computing only becomes viable if it meets the stringent cost constraints of the highly competitive markets in which equipment builders play. When evaluating Edge Computing platforms, it is important to consider capital costs as well as development and ongoing costs. In addition to the savings from things like virtualization, cost is a function of value. More expensive platforms provide a much higher set of value and benefits than simple devices or gateways with lower computing power. This approach will reduce other costs such as manual monitoring, downtime, staff resources, and application efficiency. Some of these costs can be less tangible, but as industries move to automation, Digital Transformation and related initiatives, such as Industry 4.0, Smart Manufacturing and IIoT, equipment manufacturers must consider future applications and changes in the customers’ environment.

Edge Computing platforms must be simple, protected, autonomous

There are three key tenets that govern truly effective Edge Computing Platforms. You should keep these considerations in mind when selecting the right Edge Computing platform for a customer’s needs:

Simplicity

  • An Edge Computing platform should be easy to install and deploy in minutes.
  • It would offer an easy-to-use and intuitive management interface and, in the case of redundant systems, if a unit needs to be replaced, restoring a system to full operation requires only a single button push.
  • Non-redundant systems can maintain an image backup in the cloud that can be automatically restored if needed.

Protection

  • Seamless failover in redundant systems in the event of a failure, or if the platform proactively detects an upcoming problem.
  • The platform should include embedded security features.
  • All external, unused ports, such as USBs, are disabled and if required must be explicitly turned on.
  • Password changes are required upon initial login to avoid common security exposure by known and simple passwords and these platforms have an embedded firewall capability supporting white-listing and black-listing of IP addresses.
  • The platform includes the capability to monitor the basic health of all applications running on the platform to alert users to potential application problems, or that rogue applications have been deployed on a platform.

Autonomy

  • Are your edge computing platforms designed to run for long periods of time without connectivity to the outside world? The predictive health monitoring and seamless failover enables redundant systems to keep running.
  • Platforms should automatically manage themselves, performing such functions as automatic load balancing as application loads vary.
  • An edge compute platform should be remotely managed, either through a cloud service, or they can be embedded into an equipment builder or customer management solution through a set of standard Application Programming Interfaces (APIs).

Saves you time and effort

  • Supports OVF appliances, including VMware images
  • Consolidate both current and legacy applications
  • No redundant mode or clustering configuration necessary

Summary

The machine and equipment manufacturer market is entering an evolutionary period that will bring as much change as the introduction of the PLC a generation ago. Edge Computing is a critical technology that will enable and ease this transition. Edge Computing platforms will play in integral role in expanding the traditional control and automation capabilities of equipment. They will also provide the bridge for equipment manufacturers to embrace Digital Transformation initiatives for themselves and to integrate with initiatives of their customers.

More information

For more equipment and machine manufacturer information, visit: https://www.stratus.com/oem/

For more information on the Stratus ztC Edge product line please visit https://www.stratus.com/solutions/platforms/ztc-edge/

Stratus ztC™ Edge platform for machine builders

The Stratus ztC Edge product line is a range of Edge Computing platforms specifically designed to meet the requirements of industrial plants and remote locations. As such, ztC Edge platforms are ideal for machine and equipment builders as they upgrade their capabilities in traditional control and automation applications and move towards Smart Machines that support Digital Transformation initiatives such as Smart Manufacturing, Industry 4.0 and IIoT.

Connect your Smart Machine to the Enterprise and Cloud

The ztC Edge platform is unlike IPCs which do not sup­port a wide range of applications concurrently—virtualiza­tion enables it to support multiple diverse applications which include more capable Edge gateways that focus on providing data access with limited functionality. ztC Edge platforms also differ from IT-class servers that are not designed for harsh environments, as they are rugged to withstand ex­tended temperature ranges and have no moving parts.

The ztC Edge product line is unique in the way it addresses fundamental challenges faced by machine and equipment builders. Each ztC Edge comes with a pre-integrated virtualization layer and is pre-configured so that it can be up and running in under 30 minutes.

About Stratus Technologies

Stratus takes the complexity out of keeping business critical applications running 24/7. Stratus’ technologies proactively preventinstances of unplanned downtime both in the data center and at the edge, and our services ensure any issues are addressed before customers need to. Global Fortune 500 companies and small to medium-sized businesses in a wide range of industries across the globe have been relying on Stratus for operationally simple, continuous availability for more than 35 years.

Learn more at stratus.com today.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top