白皮书

部署边缘计算,加速数字化转型

利用来自运营边缘的数据实施运营变革

现代分布式计算架构帮助企业克服独特的IT挑战,让资产性能、监测控制和物流可视化触手可及。

油气白皮书探讨了边缘计算平台及其在促进卓越运营中的应用,借助边缘计算,企业能够高效获取实时数据,以监测性能,获得实时见解。

参阅白皮书了解以下内容:

  • 现代边缘计算平台
  • 边缘计算如何让应用促进卓越运营

机会就在眼前:中游企业应利用来自运营边缘的数据实施变革

对于中游企业,卓越运营要从运营边缘做起,分散的远程资产和基础设施(管线和终端)以及这些位置的相关设备(泵、压缩机和其他装置)是主要的事务处理点和数据采集点,这些资产和设备必须通过有线的资源和人员进行实施管理。

根据近期的Gartner报告,大部分新数据将由这些远程资产生成。目前,基础设施老旧和标准计算资源限制了运营边缘的规模和容量,为了消除这些限制,发挥数据的价值和作用,中游企业必须部署新的计算架构。

利用最新的边缘计算平台,中游企业能够在产业边缘高效获取实时数据,以便监测性能,获得实时见解。因此,利用这些数据成为中游企业实现安全、监管合规、卓越运营、可持续发展和客户满意度等全局目标的基础。具体而言,中游企业必须抓住边缘计算平台创造的新机遇,实现物流可视化、资产性能和高级监测,从而实现性能可视化,提供实时决策支持,并针对资产和设备使用先进分析技术。

白皮书探讨了现代边缘计算平台及其在促进卓越运营方面的应用,中游企业如何应对数字化挑战,以及通过部署产业边缘实现先进的工业4.0功能的必由之路。

利用技术应对长期存在的中游挑战

最近的研究表明,到2025年数字技术的应用有望让油气公司、客户和社会整体创造1.6万亿美元的价值。为了挖掘这些新数字化技术,尤其是先进的工业4.0功能的价值,中游企业必须克服独特的挑战,即在分散且经常地处偏远的资产中应用解决方案。在中游企业实现数字化转型的过程中,以下因素会让这个过程变得更加复杂:

  •  关键资产通常地处偏远,且人员不足。油气企业需要能够从远程设备直接采集实时数据并将其转化为可执行信息。很多情况下,这些资产缺乏足够的计算基础设施,传统数据中心不适合中游企业的运营环境,管道可能每1000公里才有一台服务器,各站点没有任何计算设施。另外,中游企业资产位置分散,带来数据延迟问题,难以对性能和事务进行有效监测。
  •  IT基础设施老旧带来维护负担。 油气行业普遍存在IT基础设施和系统老旧的问题,这些设施缺乏灵活性,无法与工业4.0技术集成。为了确保可用性,IT团队可能会陷入定期“修复更新”的循环,无法集中精力实现永不过时的IT自动化转型等增值工作。同样,现有PC上运行的单链应用会进一步增加IT管理工作。
  • 采用标准计算资源的任务关键型应用无法确保可靠性。设备可用性是油气行业为进入工业4.0时代而重点投资的领域,高可用性可以最大程度减少意外停机,反之则会增加停机风险。在管道作业前沿,控制室的工程师每天都要面对确保管道基础设施高效、安全运行的挑战,确保关键系统的可用性是油气管道安全运行的必然要求。
  • 融合有限的OT/IT资源。由于IT资源有限,业务运营人员可能要承担关键基础设施的管理工作,专门负责管理SCADA、DCS和PLC的运营技术(OT)人员可能还要负责部署新的应用和IT架构,他们需要能够在没有IT支持的情况下管理IT系统。
  • 安全对于远程资产是重要因素。着越来越多的机械设备寻求启用IIoT传感器进行性能分析,安全和网络攻击防范是远程资产特别关注的问题。运营商需要分布式计算平台,以确保整个供应链中设备的安全,无论是监控管段还是泵站的性能。

边缘计算

边缘计算是油气行业成功实现数字化转型的坚实基础,通过确保运营时间最大化,提供任务关键型数据的实时访问,边缘计算帮助上游和中游企业最大程度影响环境、员工和资产安全以及基本的利润。

根据资产和运营的特点,中游企业需要利用新的IT架构促进数字化转型,他们需要能够在资产周围运行任务关键型应用。为此,他们需要将计算资源部署在需要的地方,即产业边缘。

面对中游油气行业加速进入工业4.0时代的新机遇,中游企业现在有机会利用新的边缘计算平台部署分布式计算架构,将任务关键型软件应用延伸到运营边缘,实现实时数据采集、高级监测控制和资产管理。近几十年,数字技术投资带来的是运营效率、竞争优势和对行业波动的应对能力。

边缘计算平台:中游企业运营转型的基础

边缘计算让中游企业能够重构数据管理策略,利用分布式信息架构收集和处理最远端的数据,即所谓的计算机网络“边缘”。这种分布式模型可以实现在难以或无法连接集中云或远程数据中心的位置(如泵、管道或远程数据室)安全地收集和处理数据,然后现场将数据发送到中控室或云端进行分析和管理。在设备附近处理数据可以降低延迟,平衡带宽利用,正是这两个因素限制了原有硬件的规模和容量。

工业边缘计算平台加入冗余架构确保应用可用性最大化,提供容错,并将单个故障点引起的中断降至最低。在提供服务器性能的同时,工业边缘计算平台的外形构造坚固耐用,非常适合中游企业的运营环境,而且不需要IT支持。这种工业级设计使其支持边缘安装,可以直接部署在压缩机、泵或终端和管道上的其他设备周围。专为工业边缘打造的边缘计算平台开箱即可满足IT和安全标准,让快速实施成为可能,从而满足IT要求且不占用IT资源。

最后,现代边缘计算平台通过虚拟化实现高效运营,让多个应用能够在一个节点上运行。这些解决方案可以降低IT设施的空间要求和维护需求,节省总拥有成本。

凭借其灵活性、高可用性、容错和分布式架构,边缘计算是采集和传输任务关键型运营数据的基础,也是实现预测分析、数字映射和其他工业4.0解决方案等先进功能的先决条件。

部署边缘计算,促进卓越运营

卓越运营是中游企业的首要目标,企业可以借鉴其他已取得更高客户满意度的行业,利用边缘计算促进卓越经营。以下是企业通过部署边缘计算平台促进卓越运营的三种方式:

  • 产品流和物流可视性。中游企业的经营之本是能够准确跟踪和说明油气供应情况,以满足客户和监管报告要求。中游企业借助边缘计算平台确保交易计费的安全,提供数据管理服务所需的数据流。在终端部署边缘计算可以为运营提供可视性和实时见解,从而为决策提供支持,提高客户满意度。
  • 通过资产性能管理确保设备正常运行。近年来,油气行业对资产性能管理解决方案的兴趣和投资热情大幅提高,希望通过分析和监测关键资产的运行情况实现预测性维护。像所有过程运营企业一样,中游企业要求设备持续可用,避免成本高昂的意外停机。通过在设备所在位置采集资产性能数据,边缘计算提供实地情况的实时可视性,例如电力中断、管道破损、设备故障以及其他重大问题。
  • 通过高级监测控制优化设备和能源消耗。边缘计算通常部署在压缩机和泵站周围以实现过程监测和控制,并在控制中心部署容错边缘服务器以运行SCADA和DCS软件。另外,边缘计算可以运行历史数据库,收集基于时间的数据集,并根据参数要求对其进行对比和分析。这种应用让中游企业能够优化能源消耗,更好地进行能源管理。

通过虚拟化处理,边缘计算平台能够在一个高可用性节点上运行多个应用,这可以显著节约成本,快速部署应用。除了特别的高级分析和优化应用,一个硬件还可以运行多个来自AVEVA、Inductive Automation、洛克威尔、施耐德电气和西门子等大型工业软件供应商的工作负载,例如SCADA和历史数据库软件。

边缘计算实现先进的工业4.0功能

有效的边缘计算平台可以为中游企业带来先进的分析应用。显然,中游企业最终将获得因现有计算基础设施无法兼顾实时数据采集而尚未发现的大量潜在设备数据。

通过进一步利用边缘计算平台获得见解,企业可以为实现先进的工业4.0功能打下基础,这些功能包括:

  •  工业物联网(IIoT):技术进步降低了IIoT设备的成本,如今,在机器和设备上安装前所未有的传感器成为可能,这帮助上游和中游企业实时收集、处理和分析有意义的数据,发现更多可以创造价值和降低成本的机会。IIoT现在可以提供更强大的功能,从而更好地利用数量不断增长的数据,并根据通过这些数据获得的新见解采取措施。
  •  预测性维护:如今,强大的预测性维护软件还可以分析来自机器、管道甚至油罐车的传感器数据,从而发现各种异常情况(疲劳、裂纹、腐蚀等等)并主动实施维护。例如,中游企业可以将预测性维护用于物流运输,帮助预防事故,提高运输和物流安全。
  • 数据映射:在油气行业,数据映射是结合虚拟和真实世界的虚拟模型。数据映射可以改善设计和运营,帮助预防停机,降低维护成本,并在油气资产的整个生命周期内发现新的价值增长点,从而优化数据分析和系统监测。
  • 自主操作:如今,自主钻探技术正在引起油气开采方式的变革。机器人技术、传感器和电子技术的进步现在可以消除手动操作的潜在危险,以安全、可靠且高度准确的方式实施钻探和其他作业任务。
  • 人工智能(AI)和机器学习(ML):油气行业使用数据分析技术由来已久,尤其是利用大量数据进行技术和业务决策。通过从运营边缘安全获取数据流,中游企业可以获得与自营业主同等水平的分析能力。下一阶段将利用AI支持决策和资产性能,根据数据和信息的可用性做出预测。

行业领导者需要简单、安全的自主平台

边缘计算平台能够将强大的任务关键型应用扩展到运营边缘,同时简化IT管理,降低IT设施空间要求,实现无接触运营。运营和技术专家必须关注以下关键要求:

简单。为了快速实现价值,简化管理(可以由非技术人员进行管理),边缘计算平台对所有应用和基础设施必须便于安装、部署和管理,系统还应提供虚拟化功能,以便快速实现应用,提供灵活性,最大化利用计算资源,并降低拥有成本。对于管道应用,选择可以远程部署且便于启动的更新技术可以进一步简化管理。

安全。安全是中游企业运营的关键因素,边缘计算平台必须确保“不间断”可用性,保护数据免遭网络威胁或丢失,从而规避经营、财务和声誉风险。随着设备和系统连接数量不断增多,企业需要选择无需担心安全问题的解决方案。

自主。边缘计算的核心承诺是能够在海运油库或工厂等边缘位置可靠运营,平台必须能够在任何环境中运行,并提供无需人员监测、维护、维修或支持的无接触计算。提供“自动通报”功能和全天候支持的边缘计算平台还可以最大程度降低设备和应用的意外停机风险。

利用边缘计算获得竞争优势

中游企业必须对各种数字化工具进行评估和选择,以帮助他们克服传统挑战并把握新机遇。对于全面改善企业运营,成功的数字化转型可以提供显著优势。

边缘计算可以为中游企业打下坚实的基础,通过从源头采集数据加速数字化转型,实现设备可靠性、应用可用性和新的运营见解。在此过程中,中游企业可以收获重要成果:提高员工安全,改善决策和可视性,促进卓越运营,降低碳排放量,提高客户满意度,以及实现更高利润。

“边缘计算平台能够将强大的任务关键型应用扩展到运营边缘,同时简化IT管理,降低IT设施空间要求,实现无接触运营。”

关于 Stratus

Stratus 提供了易于部署和维护,免受中断和威胁影响且自主运行的零接触边缘计算平台,确保关键业务应用的持续可用性,能够帮助正在进行数字化转型的企业以最小的风险获得可预测的最佳业务表现。40年来,我们一直提供可靠而冗余的零接触计算技术,无论是全球财富500强企业,还是中小型企业都能够在边缘、云端和数据中心远程将数据安全转化为行动情报,从而提高正常运行时间和效率。更多信息,请访问stratus.com

相关资料

返回顶部

Whitepaper

Deploy Edge Computing to Accelerate Digital Transformation

Transform Operations with Data from the Operational Edge

Modern, distributed computing architecture overcomes operators’ unique IT challenges and brings asset performance, monitoring and control, and logistics visibility outside the fence.

The Oil and Gas whitepaper discusses Edge Computing platforms and their application in driving operational excellence. With Edge Computing operators have the ability to effectively acquire real-time data to monitor performance and gain real-time insight.

Read this whitepaper to learn about:

  • Modern Edge Computing platforms
  • How Edge Computing enables applications that drive operational excellence

The Opportunity is Now: Transform Midstream Operations with Data from the Operational Edge

For Midstream operators, operational excellence begins at the operational edge—the point of transaction and data acquisition predominantly characterized by remote, decentralized assets and infrastructure (pipelines and terminals), and associated equipment (pumps, compressors, and other devices) at these locations. Such assets and equipment must also be managed in real-time with limited resources and personnel.

According to a recent Gartner report, the majority of new data will be generated at these remote assets. In order to unlock its value and usefulness, Midstream operators must deploy new computing architectures that eliminate the scale and capacity constraints that currently exist at the operational edge due to legacy infrastructure and standard compute resources.

The newest Edge Computing platforms bring Midstream operators the ability to effectively acquire real-time data at the industrial edge to monitor performance and gain real-time insight. Harnessing this data therefore becomes fundamental to Midstream operators’ overarching goals related to safety, regulatory compliance, operational excellence, sustainability, and customer satisfaction. More specifically, Edge Computing platforms create new opportunities Midstream companies must pursue to gain real-time visibility on logistics, enable asset performance, and provide advanced monitoring to visualize performance, provide real-time decision support, and employ advanced analytics for assets and equipment outside the fence.

This whitepaper discusses modern Edge Computing platforms, their application in driving operational excellence, use cases that solve digital challenges in Midstream, and the path forward to advanced Industry 4.0 capabilities via deployment at the industrial edge.

Overcoming long-standing Midstream challenges through technology

Recent research shows that the use of digital technologies has the potential to unlock up to $1.6 trillion of value for Oil & Gas companies, their customers, and society as a whole by 2025.1 To gain the value of these new digital technologies, particularly advanced Industry 4.0 capabilities, Midstream operators must overcome the unique challenge of applying solutions across geographically dispersed and often remote assets. Factors that add complexity to digital transformation in Midstream include:

  • Critical assets are often remote with limited staffing. Operators need the ability to collect real-time data directly from remote equipment and convert it into actionable information. In many cases, insufficient computing infrastructure exists for these assets. Traditional data centers are not feasible for Midstream environments, and a pipeline may have one server for 1,000 miles of pipeline, without any computing at individual sites. Additionally, the distributed nature of Midstream assets introduces challenges with data latency that prevents effective performance and transaction monitoring.
  • Legacy IT infrastructure is a maintenance burden. Legacy IT infrastructure and systems, often prevalent in Oil & Gas, are inflexible and unable to integrate with Industry 4.0 technology. IT teams may be caught in regular “patch and update” cycles as a proxy for enabling availability, rather than focusing on value-add activity that transforms the IT footprint for future-proof, automated operation. Teams may spend half a year performing maintenance and health check work that could be managed remotely. Similarly, single stranded applications running on off-the-shelf PCs further increase IT management.
  • Mission critical applications are run with standard computing that cannot deliver reliability. Equipment availability, and conversely, minimizing unplanned downtime, are the top areas of investment and focus for Industry 4.0 in Oil & Gas. On the frontline of pipeline operations, control room engineers face daily challenges to keep pipeline infrastructure operating effectively and safely. Ensuring the availability of critical systems is a requisite for Oil & Gas pipe­line performance and safety.
  • Convergence of OT and IT with limited resources. With finite IT resources, the responsibility for managing critical infrastructure may fall to those on the business operations side. Operations technology (OT) professionals who manage SCADA, DCS, and PLCs may be responsible for deploying new applications and IT architecture themselves. They need the ability to provision IT systems without IT support.
  • Security is a significant factor for remote assets. Security and cyber-attack prevention are particular concerns for remote assets as more machinery and equipment seek to enable IIoT sensors for performance analytics. Operators require distributed computing platforms that secure equipment across the supply chain, whether monitoring pipeline sections or performance at pump stations.

Edge Computing

Edge Computing is the perfect cornerstone to a successful digital transformation effort in oil and gas. By maximizing uptime and providing real-time access to mission-critical data, Edge Computing helps upstream and midstream companies maximize their impact on the environment, worker and asset safety, and bottom-line profits.

By the nature of their assets and operations, Midstream companies require a new IT architecture to foster digital transformation. They need the ability to run mission critical applications close to their assets. To get there, they need to move computing resources to where they’re needed—at the industrial edge.

Midstream companies now have the opportunity through new Edge Computing platforms to deploy distributed computing architectures that extend mission critical software applications to the edge of their operations for real-time data acquisition, advanced monitoring and control, and asset management— with the net opportunity to accelerate Industry 4.0 in Midstream Oil & Gas. As seen over recent decades, investments in digital technology have delivered operational efficiency, competitive advantage and resilience against industry shocks.

Edge Computing platforms: A foundation for transformation of Midstream operations

Edge Computing enables Midstream operators to restructure their data management strategy using a distributed information architecture to collect and process data at the furthest point a.k.a. “edge” of a computer network. In this distributed model, the secure collection and processing of data takes place locally (at the pump, pipeline or remote data closet, for example) with limited or no connectivity to a centralized cloud or remote data center. Once acquired, data may be sent on-premises to a central control room or to the cloud for analysis and management. This close proximity to equipment reduces latency and balances bandwidth utilization, two factors that constrain the scale and capacity of legacy hardware.

Industrial Edge Computing platforms incorporate a redundant architecture to maximize application availability, provide fault tolerance, and minimize interruptions caused by a single point of failure. They also deliver server performance in a ruggedized form factor that is ideal for Midstream environments and requires zero IT touch. This industrial grade design enables them to be installed at the edge, directly alongside compressors, pumps, or other equipment at terminals and pipelines. Edge Computing platforms purpose-built for the industrial edge also meet IT and security standards out-of-the-box to enable fast implementation that meet IT requirements but do not require IT resources to deploy.

Lastly, modern Edge Computing platforms provide highly efficient operations through virtualization, allowing multiple applications to run on a single node. These solutions reduce IT footprint and maintenance, delivering lower total cost of ownership.

With its flexibility, high availability, fault tolerance, and distributed architecture, Edge Computing provides the foundation for data acquisition and data flow for mission critical operations, and is a pre-requisite for advanced capabilities such as predictive analytics, Digital Twin, and other Industry 4.0 solutions.

Edge Computing deployments that enable operational excellence

Operational excellence is paramount for Midstream—and companies can apply Edge Computing to drive the type of operational excellence achieved in other industries that has resulted in higher customer satisfaction. Three ways operators are deploying Edge Computing platforms to enable operational excellence:

  • Visibility on Product Movement and Logistics. The lifeblood of Midstream operations is the ability to accurately track and account for gas and liquids movement for customers and regulatory reporting. Midstream companies are turning to Edge Computing platforms to secure transaction accounting and provide data flow for data management services. Moving Edge Computing to terminal stations delivers visibility and real-time insight into operations that provide decision support and customer satisfaction.
  • Asset Performance Management for Equipment Uptime. In recent years, Oil & Gas has seen significant interest and investment in asset performance management solutions to enable predictive maintenance through analysis and condition-based monitoring of critical assets. As with any process operations, Midstream requires equipment availability; unplanned downtime is costly and unacceptable. By acquiring asset performance data at the equipment location, Edge Computing provides real-time visibility into conditions unfolding in the field such as power interruptions, pipeline integrity failures, equipment failure, and other critical issues.
  • Advanced monitoring and control to optimize equipment and utilities. Edge Computing is often deployed at compressor and pump stations to provide process monitoring and control with fault-tolerant edge servers deployed in control centers to run SCADA and DCS software. Additionally, Edge Computing is able to run data historians to collect time-based data sets for comparison and analysis against expected parameters. Such application offers Midstream companies the means to optimize utility consumption for energy management.

The ability of Edge Computing platforms to run multiple applications on a single, high availability node through virtualization offers tremendous cost savings and fast deployment of applications. A single piece of hardware may run multiple workloads, for example SCADA and historian software, from large industrial software vendors like AVEVA, Inductive Automation, Rockwell, Schneider Electric, and Siemens in addition to specialized advanced analytics and optimization applications.

Edge Computing unlocks advanced Industry 4.0 capabilities

An effective Edge Computing strategy places advanced analytics applications within grasp for Midstream operators. Notably, they are positioned to finally harvest vast amounts of potential equipment data that lies untapped due to the lack of current computing infrastructure able to capture the additional real-time data.

By further leveraging Edge Computing platforms to gain insight, companies lay a foundation to pursue advanced Industry 4.0 capabilities such as:

  • Industrial IoT (IIoT): Technology improvements have reduced cost of IIoT devices, making it now possible to install sensors in machinery and equipment that were previously unavailable. This helps upstream and midstream producers collect, process, and analyze meaningful data in real time to provide more value-producing and cost-saving opportunities. IIoT now provides far greater capabilities to make better use of growing volumes of data, and then act on new insights gained from that data.
  • Predictive maintenance: Today, powerful predictive maintenance software can also analyze sensor data—for example from machinery, pipelines, and even tankers—to detect various abnormalities (fatigue, cracks, corrosion, and more) and use this to perform proactive maintenance. For example, midstream companies use predictive maintenance in logistics to help prevent accidents and improve safety in transportation and logistics.
  • Digital twins: In Oil & Gas, digital twins are virtual models that combine the virtual and physical worlds. Digital twins improve the analysis of data and system monitoring in a way that improves design and operations, helps prevent downtime, reduces maintenance costs, and provides new data to add value throughout the lifecycle of the oil and gas asset.
  • Autonomous operations: Today, autonomous drilling technology is transforming Oil & Gas exploration. Advancements in robotics, sensors, and electronics can now eliminate potentially dangerous manual efforts and perform drilling and other tasks in a safe, reliable, and highly precise way.
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML): Oil & Gas has long turned to data analytics, especially when it comes to using extremely large amounts of data to make technical and business decisions. Securing the flow of real-time data from the operational edge offers Midstream companies the same level of analytics Owner-Operators enjoy inside the fence. The next phase is employing AI in areas of decision support and asset performance, predicated on the availability of data and information.

What industry leaders require: simple, protected, and autonomous platforms

Edge Computing platforms offer the ability to extend powerful, mission critical applications to the operational edge while simplifying IT management, reducing IT footprint, and offering zero-touch operation. Key attributes operations and technology professionals must look for include:

Simple. For rapid time to value and simple management, potentially by non-technical staff, Edge Computing platforms must be easy to install, deploy, and manage across applications and infrastructure. Systems should also offer virtualization to quickly provision applications, offer flexibility, maximize computing resources, and lower cost of ownership. For pipeline applications, choosing easy-to-commission updates that can be remotely deployed further simplifies management.

Protected. Security is a critical factor for Midstream operations. Edge Computing platforms must secure operational, financial, and reputational risk by ensuring “always on” availability and securing data from cyber threats or data loss. Companies need to select solutions that deliver confidence in security as more devices and systems become connected.

Autonomous. A core promise of Edge Computing is the ability to operate reliably in edge locations such as marine terminals or production plants. Platforms must run in any environment and deliver zero-touch computing that does require human monitoring, maintenance, repairs, or support. Edge Computing platforms that offer “call home” features and 24x7x365 support further minimize any chance of unplanned downtime for equipment and applications.

Gain a competitive advantage with Edge Computing

Midstream operators must evaluate and select from a wide range of digital tools, both to help them overcome traditional challenges and to capitalize on emerging opportunities. A successful digital transformation effort can be a powerful advantage in improving all facets of their business.

Edge Computing is the ideal foundation for Midstream operators to accelerate digital transformation and enable equipment reliability, application availability, and new operational insight by capturing data at the point of origin. In doing so, Midstream companies can achieve the results that matter most: increased employee safety, improved decision making and visibility, operational excellence, lower carbon footprint, and increased customer satisfaction for greater profitability.

“Edge Computing platforms offer the ability to extend powerful,mission critical applications to the operational edge while simplifying IT management, reducing IT footprint, and offering zero-touch operation.”

About Stratus

For leaders digitally transforming their operations in order to drive predictable, peak performance with minimal risk, Stratus ensures the continuous availability of business-critical applications by delivering zero-touch Edge Computing platforms that are simple to deploy and maintain, protected from interruptions and threats, and autonomous. For 40 years, we have provided reliable and redundant zero-touch computing, enabling global Fortune 500 companies and small-to-medium sized businesses to securely and remotely turn data into actionable intelligence at the Edge, cloud and data center— driving uptime and efficiency. For more information, please visit stratus.com.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top