案例研究

迪拜黄金和商品交易所(DGCX)

始终如一的可用性推动中东核心交易平台的发展

迪拜被称为"黄金之城",100多年来一直是黄金(和其他商品)实物交易的国际中心。建立电子衍生品交易平台对该地区和当地经济来说是合乎逻辑的一步。

经营情况

2005年11月,迪拜黄金和商品交易所(DGCX)成立,这是该地区第一家电子衍生品交易所,黄金期货是其第一个合约。五年来,DGCX的年增长率达到37%,并对其基础设施进行了升级,使其增长速度创下新高。

DGCX首席技术官Basab Banerjee表示,从一开始就建立正确的基础设施是当务之急,因此选择在一个容错的Stratus ftServer 系统上进行托管。定期审查和升级基础设施,确保其作为同类产品中的最佳声誉,并确保其持续提供可用性和响应能力的能力,这一直是业务计划的核心。因此,五年后,随着100%可用性的记录和每年37%的增长,升级ftServer 系统的决定是合乎逻辑的。

简要概述

解决方案概述

  • 中东第一家电子衍生品交易所和清算所,于2005年成立。
  • 提供全自动、先进的全球交易和清算平台。
  • 实时数据处理和始终在线的可用性对成功至关重要。
  • 今天,中东地区领先的衍生品交易所和清算所。

产品

  • Stratus® ftServer®系统
  • 微软Windows服务器操作系统
  • FT印度最先进的交易应用程序,包括:订单和风险管理系统;订单匹配引擎和广播引擎。

服务

  • Stratus 支持服务

业务目标

"DCGX是一个技术驱动的、去互换的电子衍生品交易所。我们致力于提供一个世界级的、全自动的、最先进的、可从世界任何地方访问的电子交易平台。"Banerjee先生建议。

"我们有230多个来自世界各地的成员利用各种通信手段进入我们的市场。我们的声誉绝对取决于正常运行时间和反应时间的保证。哪怕是几秒钟的停机时间或几毫秒的延迟,都会给我们的会员带来严重的财务影响。我们根本无法承担这种风险。"

因此,确定DGCX硬件平台的购买标准是非常直接的。

"我们的核心组件,如订单管理系统、订单匹配引擎和广播引擎都是高度的进程和内存密集型。任何硬件平台都需要满足我们的要求,才能顺利完成交易所业务。"Banerjee先生解释道。

这些要求是:

  • 高可用性(零停机时间
  • 支持高密集实时数据处理的能力(零延迟
  • 可扩展性
  • 易操作性

"DCGX是一家以技术为主导的、去中介化的电子衍生品交易所。我们致力于提供一个世界级的、全自动的、最先进的、可从世界任何地方访问的电子交易平台。"
Basab Banerjee
首席技术官
DGCX

Stratus ftServer 解决方案

Stratus 符合原来的严格要求。研究和经验告诉DGCX,在升级时,Stratus 仍然是正确的选择。升级到Stratus'顶级的ftServer 系统将使交易所及其成员继续取得成功。

"现在是DGCX升级到下一代ftServer 系统的正确时机。它采用英特尔® Xeon®处理器,提供了最苛刻的关键任务交易处理应用所需的不妥协的高性能处理能力。Stratus Technologies客户经理Maged Shaker表示:"在哪怕是一毫秒的延迟或停机时间都很重要的情况下,它是服务器的首选。

"我们计划每5年升级一次硬件平台。自2005年以来每年增长37%,在我们在可访问性、可用性和正常运行时间方面的声誉的推动下,我们有很多东西需要保护。新的ftServer 系统提高了我们的处理速度和内存,减少了每个处理阶段的延迟。这绝对是在正确的时间做出的正确选择。"Banerjee先生补充道。

"迁移是无缝的,现在Stratus 在当地设立了办事处,我们相信,当地产品知识和支持的水平,无论是直接来自Stratus 还是通过其在该地区的合作伙伴,都会变得更好。"

"我们的声誉绝对取决于正常运行时间和响应时间的保证。哪怕是几秒钟的停机时间或几毫秒的延迟,都会给我们的会员带来严重的财务影响。我们根本
无法承担这种风险。"
Basab Banerjee
首席技术官
DGCX

业务影响

虽然有其他平台可供DGCX托管交易应用程序,但DGCX及其成员自推出以来一直享有100%可用性的安心。升级到新的ftServer 系统后,确保了DGCX有足够的处理能力继续其雄心勃勃的发展道路,始终保持可用性和零延迟。

事实上,DCGX继续享受其强劲的两位数增长,交易量接近50%的YOY.随着平均日交易量也上升了51%,并将增加,看起来Basab Banerjee的评估,这是升级的正确时间是绝对正确的。

关于DGCX

DGCX是由迪拜多种商品中心(DMCC)、金融技术(印度)有限公司和印度多种商品交易所有限公司(MCX)发起的。DGCX的管理团队由来自商品、证券和金融服务行业的高级人员组成,他们带来了丰富的经验和专业知识,以确保DGCX的成功。 www.dgcx.ae

关于 Stratus

在当今始终在线的世界里,应用程序对运行环境要求越来越高。随着这些需求的不断升级,为了将应用停机时间降至最低,企业面临的压力也越来越大。企业正在通过寻找符合或增强其现有IT基础设施的技术来应对永续解决方案需求。

Stratus Technologies 提供的解决方案能够快速部署从企业服务器到云端的永续基础设施,而无需改变您的应用程序。Stratus 产品(软件和服务器)与 Stratus 员工服务相结合,能够帮助客户预防停机,确保其重要业务全天候运行。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

Dubai Gold & Commodities Exchange (DGCX)

ALWAYS-ON AVAILABILITY drives Middle East’s core trading platform

Dubai, known as the “City of Gold”, had been an international hub for the physical trade of gold (and other commodities) for over 100 years. Establishing an electronic derivatives trading platform was a logical step for the region and the local economy.

Business Situation

In November 2005, Dubai Gold & Commodities Exchange (DGCX), the region’s first electronic derivatives exchange was launched, with gold futures as its first contract. Enjoying 37% year on year growth for five years, DGCX upgraded its infrastructure, setting its sails for record growth.

Getting the right infrastructure in place from the start was imperative, according to Basab Banerjee, Chief Technology Officer for DGCX, hence the choice to host on a fault-tolerant Stratus ftServer system. Regularly reviewing and upgrading the infrastructure, ensuring its reputation as best-of-breed and its continuing ability to deliver the availability and responsiveness upon which the organization had grown, was always core to the business plan. So, five years later with a track record of 100% availability and year on year growth of 37%, the decision to upgrade the ftServer system was logical.

Quick Facts

Solution Profile

  • Middle East’s first electronic derivatives exchange and clearing house, launched 2005
  • Provides fully automated, state-of-the-art global trading and clearing platform
  • Real-time data processing and always-on availability vital to success
  • Today, Middle East’s leading derivatives exchange and clearing house

Products

  • Stratus® ftServer® systems
  • Microsoft Windows Server operating system
  • FT India’s state-of-the-art trading application incorporating: order and risk management system; order matching engine and broadcast engine

Services

  • Stratus Support Services

Business Objectives

“DCGX is a technology-driven, de-mutual electronic derivatives exchange. We are committed to providing a world class, fully automated, state-of-the-art, electronic trading platform accessible from anywhere in the world,” advises Mr. Banerjee.

“We have over 230 members from all over the world accessing our markets using various means of communications. Our reputation absolutely depends on guaranteed uptime and response time. Even a few seconds downtime or a few milliseconds’ latency could result in severe financial implications for our members. We simply cannot afford the risk.”

As such, identifying the buying criteria for DGCX’s hardware platform was pretty straightforward.

“Our core components, like the order management system, order matching engine and broadcast engine are highly process and memory intensive. Any hardware platform needed to fulfil our requirements for smooth exchange operations,” explains Mr. Banerjee.

These requirements were:

  • High availability (zero downtime)
  • Capacity to support high intensive real-time data processing (zero latency)
  • Scalability
  • Ease of operation

“DCGX is a technology-driven, de-mutual electronic derivatives exchange. We are committed to providing a world class, fully automated, state-of-the-art, electronic trading platform accessible from anywhere in the world.”
Basab Banerjee
Chief Technology Officer
DGCX

The Stratus ftServer Solution

Stratus met the original rigorous requirements. Research and experience informed DGCX that Stratus was still the right choice when it came to the upgrade. Upgrading to Stratus’ top-of-the-line ftServer system would enable the continuing success of the exchange and its members.

“It was the right time for DGCX to upgrade to the next-generation ftServer system. Powered by Intel® Xeon® processors, it provides the no-compromise, high-performance processing power that is required by the most demanding mission-critical transaction processing applications. It is the server of choice when even a millisecond latency or downtime counts,” advises Maged Shaker, Stratus Technologies account manager.

“We plan to upgrade our hardware platform every 5 years. Growing 37% year on year since 2005, fueled by our reputation in terms of accessibility, availability and uptime, we had a lot to protect. The new ftServer system increases our processing speed and memory, reducing latency at every processing stage. It was absolutely the right choice at the right time,” adds Mr. Banerjee.

“Migration was seamless and now that Stratus has a local office, we feel confident that the level of local product knowledge and support, both directly from Stratus and via its partners in the region, will become better still.”

“Our reputation absolutely depends on guaranteed uptime and response time. Even a few seconds downtime or a few milliseconds’ latency could result in severe financial implications for our members. We simply
cannot afford the risk.”
Basab Banerjee
Chief Technology Officer
DGCX

Business Impact

Although other platforms were available upon which to host DGCX’s trading application, DGCX and its members had enjoyed the peace of mind which came with 100% availability since its launch. Upgrading to the new ftServer system ensured DGCX had the processing power to continue its ambitious growth path with always-on availability and zero latency.

Indeed, DCGX continues to enjoy it’s strong double digit growth, with volumes nearing 50% YOY.With average daily volumes also rising by 51% and set to increase, it looks like Basab Banerjee’s assessment that it was the right time to upgrade was absolutely on the money.

About DGCX

DGCX is an initiative of the Dubai Multi Commodities Centre (DMCC), Financial Technologies (India) Limited and the Multi Commodity Exchange of India Limited (MCX). The Management team of DGCX comprises senior personnel from the commodities, securities and financial services industries bringing a wealth of experience and expertise to ensure the success of DGCX. www.dgcx.ae

About Stratus

In today’s always-on world, applications run under increasingly demanding circumstances. With these escalating demands comes greater pressure to prevent even the smallest amount of application downtime. Companies are responding to this need for always-on solutions by searching for technologies that either conform to or enhance their current IT infrastructures.

Stratus Technologies’ solutions enable rapid deployment of always-on infrastructures, from enterprise servers to clouds, without any changes to your applications. Stratus products (software and servers) combined with Stratus people, enable customers to prevent downtime before it occurs, ensuring uninterrupted 24/7/365 performance of essential business operations.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top