案例研究

直流水

DC Water如何架构Stratus 边缘 计算平台,以提供双重冗余并将系统故障切换时间减少90%。

面临的挑战

  • 在弹性、容错的平台上部署SCADA应用
  • 为整个DC水务系统的数十个站点和设施提供可靠的自动化仪器。
  • 为分析和执行/监管报告创建实时数据

解决方案

  • AVEVA系统平台,InTouch®,和Historian
  • 罗克韦尔PLC
  • 施耐德电气PLC
  • Stratus 边缘 计算平台

带来的优势

  • 自2015年安装以来,绝对没有计划外的停机时间
  • 解决方案的总故障切换时间减少了90%,从20分钟减少到2分钟,从而提高了服务的可靠性。
  • 为KPI分析和监管报告快速获取及时数据

这是任何城市的几乎所有居民每天都依赖的重要的双重服务--但希望不被人注意:饮用水消费和废水处理。供水设施是任何城市或城镇的基础,但对于哥伦比亚特区供水和污水处理局(DC Water)来说,由于其服务于国家最重要的一些建筑,包括白宫、国会大厦、国家博物馆和其他重要的联邦建筑,这一挑战被放大。

任务的范围和规模导致了一个庞大的基础设施,通过一个由1350英里的管道、四个泵站、五个水库、三个水箱、43000个阀门和9500个消防栓组成的网络,向681,000名居民泵送超过9900万加仑的水。

华盛顿水务公司的总服务面积约为725平方英里,还为该区以及邻近的马里兰州蒙哥马利县和乔治王子县以及弗吉尼亚州费尔法克斯县和劳登县的160万人处理废水。这些努力的核心是占地150英亩的蓝平原高级污水处理厂,这是世界上最大的同类设施。它平均每天处理近2.9亿加仑--峰值能力为每天近10亿加仑。得益于在Stratus 边缘 计算平台上运行的复杂的SCADA系统,该机构可以实现其大型水系统所要求的可用性目标。为了使这一切成为可能,数字转型公司和Stratus 分销伙伴InSource Solutions促进了DC Water的新解决方案。

"当然,我们的上层管理人员也在关注KPI,像EPA这样的监管机构也希望看到我们的数据,所以拥有完整及时的可靠有效的数据是至关重要的。这一切都来自于Historian和我们的SCADA软件,它们驻扎在我们的Stratus 边缘 计算平台上。"
Karen Green
SCADA经理
DC Water

SCADA对DC水务公司的关键重要性

作为全国最大的水务公司之一,强大的监督控制和数据采集(SCADA)系统对DC Water公司来说是一个不可谈判的要求,这一点并不奇怪。该机构依靠AVEVA系统平台对其水泵站、储存设施(水箱和水库)、污水泵站、雨水泵站和波多马克河上的fabridams进行安全、实时的自动化、操作和控制。

AVEVA的实施跨越了称为Galaxy Repositories的数据库、两个冗余的AVEVA Historian实例、两个应用对象服务器和两个运行AVEVA InTouch® HMI的终端服务器,用于可视化。DC Water公司在三个控制室中操作这些应用。

一个有弹性的边缘 计算架构

不足为奇的是,由于事关重大,DC Water已经设计了一个复杂的边缘 计算基础设施,以尽量减少或消除任何停机时间。"DC Water公司SCADA经理Karen Green说:"我们绝对不能容忍的一件事是我们的任何服务器出现故障。"如果我们采用普通的服务器,遇到任何形式的故障,我们就会面临停机问题--泵和阀门不工作,水不能到达我们的客户。这显然是不可接受的"。

"如果一台服务器出现故障,另一台就会接手,不会出现停机。这并不总是这样的。在以前的迭代中,系统可能需要20分钟来进行故障切换。现在,通过不同的配置,我们的故障切换可以忽略不计。"
Karen Green
SCADA经理
DC Water

DC水务的每个站点--从储存设施和水箱到泵站再到污水处理设施--都有来自罗克韦尔和施耐德电气的多个可编程逻辑控制器(PLC),通过在私人光纤上运行的控制网络向中央服务器输送数据。为了在其计算架构中建立高水平的系统冗余,DC Water运营着一个独立的管理网络,由两个物理上分离的Stratus 边缘 计算平台驱动。Stratus 边缘 计算平台针对分布式边缘 架构进行了优化,提供了支持先进的处理器和数据密集型应用所需的性能,同时还提供了DC Water所需的容错性、安全性、分析性和可管理性。

"我们的AVEVA Historian实例是用来收集数据的,"Green解释说。"我们将数据从我们的一级Historian推送到二级Historian,整个当局的用户可以访问各种数据,包括泵的状态、水压、水分析器和电力信息。我们已经将它们配置为存储转发服务器,因此,如果有任何中断,数据将在连接恢复后回填。"

我们绝对不能容忍的一件事是我们的任何服务器出现故障。如果我们采用普通的服务器并遇到任何形式的故障,我们将处理停机问题--泵和阀门不工作,水不能到达我们的客户。这显然是不可接受的。"
Karen Green
SCADA经理
DC Water

完整、可靠、有效的数据

当然,一线用户是在远程站点使用AVEVA InTouch® HMI操作设备的几十人。像Green这样的SCADA分析员配置各种SCADA节点,并分析数据以优化性能。"我们的分析师和机械及维护团队也使用这些数据,"Green说。"例如,维护团队使用历史数据和警报进行故障排除并防止再次发生。我们配置了报告,并自动通过电子邮件发送给工程师和经理。"

水质团队的成员可以监控他们的设备,并在出现差异或故障时在手机上收到警报和通知--这对管理水和废水系统的人来说是一个重要的考虑因素。她说:"当然,我们也有关注关键绩效指标的上层管理人员,以及像EPA这样的监管机构希望看到我们的数据,"她说,"因此,拥有完整和及时的可靠和有效的数据至关重要。这一切都来自于Historian和我们的SCADA软件,它们驻扎在我们的Stratus 边缘 计算平台上。"

Stratus 的力量,用于边缘 计算和支持。

DC Water运营着一个Stratus 边缘 计算平台,由另一个(物理距离较远的)Stratus 边缘 计算平台提供支持,形成两层双冗余。这种配置使DC Water公司的庞大运营具有特殊的可靠性。

"通过Stratus ,我们有容错和冗余,"格林说。"如果一台服务器因停电或通信中断而发生故障,另一台就会从另一个地方接手,而且不会出现停机。这种情况并不总是如此。在以前的迭代中,整个系统--AVEVA系统平台、InTouch®和Historian--可能需要20分钟来进行故障切换。现在,通过不同的配置,我们的软件/网络故障切换可以忽略不计。

"我们发现,虚拟化对我们机构很有帮助。例如,如果我们需要进行维护、更新或维修工作,我们可以很容易地将一台虚拟机移动到另一台服务器上,而不会出现任何中断。事实上,有一天,我们遇到了一些PLC软件的问题。我们只是把它加载到Stratus 边缘 计算平台上,这让我们的工作变得非常容易。有了虚拟化,我们不需要为每台服务器维护一个单独的盒子。我们只是基本上有一个大的盒子,可以运行许多虚拟机。我们得到了一级冗余,因为Stratus 边缘 计算平台有双处理器并行工作。我们还可以在需要的时候备份、复制和恢复虚拟机"。

格林还强调了她所得到的支持的重要性和价值,Stratus 。"这很重要--非常重要,"她说。"在我们的工作中,我们需要响应性的支持,而Stratus's工程师在每个问题上都与我们并肩作战。即使是一个不紧急的问题,他们也会给我打电话跟进,直到问题得到解决。他们的反应非常快,而且很勤奋--这正是我们想要的。"。

在我们的工作中,我们需要反应迅速的支持,而Stratus's工程师在每个问题上都与我们并肩作战。即使是一个不紧急的问题,他们也会给我打电话跟进,直到问题得到解决。

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

DC Water

How DC Water Architected Stratus Edge Computing Platforms to Provide Double Redundancy and Reduce System Failover Time by 90%

Challenges

  • Deploy SCADA applications on resilient, fault-tolerant platform
  • Provide reliable automated instrumentation for dozens of sites and facilities throughout the DC Water system
  • Create real-time data for analysis and executive/regulatory reporting

Solution

  • AVEVA System Platform, InTouch®, and Historian
  • Rockwell PLC
  • Schneider Electric PLC
  • Stratus Edge Computing Platform

Benefits

  • Absolutely 0 unplanned downtime since install in 2015
  • Total solution failover time was reduced by 90% from 20 minutes to 2 minutes, resulting in improved service reliability
  • Fast access to timely data for KPI analysis and regulatory reporting

It’s the vital dual service that virtually all residents of any municipality rely on every day — but that hopefully goes unnoticed: drinking water consumption and wastewater disposal. Water utilities are the foundation of any city or town, but for the District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (DC Water), the challenge is magnified by that fact that it services some of the nation’s most important buildings, including the White House, the Capitol, national museums, and other vital federal buildings.

The scope and scale of the mission have led to a massive infrastructure that pumps more than 99 million gallons of water to 681,000 residents through a web of 1,350 miles of pipes, four pumping stations, five reservoirs, three tanks, 43,000 valves, and 9,500 fire hydrants.

With a total service area of roughly 725 square miles, DC Water also treats wastewater for 1.6 million people in the District as well as neighboring Montgomery and Prince George’s counties in Maryland and Fairfax and Loudon counties in Virginia. The centerpiece of those efforts is the 150-acre Blue Plains Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant, the largest facility of its kind in the world. It treats an average of nearly 290 million gallons per day — with a peak capacity of nearly 1 billion gallons per day. Thanks to a sophisticated SCADA system operating on Stratus Edge Computing Platform, the agency can achieve the availability goals that its large water system requires. To make this all possible, InSource Solutions, a Digital Transformation company and Stratus distribution partner, facilitated DC Water’s new solution.

“Of course, we also have upper management who are looking at the KPIs, and regulators like the EPA want to see our data, so it’s crucial to have reliable and valid data that’s complete and timely. This all comes from Historian and our SCADA software that reside on our Stratus Edge Computing Platform.”
Karen Green
SCADA Manager
DC Water

The Critical Importance of SCADA to DC Water

Operating one of the largest water utilities in the country, it’s no surprise that a strong supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system is a non-negotiable requirement for DC Water. The agency relies on the AVEVA System Platform for secure, real-time automation, operations, and control of its water pumping stations, storage facilities (tanks and reservoirs), sewage pumping stations, stormwater pumping stations, and fabridams on the Potomac River.

The AVEVA implementation spans databases called Galaxy Repositories, two redundant AVEVA Historian instances, two application object servers, and two terminal servers that run AVEVA InTouch® HMI for visualization. DC Water operates these applications in three control rooms.

A Resilient Edge Computing Architecture

Unsurprisingly, with so much at stake, DC Water has designed a sophisticated Edge Computing infrastructure to minimize or eliminate any downtime. “The one thing we absolutely cannot tolerate is a failure in any of our servers,” said Karen Green, SCADA manager for DC Water. “If we’d implemented regular servers and experienced any sort of failure, we would be dealing with downtime — pumps and valves not working, water not reaching our customers. That’s obviously unacceptable.”

“If a server fails, the other one takes over and there’s no downtime. This wasn’t always the case. In previous iterations, it might take 20 minutes for the system to failover. Now, with a different configuration, our failover is negligible”
Karen Green
SCADA Manager
DC Water

Each DC Water site — from storage facilities and tanks to pumping stations to sewage facilities — has multiple programmable logic controllers (PLCs) from both Rockwell and Schneider Electric that feed data to a central server through a control network running on private fiber optic. To build in high levels of system redundancy in its computing architecture, DC Water operates a separate management network driven by two physically separated Stratus Edge Computing Platforms. Optimized for distributed edge-in architectures, Stratus Edge Computing Platforms deliver the performance needed to support advanced processor- and data-intensive applications, while also providing the fault tolerance, security, analytics, and manageability DC Water requires.

“Our AVEVA Historian instances are for data collection,” Green explained. “We push data from our Tier 1 Historian to a Tier 2 Historian where users across the authority can access various data including pump statuses, water pressures, water analyzers and power information. We’ve configured them as store-and-forward servers, so that if there’s any interruption, the data will backfill when the connection is restored.”

The one thing we absolutely cannot tolerate is a failure in any of our servers. If we’d implemented regular servers and experienced any sort of failure, we would be dealing with downtime — pumps and valves not working, water not reaching our customers. That’s obviously unacceptable.”
Karen Green
SCADA Manager
DC Water

Complete, Reliable, and Valid Data

Naturally, the frontline users are the dozens of people who operate the equipment at remote sites using AVEVA InTouch® HMI. SCADA analysts like Green configure the various SCADA nodes and analyze the data to optimize performance. “Our analysts and mechanical and maintenance teams also use that data,” Green said. “The maintenance team, for instance, uses the historical data and alarms for troubleshooting and to prevent recurrences. We configure the reports, and they are automatically emailed to engineers and managers.”

Members of the water quality team can monitor their equipment and receive alarms and notifications on their phones if variances or failures arise — an important consideration for people managing water and wastewater systems. “Of course, we also have upper management who are looking at the KPIs, and regulators like the EPA want to see our data,” she said, “so it’s crucial to have reliable and valid data that’s complete and timely. This all comes from Historian and our SCADA software that reside on our Stratus Edge Computing Platform.”

The Power of Stratus for Edge Computing and Support

DC Water operates a Stratus Edge Computing Platform, backed up by another (physically distant) Stratus Edge Computing Platform, creating two layers of dual redundancy. This configuration gives DC Water’s sprawling operation exceptional levels of reliability.

“With Stratus, we have fault tolerance and redundancy,” Green said. “If one server fails because of a power outage or communications disruption, the other one takes over from another location and there’s no downtime. This wasn’t always the case. In previous iterations, it might take 20 minutes for the entire system — AVEVA System Platform, InTouch®, and Historian — to failover. Now, with a different configuration, our software/network failover is negligible.

“We’ve found that virtualization is very helpful to our agency. For example, if we need to perform maintenance, updates, or repair work, we can easily move one virtual machine to another server without any interruption. In fact, the other day, we had a problem with some PLC software. We just loaded it on the Stratus Edge Computing Platform, and that made things very easy for us. With virtualization, we don’t have to maintain an individual box for each server. We just have, basically, one large box that can run many virtual machines. We get one level of redundancy because Stratus Edge Computing Platforms have dual processors working in parallel. We can also backup, duplicate, and restore the VMs whenever we need to.”

Green also underscored the importance and value of the support she’s received from Stratus. “That’s important — very important,” she said. “In our line of work, we need responsive support, and Stratus’s engineers are right alongside us on every issue. Even if it’s a non-urgent issue, they will call me to follow up until the issue is resolved. They’re very responsive and diligent — and that’s just what we want.”.

In our line of work, we need responsive support, and Stratus’s engineers are right alongside us on every issue. Even if it’s a non-urgent issue, they will call me to follow up until the issue is resolved.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top