案例研究

上海某港口公司

对危险化学品的关键监测系统进行现代化改造

世界各地的港口管理和分配易燃、易爆、有毒和危险化学品。为了确保这些化学品在储罐中的稳定性,港口和他们的客户需要24/7/365的监测系统,准确记录数据,统一管理和监测每个站点。上海一家著名的港口公司采取了措施,使这一处于运营边缘的关键系统现代化。

这家成立于2002年的上海港口公司,支持上海化学工业区化工码头及其相关仓储和运输设施的建设、管理和运营。该公司提供进出上海化学工业区的化学品储存和运输服务,并经营一个经中国当局批准的保税和注册仓库。该公司将客户--包括拜耳、巴斯夫和英国石油公司--订购的液体化学品从船上卸下装入储罐,然后根据客户的要求将这些化学品装桶并交付。

挑战

为了安全地管理所有正在运输、储存和转移的化学品,该港口公司有许多监控点。然而,原来的HMI/SCADA和历史学家软件被分别部署在多个物理服务器上,使得操作和维护变得困难。为了降低成本,改善对这些监控点的管理,该公司希望通过虚拟化将多台物理服务器转换为一台服务器,同时确保这台单一服务器的可靠性。

解决方案

为了满足持续可用性、易用性和降低成本的要求,上海港务公司着手评估防止停机的解决方案。项目设计者选择了Stratus ftServer®计算平台,因为它具有高可靠性、易维护性以及在全球其他化学监测系统中的连续运行。

Stratus ,与世界上最大的工业自动化信息解决方案供应商合作,提供了一个解决方案,帮助简化、保护和自动化港口公司的监控系统。该解决方案依赖于带有VMware®的容错Stratus ftServer ,将该公司原有的系统转移到一个易于部署和管理以及高度可用的平台上。选择ftServer ,以构成控制室的核心架构,通过使用VMware的简单虚拟化整合原有的物理系统,以获得最佳效率。ftServer 积极防止停机和数据丢失。它提供了99.9999%的系统可用性而不影响系统性能。如果任何组件出现故障,被镜像的组件继续运行,不会出现任何系统中断。自动软件识别功能可以在影响运行之前识别并纠正组件故障。此外,ftServer ,使IT人员能够在一个单一的仪表板上监控系统基础设施,同时自动重新启动应用程序,以避免任何停机或操作数据的损失。

成果

自从上海港务公司开始使用Stratus ftServer ,他们经历了监测系统的稳定、可靠的运行,零停机时间和连续、不间断的数据传输和存储。由于系统持续可用,ftServer ,维护和操作简单,减少了不必要的集群软件开发成本。热插拔模块,增强了系统的可用性,操作简单,服务器的容量可以很容易地扩大,以确保平台和应用的持续运行。ftServer ,提供了持续的运行和长期的价值,最大限度地提高了投资回报率,降低了公司的成本。

由于系统的持续可用性,ftServer ,维护和操作简单,减少了不必要的集群软件开发成本。

关于 Stratus

对于正在对其业务进行数字化转型,以便以最小的风险推动可预测的峰值性能的领导者来说,Stratus ,通过提供易于部署和维护的零接触Edge Computing 平台,确保关键业务应用程序的持续可用性,保护其免受中断和威胁,并且自主。40年来,我们提供可靠和冗余的零接触计算,使全球财富500强企业和中小型企业能够在边缘、云和数据中心安全和远程地将数据转化为可操作的智能--推动正常运行时间和效率。更多信息,请访问www.stratus.com 或在Twitter @StratusAlwaysOn 和LinkedIn @StratusTechnologies.

相关资料

返回顶部

Case Study

A Shanghai Port Company

Modernizing critical monitoring systems for hazardous chemicals

Ports around the world manage and distribute flammable, explosive, toxic, and hazardous chemicals. In order to ensure the stability of these chemicals in storage tanks, ports and their customers require 24/7/365 monitoring systems that accurately record data and uniformly manage and monitor each site. A prominent Shanghai port company took steps to modernize this critical system at the edge of its operations.

This Shanghai port company, established in 2002, supports the construction, management, and operation of the chemical terminal in the Shanghai Chemical Industry Zone and its related storage and shipping facilities. The company provides chemical storage and transportation services in and out of the Shanghai Chemical Industry Zone and runs a bonded and registered warehouse operating with the approval of the Chinese authorities. The company unloads liquid chemicals ordered by customers—including Bayer, BASF, and BP—from ships into tanks and then barrels and delivers these chemicals according to the customers’ requirements.

The challenge

To safely manage all the chemicals being transported, stored, and transferred, the port company has many monitoring points. However, the original HMI/SCADA and historian software were deployed separately on multiple physical servers, making operation and maintenance difficult. To reduce costs and improve the management of these monitoring points, the company wanted to convert multiple physical servers into a single server through virtualization, while ensuring the reliability of this single server.

The solution

In order to meet the requirements of continuous availability, ease of use, and cost reduction, the Shanghai port company set out to evaluate downtime prevention solutions. The project designer selected the Stratus ftServer® computing platform because of its high reliability, ease of maintenance, and continuous operation in other chemical monitoring systems across the world.

Stratus provided a solution, in cooperation with the world’s largest industrial automation information solution provider, that helps simplify, protect and automate the port company’s monitoring system. The solution relies on the fault-tolerant Stratus ftServer with VMware®, moving the company’s original system onto an easy to deploy and manage as well as highly available platform. ftServer was selected to make up the core architecture of the control room, integrating the original physical system through simple virtualization using VMware for optimal efficiency. ftServer actively prevents downtime and data loss. It provides 99.9999% system availability without affecting system performance. If any component fails, the mirrored component continues to run without any system interruption. The automated software identification function can identify and correct component failures before they affect operations. In addition, ftServer enables IT staff to monitor system infrastructure on a single dashboard while automatically restarting applications to avoid any downtime or loss of operational data.

The results

Since the Shanghai port company began using the Stratus ftServer, they have experienced stable, reliable operation of the monitoring system with zero downtime and continuous, uninterrupted transmission and storage of data. With continuous system availability, ftServer is simple to maintain and operate, reducing unnecessary cluster software development costs. The hot-swappable modules, which enhance system availability, are easy to operate and the server capacity can be easily expanded to ensure the continued operation of the platform and applications. ftServer provides continuous operation and long-term value, maximizing return on investment and reducing costs for the company.

With continuous system availability, ftServer is simple to maintain and operate, reducing unnecessary cluster software development costs.

About Stratus

For leaders digitally transforming their operations in order to drive predictable, peak performance with minimal risk, Stratus ensures the continuous availability of business-critical applications by delivering zero-touch Edge Computing platforms that are simple to deploy and maintain, protected from interruptions and threats, and autonomous. For 40 years, we have provided reliable and redundant zero-touch computing, enabling global Fortune 500 companies and small-to-medium sized businesses to securely and remotely turn data into actionable intelligence at the Edge, cloud and data center— driving uptime and efficiency. For more information, please visit www.stratus.com or follow on Twitter @StratusAlwaysOn and LinkedIn @StratusTechnologies.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top