白皮书

利用现代SCADA基础设施提高运营效率

降低成本、从基础设施中获得更多收益、实现利润最大化的新方法

执行摘要

在经历了一个增长期之后,美国的石油和天然气行业现在正经历着其历史上最转型的时期之一。石油和天然气价格自2014年6月的高点以来下降了60%以上。这些新的价格反映了一些因素,如美国的产量增加,海外生产商的竞争反应,新的能源替代品的可用性,以及对经济增长放缓的担忧。

在这种环境下,石油和天然气公司必须尽其所能降低成本,合理安排投资,并专注于各种战略以提高盈利能力。这包括继续尽量减少管道和设备的停机时间。然而,仅仅削减成本是不够的。此外,这些公司正面临着提高运营效率的挑战,特别是上游生产,同时面临着更严格的安全和环境法规。

这是一个很高的要求,但先进的技术解决方案可以提供帮助。石油和天然气公司面临的最棘手的问题之一是需要保持对其最关键系统的可见性,从而克服可能导致设备或管道停机的潜在盲点。有了正确的技术来提高可见性,以及始终处于开启状态的系统,石油和天然气公司可以获得显著的效率,并可衡量地改善其运营。

这反过来又使石油和天然气公司能够最大限度地减少昂贵的停机时间,最大限度地提高交付量,并实现对不断扩大的法规的遵守。简而言之,他们将在最重要的地方获得回报:最高收入和最低利润。本白皮书将描述这样一种新的管道体验如何能够成为现实。

行业更新

经过一段时间的稳定增长,美国的石油和天然气行业现在正处于自20世纪90年代以来最严重的衰退期。这种衰退是由价格的断崖式下跌造成的;例如,布伦特原油的价格已经从2014年7月的每桶112美元的高点跌至今天的不到50美元--下跌了近60%。虽然价格已经趋于平稳,但现在似乎已经稳定在每桶40-50美元的范围内,许多高管和行业分析师认为,石油要回到每桶90-100美元的辉煌时代还需要几年时间。

图1:油价的波动和2014-2016年的下跌

在经历了一个稳定的增长期后,油价自2014年6月以来已下跌了近
60%。因此,这个行业的公司,就像
以及天然气行业一样,需要尽其所能降低成本
,提高盈利能力。

有了正确的技术来提高可见性,以及始终处于运行状态的系统,石油和天然气公司可以获得显著的效率,并可衡量地改善他们的运营。简而言之,他们可以在最重要的地方获得成果:最高收入和最低利润。

这意味着石油和天然气公司突然被收入的大幅下降打懵了,这对那些近年来利润创纪录的公司来说是个残酷的消息。因此,他们不得不让多达三分之二的钻机退役,并大幅削减勘探和生产方面的投资。许多公司已经破产,估计有25万名石油工人--其中大约一半在美国--已经失去了他们的工作。

所有这一切加在一起,使石油和天然气公司--包括上游和中游公司--必须尽其所能降低成本,并专注于那些他们可以控制的战略举措,以恢复盈利能力的环境。然而,与此同时,这些公司必须实施技术解决方案,而不仅仅是削减成本。这些解决方案还必须有助于提高现有业务的效率,改善安全、合规性,以及对环境和社会的影响。

*《纽约时报》,"石油价格。波动的背后是什么?简单经济学》,2016年9月29日。

行业面临的风险和挑战

当出现问题时,石油和天然气管道的中断会对公共安全产生重大影响。例如,考虑2010年发生在加州圣布鲁诺的天然气爆炸。有缺陷的焊缝无法满足因能源需求增长而增加的天然气压力,导致严重爆炸,产生了超过1000英尺高的火墙。35座房屋被毁,8人死亡,该公司的股票价格暴跌,随后的诉讼进一步损害了供应商的声誉。

或者以最近2016年10月31日在阿拉巴马州谢尔比县发生的管道爆炸为例。在这个案例中,该国最大的汽油管道--据估计输送了东海岸所有汽油的40%至50%--在一个分包商不小心用挖掘机撞击管道后发生了爆炸。这次事故造成一名工人死亡,另外四人受伤,并导致近40万加仑的天然气损失。整个公司被关闭了六天,下游的汽油分配被大大推迟。

全国各地还有很多这样的例子,不幸的是,可能会有更多的事件发生。为了保证每个人的安全,监管机构已经实施了更严格的立法和法规,更严格的审计,以及对不遵守规定的更严厉的罚款。而且,不仅仅是监管机构;社区领导人也在向石油和天然气公司施压,要求它们提高安全性,更新可能导致未来事故的过时的基础设施。

虽然这些是外部压力的例子,但石油和天然气公司也面临着他们的内部持续挑战。内部挑战的例子包括。

  • 不断争取实时匹配供应和需求
  • 一个非常真实的 "人才缺口",这将对运营、公司增长和盈利能力产生不利影响
  • 面对日益复杂的系统,解决远程自动化故障和性能问题的资源匮乏
  • 削减用于更换或维修设备的资本预算
  • 过时的管道或压缩机站的压力增加(由于数量增加)。
  • 上游生产商面临的与 "不平衡表 "有关的持续的会计挑战

这些挑战由石油和天然气公司的实际报价来代表。

“我们的IT系统越来越复杂,我们正经历着不可接受的停机时间"。

“如果系统出现故障,我们必须派遣一支军队到偏远地区,手动监测管道的关键部分。"

“在某些情况下,我们没有IT技术、人员或资源来修复远程地点的系统问题。"

“我们必须证明我们是合规的--不能缺少数据;否则我们会被罚款。"

“我们正在为我们的管道系统增加越来越多的复杂性,使它们更容易被破坏。"

“我们在保持气体不平衡表的准确性方面存在问题。"

所有这些挑战都存在于这样一个环境中:尽管目前产品过剩并导致低价环境,但在过去10年中,对石油和天然气的总体重要性和依赖性已大大增加。显然,石油和天然气公司需要仔细考虑他们的选择,以找到恢复盈利的正确途径。

现代化的自动化系统和更新老化的SCADA资产是一个领域,在这个领域中,精简操作、提高效率和满足日益严格的规定的任务产生了快速的回报。

传统的SCADA方法是不足的

许多石油和天然气公司曾试图用传统的IT服务器来解决这些问题,这些服务器在多个地点运行关键的应用程序,如SCADA/HMI和Historian服务。

然而,这种方法会带来许多挑战。

  • 传统服务器的使用寿命较短(平均为三至五年)。
  • 传统的为每个关键应用提供独立服务器的实施方式
  • 需要多个服务器来实现冗余
  • 偏远地区的空间和电力限制
  • 非计划停工的持续存在
  • 进行维护、更新或修理所需的时间、人力和IT专业知识
  • 数据收集的中断,破坏了数据分析应用的实用性
  • 无法诊断出可能的故障或失效,除非事后。

为了克服这些往往是老化的传统方法的局限性、低效率和责任,高管们意识到他们需要使系统现代化,以克服固有的挑战,并保持设备、操作和管道的正常运行。

虚拟化、永远在线的操作和实时分析

许多有远见的石油和天然气公司现在正在利用虚拟化、永远在线的操作和实时数据分析的组合来驱动其关键业务系统。这三项技术已经被企业广泛采用了相当长的时间,但对石油和天然气行业的运营来说相对较新。它们结合在一起,有可能帮助降低成本,优化运营,并使石油和天然气公司能够进行预测性维护(而不是争先恐后地对故障或失效作出反应)。

虚拟化带来成本节约和效率

虚拟化使公司能够在一个平台上运行更多的应用程序。虚拟化支持一对多的服务器与应用的比例,而不是1:1的服务器与应用的比例。通过使一台服务器完成许多服务器的工作,任何组织都可以提高可扩展性并节省基础设施的成本。

然而,虽然虚拟化是一个提高效率的强大工具,但它本身也有一些风险。在任何一个平台上运行的应用程序越多,这个平台就越重要。如果一个虚拟化的服务器发生故障,多个应用程序也会随之发生故障,从而导致停机和/或无法看到SCADA、Historian或其他关键应用程序的情况。出于这个原因,必须保护虚拟化平台不发生故障。

容错系统消除了计划外的停机时间

石油和天然气公司需要容错解决方案,以确保其基本应用接近100%的可用性,以避免中断、停机成本和企业声誉的风险。

许多向石油和天然气行业推销的IT和OT解决方案声称具有高可用性,但 "足够接近 "可能不是 "足够好"。可用性的 "三个九"(99.9%)和 "五个九"(99.999%)之间的差异是巨大的,为意外停机付费的成本也是如此。

当然,使用真正的容错系统的一个重要副产品是,从所有关键业务应用到控制室(或数据中心)的实时数据流也是不间断的。

实时数据分析使预测性维护成为现实

从短期、中期和长期来看,石油和天然气公司从其运营中捕捉和分析稳定的实时数据流的能力对其成功越来越重要。

今天,准确的实时数据使一些石油和天然气公司每月在不平衡表报告中节省数十万美元。其他公司则利用具有100%可用性和无数据丢失的系统所提供的更好的可见性,能够进行预测性维护,提前识别可能的故障点并采取补救措施。还有一些企业正在将其应用程序产生的数据与大数据分析联系起来,对其运营的各个方面获得新的洞察力,并为工业物联网(IIoT)做好准备。

削减成本和提高效率的最快途径是消除故障,主动防止设备和管道停机(及相关损失)。来自Stratus Technologies的先进技术解决方案--能够提高可扩展性、正常运行时间、预测性维护等的解决方案--是石油和天然气公司实现这些结果的一种行之有效的方式。

操作简单的单一解决方案

今天,石油和天然气行业正在经历剧烈的变化,因为价格下跌似乎是可预见的未来的新常态。这些新情况造成了优先事项的相应转变,石油和天然气公司不能再主要集中在扩张和增长举措上,而是必须降低成本,提高运营效率,并保护现有的基础设施。简而言之,他们必须尽其所能,最大限度地利用现有资源,并试图实现利润最大化。

削减成本和提高效率的最快途径是消除故障,主动防止设备和管道停机(及相关损失)。来自Stratus Technologies的先进技术解决方案--能够提高可扩展性、正常运行时间、预测性维护等的解决方案--是石油和天然气公司实现这些结果的一种行之有效的方式。

Stratus 在防止停机和确保资产的最大回报方面有30年的记录。我们的旗舰产品ftServer® 在单一解决方案中整合了虚拟化、容错(可用性超过99.999%)和实时数据采集等关键技术。我们的上游、中游和下游客户对其操作的简单性、主动的支持模式和服务的便利性感到满意。虽然我们实施的解决方案借鉴了先进的技术,但我们最关注的是解决每个客户的具体需求。

如果你一直在考虑对你的石油和/或天然气自动化系统进行现代化改造,但不太确定从哪里开始,请联系我们。30多年来,Stratus Technologies一直在帮助公司保持他们的系统持续运行,我们欢迎有机会看看我们能如何帮助你。

要了解更多信息,请访问 www.stratus.com.

相关资料

返回顶部

Whitepaper

Increase Operational Efficiency with a Modern SCADA Infrastructure

New Ways to Reduce Costs, Get More Out of Infrastructure, and Maximize Profitability

Executive Summary

After going through a period of growth, the oil and natural gas industry in the United States is now experiencing one of the most transformative periods in its history. Oil and gas prices are down more than 60 percent since their June 2014 high. These new prices reflect factors such as increased production in the U.S., competitive responses from overseas producers, availability of new energy alternatives, and concerns about slowing economic growth.

In this environment, oil and gas companies must do all they can to reduce costs, rationalize their investments, and focus on various strategies to improve profitability. This includes continuing to minimize pipeline and equipment downtime. Yet merely cutting costs is not enough. In addition, these companies are being challenged to increase the efficiency of operations, especially upstream production, while facing tighter safety and environmental regulations.

It’s a tall order, but advanced technology solutions can help. One of the toughest issues oil and gas companies face is the need to maintain visibility into their most critical systems, and thereby overcome the potential blind spots that can lead to equipment or pipeline downtime. With the right technology to increase visibility, and systems that are always on, oil and gas companies can gain significant efficiencies and measurably improve their operations.

This in turn enables oil and gas companies to minimize costly downtime, maximize delivery, and achieve compliance with ever-expanding regulations. In short, they stand to gain results that pay off where it matters most: topline revenues and bottom-line profits. This white paper will describe how such a new pipeline experience can become a reality.

Industry Update

After a period of steady growth, the U.S. oil and natural gas industry is now in its deepest downturn since the 1990s. This decline is caused by a precipitous drop in prices; for example, the price of Brent Crude oil has fallen from a high of $112 a barrel in July 2014 to less than $50 today—a drop of nearly 60 percent. While prices have leveled off, they now appear to have stabilized in the range of $40-$50 a barrel, and many executives and industry analysts believe it will be years before oil returns to the glory days of $90-$100 a barrel.

Figure 1: The Volatility of Oil Prices and the 2014-2016 Decline

After a steady period of growth and stability, oil prices have dropped nearly
60 percent since June 2014. As a result, companies in this industry, as
well as the natural gas industry, need to do all they can to reduce costs
and improve profitability.

With the right technology to increase visibility, and systems that are always on, oil and gas companies can gain significant efficiencies and measurably improve their operations. In short, they stand to gain results that pay off where it matters most: topline revenues and bottom-line profits.

This means that oil and gas companies were suddenly blindsided by a significant drop in revenues, harsh news for those companies that had made record profits in recent years. As a result, they’ve had to decommission up to two-thirds of their rigs and sharply cut investment in exploration and production. Many companies have gone bankrupt and an estimated 250,000 oil workers—roughly half of whom are located in the United States—have lost their jobs.*

All of this adds up to an environment where oil and gas companies—both upstream and midstream—must do all they can to reduce costs and focus on those strategic initiatives that they can control in order to return to profitability. Yet at the same time, these companies must implement technology solutions that can do more than merely cut cost. These solutions must also contribute to increasing the efficiencies of existing operations and improving safety, compliance, and impacts on the environment and society.

* The New York Times, “Oil Prices: What’s Behind the Volatility? Simple Economics,” September 29, 2016.

Risks and Challenges Facing the Industry

Disruptions from oil and natural gas pipelines can have major impacts on public safety when something goes wrong. For example, consider the 2010 gas explosion that occurred in San Bruno, CA. Defective welds could not meet increased gas pressure that stemmed from growing energy demands, resulting in a severe explosion that produced a wall of fire more than 1,000 feet high. Thirty-five homes were destroyed, eight people died, the company’s stock price plunged, and ensuing lawsuits further damaged the provider’s reputation.

Or take the more recent example of a pipeline explosion that occurred in Shelby County, AL on October 31, 2016. In this case, the country’s largest gasoline pipeline—estimated to carry 40 to 50 percent of all the gasoline used on the East Coast— exploded after a subcontractor accidentally struck the pipeline with a backhoe. The accident killed one worker, injured four others, and resulted in the loss of nearly 400,000 gallons of gas. The entire company was shut down for six days and downstream gasoline distribution was significantly delayed.

There are many more examples of incidents like this all over the country, and unfortunately, more may occur. To keep everyone safe, regulators have imposed tougher legislation and regulations, stricter audits, and more severe fines for non-compliance. And it’s not just the regulators; community leaders are also pressuring oil and gas companies to increase safety and update outdated infrastructure that could lead to future accidents.

While these are examples of external pressures, oil and gas companies face their share of ongoing internal challenges, too. Examples of internal challenges include:

  • Constant struggles to match supply and demand in real time
  • A very real “talent gap,” which will have an adverse effect on operations, company growth, and profitability
  • A scarcity of resources to address remote automation failures and performance issues in the face of increasingly complex systems
  • Cuts in capital budgets for replacing or repairing equipment
  • Increased pressure on outdated pipelines or compressor stations (due to increasing volumes)
  • The continual accounting challenges faced by upstream producers related to the “imbalance sheet”

These challenges are represented by actual quotes from oil and natural gas companies:

“ We are experiencing unacceptable downtime with our ever increasingly complex IT systems.”

“ We have to send an army of people to remote locations to monitor critical parts of the pipeline manually if the systems are down.”

“ In some cases, we don’t have the technical IT skills, people, or resources to fix system issues at remote locations.”

“ We have to prove we are in compliance—and cannot be missing data; otherwise we can get fined.”

“ We are adding more and more complexity to our pipeline systems, making them more breakable.”

“ We have issues maintaining the accuracy of our gas imbalance sheet.”

All of these challenges exist in an environment where the overall importance and reliance on oil and natural gas has increased significantly in the last 10 years, despite the current product glut and resulting low price environment. Clearly, oil and gas companies need to carefully consider their options to find the right path to return to profitability.

Modernizing automation systems and updating aging SCADA assets is one area where the mandates of streamlining operations, increasing efficiency and meeting ever more stringent regulations yields rapid returns.

Conventional Approaches to SCADA Fall Short

Many oil and gas companies have tried to solve these problems with conventional IT servers running critical applications such as SCADA/HMI and Historian services in multiple locations.

Yet such an approach can present many challenges:

  • The short useful life of conventional servers (averaging three to five years)
  • The traditional implementation of separate servers for each critical application
  • The need for multiple servers to achieve redundancy
  • The space and power constraints in remote locations
  • The persistence of unplanned downtime
  • The time, manpower, and IT expertise required to perform maintenance, updates, or repairs
  • The interruptions in data gathering that undermine the usefulness of data-analysis applications
  • The inability to diagnose likely faults or failures, except after the fact

To overcome the limitations, inefficiencies and liabilities of these, often aging, conventional approaches, executives realize they need to modernize systems to overcome inherent challenges and keep equipment, operations, and pipelines up and running.

Virtualization, Always-On Operation, and Real-Time Analytics

Many forward-thinking oil and gas companies are now exploiting the combination of virtualization, always-on operation, and real-time data analysis to drive their business-critical systems. These three technologies have been widely adopted by enterprise businesses for quite some time, but are relatively new to oil and gas industry operations. Together, they have the potential to help reduce costs, optimize operations, and enable oil and gas companies to perform predictive maintenance (rather than scrambling to react to a fault or failure).

Virtualization delivers cost savings and efficiency

Virtualization enables companies to run more applications on one platform. Instead of a 1:1 server-to-application ratio, virtualization supports a one-to-many server-to-application ratio. By enabling one server to do the work of many servers, any organization can improve scalability and save money on infrastructure costs.

Yet while virtualization is a powerful tool for increasing efficiency, it carries some risks of its own. The more applications that are running on any one platform, the more important that platform becomes. If a virtualized server goes down, multiple applications can go down with it, leading to downtime and/or inability to see what’s happening in SCADA, Historian, or other critical applications. For this reason, it’s essential that the virtualized platform be protected from failure.

Fault-tolerant systems eliminate unplanned downtime

Oil and gas companies need fault-tolerant solutions that ensure close to 100-percent availability of their essential applications, in order to avoid interruptions, the cost of downtime, and risks to their corporate reputations.

Many IT and OT solutions marketed to the oil and gas industry claim high availability, but “close enough” is likely not “good enough.” The difference between “three nines” (99.9 percent) and “five nines” (99.999 percent) of availability is huge, and so too is the cost of paying for unplanned downtime.

An important by-product of using a truly fault-tolerant system is, of course, that the flow of real-time data from all business-critical applications to the control room (or data center) is also uninterrupted.

Real-time data analysis makes predictive maintenance a reality

In the short, medium, and long term, the ability of oil and gas companies to capture and analyze a steady stream of real-time data from their operations is becoming steadily more essential to their success.

Today, accurate real-time data enables some oil and gas companies to save hundreds of thousands of dollars each month, in imbalance-sheet reporting. Others—leveraging the improved visibility that systems with 100-percent availability and no lost data can provide—are able to perform predictive maintenance, identifying likely points of failure ahead of time and taking remedial action. Still others are connecting the data that their applications generate to Big Data analytics, gaining new insight into every aspect of their operations and preparing for the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT).

The fastest path to cutting costs and improving efficiency is to eliminate failures, and proactively prevent equipment and pipeline downtime (and related losses). Advanced technology solutions from Stratus Technologies—solutions capable of improving scalability, uptime, predictive maintenance, and more—are a proven way for oil and gas companies to achieve these results.

A Single Solution That’s Simple to Operate

Today, the oil and gas industry is going through drastic changes, as a result of a drop in prices that appears to be the new norm for the foreseeable future. These new conditions have created a corresponding shift in priorities, where oil and gas companies can no longer afford to concentrate primarily on expansion and growth initiatives, but instead must reduce costs, improve the efficiency of operations, and protect existing infrastructure. In short, they must do all they can to get the most out of their current resources and attempt to maximize profitability.

The fastest path to cutting costs and improving efficiency is to eliminate failures, and proactively prevent equipment and pipeline downtime (and related losses). Advanced technology solutions from Stratus Technologies—solutions capable of improving scalability, uptime, predictive maintenance, and more—are a proven way for oil and gas companies to achieve these results.

Stratus has a 30-year track record of preventing downtime and ensuring maximum return on assets. Our flagship ftServer® integrates the key technologies of virtualization, fault tolerance (availability in excess of 99.999 percent), and real-time data capture in a single solution. Our customers—upstream, midstream, and downstream—are delighted with its operational simplicity, proactive support model, and ease of service. While we implement solutions that draw on advanced technology, we’re most concerned about addressing each customer’s specific needs.

If you’ve been thinking about modernizing your oil and/or gas automation systems, but aren’t quite sure where to begin, please contact us. For over 30 years Stratus Technologies has been helping companies keep their systems continuously operational, and we’d welcome the opportunity to see how we can help you.

To learn more, please visit www.stratus.com.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top