解决方案简介

Stratus everRun® SplitSite®

确保城域范围可用性

无论是自然还是人为原因造成的灾难都可能导致物理数据中心完全停机,造成企业连续数天甚至数周无法正常经营。在受监管行业,某个站点出现问题可能导致数据丢失和合规风险,显著增加停机成本。因此,制药、制造和金融服务等受监管行业的企业使用 everRun SplitSite 提供保护,确保所有数据安全复制并随时可用。许多组织由于担心成本和资源要求高而不断推迟实施恢复解决方案,您没必要继续承受这种风险了。

everRun SplitSite 利用部署在不同楼宇或数据中心的物理机,保护您的业务免受局部断电或整个楼宇范围的问题影响。借助 everRun SplitSite,当一个站点发生灾难时,应用程序和数据在另一个站点即刻可用,保持更新并完全正常运行,而无需 IT人员干预。SplitSite可以在两台不同位置的物理机(PM)之间建立连接,通过同步复制实现两个站点的应用可用性。虽然 everRun 服务器在不同地理位置或被网络交换机分开时会延迟更高,everRun 的 SplitSite 功能使客户能够高效运行其应用程序。防护级别可以选择高可用性(HA)级别和容错(FT)级别,且无需改变功能或可用性。与单一站点的配置相同,everRun 自动检测磁盘和网络故障,并在出现故障时确保正常运行。对于 FT 防护级别的虚拟机,SplitSite 可以保持虚拟机持续运行,即使在出现物理机或站点故障时也不会停机。当故障站点或物理机恢复服务时,everRun SplitSite 会自动重新同步磁盘驱动和虚拟机内存。

everRun SplitSite 支持容灾部署,维持硬件冗余以及物理机房及其所在建筑物的冗余性。通过支持地域分隔,这一功能强大的容灾解决方案能够进一步保护企业免遭因洪水或停电等可能的灾难性事件而造成的重大停机。everRun SplitSite 不存在与普通被动式恢复产品相关的成本和复杂性,Stratus SplitSite 通常用于大型园区或大都市,作为替代多站点灾难恢复的实时解决方案。

everRun SplitSite 利用部署在不同楼宇或数据中心的物理机,保护您的业务免受局部断电或整个楼宇范围的问题影响。

SplitSite 的要求和许可

由于受到多个因素影响,SplitSite 没有常见的距离限制。任何介于中间的网络交换机都会增加延迟,提高节点之间断开连接的可能性,导致“脑裂问题”--这种情况下,任何一台服务器都无法验证另一台服务器是否仍在运行,导致同一虚拟机的两个副本独立运行。由于 SplitSite 配置会增加脑裂的可能性,Stratus 要求所有 SplitSite 配置同样使用仲裁服务。

SplitSite 有最高延迟规范,对于高可用虚拟机,A-Link 往返延迟不超过 10ms,容错虚拟机为 2ms。在常用的 A-Link 网络布局(使用 1G 光纤)中,物理机间距最高可达10km,可以满足大部分延迟要求。即使满足上述延迟规范,单台物理机的性能也取决于具体应用。

使用 Stratus 服务只需要有许可证、使用仲裁服务和满足延迟要求。除此之外,任何网络设备和拓扑结构都适用。在典型的主流网络中,服务器之间的安全距离是 5km 到 10km,但一些客户目前在使用 SplitSite 时,其高速网络中物理机间距高达 50km 甚至更远。

SplitSite 配置需要仔细规划组件布局,以尽量减少或排除需要关闭虚拟机的情况。要正确部署 SplitSite,您很可能需要参加特定的培训或接受专业的服务协助。客户使用 SplitSite 需购买许可证,但 Stratus 不强制激活 SplitSite 功能。然而,客户如需 SplitSite 配置技术支持,则需要购买 SplitSite 许可证。Stratus 以10米为 SplitSite 许可的合理距离分界点。

SplitSite 和仲裁服务器

SplitSite 配置要求使用仲裁服务,用于防止(由于脑裂问题)丢失数据,并在一个 everRun 物理机或站点出现故障时能够安全地自动开启虚拟机。在 SplitSite 配置中,您需要至少一台(最好两台)仲裁服务器,用于防止因网络故障而导致两个 everRun 节点失去通信并在脑裂状态下运行。将仲裁服务器选在第三台设备中,并进行正确的仲裁网络布局,能够提升仲裁服务器的可用性,并能最大程度减少虚拟机强制关机问题。

出现网络故障时,若未配置仲裁服务器,则两台 everRun 服务器之间的通讯会中断;若配置了仲裁服务器,两个节点上冗余的虚拟机会通过 仲裁服务器查询对方的状态,并根据响应采取相应的措施。如果仲裁服务器没有响应,则隔离的虚拟机将自行关闭。若一台虚拟机可确定另一台服务器上的对等虚拟机与仲裁服务器之间保持通讯,则它会继续运行。两个虚拟机实例会在未发生任何故障前就使用(选出)哪个仲裁服务器达成一致。如果首选的仲裁服务器发生故障,各节点同意选择备用的仲裁服务器,直至首选服务器恢复服务。在主动管理故障期间,各节点不得切换仲裁服务器。

在SplitSite 配置中,仲裁服务器尤为重要。SplitSite 的最佳做法是在第三台设备中设置一台首选的仲裁服务器,在第四台设备中设置一台备用的仲裁服务器。当然,您若将备用与首选的仲裁服务器放在一个服务器上,也会获得令人满意的服务。仲裁服务器可确保虚拟机的完整性,避免脑裂,并提供特定故障后虚拟机的无人值守启动。仲裁服务器通过管理网络进行通讯。

仲裁服务器不需要专用硬件,也没有任何具体的网络延迟要求,他们可以像 Windows 服务一样运行,可以安装在几乎任何其他用途的 Windows 工作站或服务器上,只要保持计算机全天24小时运行。但是,若 everRun 系统的虚拟机使用了仲裁服务,则不能在该虚拟机运行仲裁服务。

仲裁服务器的更多信息

仲裁服务是基于 Windows 操作系统的服务,部署在不同于 everRun 系统所在的 Windows 机器上。仲裁服务器会保证数据完整性,并针对 everRun 环境中特定故障提供自动重启功能。您可为一对 everRun 物理机配置 0,1 或 2个仲裁服务器。Stratus 强烈建议您配置两个仲裁服务器:一个首选仲裁服务器和一个备选仲裁服务器--专门用于运行SplitSite。如果只有两个站点可用,您可以将仲裁服务器设置在其中一个站点上,而不会出现脑裂的风险。然而,如果一台物理机宕机后,运行的物理机无法与仲裁服务器(例如,它与宕机的物理机在同一站点上,因此无法访问)通信,为避免可能的脑裂风险,正常运营站点上的虚拟机会自动关闭。

在 SplitSite 配置中,部署仲裁服务器的最佳做法包括:

  • 将首选的仲裁服务器设置在第三台机器上,将备选的仲裁服务器设置在第四个站点上(或谨慎设置在第三个站点上)
  • 仲裁服务器应尽量分开设置。如果需要将两个仲裁服务器设置在同一个(第三个)站点,则要确保它们不依赖共同的电源或网络交换机
  • everRun 物理机与仲裁服务器之间不应通过其他物理机站点进行路由连接。
  • 将一个仲裁服务器与一台 everRun 物理机设置在同一站点,可以确保数据的完整性。然而,该站点发生故障时需要关闭虚拟机(以防止脑裂问题),直到手动恢复为止
  • 管理网络用于物理连接物理机和仲裁服务器。为实现虚拟机的最佳可用性,每台 everRun 物理机应配置不同的网关来访问仲裁服务器。如果两台物理机使用相同的网关访问仲裁服务器,某些站点故障将导致网关失效,并自动关闭虚拟机,直到手动恢复为止

仲裁服务器注意事项

  • 仲裁服务软件可以安装在任何通用型台式机或笔记本电脑上,电脑须运行 Windows Server 2016、Server 2012、Server 2008、Windows 10 或 Windows 7 系统,始终保持开机,至少有100MB的磁盘空间,且网卡可以通过管理网络连接至 everRun 配置。
  • 在 SplitSite 中部署时,不应将仲裁服务器设置在任何一个物理机所在的站点。如果首选和备选的仲裁服务器都因共同的原因而失败,虚拟机将优雅地降级冗余,然后继续使用一台物理机运行,直至仲裁服务器恢复。如果一台物理机和所选的仲裁服务器因共同的原因而失败,在未宕机的物理机上运行的虚拟机实例须自行关闭。
  • 如需将首选和备选的仲裁服务器设置在同一站点,应使用不同的交流电源(相)为其供电,或将其配置在不同的 UPS 设备上,并尽量使 everRun 系统减少使用共同网络访问它们。

A-Link 网络要求

  • 至少 1GB 全双工网卡,如果可以,请使用 10GB 网卡
  • 连接专用网络的交换机和/或光纤铜线转换器不可路由、必须无阻塞并支持 IPv6
  • 对于运行容错保护级别虚拟机的系统,A-Link 要求:
    • 每个虚拟机的最低带宽为 1 Gbps
    • 站点间最大往返延迟*为 2 毫秒
  • 对于运行高可用性保护级别虚拟机的系统,A-Link 要求:
    • 每个虚拟机的最低带宽为 155 Mbps
    • 站点间最大往返延迟*为 10 毫秒
  • 多个 A-Link 不能共用一个网卡(多端口网卡)
  • A-Link 可以是专用的点对点光纤连接,也可以是虚拟局域网(VLAN)。用于连接 A-Link 的 VLAN 不能过滤两个 everRun 节点之间的任何通信

专用网络要求

  • 至少 1GB 全双工网卡
  • 当部署 SplitSite 配置时,专用网络不得与 A-Link 共享
  • 专用网络可以是专用的点对点光纤连接。否则,应在专用 VLAN 中配置专用网络。用于连接专用网络端口的 VLAN 须支持 IPv6,且不能过滤两个 everRun 节点之间的任何通信

业务网络要求

  • 一个 everRun 系统至少需要一个业务网络。请在同一 VLAN 中为两个节点配置业务网络
  • 各节点应属于同一个二层组播域
  • 将每个节点上的业务网络分别连接到不同的交换机上。连接业务网络端口的 VLAN须支持 IPv6,且不能过滤两个 everRun 节点之间的任何通信

管理网络要求

  • 默认情况下,业务网络共享管理网络。否则,业务网络的所有要求继续适用
  • 配置业务局域网网关,用于远程管理

* 计算延迟时按照每 100 英里光纤延时 1 毫秒,加上非路由、非阻塞交换机或光纤转换器增加的任何延迟。

相关资料

返回顶部

Solution Brief

Stratus everRun® SplitSite®

Metro-wide availability protection

Disasters, whether caused by nature or human error, can result in the total loss of a physical data center, potentially leaving your business unable to function for days or even weeks. In regulated industries, a site-wide problem can lead to data loss that risks compliance, adding significantly to your downtime costs. That’s why businesses in regulated industries like pharmaceuticals, manufacturing and financial services use everRun SplitSite protection to ensure that all data is safely replicated and remains available at all times. Although many organizations continue to put off implementing a recovery solution fearing high costs and resource demands, there’s no need for you to endure the risk any longer.

everRun SplitSite extends the protection of your business from localized power failures and building-wide problems to physical machines located in different buildings or data centers. With everRun SplitSite, if disaster strikes in one location, applications and data are immediately available, up-to-date, and fully operational at the other location without the need for IT staff at the second location. A SplitSite configuration connects two physical machines (PMs) in two geographically separated sites. SplitSite provides application availability using synchronous replication. everRun’s SplitSite capability allows a customer to run their applications efficiently, although with higher latencies when everRun servers are separated geographically or by network switches. Both high availability (HA) and (fault tolerant) FT protection levels can be used, with no change in features or availability. As in a single-site configuration, everRun automatically detects disk and network failures and configures around them. And for virtual machines (VMs) with FT protection, everRun will keep VMs running with no downtime, even through a PM or site failure. When a failed site or PM is returned to service, everRun will automatically resynchronize the disk drives and VM memory.

everRun’s SplitSite supports disaster-tolerant deployments that maintain hardware redundancy, as well as redundancy of physical computer rooms and the buildings containing them. By supporting geographical separation, this powerful disaster tolerant solution further safeguards your business from major downtime due to potentially catastrophic events such as flooding and power outages. everRun SplitSite eliminates the cost and chaos associated with typical reactive recovery products. Stratus often sees SplitSite used in larger campus or metropolitan settings as a real-time alternative to multi-site disaster recovery.

everRun SplitSite extends the protection of your business from localized power failures and building-wide problems to physical machines located in different buildings or data centers.

SplitSite Requirements, and Licensing

There is no universal distance limitation for SplitSite, as a number of factors come into play. Any intervening network switches add to latency and increase the possibility of losing the connection between the nodes resulting in “split brain” – a situation where neither server can verify that the other is still running, resulting in two copies of the same VM running independently. For all SplitSite configurations, Stratus requires that you also use the quorum service because a SplitSite configuration increases the likelihood of additional split-brain failure scenarios.

SplitSite configurations are subject to maximum latency specifications: No more than 10ms round trip A-Link latency for HA VMs and 2ms round trip A-Link latency for FT VMs. Separation of up to 10km (using 1 Gbps fiber) is a common A-Link network topology that can meet the latency requirements. Individual application performance, even within these latency specifications, can depend upon the specific application.

Only a license use of quorum and compliance with latency requirements are necessary for support from Stratus. Otherwise, any network equipment and topology are accommodated. In a typical mainstream network, a good distance between the servers is 5km to 10km. However, Stratus does have customers who are successfully using SplitSite today in scenarios where the PMs are 50km or more apart from each other.

A SplitSite configuration requires careful planning of component placement, to minimize or eliminate failures that require VMs to be shut down. Specific training or professional services assistance are very likely necessary to deploy SplitSite correctly. If a customer uses SplitSite they are obligated to purchase a license; however, Stratus does not enforce SplitSite through feature activation. A SplitSite license is, however, required to receive technical support on a SplitSite configuration. Stratus has chosen a 10m physical separation as a reasonable distance demarcation point at which to require SplitSite licensing.

SplitSite and Quorum Servers

Use of quorum is required for SplitSite configurations to protect against data loss (due to split-brain) and to safely enable VMs to start up automatically if a second everRun PM or site has failed. In a SplitSite configuration, you will use at least one, and optimally two, quorum servers. These servers are used to protect against network failures which might cause the two everRun nodes to lose communication with each other and operate split brain. Quorum availability is improved, and mandatory VM shutdown scenarios are minimized if quorum is placed at a third location and an appropriate quorum networking design is implemented.

If there were no quorum servers configured, a network failure could cause the two everRun servers to lose all communication with each other. In the same situation with quorum servers configured, VMs redundant on both nodes would ask the quorum server for the status of their peer and take the appropriate action based on the response. If the quorum server fails to respond, an isolated VM will shut itself down. Whenever the peer VM on the other server remains in contact with quorum server, it continues to run. Both VM instances agree on which quorum server is being used (elected) in advance of any failure. If the primary quorum server fails, the nodes agree to elect the alternate quorum server until the primary returns to service. During active management of a failure, the nodes may not switch quorum servers.

Quorum servers are particularly important in SplitSite configurations. Best practice for SplitSite is to place a preferred quorum server in a third facility and an alternate quorum server in a fourth facility. However, you can also place the alternate quorum server with the preferred quorum server and still obtain satisfactory service. Quorum servers ensure the integrity of VMs against split brain, and provide for unattended startup of VMs after specific failures. Quorum server communication occurs via the management network.

Quorum servers don’t require dedicated hardware or have any specific network latency requirements. They run as a Windows service that can be installed on almost any Windows workstation or server that’s used for other purposes as long as the computer will be left running 24 hours a day. However, one should never run the quorum service in a VM of the same everRun system that uses it.

More on Quorum Servers

A quorum service is a Windows operating system-based service deployed on a Windows machine distinct from the everRun system. Quorum servers provide data integrity assurances and automatic restart capabilities for specific failures in an everRun environment. You can configure an everRun PM pair with 0, 1, or 2 quorum servers. Stratus strongly recommends configuring two quorum servers: a preferred quorum server and an alternate—especially for SplitSite operation. If only two sites are available quorum can be placed on one of the sites without risk of split-brain. However, if one PM goes down and the surviving PM is unable to communicate with the quorum server (for example, because it is inaccessible on the same site as the down PM), the VMs at the surviving site are automatically shut down to avoid a possible split-brain scenario.

In a SplitSite configuration best practices for quorum deployment include:

  • A preferred quorum server located in a third facility, and an alternate is located in a fourth site (or carefully placed in the third)
  • Quorum servers should be as isolated as possible. If both must be placed in a common (third) site, make sure that they do not depend on common power sources or network switches
  • Physical connectivity between an everRun PM and the quorum servers should not route through the other PM’s site
  • Placing a quorum server in the same site as one of the everRun PMs ensures data integrity. However, failures of that site require that the VMs be shut down (to assure against split-brain) until manually recovered
  • The management network physically connects the PMs and the quorum servers. Configure each everRun PM to use a different gateway to reach the quorum servers for best availability of VMs. If the two PMs use the same gateway to reach the quorum servers, some site failures will cause the gateway to fail and require the VMs to shut themselves down until manually recovered

Quorum Server Considerations

  • Quorum service software, can be installed on any general-purpose computer or laptop running Windows Server 2016, Server 2012, Server 2008, Server 2003, Windows Vista, Windows 10, 8, or 7; always powered on and with 100MB minimum disk space and a network interface card with connectivity to the everRun configuration via the management network
  • Quorum servers should not reside on the same site as either PM when deploying in a SplitSite. If both preferred and alternate quorum servers fail for a common reason, VMs will gracefully downgrade redundancy, and then continue to operate using one PM, pending recovery of a quorum server. Whenever, a PM and the elected quorum server fail for a common reason, the VM instances running on the surviving PM must shut themselves down
  • If the preferred and alternate quorum servers must reside on a common site, power them from separate AC power sources (phases) or configure them on separate UPS devices, and minimize common networking required for the everRun system to access them

A-Link Network Requirements

  • NICs must be at least 1 Gb and full-duplex; use 10 Gb, if possible
  • Switches and/or fiber-to-copper converters connected to the private network must be non-routed, non-blocking and support IPv6
  • For systems running FT-protected VMs, A-Links require:
    • A minimum bandwidth of 1 Gbps per VM
    • A maximum inter-site latency* of 2 ms, round-trip time
  • For systems running only HA-protected VMs, A-Links require:
    • A minimum bandwidth of 155 Mbps per VM
    • A maximum inter-site latency* of 10 ms, round-trip time
  • Do not use a common card (multiport NIC) for multiple A-Links
  • A-Links can be a dedicated point-to-point fiber connections or on a VLAN. VLANs used to connect the A-Link ports must not filter any communications between the two everRun nodes

Private Network Requirements

  • NICs must be at least 1 Gb and full-duplex
  • The private network must not be shared with an A-Link when deploying a SplitSite configuration
  • The private network can be a dedicated point-to-point fiber connection. If it is not, it must be configured on a private VLAN. VLANs used to connect the private-network ports must support IPv6 and not filter any communications between the two everRun nodes

Business Network Requirements

  • An everRun system requires at least one business network. Configure the business network for both nodes on the same VLAN
  • The nodes must be in the same layer-2 multicast domain
  • Connect the business networks on each node to a switch separate from the other node’s switch. VLANs used to connect the business network ports must support IPv6 and not filter any communications between the two everRun nodes

Management Network Requirements

  • By default, the management network is shared with a business network. If not shared, all requirements for a business network continue to apply
  • Configure gateways to a business LAN for remote management

* Calculate latency at 1 ms for each 100 miles of fiber, plus any latency added by non-routed, non-blocking switches or fiber converters.

Related Assets

Scroll to Top